Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Review of a Remarkable Career
This collection is essential for any fan of George Michael, and is a bracing reminder of one of the greatest pop songwriters of the last 25 years. It also shows his astuteness in choosing directors for his videos. No one, aside from Madonna, has done this as well over such an extended period of time.
Some of the clips may seem dated now ("I Want Your Sex",...
Published on June 7 2004 by R. Janis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Must buy???
I am a HUGE George Michael fan, but you have to admit. George Michael is not a great dancer. The way he dances is very cheesy, and it gets worse when he is dressing like a police officer. Some videos are excellent especially performance from MTV Unplugged. "Jesus To a Child," "Waltz Away Dreaming" and some videos are very interesting to watch...
Published on Oct. 19 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Review of a Remarkable Career, June 7 2004
By 
R. Janis "spiritofeden" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This collection is essential for any fan of George Michael, and is a bracing reminder of one of the greatest pop songwriters of the last 25 years. It also shows his astuteness in choosing directors for his videos. No one, aside from Madonna, has done this as well over such an extended period of time.
Some of the clips may seem dated now ("I Want Your Sex", anyone?), but most hold up incredibly well. "Kissing a Fool" is the best of the "Faith" era tracks, and one of the finest songs George has written - maybe his best. And the video presents it beautifully. "Freedom '90" might be the best video he ever made in which he did not appear, but it's fantastic all the same, with Christy Turlington, Naomi Campbell, Linda Evangelista, Cindy Crawford and Elaine Irwin filling in. It's also one of the greatest video clips ever filmed.
A wonderful addition to this collection is George's show-stopping performance of "Somebody to Love" from The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert of '92. This, I believe, shows him at the peak of his powers. It's simply chill-inducing.
From the "Older" period, the best are probably "Jesus To A Child" (gorgeous and mournful) and "Fastlove" (virtual reality gone haywire). "Fastlove" is fun for two reasons: George always has gorgeous models so everyone has something to enjoy, and in the part where George sings, "...in the absence of security..." he's dressed in sunglasses and latex (?) being sprayed with water. What's not to like?
In this age of "American Idol" and faceless, bland "insta-stars" (who, on top of singing schlock, will most likely never write a song of their own), this will remind you how true talent will always shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies & Gentlemen The Best Of George Michael Home Video, Dec 29 2003
The album was amazing to begin with. I had no idea that he wouldn't stop there. He then releases this outstanding video containing only his greatest videos and they are certainly his greatest. Take a look at the songs he has chosen and you'll understand what I'm trying to say.
OUTSIDE
The song is amazing. Great disco sound. The video mocks his bathroom incident. It is on the strange side, but still a cool video.
FASTLOVE
Although the song is really great, the video needs just a little work.
SPINNING THE WHEEL
Awesome tune. The video is not that bad.
FREEDOM 90
I like what I see here. Cindy Crawford, Naomi Campbell, etc. George, gay or not, knows how to pick 'em.
KILLER/PAPA WAS A ROLLIN' STONE
Okay.
TOO FUNKY
A funky video goes with a funky song. Incredible.
FAITH
The song is not all that great, but it isn't all that bad. The video is real cool, especially in the beginning where it plays a little of I WANT YOUR SEX.
I WANT YOUR SEX
If you look at the track list, it says I WANT YOUR SEX (Pt. II). Apparently, this isn't I WANT YOUR SEX (PT. II). George only put out I WANT YOUR SEX (PT. I) as a single and he made the video for that one. The video is great. The chinese girl wasn't all that pretty, but she sure had a great package.
JESUS TO A CHILD
A beautiful song to begin with. The video is very nice and it fits the song perfectly.
WALTZ AWAY DREAMING
I haven't watched this one yet.
FATHER FIGURE
Although a great song, the video needs work, like showing more of George and the hot model in scenes together.
DON'T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME with Elton John
Although I like this version because Elton ...didn't do all of it, I still wish George didn't have Elton ... join him on it...
KISSING A FOOL
I still do not like Jazz, but this is an irresistible song. This has to be one of my favorites. The video doesn't quite fit but it's still a good video.
I KNEW YOU WERE WAITING (FOR ME) with Aretha Franklin
I do not like Aretha Franklin, but somehow, I just knew that this was gonna be a great song and I was right. I love this song. The video is a great touch.
SOMEBODY TO LOVE with Queen
I just wish Freddy Mercury was alive to join George and his bandmates on this one. I have been a great fan of Queen for quite some time. George sang this song with emotion and he sang it with passion. That's what makes me love this song so much. The way he handles the stage is incredible.
MONKEY
Not one of my favorites, but the video is real cool.
ONE MORE TRY
First off, this is the song that turned me into a George Michael fan. This is one of the most beautiful ballads I have ever heard. The video does not fit, but it is a great video.
STAR PEOPLE '97
Okay.
I CAN'T MAKE YOU LOVE ME
Not bad.
A DIFFERENT CORNER
A great song.
YOU HAVE BEEN LOVED
Not bad.
CARELESS WHISPER
This was actually done when George was in WHAM! This song was a classic back then. It is a classic today. It will remain a classic in the future and then on. Everyone knows it. The concept of the video fits the song perfectly because the concept of the video shows what is being sung in the song. Great video.
If you are a George Michael fan and you don't have this, add it to your collection of George Michael merchandise. You will definitely not be disappointed. I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Audio/ visual evolution of a major talent, Sept. 26 2002
By 
Niel Rishoi (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Though George Michael's major career output is well documented and encapsulated in the selection featured here, the true climax of the presentation occurs during the hour-long interview which originally aired on BBC television. Coming right after his infamous public "outing", Michael is charming, funny, articulate and frank; but the magical moment happens when Michael takes a break from the interview to sing "A Different Corner." In those few moments, George Michael miraculously distills a whole lifetime of performing - and living - experience into a masterfully sung and interpreted song of true poignancy and pathos. The voice is more mellow, more resonant and simply more beautiful than ever. He breathes the very essence of the song's heartbreak with infinite skill and empathetic sagacity, of someone who's been there, and lived life - a lot. His superior vocal technique is automatic, spontaneous; his way with the nuancing and phrasing instinctive, sure and born of a real artist. Enjoy this collection for the different scenarios played out in the videos and imaginative song stylings, and don't forget to close off the video with the songs featured within the interview: it reveals the evolution of one of pop music's major talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael - More than I expected., April 12 2001
By 
"jetdev5" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George Michael Ladies/Gentlem. (VHS Tape)
I only bought this compilation because I am very much in love with his song Freedom (not to mention the video). Actually it took me a while to get the collection, but I was glad I got it after all.
When I actually made the time to experience it, I found myself rediscovering George Michael's artistic ability, or should I say artistic vision. One can use many Adjectives to describe performers; the most common used to describe him from other people was "cheesy". I always questioned that, and since taking in this video collection I find that I disagree. George Michael is a man that has created a curiously COURAGEOUS artistic portfolio. What I mean by courage is that he is very able to easily poke fun at the whole notion that he is a "SUPERSTAR", he is able to project himself as human, as emotional, and able to enjoy his mistakes - especially with the "Outside" video (and the incident involving his arrest). It is almost a slap in the face to his critics saying that you would probably do it too, if you had the chance that is; or that you would at least think about it. I actually salute him for that.
This video compilation is outstanding, to say the least. One has to remember that to keep things interesting it takes a very creative mind - he manages to create beautiful visions. Take a look for yourself and you will see that each and every video depicts beauty in some form or another, or at least beauty that is easy on the eyes - if one is able to appreciate the human form. His work is tainted with sexual references, but the tint is soft, pleasing and it wont chafe your eyes.
I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GEORGE MICHAEL, MISUNDERSTOOD & UNDERAPPRECIATED, Dec 18 2000
By 
JOE MARA (GLENS FALLS, NEW YORK) - See all my reviews
TO ALL YOU MUSIC LISTENERS AND VIDEO AFFICIANADOS OUT THERE THAT HAVE DISMISSED GEORGE MICHAEL AS A FLUFFY POPSTAR, YOU ARE REALLY MISSING OUT ON A GREAT TALENT. I MYSELF, WAS GUILTY OF OVERLOOKING GEORGE AND IT SEEMS MOST PEOPLE, WHEN THEY HEAR HIS MUSIC, KNOW THE WORDS, SING ALONG, BUT WOULD NEVER ADMIT TO LIKING HIM, ESPECIALLY MACHO MALE TYPES. WELL, TAKE IT FROM A LONG TIME VAN HALEN FAN WHOSE FRIENDS THINK HAS LOST IT, I THINK GEORGE MICHAEL IS GREAT, TERRIFIC, INCREDIBLE, YOU PICK YOUR OWN ADJECTIVE. THIS CD, DVD IS A GREAT REPRESENTATION OF A TREMENDOUSLY GIFTED PERFORMER WHO DOES IT ALL. GEORGE MICHAEL IS INVOLVED WITH EVERY ASPECT OF HIS MUSIC. HE IS AN AWE INSPIRING, THOUGHT PROVOKING SONG WRITER WITH A VOICE/ SEVERAL VOICES THAT SHOWS NO LIMIT. HE IS IN COMPLETE CONTROL OF HIS MUSIC AND VIDEO PRODUCTION AND I ESPECIALLY LIKE THE FACT THAT HE DOESN'T TAILOR MAKE HIS SONGS OR VIDEOS TO BE COMMERCIAL. HE ENCOURAGES AND ALLOWS THE OTHERS AROUND HIM TO SHINE, WHETHER IT BE WITH LONG MUSIC INTERLUDES IN SONGS WHEN HE JUST STEPS BACK AND LETS THE BAND PLAY OR ALLOWING HIS BACKGROUND SINGERS SHARE OR EVEN CARRY MAIN VERSES. I COULD GO VIDEO BY VIDEO AND GIVE ALL THE DETAILS, BUT INSTEAD I'LL SIMPLY SAY...BUY THIS VIDEO/DVD, IT WILL NOT DISAPPOINT YOU. YOU'LL BE GETTING 23 IMAGINATIVE, HARD TO TAKE YOUR EYES OFF PIECES OF MUSICAL GENIUS PLUS A BONUS INTERVIEW SEGMENT THAT SHOWS GEORGE MICHAEL TO BE A SUPER CREATIVE, INTELLIGENT, WITTY AND ALL AROUND PLEASANT PERSON...TRULY MISUNDERSTOOD. AND THERE ARE MORE BONUS PERFORMANCES ON TOP OF THAT! GEORGE DELIVERS ALOT FOR YOUR MONEY. ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THAT VOICE! NOW, *THAT* IS TALENT!, Dec 14 2000
By 
Claude Bouchard "Eurodancemix" (Frederick, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In an industry where good looks and talent don't often go together, it's great to see George have the success he so richly deserves. What a talent! His vocal abilities are mind-blowing --I'm sure I'm not the only guy who wishes he could sing like him!--, his songwriting skills are sharp and insightful, and he knows how to put on a show (on video and on stage).
This DVD, with a few exceptions, is a great retrospective of his work so far. From his beginnings as a teen idol (I'm old enough to remember when "Careless Whisper" had the girls swooning) to the more mature and socially-conscious messenger that he is today. Not all the videos work, let's agree that some are boring, but most are superbly entertaining. The first video, "Outside", is a trip indeed and is quite an aural and visual treat. You'll remember that one for a long time!
Technically, the DVD is excellent. The images are crisp and the sound is clear and loud. One exception is with "Careless Whisper", which I feel could have been digitally remastered since the video is somewhat grainy compared to the others and the sound is a tad lower on this one. But this is minor and really doesn't detract from this classic song.
The bonus BBC interviews and performances are excellent. The interview shows George as a very comfortable-with-himself person with a great sense of humor.
Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael's entire career on one disc..., Oct. 22 2000
By 
Michael T. Rognlien (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, so maybe not the Wham! days, but those days were (officially) not about George as a solo artist.
What remains is a collection of videos from my favorite recording artist ever. The campy bootie-shaking in Faith - the boy in the tophat dancing around in Monkey - the noticeably absent pop singer in "Freedom 90" (one of my favorite songs by him) and the somewhat "out" George in "Jesus to a Child." If you watch closely, you can see the pivotal turning point in which his music becomes more honest, more fresh, and less driven by the need/desire for commercial success. Like Madonna and Michael Jackson, he is a master of video as an art form - often sacrificing self-promoting face time for the rest of the video-making process. Thankfully, he ended his career woes and personal issues and jumped out in front of the camera again to be seen by fans. Not included is one of his most controversial videos - Praying for Time, in which a dispute with then-label Columbia led him to refuse to appear in his videos, replacing himself with text on screen. I wish they'd have included this video as well, as it was one of the most powerful (if unintentional) uses of words on screen to convey the power of the song's lyrics.
I've said it before and I'll say it again here - pop music is a hugely underappreciated music form, and this video collection is a great representation of one of the true masters of pop. Indeed a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation of Video Classics, July 27 2000
By 
Luis Hernandez (New York, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The voice of George Michael is probably one of the greatest in music history. Starting with Wham! and later with a successful solo career, Michael's transformation from teenage poster boy to a mature adult singer happened in front of our eyes due to the growth of music videos during the last 20 years.
This compilation which covers most of the span of Michael's career makes an excellent addition to any music lover's collection. As a pioneer of sex in music videos, Michael has definately left his mark on the medium. His popularization of fashion models in such videos as "Freedom" and "Too Funky" made many runway models household names. Other videos such as "I Want Your Sex" popularized foreplay without any smut involved at all.
The highlights of this DVD collection have to be the videos "Fast Love" and "Outside". "Fast Love" (from his "Older" album) incoporates beautiful color schemes and special effects. "Outside" (his new single off his greatest hits collection) starts out a soft-core German sex film. However, in reality Michael wants the song and video to be a message about sexuality (especially his own's) and the troubles it can lead people to. While many are aware of his 1998 scandal where he was arrested at a public bathroom in Los Angeles due to indecent behavior, Michael actually shows he has no shame of what he did in what I think is one of the most inventive videos made in recent years.
The only negative thing here is that with the exception of "Careless Whisper," all of his videos from his Wham! days were not included in this collection. Videos such as "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" and "Everything She Wants" were excellent videos, however it seems that the producers of this video compilation thought differently.
Besides the videos, the DVD version contain several live performances on several American and British programs. It was great to see these, because it only shows that Michael's voice is all natural, even in front of a studio audience. I loved this collection, and hope that everyone who purchases this collection will enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael A True Recording Talent, Not Just A Pop Star, Feb. 21 2000
By 
Although George Michael has had his share of embarassing PR problems and legal setbacks, the truth is this British pop star is more than that-in reality he is under rated and under appreciated for his many talents. Michael is an accomplished songwriter and producer of some of the finely crafted pop and dance songs that exist as evidenced by what you can find on this DVD. Cinematically, Michael also has an eye for creating visually erotic classy videos of all types-some of his work here is very film noir, others have a flair for drama and miniature story telling. As good a performer as Michael is, where he really excels is his songwriting which can be compared to the lush production values and clever lyrics of one of the greatest songwriting teams of all time-Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb-the Bee Gees. Michael is an artist who has carefully honed his music career every step of the way and we are richer for having his songs be part of our culture. Any one who dismisses George Michael as a lightweight pop star just doesn't understand or appreciate the depth of his talent, hard work or intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Michael A True Recording Talent, Not Just A Pop Star, Feb. 21 2000
By 
Although George Michael has had his share of embarassing PR problems and legal setbacks, the truth is this British pop star is more than that-in reality he is under rated and under appreciated for his many talents. Michael is an accomplished songwriter and producer of some of the finely crafted pop and dance songs that exist as evidenced by what you can find on this DVD. Cinematically, Michael also has an eye for creating visually erotic classy videos of all types-some of his work here is very film noir, others have a flair for drama and miniature story telling. As good a performer as Michael is, where he really excels is his songwriting which can be compared to the lush production values and clever lyrics of one of the greatest songwriting teams of all time-Barry, Robin and Maurice Gibb-the Bee Gees. Michael is an artist who has carefully honed his music career every step of the way and we are richer for having his songs be part of our culture. Any one who dismisses George Michael as a lightweight pop star just doesn't understand or appreciate the depth of his talent, hard work or intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Michael Ladies/Gentlem.
George Michael Ladies/Gentlem. by Thierry Mugler (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews