Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars re: Elaine Irwin
" ... with Christy Turlington, Naomi Campbell, Linda Evangelista, Cindy Crawford and Elaine Irwin filling in. It's also one of the greatest video clips ever filmed."
you're bang on about the video, it's amazing, but that's not Elaine Irwin, it's Tatiana Patitz.
Published on Dec 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Must buy???
I am a HUGE George Michael fan, but you have to admit. George Michael is not a great dancer. The way he dances is very cheesy, and it gets worse when he is dressing like a police officer. Some videos are excellent especially performance from MTV Unplugged. "Jesus To a Child," "Waltz Away Dreaming" and some videos are very interesting to watch...
Published on Oct. 19 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars re: Elaine Irwin, Dec 3 2004
By A Customer
" ... with Christy Turlington, Naomi Campbell, Linda Evangelista, Cindy Crawford and Elaine Irwin filling in. It's also one of the greatest video clips ever filmed."
you're bang on about the video, it's amazing, but that's not Elaine Irwin, it's Tatiana Patitz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Review of a Remarkable Career, June 7 2004
By 
R. Janis "spiritofeden" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This collection is essential for any fan of George Michael, and is a bracing reminder of one of the greatest pop songwriters of the last 25 years. It also shows his astuteness in choosing directors for his videos. No one, aside from Madonna, has done this as well over such an extended period of time.
Some of the clips may seem dated now ("I Want Your Sex", anyone?), but most hold up incredibly well. "Kissing a Fool" is the best of the "Faith" era tracks, and one of the finest songs George has written - maybe his best. And the video presents it beautifully. "Freedom '90" might be the best video he ever made in which he did not appear, but it's fantastic all the same, with Christy Turlington, Naomi Campbell, Linda Evangelista, Cindy Crawford and Elaine Irwin filling in. It's also one of the greatest video clips ever filmed.
A wonderful addition to this collection is George's show-stopping performance of "Somebody to Love" from The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert of '92. This, I believe, shows him at the peak of his powers. It's simply chill-inducing.
From the "Older" period, the best are probably "Jesus To A Child" (gorgeous and mournful) and "Fastlove" (virtual reality gone haywire). "Fastlove" is fun for two reasons: George always has gorgeous models so everyone has something to enjoy, and in the part where George sings, "...in the absence of security..." he's dressed in sunglasses and latex (?) being sprayed with water. What's not to like?
In this age of "American Idol" and faceless, bland "insta-stars" (who, on top of singing schlock, will most likely never write a song of their own), this will remind you how true talent will always shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best DVD I own., Dec 30 2003
By 
Colin Smith "colin44691" (Wooster, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best DVD I own. Period. In fact, I bought a second one. The video collection is good. There's 24 videos on the one DVD. Both the Sound and Video quality is great. If you're a George Michael fan, this is about as good as it gets. I would have liked a DTS version. And if I could, I would probably swop a few songs. But all-in-all, this is a great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies & Gentlemen The Best Of George Michael Home Video, Dec 29 2003
The album was amazing to begin with. I had no idea that he wouldn't stop there. He then releases this outstanding video containing only his greatest videos and they are certainly his greatest. Take a look at the songs he has chosen and you'll understand what I'm trying to say.
OUTSIDE
The song is amazing. Great disco sound. The video mocks his bathroom incident. It is on the strange side, but still a cool video.
FASTLOVE
Although the song is really great, the video needs just a little work.
SPINNING THE WHEEL
Awesome tune. The video is not that bad.
FREEDOM 90
I like what I see here. Cindy Crawford, Naomi Campbell, etc. George, gay or not, knows how to pick 'em.
KILLER/PAPA WAS A ROLLIN' STONE
Okay.
TOO FUNKY
A funky video goes with a funky song. Incredible.
FAITH
The song is not all that great, but it isn't all that bad. The video is real cool, especially in the beginning where it plays a little of I WANT YOUR SEX.
I WANT YOUR SEX
If you look at the track list, it says I WANT YOUR SEX (Pt. II). Apparently, this isn't I WANT YOUR SEX (PT. II). George only put out I WANT YOUR SEX (PT. I) as a single and he made the video for that one. The video is great. The chinese girl wasn't all that pretty, but she sure had a great package.
JESUS TO A CHILD
A beautiful song to begin with. The video is very nice and it fits the song perfectly.
WALTZ AWAY DREAMING
I haven't watched this one yet.
FATHER FIGURE
Although a great song, the video needs work, like showing more of George and the hot model in scenes together.
DON'T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME with Elton John
Although I like this version because Elton ...didn't do all of it, I still wish George didn't have Elton ... join him on it...
KISSING A FOOL
I still do not like Jazz, but this is an irresistible song. This has to be one of my favorites. The video doesn't quite fit but it's still a good video.
I KNEW YOU WERE WAITING (FOR ME) with Aretha Franklin
I do not like Aretha Franklin, but somehow, I just knew that this was gonna be a great song and I was right. I love this song. The video is a great touch.
SOMEBODY TO LOVE with Queen
I just wish Freddy Mercury was alive to join George and his bandmates on this one. I have been a great fan of Queen for quite some time. George sang this song with emotion and he sang it with passion. That's what makes me love this song so much. The way he handles the stage is incredible.
MONKEY
Not one of my favorites, but the video is real cool.
ONE MORE TRY
First off, this is the song that turned me into a George Michael fan. This is one of the most beautiful ballads I have ever heard. The video does not fit, but it is a great video.
STAR PEOPLE '97
Okay.
I CAN'T MAKE YOU LOVE ME
Not bad.
A DIFFERENT CORNER
A great song.
YOU HAVE BEEN LOVED
Not bad.
CARELESS WHISPER
This was actually done when George was in WHAM! This song was a classic back then. It is a classic today. It will remain a classic in the future and then on. Everyone knows it. The concept of the video fits the song perfectly because the concept of the video shows what is being sung in the song. Great video.
If you are a George Michael fan and you don't have this, add it to your collection of George Michael merchandise. You will definitely not be disappointed. I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found Inspiration, Nov. 22 2003
By 
Lee A. Bryant (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an artist! If you only remember George's "Faith" era, be ready to be amazed at what you don't know. Honestly, the bonus footage of Mr. Michael on The Parkinson Show is worth the extremely reasonable price of this DVD alone. Without a doubt, one of our time's most gifted artist. It's amazing to see an artist who writes his own music, produces it, then arranges so. We have very few of these types of artists left these days. And what separates George from those artists is that unbelievably beautiful voice. Listen and watch as George lays out his heart and soul in song. Be inspired...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY IMPRESSED, Oct. 4 2003
By A Customer
i am not a huge fan of george micheal or at least i wasnt until i watched this complication of his videos. i used to like him a little bit and only got the dvd initially because i liked the videos and songs for too funky and fast love and i was pretty young when george micheal was at the height of his popularity but i still liked his videos and thought he was good singer but im not that big of a wham fan...after seeing all these videos and his amazing talent and singing i am very impressed and liked all the videos but my favorite were outside cause i thought it was funny and i liked how he could make fun of the fact that he was caught doing that and i liked fastlove and killer and too funky and father figure and many more .. they were all excellent and unique videos. i was extremely impressed on the song somebody to love- he really showed his talents. i recomend this dvd to anyone and its worth the money even if youre not a huge george micheal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE GREAT MALE SINGERS IN VIDEO, June 15 2003
George Michael has always made great videos and this collections showcases his voice and creativity. From his Wham videos to faith and Older albums you can enloy a wide variety of color and stories. Included is the un-edited vesion of Outside, an excellent video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Audio/ visual evolution of a major talent, Sept. 27 2002
By 
Niel Rishoi (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Though George Michael's major career output is well documented and encapsulated in the selection featured here, the true climax of the presentation occurs during the hour-long interview which originally aired on BBC television. Coming right after his infamous public "outing", Michael is charming, funny, articulate and frank; but the magical moment happens when Michael takes a break from the interview to sing "A Different Corner." In those few moments, George Michael miraculously distills a whole lifetime of performing - and living - experience into a masterfully sung and interpreted song of true poignancy and pathos. The voice is more mellow, more resonant and simply more beautiful than ever. He breathes the very essence of the song's heartbreak with infinite skill and empathetic sagacity, of someone who's been there, and lived life - a lot. His superior vocal technique is automatic, spontaneous; his way with the nuancing and phrasing instinctive, sure and born of a real artist. Enjoy this collection for the different scenarios played out in the videos and imaginative song stylings, and don't forget to close off the video with the songs featured within the interview: it reveals the evolution of one of pop music's major talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Collection, Aug. 3 2002
By 
J. E. Ellis "dutch_lizard_queen" (Leiden, Netherlands (Europe)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now I've been a fan from way back in the day. I mean when George was
still this insecure half of the great 'Wham'. I was nuts about that group. Well even then George's talents were ample and very apparent.
This DVD is a must for every lover of 'great, unique'songs. His
tunes personify "POP", sometimes even "Dirty POP", which is the best. The lyrics truly entail meaning and truths that everyone can and should relate to. He is the true genius of his time and comtempories.
Enjoy the music and the masterfully done videos. It's worth the cash you spent, and more it's ENTERTAINMENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!, March 22 2002
By 
paul lacey (Bossley Park, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
George michael maybe strange... but hes a superstar of quite astonishing talent... this dvd shows everything he has to offer from his talents...nothing to fault on this dvd... even a extra chat with Parkinson on BBC TV ..
good value.... good sound quality.... go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Michael Ladies/Gentlem.
George Michael Ladies/Gentlem. by Thierry Mugler (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews