Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel rocks
I absolutly adore Rachel Leigh Cook who plays Laney in this movie, I have seen many of her movies, Josie and the pussycats, Tom and Huck, The Babysitters Club, of course She's all that, and more she's just an amazing beautiful and talented actress. She brings such honestly and virtue to all her characters and while being beautiful she's not the kind of beautiful where she...
Published on April 19 2004 by marshmelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A totally original awesome movie!
This movie is great! It stars, Freddie Prinze Jr. as, like, the coolest, smartest, most popular guy in school. His girlfriend dumps him in the beginning, so you feel, toooootally sad for him. Like, who is Freddie going to take to the prom? Anyway his girlfriend dumps him for Matthew Lillard playing, Brock Hudson (which is like a totally real sounding name) and he is,...
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Evan Feral


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel rocks, April 19 2004
By 
"marshmelly" (Grand Junction, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
I absolutly adore Rachel Leigh Cook who plays Laney in this movie, I have seen many of her movies, Josie and the pussycats, Tom and Huck, The Babysitters Club, of course She's all that, and more she's just an amazing beautiful and talented actress. She brings such honestly and virtue to all her characters and while being beautiful she's not the kind of beautiful where she looks unapprochable, she looks like she would be a normal down-to-earth person that could of easily went to your school. I think she's absolutly adorable. I love her little girl face.
Like I said she plays Laney, a high school senior who is the "geek" of her high school she's known as the ugly duckling. It's obvious that the people who did this movie realized it's impossible to make it a total transformation like in The Princess Diaries cause Rachel can't go from downright ugly and sad to stunningly beautiful like others can because she's naturaly beautiful and her beauty doesn't come from makeup a fancy hairdo or a skimpy outfit. But they made an effort to give her plain nothing special long hair, big glasses and a clumsy nature to make her an ugly duckling. But Cook took what she had to work with and slamdunked it.
Freddie Prinze Jr. plays oppisite of Rachel as Zach the most popular guy in school who seemed like he had everything going for him. Cute, popular, smart, dating the hottest girl in school who is up for prom queen, a jock, your typical popular guy. But when his girlfriend Taylor (played by the beautiful and talented Jodi Lyn O'Keefe who often gets the sexy and popular but downright bit**y roles thrown at her. But she's still one of my favorites) comes back from spring break, she also comes back with a new tattoo and a new famous boy toy (played by the always goofy Matthew Lillard) so she drops Zach like a hot burrito which is a major burn to his ego and reputation.
Zach's best friend (played by sexy Paul Walker from the fast and the furious movies) offers him a bet. He gets to pick a girl for Zach to date and transform into prom queen material in only a few weeks and whoever loses has to go to graduation naked. Zach agrees, and guess who he picks. You guessed it, Laney. At first Laney is totally turned off by Zach's sudden interest but slowly starts to hang out with him and as she does Zach's little sister gets rid of the glasses cuts her hair and gives her makeup and a little red dress and suddenly Laney is known as Taylor's competition for prom queen and Zach becomes smitten for real.
Laney has to deal with Taylor who when her new boy toy kicks her to the curb suddenly wants to pick Zach back up but of course he's not interested anymore cause he likes Laney and this makes Taylor jealous at Laney. She also has to deal with Zach's friend who arranged the bet and picked Laney thinking he was sure to win the bet but now feels threatened and so decides to try to get Laney for himself and make Zach look like a jerk to her.
The attraction between Laney and Zach is undeniable and when he starts hanging around her she inspires him to be a nice guy and to look at where his future is headed.
The whole cast is great and it's a lot better protrayal for teens and more believeable then other teen movies are. It's a funny, touching story that I think everyone will love especially teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A totally original awesome movie!, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Evan Feral (Novato, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
This movie is great! It stars, Freddie Prinze Jr. as, like, the coolest, smartest, most popular guy in school. His girlfriend dumps him in the beginning, so you feel, toooootally sad for him. Like, who is Freddie going to take to the prom? Anyway his girlfriend dumps him for Matthew Lillard playing, Brock Hudson (which is like a totally real sounding name) and he is, like, such a jerk that you hate from the begining. Then like, one of Freddie's friends is all like "Dude, I bet, like you couldn't make any girl you take to the prom into the prom queen!" and Freddie's like "Bro, I totally could, do you want make a bet about it?" and his friend's all "Dude, totally!" Then he picks Rachael Leigh Cook, who is totally a nerd, and like uncool and stuff, and Freddie's like "Nah dude! She's like a dweeb! I can still do it though." This part is really believable because kids in highshcool make bets like this, like all the time. Then Freddie talks to Rachel and makes her take off her dork clothes, glasses and let her hair down. Then she transforms, into like pretty and stuff. And she's really hot and, "All That", because she wasn't pretty at all before. Freddie goes to his friend and he's like, "I am, like, totally going to win this bet bro!" and his friend's all, "Dude!" Anyway, then something TOTALLY originally and unexpected happens! Freddie, like falls in love with Rachel, even though she's like a dork and stuff, he find out she's like totally nice and funny and stuff. Then another plot twist happens, when Freddie and Rachel are about to go to the prom and she finds out about what Freddie did! She's like "I can't believe you made a bet about me! That's like, bad!" and then Freddie's like "But I like, totally like, love you now." then Rachel's says, like "I am not going to this prom with you, because I am like really sad about all of this." Now Freddie's like sad too and he's like "Oh no, what did I do?" He goes over to Rachel's house, and like, talks to her about how he feels, and then she's all "Even though you made that bet, like, I know you love me know, and I like tooooootally love you too." So that's, like, what happens in the movie and I think that everyone should totally see it because it's cool and believable, and like the acting's real good. This kind of stuff, like, totally happens in high school. I think Freddie should, totally, win an Oscar, because he is like sooooo hot in this movie. Or at least get a Golden Globe or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst...movie...ever, March 2 2004
By 
Walker Morgan (Bay City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Who was the genius that pooped out this little gem? I have seen some wretched movies in my day. Movies that made me roll my eyes, slap my forehead, and even yell "that's BULLS___!!" to a packed theater. This movie takes the motherhumpin' cake. It's worse than Batman and Robin, the Avengers, and Varsity Blues put together. I HATE THIS MOVIE! It's so formulated and stupid. Ugly chicks are ugly if they have glasses or not. Believing anything different will cause much embarassment to high school guys. (Paper bags work better). No one freestyle raps about what's going on with the popular kids in school, and no one does a choreographed dance routine to a fatboy slim song at their f___ing prom! ARGH! I also hate freddy prince junior. Once his looks dry up, he ain't gonna be s___. Hey freddy, see you at the methodone clinic in a couple years! punk ass.
my girlfriend owns this movie, and one of these days when she pisses me off, i'm gonna smash it with a hammer. just looking for an excuse....
AVOID AT ALL COSTS INCLUDING CHEWING OFF YOUR OWN ARM!!! It's really that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This movie and Racheal Leigh Cook are all THAT!!!, Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Oh oh kiss me benieath the milikings while i lay me under de de you wear those shoes and I will wear that dress oh oh. I love that song while it was overplayed in 1999 it is great now. This movie is about a hunk ( the guy from Scobby doo with the blond hair) who gets dumped by this quasi hot chick and then he take a bet with the guy who i think is fast and furious that he can take any broad and make her the HC Queen. Enter the lovely face and legs of americans 1999 sex pot Racheal Leigh Cook who falls for freedy ( which girl wouldnt) but then finds out that he was using her to win a bet.
A great story about the fact that if your a ugly girl and a hot guy like freedy prince asks you to a dance he prolly is doing it for a bet to win money or an Augie Ojeda jersey or he is suffering from amniesia and thinks your Hilary Duff.
Great cmaeo by the guy who wwas in Scooby, summer catch and Scream you may remember in Scream he says "Stand back, this one a really sceamer."
I obtanined 9wink-wink)a used copy of this movie back in 2000 but i gave it to my friend cuz i thought he would watch it w/ his sister who I was crushing over at the time. Ends up i never got it and i only was with the sister for 3 1/2 months, so iwaish i nbever gave him this movie.
Buy it if you love Freedie (LIKE ME!!) or think that Racheal LEeigh Cook is HOT! (which she is but not anymore just like my friends sister)
Great lesson learned about prom and there is atleast 7 references to Sega which ad the gresatet game ever TEAM USA basketball straing Christian Laettner
Not a must buy like Sum of all fears, ghost ship, cobb, debbie does iowa but damn close
Peace,
G-Skilit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Look at the Cover Photo . . ., Dec 29 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Friendswood, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
The cover says it all. This is a romantic comedy, a relationship movie about two people. If that's what you are in the market for viewing, you will not be disappointed by the stereotyped portrayal of other characters or annoyed by the cheesy rendering of high school life. These are only plot devices. But because of them I witheld one (only one) star.
Several reviewers note Rachael Leigh Cook's striking talent and charm; I concur. There are few other movies that are written to showcase her as well as this one, but I am hoping some will be made. A few rebuttals are in order to some other comments. There is no skin in the movie, and only one curse word (appropriately uttered). And it will not undermine your preferred sexual orientation.
The plot is a combination of Cinderella and the equally common idea that a social manipulator falls for his own tricks (Cupid pricking himself with his own arrow in Cupid & Psyche). For all the comic intent, the resolution is surprisingly down to earth and satisfying. The very last scene likely would be forbidden in the real world, but it's funny and confirms the characters. Only one aspect of character motivation bothered me. If Zach is so insightful about people and relationships, what was he doing hanging around Taylor in the first place? And where does he get his insight? Not from his father. I guess it would make the movie too long and too serious to explain this, so just suspend disbelief. Laney's character, by comparison, is fully motivated and explained.
There is a music video among the extras which is a gem! "Kiss Me" performed by Sixpence (from their self-titled CD). They are sitting on a bench jammin' and the way the lead singer flirts with the camera, interposed with scenes from the movie and fantasy takeoffs from the movie, interacting with words from the song, unifies the movie with unrevealed childhood. It is a welcome relief from pointless trendy scene-frenzy which is so common. Unfortunately, the rest of Sixpence's music is not so upbeat. They should work for movies more often, maybe appear in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh God, not another one!, Sept. 30 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Here is another movie in which a guy makes a bet about girl, falls in love with girl, then girl finds out, etc. There have to have been at least 40 other movies and tv shows with this plot. Honestly, I would advise you to avoid all movies that have Freddie Prinze Jr. as their star. Every one that I have seen is rubbish.
In this movie, popular guy/jock Zack(Freddie Prinze Jr.) gets dumped by his self-absorbed witch of a girlfriend Taylor(how can you like a character who would go out with her?) for a rude self-absorbed tv star named Brock. While reeling from this shocking breakup, he makes a bet with a jerk friend of his(Okay, how did they become friends?) named Dean. The bet is that he can take any girl and make her a prom queen within the eight weeks before the prom. His "friend" picks out Laney, a misfit artist with horn-rimmed glasses and an extremely unbecoming haircut, played by Rachel Leigh Cook. A relative of mine glanced at the cover that features a photo of her and, after hearing a brief plot summary, said, "Oh, yeah right, like she could be a geek."
However, Cook manages it so well at the beginning that I found it difficult not to consider her a freak. Especially after the 'preforming arts' cafe scene. Anyway, Laney ends up flowering into a beautiful girl who gets nominated as prom queen (big surprise, huh?). The other nominee? Zack's old girlfriend Taylor.
Poor Zack begins to fall in love with Laney, but, unfortunately for him, his 'buddy' Dean decides that the new Laney is totally hot and tells her all about the bet. He omits the fact that it was his idea and that he selected her as the victim. Must have slipped his mind. Laney is shocked and hurt. Gee, what will happen? Will Zack be able to win her back? Ooh, that's a tough one. Oh, there is also a milisecond appearance by Sarah Michelle Gellar. This really does nothing to improve the movie. I suggest that you save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ugly Duckling Into A Swan Story . . ., March 18 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
... Except it's more like a swan into a swan story! No one can make Rachael Leigh Cook ugly, or "nerdy". Put a pair of a glasses on her and that's it. Big wow. It worked with Miss Congeniality. Anyway, enough of me moaning about pretty girls. This is one of those films that I love. Still a teenage film, but not a slasher movie. The two main characters don't totally click - I didn't find it anyway - and Freddie Prinz Jnr just gets on my nerves. He plays the same guy in every single film; Down To You, I Still Know, and probably some other films that I've seen but can't remember. Rachael Leigh Cook plays the part of Laney brilliantly. Even underneath the glasses, you can see she can look beautiful, even though wearing a tarty little red dress, and making her enemy into a clown doesn't really make her better. The reason she doesn't wear makeup etc, is cos her MOM died - just to be american! The best thing about this film is the dance sequence at the prom (if you look closely, the actual main characters can't keep in time with the extras!), and the fact that Freddie Prinz Jnr stops being a high school jerk and becomes almost human towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars And you thought Wing Commader was good!, Sept. 3 2002
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
I was not expecting to like this movie. In fact, I felt as if my chances of spontaneously combusting while winning a hand of blackjack on an online casino were better. A friend of mine, however, suggested it. One must bear in mind that I am normally not that vulnerable to the power of suggestion, but this was a very hot girl and hot girls generally don't talk to me. So I call the video store: "Hi, do you have 'She's All That?'" I asked. "Uh, yes," they replied while dialing 911 on the other line. Let me tell you, you have not died a slow death until you go to a video store and say "Hi, I'm the guy who called about 'She's All That.'"
Now granted, the make-over tale is a fairly trite and cliched storyline. For some reason, however, "She's All That" isn't as bad as some would think. Why you ask? Rachel Leigh Cook is really, really hot. So hot that even the director's clever attempt to make her ugly (a pair of glasses) didn't work. Now, I wear glasses. What are they trying to say here? But either way, the travails of one Lanie Boggs are actually somewhat riveting and I enjoyed watching this movie.
The one thing I'll say this movie was missing however was a large animated dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Above average teen romance, March 22 2002
By 
Matthew Horner (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
To me, this is an exceptionally lightweight and predictable romantic comedy. Still, it has some things going for it. The production values are good, and the photography is, at times, imaginative. It has some of the better new stars, particularly Freddie Prinz, Jr. and Matthew Lillard. While the script shows no new insights into teen life, it also does not belittle its characters, as has been the case in many recent movies. It even has a parent who is a good role model. These elements add up to making it a very likable picture.
The plot is elementary. Zach [Prinz] is the affable President of his Senior class. When he is dumped by his self-centered beauty queen of a girlfriend, he is left without a date for the prom. His pride wounded, he boasts to a couple of friends that he could make any girl a prom queen. They make a bet with him. The girl they choose for him is Laney [Rachael Lee Cook], who, of course, wears glasses, trips a lot and prefers a bohemian lifestyle. This plot is so old, I can't think of when it was invented. Maybe Charlotte Bronte thought it up back in 1850!
Freddie Prinz, Jr. has become a pro at playing the likable high school hero who doubts the validity of his place in the world. It will be interesting to watch his transition into more adult roles in the next few years. My prediction is that he will follow Keanu Reeves into the action/adventure area. Matthew Lillard is one of our funniest young actors. Here is plays Brock, the somewhat older guy who stole Zach's girlfriend. Brock has had his fifteen minutes of fame by appearing on MTV's Real Life. He's so obnoxious that he got kicked off the show. [If you've ever seen Real Like, you know that's an almost impossible feat.] As Laney, Rachael Lee Cook is only so-so. This is not entirely her fault. Eye glasses and kooky clothes are not enough to mask the fact she's a very pretty girl. This makes her transformation from ugly duckling to swan a bit silly.
She's All That does a fairly good job of pointing out that social events like Senior prom are not the life-altering moments that are cracked up to be. It does so gently, however, as if the makers were too timid to make much of a statement. I think today's teenagers are exceptionally bright, or at least a lot smarter than movie makers give them credit for.
I do think that the days of meaningful movies about young love are gone for good. This is due to society's change in attitude regarding the age at which one is considered to be all grown up. That threshold used to be about seventeen or eighteen years old. Today, this seems to have been pushed to the far side of thirty. As a result, love among people still in high school is almost always looked upon something which is fleeting and unimportant, although kids would surely not agree with me. If I am right, then movies about teenage life seem doomed to be confined to a very limiting space. They will only be able to regurgitate the same stories and characters over and over again, at the rate of about fifty pictures a year. So let's be frank. Romeo and Juliet are dead. Long live the varsity hunk and the prom queen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another teen movie!, March 22 2002
This review is from: She's All That (VHS Tape)
It's such a shame that the same old ideas can be churned out on the back of attractive stars and that people actually buy it. This well-groomed adaptation of the 'Pygmalion' story has high school jock Zach being dumped by his popular girlfriend. Without a date for the prom he accepts a bet from a friend to transform geeky art student Laney into the future prom queen.
Of course we wall know the drill - initial loathing turns to love and as soon as Laney takes off her glasses we all realise how incredibly beautiful she is. As Zach, Freddie Prinze Jr. shows off his vacuous acting ability and grins a lot. Rachael Leigh Cook fares better as wide-eyed Laney but it's amazing that the brilliant Anna Paquin and Matthew Lillard were sidelined to make way for such leads.
This may be gorgeous to look at but it's neither interesting nor fun seen as the audience already knows what's going to happen, hence why there's no tension when Laney discovers that she was just a bet. There are also far too many plot holes, which even a casual viewer will easily spot. For instance, why does Laney state that she cannot wear contacts but for her magical transformation halfway through the movie has got rid of the irksome things. The only point of recommendation is a very good dance scene indeed towards the end, but that's hardly enough of a reason to watch a movie is it. At least Anna Paquin and Matthew Lillard are there, plus a brief cameo from 'Buffy' star Sarah Michelle Gellar. Eagle-eyed viewers may notice that the movie uses the same high school as in the hit TV show.
The bottom line is that this is boring, and that there are not only a hundred other teen movies like it but a hundred other teen movies that are better than it. If you're looking for a better teen romance then try 'Save The Last Dance' or 'Cruel Intentions', because this movie is just plain terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She's All That [Import]
She's All That [Import] by Robert Iscove (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews