Customer Reviews


1,398 Reviews
5 star:
 (651)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (133)
2 star:
 (125)
1 star:
 (312)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (2D) blu ray (two disc set)… 2D high definition video is top-notched, wider screen, great audio, and a real tear-jerker!
VIDEO:

Titanic (2D) splashes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. It was the same ratio as in the theatrical run. James Cameron also took great care in restoring this classic to its original glory. There is simply no comparison to all previous releases. In 2D version, the video filling up the entire screen (2.35:1), making the final result much...
Published 23 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfold your deck-chair and hit PLAY
Corny and sophomoric, "Titanic" has its moments, but it's best seen on the big screen. James Cameron was aiming for a single tale on which we could focus to humanize the monumental disaster of the Titanic, but with so many badly written scenes like a roster of cliches, the main story is just incidental. As far as the acting, what can one say? Di Caprio &...
Published on June 28 2004 by C. Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (2D) blu ray (two disc set)… 2D high definition video is top-notched, wider screen, great audio, and a real tear-jerker!, Sept. 12 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO:

Titanic (2D) splashes onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. It was the same ratio as in the theatrical run. James Cameron also took great care in restoring this classic to its original glory. There is simply no comparison to all previous releases. In 2D version, the video filling up the entire screen (2.35:1), making the final result much more spectacular and more alive.

This high-def video is richly saturated with a wide range display of colours, from lush, vibrant primaries and warm, full-bodied secondary hues which bring Russell Carpenter's cinematography to life. Facial complexions appear natural with astounding lifelike textures. Contrast is pitch-perfect with crisp, brilliant whites that add for some highly impressive moments of clarity while black levels remain luxurious and sumptuous with deep penetrating shadows. Definition is razor-sharp and highly-detailed, allowing audiences to fully appreciate the tremendous amount of work and time that was put into the film's making. One can tell simply by just watching how sharp the word title Titanic on the screen is. One can also clearly make out the individual stitching and threading of the costumes, practically count each rivet holding the ship together, scrutinize the detailed, ornate woodwork of the grand staircase, and be amazed by the intricate details of the decorations on walls. The whole presentation really gives a completely refreshingly new video presentation on home video. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

Titanic 2D comes with DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless tracks. I am very familiar with James Horner’s amazing soundtrack. I even bought and enjoyed the recent 4 CD release of the Titanic soundtrack. (my review elsewhere). It starts off very subtle and understated, but it grows with the narrative into something quite spectacular and engaging. It's as if deliberately broken into two parts, much like the story itself, between a guided tour of the ship and its thrilling sinking.

For the first half, the movie is very front-heavy, with voices very detailed and precise in the center, and channel separation is well-balanced. For the second half, the entire sound system suddenly comes alive with thrills and excitement, beginning with some mild directionality soon after the ship crashes with the iceberg. When the ship starts to take in lots of water, the rears display the loud cracks of wood and the bending of steel with enthralling discrete clarity. In the final moments, the screams of people, the splashing of watering and the death moans of the "Ship of Dreams" fills the entire room and envelopes the listening area.

This first half of the film is an interestingly restrained design, but the second half offers an engrossing aural experience. Of course, hearing our Celine Dion singing the heart-wrenching My Heart Will Go On is like icing on the cake, bringing this wonderful soundtrack to its conclusion. (5/5)

ACHIEVEMENTS:

In 1998, Titanic won 11 Oscars:
01 Best Picture (James Cameron, Jon Landau)
02 Best Director (James Cameron)
03 Best Cinematography (Russell Carpenter)
04 Best Music Score (James Horner)
05 Best Original Song (James Horner and Will Jennings) for My Heart Will Go On
06 Best Art Direction
07 Best Costume Design (Deborah Lynn Scott)
08 Best Sound Effects Editing
09 Best Visual Effects
10 Best Film Editing
11 Best Sound

Titanic was also nominated for 3 Oscars:
01 Best Actress (Kate Winslet)
02 Best Supporting Actress (Gloria Stuart)
03 Best Make-Up

BOX-OFFICE:

Titanic has an estimated budget of $200 million, and it grossed worldwide $2,185 million, second only to James Cameron’s own Avatar ($2,781 million).

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember the first time when Titanic opened in theatres in Toronto, at the time when theatres in Toronto started Big Picture, Big Sound. This is one of the few pictures that I went to the Coloseum in Mississauga to watch this twice, and cried every time. I am so grateful that this high definition transfer is top-notched and did not disappoint at all. James Horner’s soundtrack of course is also fantastic, and with a clear dialogue, bringing us deeper into this Ship of Dreams. Tears will simply be overflowing when Dicaprio finished his heart-warming dialogue to Winslet, and then sank deep into the ocean bottom. The whole story is very simple, but very effective and touching.

I have both the 3D and 2D versions. Although the 3D version is more immersive, the 2D presentation with a wider screen is still my preferred choice. This set also comes with the standard DVD (not available in the 3D set). The above set is definitely very highly recommended, and is a must-own.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and beautiful as always, Sept. 24 2012
By 
koolz03 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Titanic looks absolutely stunning on blu-ray as if it was made last year! The clarity is unmatched and is presented in it's best showing ever. If you have the DVD version this blu-ray is a worthy upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfold your deck-chair and hit PLAY, June 28 2004
By 
C. Gardner (Washington D.C., D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
Corny and sophomoric, "Titanic" has its moments, but it's best seen on the big screen. James Cameron was aiming for a single tale on which we could focus to humanize the monumental disaster of the Titanic, but with so many badly written scenes like a roster of cliches, the main story is just incidental. As far as the acting, what can one say? Di Caprio & Winslet give it their best--just what their roles deserve, I guess. Billy Zane is suitably reprehensible as the vain rich-boy villain, and the supporting cast are good, especially Victor Garber and Bernard Hill as the Titanic's engineer and captain, respectively. So just go along for the doomed ride, because it's still worth seeing just for the technical wizardry and amazing attention to detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic film, dissapointing DVD., June 27 2004
By 
Brandon (Kansas City, Missouri, USA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
First of all, this movie is an absolute masterpiece. I have no idea why there's been such a sudden backlash against it, people are just stupid. This is a glorious film, incredible production values, first class acting, dynamic special effects, breathtaking cinematography, wonderful story, outstanding music, everything about the film is just perfect. I can't find one fault in it. The way it depicts the human struggles of the characters, the arrogance of the ship's owners and passengers, the sheer proportions of the sinking, is nothing short of brilliance. You're involved with the characters and their struggles from beginning to end, it's incredible. One of the best movies ever made, period. Don't listen to those morons who call this film trash, they wouldn't know art if it came up and spat in their face. I'd give the film a very solid 10 out of 10.
Now for the DVD, dissapointing to say the least. You have all the regular DVD goodies (scene selection, language settings, flashy menu screens, etc.), but all you get by means of special features is the original theatrical trailer. Good trailer, but for such a grand film you would expect all the making-of documentaries, and whatnot. Oh well. Rumor has it that Paramount is in the process of developing a "special edition" DVD, so keep your fingers crossed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TITANIC!!!!! Movie of the century!!!!!!!!!, Feb. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
People said that Titanic would be an enormous flop, destroying 20th Century Fox more than Cleopatra did,35 years ago!!! But, it wasn't, it was a phenomenal hit!!!! Teenagers loved it because they felt like Rose (she was 17 when Titanic sank): she's beautiful, she's rebellious, she's searching for her true love,she hates the man who is destined to her, she's always unhappy, she doesn't like living in the rich world and teens could easily identify themselves to her and teens (girls) loved Jack beavuse he was handsome, brave, courageous,funny,serious, intelligent and full of life!!!And I was a kid when Titanic was released in France, Korea and South Africa, in the school newspapers, people said their favourite movie was Titanic because it talks it was romantic and they loved the characters (Jack and Rose). They loved Leonardo di Caprio especially and that was always annoying me (I don't like him) and in France, it was the most high-grossing movie of all time, beating "La grande vadrouille" (I recommend it to you, it's a very funny French comedy) with 21 000 000 tickets sold against 14 000 000 tickets sold!!!
Ican't forget that movie, its music so beautiful and making me always cry when i listen to it, the characters who are very emotionnal, the costumes, the art direction, the visual effects (impressive!!! Bravo!!), the direction (thanks to James Cameron), the song amazingly sung by Celine Dion which made her also a super duper star!!!!!!!!
Titanic is the movie that nobody will forget even if it was released 6 years ago!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie is even more amazing on Blu-Ray!, Nov. 2 2012
This is one of my all time favorite movies, along with A Walk To Remember. It's a classic, no doubt- and it's so beautiful on blu-ray. There are about six hours of bonus features- with two new documentaries. Thank you James Cameron for this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A DISASTER THAT'S WORSE THAN THE DISASTER, June 25 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "MRD" (Somewhere in the Field) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
The historical story of HMS Titanic is both tragic and fascinating; a testament of man's arrogance and of the consuming power of natural forces when juxtaposed with man's puny scientific achievements. Primarily the history of the Titanic is a tragedy. Not only from the standpoint that so many died but that the majority of those who died were poor.
Taken at face value, the history is so replete with human interest, with character and with raw story that a simple and accurate telling of the events that culminated in the Titanic tragedy would have made a more compelling, more interesting and more appropriate movie than what James Cameron brought to the screen as TITANIC.
Yes, this is definitely a disaster movie. It might be more accurate to say that it is a disastrous movie. And that's just the movie itself. Never mind the disgusting insult to those that died. They deserved something far more accurate and far better than this. Cameron irresponsibly and insultingly takes this marvelous and disturbing history, guts it and distills it down to nothing more than a pathetic, nudity-riddled chick flick complete with an unnecessary romance story and all of what goes with it. In the end this movie is so shallow that you couldn't sink a teacup in it, let alone the greatest ship ever built.
While it's laughable that this movie garnered so many Academy Awards (Best Picture among them) the special effects of how Titanic sank were definitely worthy of the Oscar and are well worth a watch. Skip the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of Titanic Proportions, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Titanic 97 (VHS Tape)
I first saw TITANIC in 1997 when it was released in theaters, and I decided that it was high time I saw the movie again. After all, it did win 11 Academy Awards. (Best Picture, Director, Original Song, Dramatic Score, Costume Design, Art Direction, Sound, Cinematography, Sound Effects Editing, Visual Effects, & Film Editing.)
After watching the film again I was amazed at the story line. The story of the two lovers, Jack and Rose, is fiction, but the facts are spot-on. Some of the theories and mysteries of Titanic are explored, such as the guards holding back 3rd class passengers from getting up to the lifeboats.
The film shows the Titanic in all of its beautiful glory and all of its tragic mystery. After seeing the film for roughly the fourth time in my life, I was left with the same sense of enjoyment at seeing the love blossom, and the same sense of anger at those that avoided the iceberg warnings. It is amazing acted, awesome directed, and spectacularly produced. Titanic is probably the greatest film that I will ever see in my lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly provoking...one of the greatest works of all time, June 13 2004
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
Seriously,i think this is one of the most perfect movie i've ever watched."Perfect",in a way that the story plts fit in,characters were brought to life...and with a stellar cast.
I'm pretty sure that almost everybody'd have probably know the story of Titanic...and the wonderful news of how it was nominated for some 11 Oscars.A wonderful movie...the DVD,however,was not really up to mark.Yes,there is the theatrical trailers...but i yearned for the behind-the-scenes features.
Leonardo DiCaprio portrayed himself really well in his role as Jack Dawson,an aspiring artist who falls for the rich and astoundingly beautiful Rose DeWitt Bukater,played by Kate Winslet.Two young stars,with Leo already featured in Romeo+Juliet,The Man in the Iron Mask...and the already nominated Kate for her role as the young Marianne in Sense and Sensibility,this is a wonderful and the mother of all Titanic films.The story goes on as Rose falls for the gregarious Jack,who also shared her appreciation for art...but has to falls from the preying hands of her fiance (Billy Zane)as well as her mother.A provoking tale was the poignant scene where viewers will be able to identify with when Jack freeze to death,as well as the unforgettable line from the movie "You jump,I jump".
Titanic,with a stellar cast,wonderful background and the nice yet melancholy movie...from the director of true lies and the terminator,truly deserves to be one of the greatest movie of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING ON EARTH BUT AN ICEBERG...AND A REALLY BAD SCRIPT!, June 9 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Titanic (Widescreen) (DVD)
James Cameron's "Titanic" became the first film in nearly 50 years to tie the record of 11 Oscars once held exclusively by Ben-Hur (1959); an irony not wasted upon the fact that most of "Titanic's" wins came from the technical categories - not the acting categories. There's good reason for that - the plot, such as it is, is contrived and poorly acted. In a nutshell, penniless artist, Jack Dawson (Leonardo DiCaprio) wins a third class ticket on the ill-fated liner. He meets Rose (Kate Winslet), a spoiled rich girl engaged to Cal (Billy Zane) but who is about to commit suicide by jumping off the ship's stern because she feels trapped in her pampered existence - oh, please! Jack and Rose become lovers. Then the ship hits an iceberg and its every man for himself.
No one has more admiration for Cameron's attention to detail in sets and costumes and his epic staging of the climactic sinking of the great leviathan into the icy Atlantic, than I do. But it's all for not when the primary diversion during the first two hours of this truncated melodrama is the childish bump and grind of two misfits inside the cargo hold. Truly, "Titanic" had more fascinating real life passengers on board, whose lives could have been more fully explored. Kathy Bates is wasted as Molly Brown, Victor Garber too, as Matthew Andrews.
The DVD transfer is a disappointing effort from Paramount. The letterbox picture has not been enhanced for widescreen televisions. Though colors are fairly represented and clarity and sharpness are amply present, there's a considerable amount of edge enhancement in the vertical paneling of the smoking room, the railing that surrounds the ship and many of the long shots of the ship sailing off into the sunset. Contrast levels are nicely balanced. Blacks are generally solid. Some film grain and digital grain make certain scenes break apart when viewed on a larger format. The audio is 5.1 stereo and provides a very strong and visceral listening experience. There are no extras on this disc except for the film's theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic (Bilingual) [Import]
Titanic (Bilingual) [Import] by James Cameron (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 32.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews