Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel rocks
I absolutly adore Rachel Leigh Cook who plays Laney in this movie, I have seen many of her movies, Josie and the pussycats, Tom and Huck, The Babysitters Club, of course She's all that, and more she's just an amazing beautiful and talented actress. She brings such honestly and virtue to all her characters and while being beautiful she's not the kind of beautiful where she...
Published on April 19 2004 by marshmelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A totally original awesome movie!
This movie is great! It stars, Freddie Prinze Jr. as, like, the coolest, smartest, most popular guy in school. His girlfriend dumps him in the beginning, so you feel, toooootally sad for him. Like, who is Freddie going to take to the prom? Anyway his girlfriend dumps him for Matthew Lillard playing, Brock Hudson (which is like a totally real sounding name) and he is,...
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Evan Feral


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel rocks, April 19 2004
By 
"marshmelly" (Grand Junction, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
I absolutly adore Rachel Leigh Cook who plays Laney in this movie, I have seen many of her movies, Josie and the pussycats, Tom and Huck, The Babysitters Club, of course She's all that, and more she's just an amazing beautiful and talented actress. She brings such honestly and virtue to all her characters and while being beautiful she's not the kind of beautiful where she looks unapprochable, she looks like she would be a normal down-to-earth person that could of easily went to your school. I think she's absolutly adorable. I love her little girl face.
Like I said she plays Laney, a high school senior who is the "geek" of her high school she's known as the ugly duckling. It's obvious that the people who did this movie realized it's impossible to make it a total transformation like in The Princess Diaries cause Rachel can't go from downright ugly and sad to stunningly beautiful like others can because she's naturaly beautiful and her beauty doesn't come from makeup a fancy hairdo or a skimpy outfit. But they made an effort to give her plain nothing special long hair, big glasses and a clumsy nature to make her an ugly duckling. But Cook took what she had to work with and slamdunked it.
Freddie Prinze Jr. plays oppisite of Rachel as Zach the most popular guy in school who seemed like he had everything going for him. Cute, popular, smart, dating the hottest girl in school who is up for prom queen, a jock, your typical popular guy. But when his girlfriend Taylor (played by the beautiful and talented Jodi Lyn O'Keefe who often gets the sexy and popular but downright bit**y roles thrown at her. But she's still one of my favorites) comes back from spring break, she also comes back with a new tattoo and a new famous boy toy (played by the always goofy Matthew Lillard) so she drops Zach like a hot burrito which is a major burn to his ego and reputation.
Zach's best friend (played by sexy Paul Walker from the fast and the furious movies) offers him a bet. He gets to pick a girl for Zach to date and transform into prom queen material in only a few weeks and whoever loses has to go to graduation naked. Zach agrees, and guess who he picks. You guessed it, Laney. At first Laney is totally turned off by Zach's sudden interest but slowly starts to hang out with him and as she does Zach's little sister gets rid of the glasses cuts her hair and gives her makeup and a little red dress and suddenly Laney is known as Taylor's competition for prom queen and Zach becomes smitten for real.
Laney has to deal with Taylor who when her new boy toy kicks her to the curb suddenly wants to pick Zach back up but of course he's not interested anymore cause he likes Laney and this makes Taylor jealous at Laney. She also has to deal with Zach's friend who arranged the bet and picked Laney thinking he was sure to win the bet but now feels threatened and so decides to try to get Laney for himself and make Zach look like a jerk to her.
The attraction between Laney and Zach is undeniable and when he starts hanging around her she inspires him to be a nice guy and to look at where his future is headed.
The whole cast is great and it's a lot better protrayal for teens and more believeable then other teen movies are. It's a funny, touching story that I think everyone will love especially teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A totally original awesome movie!, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Evan Feral (Novato, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
This movie is great! It stars, Freddie Prinze Jr. as, like, the coolest, smartest, most popular guy in school. His girlfriend dumps him in the beginning, so you feel, toooootally sad for him. Like, who is Freddie going to take to the prom? Anyway his girlfriend dumps him for Matthew Lillard playing, Brock Hudson (which is like a totally real sounding name) and he is, like, such a jerk that you hate from the begining. Then like, one of Freddie's friends is all like "Dude, I bet, like you couldn't make any girl you take to the prom into the prom queen!" and Freddie's like "Bro, I totally could, do you want make a bet about it?" and his friend's all "Dude, totally!" Then he picks Rachael Leigh Cook, who is totally a nerd, and like uncool and stuff, and Freddie's like "Nah dude! She's like a dweeb! I can still do it though." This part is really believable because kids in highshcool make bets like this, like all the time. Then Freddie talks to Rachel and makes her take off her dork clothes, glasses and let her hair down. Then she transforms, into like pretty and stuff. And she's really hot and, "All That", because she wasn't pretty at all before. Freddie goes to his friend and he's like, "I am, like, totally going to win this bet bro!" and his friend's all, "Dude!" Anyway, then something TOTALLY originally and unexpected happens! Freddie, like falls in love with Rachel, even though she's like a dork and stuff, he find out she's like totally nice and funny and stuff. Then another plot twist happens, when Freddie and Rachel are about to go to the prom and she finds out about what Freddie did! She's like "I can't believe you made a bet about me! That's like, bad!" and then Freddie's like "But I like, totally like, love you now." then Rachel's says, like "I am not going to this prom with you, because I am like really sad about all of this." Now Freddie's like sad too and he's like "Oh no, what did I do?" He goes over to Rachel's house, and like, talks to her about how he feels, and then she's all "Even though you made that bet, like, I know you love me know, and I like tooooootally love you too." So that's, like, what happens in the movie and I think that everyone should totally see it because it's cool and believable, and like the acting's real good. This kind of stuff, like, totally happens in high school. I think Freddie should, totally, win an Oscar, because he is like sooooo hot in this movie. Or at least get a Golden Globe or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Dec 24 2011
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
I was happy beause I did receive it on time but it was only in English, but I guess that I should have ask him in which language it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad of a film, Oct. 13 2011
This review is from: She's All That (DVD)
This film was an alright movie,not very believeable but it aint as boring as I thought.The schools I have been to dont have clicks and popular people,so its a fake movie to me.It just telling teenagers the wrong idea of how high school is supose to be.The music in this movie aint that bad,its makes the movie seem more interesting,the characters do some dance moves that can make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck, June 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
First of all, the main character, the dorky girl, isn't ugly. The "popular girl" is not very good looking and there is no way any of these people are highschool aged. This film is also totally sexist.
The jist of this movie was that there is a dork, everyone treats her like crap they make her all pretty (They take of a pair of thick glasses...WOW) and then she lives happily ever after with the jerk that bet everyone he could turn her into prom queen. Charming. Kind of reminds of of Ten Things I Hate about you does it not? A film which I also dislike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it's all bad, May 28 2004
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
This is the last ripple in the wave of teenage movies that gripped the nation in the late 1990s. A la Pygmalion, My Fair Lady and Pretty Woman, a girl looked down by general society gets a makeover by a respected man and everyone loves her. yay!
But this is the most boring version yet! It is nice that Freddie Prinze Jr's character is a popular jock who is also on the honor roll -- but that's it for changes and surprises. Unless you count the fact that everyone at the prom does a synchronized choreographed dance. Watch if it is on TV, but don't spend actual money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This exemplifies what is bad about "teen movies", May 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Not only is this film completely predictable, it is also entirely implausible. Cook is simply NOT believable as the "ugly duckling." The characterizations are one-dimensional, and the plot twists are as stagey and disconnected as would be in a high school skit.
Is it any wonder that this was the primary source for "Not Another Teen Movie"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars movie you can watch over and over, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
This was a fun film to watch and its a feel good movie.Paul and fred are cool to watch since they are so cute. So if you ever get in the mood to feel good then this movie is the one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic..., March 22 2004
By 
Ashley Burnett "Ashton" (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
We all dream of being beautiful, luxerious, and in love. Picture a scrawny, homely girl with classes who spends most of her time in a room doing art. Paint has splattered all over her body from her tedious work. Imagine the hottest jock approaching you asking you out.
What would you say?
Zack is given a bet to ask out any "Non Hottie" to prom. He says that he can turn the date upside down into a real knocker. Zack meets Laney Boggs, asks her, and gets her approval.
Follow them as they hang out, watch the classic trip down the stairs to the song "Kiss Me" and laugh out loud.
The movie shows us that we all are beautiful on the outside and inside. And some of us don't care to show it on the outside, even though we already are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst...movie...ever, March 2 2004
By 
Walker Morgan (Bay City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Who was the genius that pooped out this little gem? I have seen some wretched movies in my day. Movies that made me roll my eyes, slap my forehead, and even yell "that's BULLS___!!" to a packed theater. This movie takes the motherhumpin' cake. It's worse than Batman and Robin, the Avengers, and Varsity Blues put together. I HATE THIS MOVIE! It's so formulated and stupid. Ugly chicks are ugly if they have glasses or not. Believing anything different will cause much embarassment to high school guys. (Paper bags work better). No one freestyle raps about what's going on with the popular kids in school, and no one does a choreographed dance routine to a fatboy slim song at their f___ing prom! ARGH! I also hate freddy prince junior. Once his looks dry up, he ain't gonna be s___. Hey freddy, see you at the methodone clinic in a couple years! punk ass.
my girlfriend owns this movie, and one of these days when she pisses me off, i'm gonna smash it with a hammer. just looking for an excuse....
AVOID AT ALL COSTS INCLUDING CHEWING OFF YOUR OWN ARM!!! It's really that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She's All That [Import]
She's All That [Import] by Robert Iscove (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 14.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews