Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars B-movie fans, get this one !!!!
This movie is a (I am repeating myself) clear cut example that you can do thrilling movies with no money, but plenty of imagination.

The producer managed to create a suffocating atmosphere. This is what the movie is all about. The plot slowly unfold and grabs in a way that you cannot escape. Ressources are limited , but are used to the max. The head nurse...
Published on April 9 2009 by Yves-Michel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars if you're a horror fan,it's worth a viewing...
this low budget insane asylum flick isn't too horrible..not as gory as you'd expect from the box and all that..there's a small twist which I figured out in the first 15 minutes and I'm sure most people will..the name of the movie is pretty pointless since there's no mention of a basement til the last couple minutes and what's inside isn't all that surprising..still this...
Published on Dec 25 2000 by Saint Sangre


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars B-movie fans, get this one !!!!, April 9 2009
By 
Yves-Michel "B movie bum" (Montreal Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This movie is a (I am repeating myself) clear cut example that you can do thrilling movies with no money, but plenty of imagination.

The producer managed to create a suffocating atmosphere. This is what the movie is all about. The plot slowly unfold and grabs in a way that you cannot escape. Ressources are limited , but are used to the max. The head nurse story took me (a veteran horror movie watcher) by total surprise.

For less than $10.00, it is must for B-Movie and Horror movie fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DONT LOOK IN THE BASEMENT, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
THIS IS A REALLY GOOD HORROR MOVIE WITH A COOL STORYLINE. THE ACTING IS PRETTY GOOD AND THE CHARACTERS ARE INDIVIDUALLY INTERESTING.THIS IS ONE OF THE CREEPIEST FILMS AROUND.WORTH CHECKING THIS ONE OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUT MAYBE I WANT TO LOOK IN THE BASEMENT!, June 10 2004
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
Nurse Charlotte Beale arrives at the isolated Stephens Sanitarium to work, only to come to the horrifying realization that the asylum is not as it seems, and that Dr. Masters and her patients may not be who they say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This garbage is really insane!, March 26 2004
By 
"guandajo" (Cockamie City, Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
Let's face it: this film is not for everyone. The average spectator will find it gruesome and senseless, but if you love 70's horror films you must REGARD "Don't look in the basement" as a masterpiece: the atmosphere is insane, the characters depicted are sickening. The Brownrigg's work is like a meeting between Tobe Hooper and Alfred Hitchcok. A real classic in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Um, Is This Part Of The Treatment, Doc??", Feb. 11 2004
Nurse Charlotte Beale has just come to the Stephens home for the criminally insane. She has no idea that Dr. Stephens has just been butchered by one of the patients, nor does she know about the nurse who was killed. Charlotte meets Dr. Masters, who explains about the doctor's sad demise. Masters is reluctant to take her on board. That is until nurse Beale says she'll have to let the folks at her old hospital know about the tragic event. Charlotte is hired and introduced to the "family" of patients. There's "The Judge", the same homicidal maniac who attacked Dr. Stephens. Then we have "The Sarge", a vietnam vet with more than a little Post Traumatic Stress! Next up is Allison, the nymphomaniac of the group. Also, there's Harriet, who clings to a doll and protects it with fury and venom. Sam is the popsicle-addicted gentle giant with the heart and mind of a child. Danny is the obnoxious brat, always stirring up trouble with the others. A delusional old woman and a bipolar gal round out the folks on nurse Charlotte's new roster. Unfortunately for her, the patients know far more than she does about what's really going on in the house. What terrible secret is hidden in the basement? What is it that Sam keeps trying to tell Charlotte? S.F. Brownrigg has put together a pretty good tale of murder, madness, and mystery. Much of the same crew of actors would go on to be in "Don't Open The Door" six years later. DLITB belongs in any horror collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No-budget garbage, May 30 2003
By 
Russell A Shiley (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
Those who remember back to the good old drive-in days where a number of horror films played might recall this film being a big hit, along with "Last House on the Left", which it constantly played with as a double-bill. Now that we've grown up we can see what amateurish, zero-budgeted tripe this was. Few characters are of any interest (I liked Sam, the black popsicle-sucking half-a-mind and the cynical telephone repairman who is wary of the goings-on) but this is certainly not worth your time other than curiosity value.. worst of all, the titular basement doesn't come into play until the very end!! Although that's around when the best scene happens, when the mastermind of all the murderous mayhem gets a most bloody comeuppance, followed by most of the psycho cast getting theirs. Not much else to recommend, but the DVD transfer is good. Gore fans won't be overly pleased overall, but this was 1973, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!!, May 15 2003
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
A classic movie about an insane asylum. A new nurse comes to work at the asylum, but moments before she arrives, a tragic event happens. The 'judge' chops up the only doctor with an ax! Another patient, an older female, who was allowed to act and dress up like a doctor welcomes the new nurse.
What a range of characters we have here. There's 'Sergeant' who is a Vietnam shell-shock victim who stands firewatch every night and watches for 'incoming' outside his window.
Ben, a giant black man who has the mentality of an 8 year old after a botched lobotomy.
Another chick who treats a doll like a real baby.
A tormenting and ugly red-haired white dude with a huge fro. His only lines are shrieking and laughing.
The 'Judge' who has clearly lost his mind and is in tune with nothing but the court he runs within his mind.
A disturbed young girl who falls in love with any man who pays (or doesn't pay) her the slightest attention.
The hot nurse who is a bit skinny but looks a lot like Cheryl Ladd.
The most disturbing scenes are the mass murder of the patients by Ben, and the nympho in bed with the murdered telephone repairman.
Not a movie to watch steadily on a heavy rotation, but fun every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting B-Movie!, April 24 2003
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
"Don't Look In the Basement!" is one of the funny horror movies that you don't mind watching every once in a while. I remember watching this film for the first time when I was in college and my friends and I decided to go to the video store because we were bored. We happened across this film, rented it, and had a very good time watching it.
The film takes place in a mental institution where each patient has his or her own special story. When the director of the institution is killed, his "assistant" must take over. A new nurse is hired and you watch as she has to (quickly) become acclimated to the disturbing and often scary patients.
There is a twist at the end, even though the movie hints at this throughout most of the film, it will leave you thinking twice about trusting people at an instituation such as the one in the film.
I would suggest this film to someone who is the mood for a good laugh and fun scare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great horror film from the early 70's!, July 31 2002
By 
Ryan Clark (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
Though it was made on a shoestring budget, it actually helps with the atmosphere and the creepiness of the film (another example of a film where a low budget was a good thing was NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD). With it's many twists and turns throughout the plot-- not to mention a macabre ending-- this is a very memorable exercise in low budget horror, with somewhat good performances. Though it lacks somewhat in the plot department, it is a very effective film.
A girl is hired to work at an insane asylum after the former doctor is killed by one of the patients. Then, the films sinks lower and lower into insanity as the girl becomes trapped within the asylum and must find a way out before it is too late! To say anymore would be giving away crucial plot moments, so I will not say anything more about the plot.
All in all, this is one of the best "B movies" from the 70's and also one of the most unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ..., March 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Look in the Basement (DVD)
...This is a movie that is 95 minutes of unrelenting boredom! Mind you that out of the 95 minutes of dreadful film making, only 5 minutes (the most) contain any violence or "horror." Perhaps if there were some good suspense found during the film I would have been sufficed with the minimal action on the screen. But this movie, which can induce the strongest of minds into a state of catatonic, is so pointless and dull that the only suspense found is seeing if you will be able to resist yourself from jumping out of a window. Scene after scene we are greeted to horrible "music"--lets face it, this has to be one of the worst soundtracks in the history of film--and horrible acting. But the hell with bad acting and low production value. The point is that there is nothing good to be found here. In fact, if there was only one good thing about this movie was the little hottie who spent most of her time trying to seduce men into falling in love with her. I think on two occasions she exposed her wonderful breast (no one in the movie fell in love with her, but I know I did). If you take Lover Girl out of the movie, you will find yourself with a suitable tool for suicide. Please, if you are thinking about watching this movie, remember this: Don't look in the Basement, should be titled "Don't look at this Movie!"
I am not allowed to give this movie less than a star, that's why I gave it a star. It should be 1 Black Whole, cause that is where your sanity will go after you watch this thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Look in the Basement
Don't Look in the Basement by S.F. Brownrigg (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews