Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars up close and personal
wonderful yet sad story... who better to play the role than Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeifer.... great... but very kind and romantic.... good work... to bad that he has to died... but it is part of the story... sincerely marcelle
Published 3 months ago by Prague Castle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all that, but Pfieffer and Redford make it worth it
Both actors deliver fine performances. Even though the plot is ho-hum, the movie is still interesting to watch. Sad, of course, as all fine love stories are. But worth a peek.
Published on Nov. 17 2003 by Alicia Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars up close and personal, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
wonderful yet sad story... who better to play the role than Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeifer.... great... but very kind and romantic.... good work... to bad that he has to died... but it is part of the story... sincerely marcelle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not all that, but Pfieffer and Redford make it worth it, Nov. 17 2003
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
Both actors deliver fine performances. Even though the plot is ho-hum, the movie is still interesting to watch. Sad, of course, as all fine love stories are. But worth a peek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars emotional, Feb. 21 2003
By 
Josefina Grimesey "dude_93" (Sioux CIty, IA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is one of the first movies I can say that I made me cry at the end that I love. Redford and Pfeiffer are AWESOME and it had all the things a movie must have; action, romance, and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Get out your suspension of disbelief!, Sept. 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie was interesting enough to keep me watching to the end but I was disappointed. Maybe I missed the point, but it seemed to me that almost nothing about this movie was real. Robert Redford's character wore clothes and had furniture that seemed mostly lifted from the Sundance Catalog. Michelle Pfeiffer's character never seemed to be doing any research but rather staying late at work to play solitaire on her computer. And we later are expected to believe that she gets up from her wedding bed to work at her laptop on a news story. I found it a sad reflection on Hollywood's take on American values and an insult to the viewer's intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not afraid to write my opinion, Sept. 11 2002
By 
Holly Golightly "The Kid" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
I honestly cannot see why so many people disliked this movie. It's about a girl who, instead of accepting the life fate has given her, is willing to so anything to make her dreams come true. She doesn't just sit around and dream about it, she gets off her butt and does it, which is probably more than of the reviewers who are dissing her character and calling her weak can say.
I also didn't think the acting was bad at all; it was really good actually. Most of my girlfriends liked this movie. It's kind of a chick flick though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and dull, Aug. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
I agree with the reviewer who found herself dusting her
apartment while watching this movie. I'm about to see the end of it, just out of curiosity, but it's a superficial film with
two-dimensional characters. I agree with the other negative reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No need for investogative reporting-see this film, April 7 2002
By 
Lauren Maffeo (Natick, Ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
I rented Up Close and Personal this weekend for the first time. I expected to like it, but not as much as I did. The acting is excellent and the story is extremely entertaining.
Michelle Pfieffer plays Sally Atwater, an aspiring news reporter who gets accepted at a station in Miami. Warren Justice [Robert Redford], her boss, is a hardcore newsman who at first doesn't really care about Sally, but it doesn't take long before he realizes her potential. Sally is at first not a great reporter. In fact, she's a downright laughingstock. But she has definite potential to be great, and Warren helps her realize that. Her name is changed to Tally [after a sort-of amusing incident in a bathroom]and she soon becomes a popular newswoman, going where all the news is happening. She gets to be too good for Miami and is offered a job in Philadelphia as a newsanchor. This presents problems in itself, for she becomes enemy to Miss Marcia [Stockard Channing], who up until Tally came was the toast of the station. But it's not just Tally's problems at work that are bothering her-she and Warren have fallen head over heels for each other [duh!] Most love stories seem to drag on and on [Gone With The Wind, I'm talking to you], but the pacing for this movie was excellent and right on target. The middle gets a little slow, but the pulse rate goes up towards the end as Tally's life becomes endangered when she takes on an assignment at a prison and Warren is watching her terror.
This film is suitable for people of all ages. There is nothing especially provocative that would prevent kids from seeing it. I found the movie enormously entertaining also because I got to see what the life of a reporter is like, and being a reporter is a career I have considered for myself as an adult [I'm 13]. As I mentioned before, the acting is also worth noting. Redford is quite good, but it is Pfieffer who really shines here. Her Tally is perfectly performed, and it's interesting to watch her trnasform from a wanna-be to the one everyone wants. It's also interesting to see her with 3 different hairstyles, as she goes from long blonde to short blonde to classic brunette. This is her movie without a doubt. The ending is somewhat predictable, but that is hardly worth noting considering how wonderful the rest of the movie is. Start popping the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Really tried to like it, but the film is too silly to enjoy, Dec 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
Michelle Pfeiffer is far too old for her role and since she is not the most talented actress (although she was great in What Lies Beneath, where her limited abilities were well suited), she is very awkward in the part. Silly and ditzy at first, she willingly falls under the influence of Robert Redford's character, a controlling sexist who bitterly dreams of better days when journalism was about telling the facts rather than making up stories or ridiculing citizens. I liked Redford's character to some degree, only the sexist and belligerant portions were hard to stomach. He needed a strong woman to tell him off, at least, or to set him right. Pfeiffer's character doesn't provide this. She becomes Redford's protege, and we have a Pygmalion plot which is sure to appeal to women who want to be sheltered and guided by a father-figure who later takes them to bed. Kind of gross idea. There are a lot of childish antics from Pfeiffer's character, Tally, in her pursuit of friendship and later sex with Redford's Warren Justice (his character's name sounds like he should be on the Supreme Court, doesn't it?). Finally, Pfeiffer gets what she wants, and the romantic love scene pretty much consists of Redford ungraciously throwing her against a wall (ouch!) and finally, being nice and kissing the small of her back. Hmm. Is this the high romance we expect from Redford? Well, no, but it suits his character, who is not a particularly likeable guy. Following this, there are a lot of silly professional antics. Warren Justice suffers from an attitude problem, expecting to be revered rather than treated like an ordinary, unemployed guy. Tally has a big scene at some prison riot which sends a message to the audience that prisons should be reformed (ho, hum, not another Redford liberal political message, embedded in a movie that's suppose to be entertaining, even though this one is not). Warren Justice, or rather Redford, manages to get himself rescued from this film in a terminal way, removing any possibility for a sequel even though the original film is so bad that sequels are far from anyone's mind. The film ends awkwardly, with Tally or Michelle on stage talking about how wonderful Redford is and a huge photograph of Redford, with his classic smile, looming behind her. It looks like war of the movie star egos, and not a decent film about love, journalism, ethics, or adventure. There are a lot of awkward, nonsensical one-liners in this film too. They are thrown out as little romantic bits -- Redford wants to be with Pfeiffer so much that it hurts. One day together is more than they deserve. That sort of thing. Poor acting, poor directing, poor script -- very poor story idea. Granted there are women who are like Pfeiffer's character, helpless and dependent and silly and barely educated. They do turn to men to help them, rather than get some of the generously available financial aid and go to college, during the day or at night, to work hard and make something out of themselves. And there are plenty of men like Redford's character who like women that they can view as being less than they are, as being inferior. I don't think we needed a film about this, nor did Redford need to belittle his reputation this way. Honestly, if you can sit through this film twice, or even once (I kept getting up to clean the apartment, which is a sign of how bad a film is if I cannot sit still and would rather -- horrors -- vacuum and dust), you have more stamina than me. I disliked this film, but I hope you manage to find something to like in it. Films should be entertaining. Maybe this one has some merit buried in it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISING, Sept. 27 2001
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) (DVD)
I recently happened to see (quite by accident, which I guess is what "happened to" implies) Up Close and Personal starring Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer. I was completely against seeing it. It looked positively ridiculous and asinine from commercials, making it seem like a wholly sappy love story between an older man and an up and coming woman (who would of course be nowhere if it weren't for his benevolence and patience). Not to add the terrible Celine Dion theme song. After watching it, however, I realised that while it was not great by any means-a bit better than mediocre entertainment perhaps-it was much better than I expected. Much different from what I expected as well. It was entirely mismarketed. Not to add that STUPID title. Really should be seen to understand what I mean. I don't want to hash out all the plot details because it would just waste your time and mine when you could just watch the movie and find out for yourself. It does have a sad ending, which was also a pleasant surprise. You kind of expect a movie like this to end happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss the punchline here?, Sept. 15 2000
This review is from: Up Close & Personal (VHS Tape)
Somewhat predictable love story of two journalists in the news business who must examine their lives, both personally and professionally, and come to terms with how to work in the new world of network news. The romance that ultimately develops between them however is pretty standard Hollywod fare and has been done better in other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb48465a0)

This product

Up Close & Personal (Bilingual)
Up Close & Personal (Bilingual) by Karl Walter Lindenlaub (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews