Customer Reviews


1,398 Reviews
5 star:
 (651)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (133)
2 star:
 (125)
1 star:
 (312)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (2D) blu ray (two disc set)… 2D high definition video is top-notched, wider screen, great audio, and a real tear-jerker!
VIDEO:

Titanic (2D) splashes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. It was the same ratio as in the theatrical run. James Cameron also took great care in restoring this classic to its original glory. There is simply no comparison to all previous releases. In 2D version, the video filling up the entire screen (2.35:1), making the final result much...
Published 22 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated...for real!!
I, too, like a much earlier poster read the book A Night To Remember. This was a truly touching book. It broke down the entire tragedy. I found it particularly sad that the band kept playing, trying to keep the people calm. I think what did it was the ship being "unsinkable even by God." Don't test the Master!!
I also saw a movie w/Clifton Webb from the 50s...
Published on June 24 2003 by LoVe2ReAd


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (2D) blu ray (two disc set)… 2D high definition video is top-notched, wider screen, great audio, and a real tear-jerker!, Sept. 12 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO:

Titanic (2D) splashes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. It was the same ratio as in the theatrical run. James Cameron also took great care in restoring this classic to its original glory. There is simply no comparison to all previous releases. In 2D version, the video filling up the entire screen (2.35:1), making the final result much more spectacular and more alive.

This high-def video is richly saturated with a wide range display of colours, from lush, vibrant primaries and warm, full-bodied secondary hues which bring Russell Carpenter's cinematography to life. Facial complexions appear natural with astounding lifelike textures. Contrast is pitch-perfect with crisp, brilliant whites that add for some highly impressive moments of clarity while black levels remain luxurious and sumptuous with deep penetrating shadows. Definition is razor-sharp and highly-detailed, allowing audiences to fully appreciate the tremendous amount of work and time that was put into the film's making. One can tell simply by just watching how sharp the word title Titanic on the screen is. One can also clearly make out the individual stitching and threading of the costumes, practically count each rivet holding the ship together, scrutinize the detailed, ornate woodwork of the grand staircase, and be amazed by the intricate details of the decorations on walls. The whole presentation really gives a completely refreshingly new video presentation on home video. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

Titanic 2D comes with DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless tracks. I am very familiar with James Horner’s amazing soundtrack. I even bought and enjoyed the recent 4 CD release of the Titanic soundtrack. (my review elsewhere). It starts off very subtle and understated, but it grows with the narrative into something quite spectacular and engaging. It's as if deliberately broken into two parts, much like the story itself, between a guided tour of the ship and its thrilling sinking.

For the first half, the movie is very front-heavy, with voices very detailed and precise in the center, and channel separation is well-balanced. For the second half, the entire sound system suddenly comes alive with thrills and excitement, beginning with some mild directionality soon after the ship crashes with the iceberg. When the ship starts to take in lots of water, the rears display the loud cracks of wood and the bending of steel with enthralling discrete clarity. In the final moments, the screams of people, the splashing of watering and the death moans of the "Ship of Dreams" fills the entire room and envelopes the listening area.

This first half of the film is an interestingly restrained design, but the second half offers an engrossing aural experience. Of course, hearing our Celine Dion singing the heart-wrenching My Heart Will Go On is like icing on the cake, bringing this wonderful soundtrack to its conclusion. (5/5)

ACHIEVEMENTS:

In 1998, Titanic won 11 Oscars:
01 Best Picture (James Cameron, Jon Landau)
02 Best Director (James Cameron)
03 Best Cinematography (Russell Carpenter)
04 Best Music Score (James Horner)
05 Best Original Song (James Horner and Will Jennings) for My Heart Will Go On
06 Best Art Direction
07 Best Costume Design (Deborah Lynn Scott)
08 Best Sound Effects Editing
09 Best Visual Effects
10 Best Film Editing
11 Best Sound

Titanic was also nominated for 3 Oscars:
01 Best Actress (Kate Winslet)
02 Best Supporting Actress (Gloria Stuart)
03 Best Make-Up

BOX-OFFICE:

Titanic has an estimated budget of $200 million, and it grossed worldwide $2,185 million, second only to James Cameron’s own Avatar ($2,781 million).

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember the first time when Titanic opened in theatres in Toronto, at the time when theatres in Toronto started Big Picture, Big Sound. This is one of the few pictures that I went to the Coloseum in Mississauga to watch this twice, and cried every time. I am so grateful that this high definition transfer is top-notched and did not disappoint at all. James Horner’s soundtrack of course is also fantastic, and with a clear dialogue, bringing us deeper into this Ship of Dreams. Tears will simply be overflowing when Dicaprio finished his heart-warming dialogue to Winslet, and then sank deep into the ocean bottom. The whole story is very simple, but very effective and touching.

I have both the 3D and 2D versions. Although the 3D version is more immersive, the 2D presentation with a wider screen is still my preferred choice. This set also comes with the standard DVD (not available in the 3D set). The above set is definitely very highly recommended, and is a must-own.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and beautiful as always, Sept. 24 2012
By 
koolz03 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Titanic looks absolutely stunning on blu-ray as if it was made last year! The clarity is unmatched and is presented in it's best showing ever. If you have the DVD version this blu-ray is a worthy upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie is even more amazing on Blu-Ray!, Nov. 2 2012
This is one of my all time favorite movies, along with A Walk To Remember. It's a classic, no doubt- and it's so beautiful on blu-ray. There are about six hours of bonus features- with two new documentaries. Thank you James Cameron for this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy found movie, Nov. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
Really happy I found this movie. Looked for it for a very long time. The only disappointment was that it was burned! It usually comes in 2 discs. Only got one. Works good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty decent., Sept. 17 2012
By 
Not my favourite Titanic movie but this package is pretty good. Great extras. The movie actually does look a lot better even from the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (2D) blu ray (four disc set)… 2D high definition video is top-notched, wider screen, great audio, and a real tear-jerker, Sept. 12 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
DIFFERENT VERSIONS:

In Canada, Titanic (blu ray) comes in three flavours: 1) Four disc 3D combo: two BD-50 discs dedicated to the entire 3D version, one BD-50 disc for the 2D version and one disc for Special Features. 2) Four disc 2D combo: one BD-50 for the 2D version of movie, and second BD-50 for Special Features, and the remaining 2 discs being standard DVD dedicated to the standard version of the movie (current review). 3) Two disc combo: one Blu ray disc and one standard DVD. All four discs sit on flipper plates inside a slightly larger than normal blue keepcase and accompanied by a glossy slipcover with lightly embossed lettering. All these packages are beamed with tons of bonus features, including 2.5 hours of new bonus content, that would keep me delightfully entertained for hours.

In the United States, there is an Amazon.com exclusive Collector’s Edition box set, consisting of 2 3D blu ray discs and 2 2D blu ray discs, plus souvenir book, passenger dossier, sketch postcards, etc., housed in a big box, resembling the RMS Titanic. By the time one pays shipping and custom duty, the final cost will be around US$100….a little too steep for even frivolous spender like myself. Now, it is even out of stock on Amazon.com. I did enquire at Amazon.ca, but was politely told that this will not be available in Canada. Too bad!

VIDEO:

Titanic (2D) splashes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. It was the same ratio as in the theatrical run. James Cameron also took great care in restoring this classic to its original glory. There is simply no comparison to all previous releases. In 2D version, the video filling up the entire screen (2.35:1), making the final result much more spectacular and more alive.

This high-def video is richly saturated with a wide range display of colours, from lush, vibrant primaries and warm, full-bodied secondary hues which bring Russell Carpenter's cinematography to life. Facial complexions appear natural with astounding lifelike textures. Contrast is pitch-perfect with crisp, brilliant whites that add for some highly impressive moments of clarity while black levels remain luxurious and sumptuous with deep penetrating shadows. Definition is razor-sharp and highly-detailed, allowing audiences to fully appreciate the tremendous amount of work and time that was put into the film's making. One can tell simply by just watching how sharp the word title Titanic on the screen is. One can also clearly make out the individual stitching and threading of the costumes, practically count each rivet holding the ship together, scrutinize the detailed, ornate woodwork of the grand staircase, and be amazed by the intricate details of the decorations on walls. The whole presentation really gives a completely refreshingly new video presentation on home video. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

Titanic 2D comes with DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless tracks. I am very familiar with James Horner’s amazing soundtrack. I even bought and enjoyed the recent 4 CD release of the Titanic soundtrack. (my review elsewhere). It starts off very subtle and understated, but it grows with the narrative into something quite spectacular and engaging. It's as if deliberately broken into two parts, much like the story itself, between a guided tour of the ship and its thrilling sinking.

For the first half, the movie is very front-heavy, with voices very detailed and precise in the center, and channel separation is well-balanced. For the second half, the entire sound system suddenly comes alive with thrills and excitement, beginning with some mild directionality soon after the ship crashes with the iceberg. When the ship starts to take in lots of water, the rears display the loud cracks of wood and the bending of steel with enthralling discrete clarity. In the final moments, the screams of people, the splashing of watering and the death moans of the "Ship of Dreams" fills the entire room and envelopes the listening area.

This first half of the film is an interestingly restrained design, but the second half offers an engrossing aural experience. Of course, hearing our Celine Dion singing the heart-wrenching My Heart Will Go On is like icing on the cake, bringing this wonderful soundtrack to its conclusion. (5/5)

ACHIEVEMENTS:

In 1998, Titanic won 11 Oscars:
01 Best Picture (James Cameron, Jon Landau)
02 Best Director (James Cameron)
03 Best Cinematography (Russell Carpenter)
04 Best Music Score (James Horner)
05 Best Original Song (James Horner and Will Jennings) for My Heart Will Go On
06 Best Art Direction
07 Best Costume Design (Deborah Lynn Scott)
08 Best Sound Effects Editing
09 Best Visual Effects
10 Best Film Editing
11 Best Sound

Titanic was also nominated for 3 Oscars:
01 Best Actress (Kate Winslet)
02 Best Supporting Actress (Gloria Stuart)
03 Best Make-Up

BOX-OFFICE:

Titanic has an estimated budget of $200 million, and it grossed worldwide $2,185 million, second only to James Cameron’s own Avatar ($2,781 million).

PRICING:

A very strange anomaly exists in choosing which versions of Titanic (blu ray):

1) 3D Four disc combo (I bought it for $27.99, but now the price has gone back up to $32.99)
2) Four disc 2D combo (under Titanic blu ray) the current price is $21.99.
3) Two disc 2D (Blu ray/DVD/Digital Copy Combo) the current price is the highest of all, even more expensive than the 3D at $35.99! Crazy!

From the above comparison, if you are interested in the 2D version, the four disc version (under simply Titanic blu ray) with the cheapest price is the one to choose.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember the first time when Titanic opened in theatres in Toronto, at the time when theatres in Toronto started Big Picture, Big Sound. This is one of the few pictures that I went to the Coloseum in Mississauga to watch this twice, and cried every time. I am so grateful that this high definition transfer is top-notched and did not disappoint at all. James Horner’s soundtrack of course is also fantastic, and with a clear dialogue, bringing us deeper into this Ship of Dreams. Tears will simply be overflowing when Dicaprio finished his heart-warming dialogue to Winslet, and then sank deep into the ocean bottom. The whole story is very simple, but very effective and touching.

I have both the 3D and 2D versions. Although the 3D version is more immersive, the 2D four disc set with a wider screen is still my preferred choice. This set also comes with the standard DVD in 2 discs too (not available in the 3D set). As noted above, please choose wisely, so that you don’t end up with only 2 discs, but at a higher price. The above set is definitely very highly recommended, and is a must-own. I hope the Collector’s box set will eventually be available on Amazon.ca…I wish!

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic, June 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
Le produit est bon! J'ai la bonne version française que je cherchais, car en magasin, c'est discontinué! Merci beaucoup!
The product is good! I have the good french version that I searched, because in store, it's discontinued! Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this movie in bluray is great, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this movie in bluray is great to watch. almost like being there with the actors. was really happy buying this disc and would highly recommend for others who like watching this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, April 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Titanic 97 (VHS Tape)
The movie was in great condition. We were very glad to find a copy of this video because it seems it doesn't exist anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guess what... the boat does sink... but not this film., Jan. 31 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though it's been over 15 years since Titanic graced the silver screen, it still holds some of its initial power, grandeur and epic points. I remember a young 19ish myself in the theatres who would have wanted to watch it 3 times but didn't have the money, hearing about a woman in the States who saw it so many times they let her in for free... owning it on VHS (of all formats -_-'), forgetting the soundtrack CD at my ex's place, etc. So many memories stuck to this movie, which makes each experience all the better... save for that Celine Dion song, I think I heard it quite enough ^_^

Nonetheless, James Cameron's spectacle is brilliant in many aspects. It show us both sides of society: from rich to poor, love and the lack of it on an individual (even though some moments are downright clumsy), the so-called "men" society, how superior many of them thought they were against the elements, etc. The list goes on... and this compact portrait sailing to the sea is only magnified once the iceberg hits... yet I always end up wishing it didn't. Thinking it may have missed by a few inches... the truth is otherwise. If nothing of the sort had ever happened, and the Titanic did complete its run, this movie would be a huge and almost too unbelievable "what if" story.

Boasting almost 2 hours of newly-produced special features, the complete running time almost comes to a titanic (forgive the pun) 5 hours worth of visual supplements. And what a wonderful package of bonus it is. Documentaries on what really happened on the boat as it sank (almost in real time, and hosted by Cameron himself), as well as a retrospective doc on the movie's 15 years anniversary. As for the rest, the entirety of the 2-disc DVD special edition have been ported over for blu-ray, with deleted scenes, interviews, on-set footage, making-ofs, trailers, etc. You name it.

The film's success can only be compared to the boat's tragedy. And at the time, waaay back in 1997, summer was the season it was supposed to be released. Yet, it was pushed back a few months, which worried many people (myself included) and made them fear for the worse (it may be hard to realize, but this was considered a "flop in the making")... almost $200 million of budget later and almost a $2.2 billion in box office returns, it is safe to say that Titanic is far from a flop. And its many Academy Awards were almost all justified, paving the way for two of today's most excellent actors: Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic (Bilingual) [Import]
Titanic (Bilingual) [Import] by James Cameron (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 30.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews