Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "So we meet again for the first time"
Every reviewer is subject to certain embarrassing moments when they are solemnly reading or watching and suddenly a voice goes of in their heads that says "Yo!! This is funny!" I have spent so much time lately with the heavier anime films that it took me more than a few minutes to realize that 'Slayers' is a pure and joyous romp, full of sly and not so sly innuendoes,...
Published on Dec 11 2002 by Marc Ruby™

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Explosion what?
As with most TV to movie features, Slayers the Motion Picture deviates significantly from the original TV series. The movie is a side story, of a younger Lina traveling with her friend and rival, Naga the Serpent. Through serendipitous events, the two end up vacationing on Mipross Island, a mysterious tourist spot famous for its hot springs. Here the two are beseeched to...
Published on Dec 17 2001 by Matthew Lafrance


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "So we meet again for the first time", Dec 11 2002
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
Every reviewer is subject to certain embarrassing moments when they are solemnly reading or watching and suddenly a voice goes of in their heads that says "Yo!! This is funny!" I have spent so much time lately with the heavier anime films that it took me more than a few minutes to realize that 'Slayers' is a pure and joyous romp, full of sly and not so sly innuendoes, exaggerated action, and villains that are ridiculous rather than sublime. After puzzling over the dour messages of Akira or Evangelion this confection put together by Kazuo Yamazaki, based on the original work of Hazime Kanzaka and Rui Araizumi, is the perfect heart's ease.
Lina Inverse is a mage endowed with considerable power, who is less fortunate elsewhere (I would not mention this if it were not for the fact that it is the film's longest running joke). Playing Cordelia to Lina's Willow is Nahga, another mage, but one whose blandishments are distracting. Nahga also has a bad habit of casting spells that create magical seafood salad. These two young ladies are off to Mipross Island to frolic in the hot springs and enjoy the scenery.
Of course, all is not as wonderful as it seems. Lina is bothered by an old man who keeps interfering in her dreams, Nahga discovers the natural hot springs are fakes, and the two must conquer a string of 'toughest guys on the island.' Lina proves easily that she is really the island's toughest guy. Or, she almost does, at least until they run into Michigan J. Joyrock, a frog who also happens to be the toughest demon on the island. Now the two women and Rowdy the Sage are locked in a deadly fight with an impervious demon who has an irritating habit of going 'bwahaha.' Their only hope is to reroute the river of time itself.
For a light-hearted farce with some burlesque dialogue, the film is very enjoyable. The plot never gets monotonous, the acting in both the English and Japanese versions is excellent, and the artwork is surprisingly good. The film may be silly, but it isn't trashy. By all means, track it down, and watch it a few times. Sometimes you just don't want to have to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slayers kick @$$, Dec 5 2003
By 
anonomous (Laredo, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
This was the very first Slayers DVD I ever bought, and I wasn't disappointed, it was funny and had lots of action, even a little drama and romance. I'm not going to bother and try and explain the characters, since practically every other review does that, so all I have to say is that if you are a fan of any of these attributes in an anime, pick it up, you won't be sorry. There was only one small gripe I had, but it was small, while listening to the Japanese language with English subtitles, on scene 2 when Lina is talking to a bandit she tied up, the subtitle sort of appears and disappears in a split nanosecond before it is even able to be read, the only way I was able to read it was by pausing and going frame by frame to catch the subtitle, same thing goes with the Spanish subtitle. But enough about the con/negative; this movie has lots of pros/positives, the Japanese and English voices are all good. Lina and Naga from both languages have voices that suit them both, the time travel plot is interesting, the villian is ugly and evil, the comments about Lina being short startured, feather-brained, and small breasted crack me up, and Naga is well...very grown up in all the right places! Buy this DVD, buy it, buy it, BUY IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, Dec 18 2002
By 
starrdragon (Castle of Eternity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
I first saw this at Blockbuster and sence it was anime, I rented it. Even if you haven't seen Slayers you will love this humorus, action flic. This is what first made me a Slayers fan.
As always the red headed and firery tempered Lina Inverse is getting herself and her rather 'obscure' partner Naga in trouble. When Lina 'broke' the leg of a pick pocketer the guys gang up on her, and use Naga was their weapon. When Lina talks a limited amount of commen sence into Naga, they kick the living daylights out of the crooks. Then while foreging through their stuff, Naga finds two discound tickets to the Island of Miprhos. Miprhos is well known for it's hot srings and that is what gains Lina and Naga's attention. But soon they learn of a devious plan going on in the Island of Miprhos.
A demon named Joyrock (who is an awsome demon at that) has been ranpaging the Island for centuries. When he attacks an Elven village, Joyrock is challenged by Rowdy, a young human who loves the elves. Rowdy carries with him, The Sword of Light, yet when he challenges Joyrock it fails. So Rowdy must wait for centuris waiting for the aid of Lina Inverse, and her dim-witted partner Naga.
I absolutly refuse to give away the ending, but it is very different. I loved it. Also the ending theme song, Midnight Blue by Magumi Hasashibara is awsome.
All in all you get almost everything in a quality anime film, humor, action, demons, and stupid side kicks. I have watched this over and over and over, and each time I enjoy it. The money is well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Sept. 2 2002
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
I found this movie to be a really big disappointment since I rather enjoy the Slayers TV series. None of the main characters besides Lina show up which will be disappointing to fans of Gourry, Zelgadis, and Amelia. The animation quality is better than the TV series but the movie just isn't very funny which is a big problem for a comedy (most of the jokes are comments about Lina's physique and they just aren't as funny as when it's Gourry making the comment) . You'd get more enjoyment out of watching one of the Slayers Next or Try DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing To Write Home About, April 8 2002
By 
Greg Goebel (Loveland, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
* I tend to like really silly anime, but it turns
out that such stuff is about as hard to find as really
high-class anime, since there is a dangerously fine
line between inspired silliness and just being dumb.
I had heard the SLAYERS TV series had said inspired
silliness. As AMAZON.COM was only selling full season
collections of the SLAYERS TV series in DVD, I decided
to get SLAYERS: THE MOTION PICTURE (STMP) as a sample.
In this movie, petite sorceress Lina Inverse and her
colleague, oversexed and underclad Amazon warrior /
sorceress Nagha the Serpent take an economy boat trip
to the magic disappearing island of Mipross, so they
can enjoy the hot springs there. Of course, as would
be the case with any self-respecting magic
disappearing island, the two find that things on
Mipross are Not Quite What They Seem ...
OK, STMP is a mildly amusing bit of work, but it's
pretty much done by the numbers, "machine anime" as
I like to call it. The artwork is unremarkable, which
would not be such a problem if there were much of a
script, but the storyline is ho-hum and the humor
nothing to write home about. In particular,
I got very tired of the lame jokes about Lina being
flat-chested like the second time I got hit by one.
"Can we give this a rest, please?" But they didn't.
However, I haven't given up on SLAYERS. The concept
seems to have potential, and sometimes an idea that
works at a short length weakens considerably
when stretched out to movie length -- for example, SPACE
JAM versus any of the really good seven minute Warner
Brothers cartoons (no comparison!). Besides, it is
nothing unusual for anime producers with a successful
series to do a tepid "knock-off" movie to milk what they've
got for a little more revenue.
So I broke down and ordered VHS, much as I hate to these
days, to get the first installments of the SLAYERS TV
series without having to buy a whole season's worth.
We'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Explosion what?, Dec 17 2001
By 
Matthew Lafrance (VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
As with most TV to movie features, Slayers the Motion Picture deviates significantly from the original TV series. The movie is a side story, of a younger Lina traveling with her friend and rival, Naga the Serpent. Through serendipitous events, the two end up vacationing on Mipross Island, a mysterious tourist spot famous for its hot springs. Here the two are beseeched to undertake a quest, to set right a wrong committed in the islands past, leading to the cliché high stakes conflict. Would it really be a movie without it? Despite the movie conventions, the comedy is outstanding and makes this a really enjoyable film. The stream of increasingly more powerful opponents succeed as memorable comic villains. The addition of Naga creates a quality, two-man comedy act. Though fans may be disappointed with the exclusion of the characters from the TV show, I think the humor works well, and fans will enjoy copious jabs at Lina's inadequacy complex. The DVD is not without it's merits. The menu is appealing and clear. The extras include a small cell gallery; music-video trailers for the movie and OAVs; and character-bios for the movie cast. The audio seems to be Dolby Digital 2 channel both English and Japanese. The dub, while not bad, just can't hold a candle to the Japanese dialog, especially Megumi Hayashibara's wonderful performance. The video seems too dark and may prompt you to adjust your monitor settings. My big gripe about the subtitle is the translation of magical spells from things like the phonetic "Dil-Brando" to the descriptive "Explosion Array". While understandable for the dub, the subtitle should have used a more literal interpretation. I really enjoyed this film but it may not be for everyone. As far as the DVD goes, I have to give it a three for the number of small gripes above, but I highly recommend watching this entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy it!, Nov. 26 2001
By 
Amory (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
The series is so much better. This was stupid. There was only Lina, no Gourry, no Zel, or Xellos, and 2, only 2! dragon slaves. NO comic relief---buy the series if you want slayers, and if you have the series, this is just a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slayers just rocks, Nov. 24 2001
By 
Matthew (Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the best Anime Series that I have seen. Of coarse it is a bit silly but that adds to its already awesome effect. I wont tell you at all about the story but this is just a great Anime. Watching this DVD was a huge mistake. Now I have to save up all my Christmas money and buy the series! Take it from someone who knows about anime. I have seen all the clasics from Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Ninja Scroll, Ninja reserection (Err, dont tell anyone I saw that..Its just wrong) all the Samuri Xs and even almost all of DBZ, yes in Japanese. I have seen lots of other anime and Slayers is just awesome and I HIGHLY recomend any anime fan to add at least the motion picture to your collection! BTW Lina is hotter than Nahga ever thought about being! If you think diffrent just email me with a good reason! =) Too bad there arent any Linas around my town..sigh lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slayers is..., Aug. 9 2001
By 
Ferris Rugar "-F-" (LaGrangeville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
perhaps one of the funniest anime movies ever. Its got good animation, and great voice acting... A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good movie for anyone, July 29 2001
By 
Jeremy Moore "Gowra" (Flint, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) (DVD)
if you are a fan of swords and sorcery, with an epic plot that will leave you speechless, and pondering the meaning of life itself, then you should look somewehre else.
but if you are a fantasy lover who lieks to laugh, this is the series for you. Lina Inverse and Nagha the white serpent head off to a mysterious isle, where time doesn't flow correctly. There they encounter a demon, named Joyrock. Their battles against him are truly awesome. To make the series even better it even has some time travel.
The only complaint: the end seemed a bit rushed. One minute they're talking to the old mage, Rowdy, the next their fighting Joyrock. It would have been nice if that part was expanded a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen)
Slayers: The Motion Picture (Widescreen) by Kazuo Yamazaki (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews