Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars No need for investogative reporting-see this film
I rented Up Close and Personal this weekend for the first time. I expected to like it, but not as much as I did. The acting is excellent and the story is extremely entertaining.
Michelle Pfieffer plays Sally Atwater, an aspiring news reporter who gets accepted at a station in Miami. Warren Justice [Robert Redford], her boss, is a hardcore newsman who at first doesn't...
Published on April 7 2002 by Lauren Maffeo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISING
I recently happened to see (quite by accident, which I guess is what "happened to" implies) Up Close and Personal starring Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer. I was completely against seeing it. It looked positively ridiculous and asinine from commercials, making it seem like a wholly sappy love story between an older man and an up and coming woman (who would of course...
Published on Sept. 27 2001 by EriKa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars No need for investogative reporting-see this film, April 7 2002
By 
Lauren Maffeo (Natick, Ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
I rented Up Close and Personal this weekend for the first time. I expected to like it, but not as much as I did. The acting is excellent and the story is extremely entertaining.
Michelle Pfieffer plays Sally Atwater, an aspiring news reporter who gets accepted at a station in Miami. Warren Justice [Robert Redford], her boss, is a hardcore newsman who at first doesn't really care about Sally, but it doesn't take long before he realizes her potential. Sally is at first not a great reporter. In fact, she's a downright laughingstock. But she has definite potential to be great, and Warren helps her realize that. Her name is changed to Tally [after a sort-of amusing incident in a bathroom]and she soon becomes a popular newswoman, going where all the news is happening. She gets to be too good for Miami and is offered a job in Philadelphia as a newsanchor. This presents problems in itself, for she becomes enemy to Miss Marcia [Stockard Channing], who up until Tally came was the toast of the station. But it's not just Tally's problems at work that are bothering her-she and Warren have fallen head over heels for each other [duh!] Most love stories seem to drag on and on [Gone With The Wind, I'm talking to you], but the pacing for this movie was excellent and right on target. The middle gets a little slow, but the pulse rate goes up towards the end as Tally's life becomes endangered when she takes on an assignment at a prison and Warren is watching her terror.
This film is suitable for people of all ages. There is nothing especially provocative that would prevent kids from seeing it. I found the movie enormously entertaining also because I got to see what the life of a reporter is like, and being a reporter is a career I have considered for myself as an adult [I'm 13]. As I mentioned before, the acting is also worth noting. Redford is quite good, but it is Pfieffer who really shines here. Her Tally is perfectly performed, and it's interesting to watch her trnasform from a wanna-be to the one everyone wants. It's also interesting to see her with 3 different hairstyles, as she goes from long blonde to short blonde to classic brunette. This is her movie without a doubt. The ending is somewhat predictable, but that is hardly worth noting considering how wonderful the rest of the movie is. Start popping the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Really tried to like it, but the film is too silly to enjoy, Dec 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
Michelle Pfeiffer is far too old for her role and since she is not the most talented actress (although she was great in What Lies Beneath, where her limited abilities were well suited), she is very awkward in the part. Silly and ditzy at first, she willingly falls under the influence of Robert Redford's character, a controlling sexist who bitterly dreams of better days when journalism was about telling the facts rather than making up stories or ridiculing citizens. I liked Redford's character to some degree, only the sexist and belligerant portions were hard to stomach. He needed a strong woman to tell him off, at least, or to set him right. Pfeiffer's character doesn't provide this. She becomes Redford's protege, and we have a Pygmalion plot which is sure to appeal to women who want to be sheltered and guided by a father-figure who later takes them to bed. Kind of gross idea. There are a lot of childish antics from Pfeiffer's character, Tally, in her pursuit of friendship and later sex with Redford's Warren Justice (his character's name sounds like he should be on the Supreme Court, doesn't it?). Finally, Pfeiffer gets what she wants, and the romantic love scene pretty much consists of Redford ungraciously throwing her against a wall (ouch!) and finally, being nice and kissing the small of her back. Hmm. Is this the high romance we expect from Redford? Well, no, but it suits his character, who is not a particularly likeable guy. Following this, there are a lot of silly professional antics. Warren Justice suffers from an attitude problem, expecting to be revered rather than treated like an ordinary, unemployed guy. Tally has a big scene at some prison riot which sends a message to the audience that prisons should be reformed (ho, hum, not another Redford liberal political message, embedded in a movie that's suppose to be entertaining, even though this one is not). Warren Justice, or rather Redford, manages to get himself rescued from this film in a terminal way, removing any possibility for a sequel even though the original film is so bad that sequels are far from anyone's mind. The film ends awkwardly, with Tally or Michelle on stage talking about how wonderful Redford is and a huge photograph of Redford, with his classic smile, looming behind her. It looks like war of the movie star egos, and not a decent film about love, journalism, ethics, or adventure. There are a lot of awkward, nonsensical one-liners in this film too. They are thrown out as little romantic bits -- Redford wants to be with Pfeiffer so much that it hurts. One day together is more than they deserve. That sort of thing. Poor acting, poor directing, poor script -- very poor story idea. Granted there are women who are like Pfeiffer's character, helpless and dependent and silly and barely educated. They do turn to men to help them, rather than get some of the generously available financial aid and go to college, during the day or at night, to work hard and make something out of themselves. And there are plenty of men like Redford's character who like women that they can view as being less than they are, as being inferior. I don't think we needed a film about this, nor did Redford need to belittle his reputation this way. Honestly, if you can sit through this film twice, or even once (I kept getting up to clean the apartment, which is a sign of how bad a film is if I cannot sit still and would rather -- horrors -- vacuum and dust), you have more stamina than me. I disliked this film, but I hope you manage to find something to like in it. Films should be entertaining. Maybe this one has some merit buried in it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISING, Sept. 27 2001
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
I recently happened to see (quite by accident, which I guess is what "happened to" implies) Up Close and Personal starring Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer. I was completely against seeing it. It looked positively ridiculous and asinine from commercials, making it seem like a wholly sappy love story between an older man and an up and coming woman (who would of course be nowhere if it weren't for his benevolence and patience). Not to add the terrible Celine Dion theme song. After watching it, however, I realised that while it was not great by any means-a bit better than mediocre entertainment perhaps-it was much better than I expected. Much different from what I expected as well. It was entirely mismarketed. Not to add that STUPID title. Really should be seen to understand what I mean. I don't want to hash out all the plot details because it would just waste your time and mine when you could just watch the movie and find out for yourself. It does have a sad ending, which was also a pleasant surprise. You kind of expect a movie like this to end happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Pfeiffer fans., April 6 2000
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
Up Close and Personal does the impossible: it manages to jump from different settings within two hours and shift its plot while keeping the audience wanting more and more. Pfeiffer stars as a reporter, Tally, who has always aspired to make it to the top in television news. Along the way, she meets a veteran newsman, Warren Justice (Robert Redford), who gives her a chance at a reporter. As she begins to mature in her stories and her thirst for knowledge heightens, she begins to turn heads in the news business, and ends up moving from a station in Miami to a station in Philadelphia. All the while, Tally and Warren struggle to keep alive a relationship that both know is inevitable. Performances from all actors are very original and heartfelt, under Jon Avnet's wonderful direction. Thomas Newman's score is brilliant, and fits in at every moment to add to the emotional appeal of the movie. A storyline that never stops moving at times keeps the energy alive, which makes this movie one that will please most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth seeing; not worth filming, Oct. 25 1999
By 
mcerner "mcerner" (Princeton, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
There was a good story in this film, but unfortunately it nearly disappeared under the pygmalion/romance. Redford's character is tough and determined, but also a man on the way down, because his commitment to truth and journalism is no longer in vogue. News has gone from fact-finding to entertainment and even censorship. To follow his story would have been magnificent, but they introduced a ditsy, male-dependent blonde (Pfieffer, proving how poorly she can act) and an absurd story-line of a mature man who should know better wanting a romance with an aggressive but altogether mindless chick. Too much Tally Atwater and her adventures in the disneyland of modern journalism, too little Warren Justice (strange name) and his struggles for an ethical standard that we see fading from all sectors of our culture. This picture had something to say but got totally lost. Redford does his best with a poor script and disinterested direction. But even his strong presence and bold presentation cannot make this film worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful romance!, Nov. 26 1998
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
Up Close & Personal is a wonderful movie. Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer have incredible chemistry together. Ms. Pfeiffer plays Tally Atwater, a young woman who wants to be a news reporter. Mr. Redford plays Warren Justice, the man who teaches Tally all he knows about the business. They realize their love when Tally starts to go places.
Tally sends her resume to stations everywhere, but only WMIA-Miami responds. Warren hires her as his secretary, and finally lets her on-screen as the weather girl. Of course, she fails, but Warren sees her potential. All her hard work pays off when she meets Bucky, an agent who sends her to Philadelphia. Without Warren, though, she can't get the hang of big city news. Bucky talks to Warren about Tally, and he soon flies off to join her.
Tally gets her big network break when she interviews inmates for a special report on prisons. While she is there, a jail break occurs. She is forced to do nation-wide live broadcasts, while Warren sits on the sides, sometimes able to communicate with her and sometimes not.
After she goes to the major network, Warren realizes he needs to get back into the swing of things. He decides to investigate how the people of Panama feel about gaining possesion of the Canal in 1999. What happens next is the real suprise, so I'll let you watch to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Get out your suspension of disbelief!, Sept. 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie was interesting enough to keep me watching to the end but I was disappointed. Maybe I missed the point, but it seemed to me that almost nothing about this movie was real. Robert Redford's character wore clothes and had furniture that seemed mostly lifted from the Sundance Catalog. Michelle Pfeiffer's character never seemed to be doing any research but rather staying late at work to play solitaire on her computer. And we later are expected to believe that she gets up from her wedding bed to work at her laptop on a news story. I found it a sad reflection on Hollywood's take on American values and an insult to the viewer's intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Among the worst films in recent years!!!, May 12 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
An absolutely load of tripe of a plot, that could be made convincing given the right director, is turned into a down right embarrassing tale that doesn't even warrent the word "corny". There is absolutely no sexual chemistry between the two main stars, Redford being far too old for Pfeiffer, there's virtually no plot at all and what there is a risible "romance" among the embarrassing world of the American Media. After Paul Verhoeven poured scorn over the media in "Ropocop" its a wonder anyone had the stupidity to make a serious film about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not afraid to write my opinion, Sept. 11 2002
By 
Holly Golightly "The Kid" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
I honestly cannot see why so many people disliked this movie. It's about a girl who, instead of accepting the life fate has given her, is willing to so anything to make her dreams come true. She doesn't just sit around and dream about it, she gets off her butt and does it, which is probably more than of the reviewers who are dissing her character and calling her weak can say.
I also didn't think the acting was bad at all; it was really good actually. Most of my girlfriends liked this movie. It's kind of a chick flick though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for All True Romantics!, Jan. 29 2000
By 
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
A beautiful love story which follows a fiercely determined news reporter's climb to fame and the gradual disintegration of her husband's career while he offers his heartfelt support and encouragement. He started off coaching her and eventually became her husband, a story of perfect love, of co-existence in a world of fierce competition. They loved each other, the chemistry between Pfeiffer and Redford is magical, they gave a truly inspiring and heart-wrenching performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up Close & Personal (Bilingual)
Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) by Karl Walter Lindenlaub (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews