Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must remember this ...
Aaaahhh ... Bogey. AFI's No. 1 film star of the 20th century. Hollywood's original noir anti-hero, epitome of the handsome, cynical and oh-so lonesome wolf (with his "Casablanca"'s Rick Blaine alone, one of the Top 5 guys on the AFI's list of greatest 20th century film heroes); looking unbeatably cool in white dinner jacket or trenchcoat and fedora alike, a glass of...
Published on Feb. 22 2004 by Themis-Athena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars From this chick's point of view
All things considered, I guess it was a pretty good film. However, from this chick's perspective, ugh, I was so disappointed. How could he just let her go like that? It is not the way I wanted to see it end. I guess I'm just a sucker for a happy ending. Better to see Bogart in Sabrina.
Published on July 19 2002 by Sam Reviewer


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The "special" ain't worth it, Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
The movie itself is outstanding and well worth preserving on a DVD. I'm glad I have it on DVD. This special edition DVD at mega extra cost isn't worth it, though. Consider just getting the movie if you're interested.
The movie on my extra-cost Special Edition version opens with sound "pops" and other audio distortions that finally settles down for a good show.
But the major disappointment to me, and a major reason for buying this $19 "special edition" was the heavily billed Buggs Bunny parody cartoon as a major reason for buying this expensive release of a B&W movie.
This cartoon stank; its not from the period or even close afterwards when the movie was made. Mel Blanc (the voice of just about all Warner Brothers cartoon characters) isn't included in the massive credits of the originators. None of the characters seemed "real" based on the voices that we're used to hearing. Seems to me this is just some hype they created to push a B&W film at a premium
I already have Casablanca on VHS. I feel cheated on this over-priced DVD. If you can get a Casablanca DVD at around half the cost without the extra bilge, go for it!
George in Texas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good., Aug. 4 2003
A lot of people seem to consider this the "best movie ever", however, Kane it is not. Although I can't understand how anyone could possibly consider this the best, it is a good movie, upon which few improvements could be made. Compared to the best, this movie really isn't great, but compared to the stereotypical quality of a hollywood movie (in the 1940s or the 2000s), Casablanca really is a standout, especially in terms of execution, structure, and quality control and the cast are well suited to their roles.
The biggest problem lay in the contents of the film. The movie maintains an emotional distance that even perceptibly cold films do not obtain - not once was there resonance in the characters or atmosphere, all the way to the thematically bittersweet but absurdly content resolution. Despite the potentially exploitable situations in the movie, you're left with that sense of contentment, neither the dialog nor most of the characters expressions reflect the emotions of the situation, not once was i brought to really consider the situation. This is both a good and a bad thing, while the viewer may remain constantly in safety, a movie of this sort is not at its best without a real sense of danger (not literal danger, but the sort of visceral danger that you find in comedy as well as drama), and therin is where Casablanca fails.
So, Casablanca is a good movie marred less by studio hollywood's conventions (absurdly snappy dialogue, overly bombastic score, etc...) than its refusal to elicit any response from its audience. I'd say, rent this one, as you'll probably feel indifference at both its conclusion and the prospect of whether you'll watch it again or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent version of a timeless classic with extras worth watching, Oct. 22 2010
By 
Miki (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aside for the film itself which I think is one of the best films ever made, great story, script, performances, etc., there are the extras including a documentary on the making of and the Bugs Bunny parody 'Carrotblanca'. If you are investing in a copy of this film this is a very good version to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca Restored, Oct. 19 2010
I've always loved this movie, but now that I've got this restored Blu-ray version I'm in Heaven.

It's not just that it's been cleaned up to it's theatrical release condition, it's better than that still.

If you are watching this on a Hi-Def LED screen it's just as though you were sitting right there in Rick's Café Americain.

It doesn't get any better than this, if you've ever seen Casablanca, you'll love this restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely overrated - 2 1/2 stars at most, Aug. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
Actors were pretty stiff in this movie. If you believe that uttering words is equal to acting, then this movie will not disappoint you. I could never understand how these actors could be so indifference and dead(!) while their dialogs supposed to be passonate and lively. I was very unconvinced watching their theoretcially romantic moments. I didn't think that they really care for each other. The real stars here are the screen writer and the song writer. And that is all you will get out of it. I keep this tape just to remind me that I should always rent the movie before buying it even it has great reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy, Oct. 10 2000
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
I love this movie I remember thinking it would not be good in English class but boy was I wrong.That Bogart guys voice is funny.I like when Peter Brady did his voice on the brady bunch.I can here it right now,PORK Chops and Applesauce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blasphemous Review, May 24 2000
By 
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
If you're one of those people who loves Casablanca unconditionally then what are you doing reading reviews? Go watch it again and continue your beautiful friendship with the film. There is an air of nostalgia that surrounds people who grew up with the film that obscures the fact that it is indeed a very silly piece of melodrama peppered with some priceless moments.
One thing in Casablanca that hasn't aged, and I guess will never age is Humphrey Bogart's brilliant performance as Rick. He is the owner of Rick's Cafe Amercain, where just about everybody comes. He hides his idealism under a thick and delicious coat of cynicism, when he says "I don't stick my neck out for nobody", you know at that point that he would and will. But his tough armour is broken, as it is always in the movies, by a long lost love who walks into his bar early on in the film, her name is Ilsa played by the lovely Ingrid Bergman. They were lovers once in Paris, but that was before she learnt that her husband was alive. Now accompaning her husband Laszlo(Paul Henreid) who is in Casablanca as an underground leader of the French resistance to the Nazis. Complicated events unfold after that setup, but I wouldn't want to spoil it for the few who haven't seen it.
Casablanca has a labyrinthine plot involving the battle between the Nazis and the French resistance in North Africa, but you never take any of this seriously, never for a moment believe its melodramatic twists and certainly never believe that those backlots look anything like Morocco. The political realism of the film is ludicrous, specifically the ending which I can't reveal as that would be a spoiler. If the film works, it is because of those treasured individual moments, Sam(Dooley Wilson) playing "As time goes by", the aching looks of love between Rick and Ilsa, the colorful local and the one and only Humphrey Bogart.
You constantly hear professional critics such as Leonard Maltin above refering to Casablanca as one of the greatest films ever made, and they may genuinely believe that. The truth is that after Anthony Minghella's THE ENGLISH PATIENT and Peter Weir's GALLIPOLI, Casablanca looks very thin indeed. The fact of the matter is no professional critic would ever be able to get away with criticising Casablanca. I think it would be safer to read amatuer critics when you're checking on the "classics", they have a lot less to lose.
Classics such as CITIZEN KANE, THE THIRD MAN, and THE MALTESE FALCON are genuinely great films that have stood the test of time. Turn out the lights, forget the reviews and these films would still be stunning. Casablanca is not in the same league as those titles.
I'd hate to give the impression that Casablanca is a bad film, it is merely a light weight one that lives on its gentle charm. Its also a film that will join my Blasphemy files (overrated films that no one dares to criticise) along with such titles as Franklin J. Schaffner's Patton and Steven Spielberg's Close Encounter of The Third Kind. But enough sin for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't play it again, Sam., July 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Howlingly overrated World War II weeper, aimed squarely, I would guess, at the Women On The Home Front. *Casablanca* is the typical sort of "woman's picture", of the type that still exists in places like *Lifetime Channel*: treacly, sentimental, featuring a Bad Boy (Bogart) who, underneath, has a Heart of Gold that is at the moment broken by the morally superior Ingrid Bergman. But bet on it, Rick -- with some nudging by that same morally superior Bergman -- will eventually "grow up", Be A Man, et cetera. Humphrey Bogart is the wrong sort of actor for this Hack Writer's role; I should think someone along the lines of Robert Taylor would've fit the bill much better, besides giving the ladies something to look at. Bogart is just too, well, adult for this part -- he's very unconvincing carrying a torch, let alone being the type of guy who suddenly discovers moral wherewithal within himself. (Bogie always gave the impression that he knew himself already, which indeed was part of his appeal as an actor. No Method-induced whiny inner turmoil with THIS guy.) One suspects the real Bogart, over and above having long ago moved on from his Parisian affair with Bergman, would have continued his profitable business as a club owner, playing all sides against each other. On the plus side, the movie is beautifully, even experimentally, shot by director Michael Curtiz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great cast, lousy script, Aug. 9 2000
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
Casablanca is a classic but NOT because the story is so wonderful. Actually the script could be properly described as sentimental fluff. But what a cast --absolutely a director's dream-- Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Peter Lorre, Conrad Viedt, Claude Rains, Sydney Greenstreet, Paul Henreid and others... Fortunately these talented people were able to transcend the silly script and made this movie a crowd-pleaser and a classic that's worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, just popular, Aug. 4 2000
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
I think this film is a sentimental favorite with audiences because it's just a great party: a beautifully photographed assemblage of fascinating people in a glamorous setting. It's fun to spend two hours in Casablanca with Rick and Sam and Ilsa and all their far-flung friends. But when you come down to it it's not much of a story; whether it doesn't make logical sense or is just too boring to follow is something I've never decided, and lines like "Play it, Sam" and "I stick my neck out for no one" are famous because of who said them in a gorgeous white linen jacket, not what's being said. Like "Dracula" or "Titanic," it's appealing as entertainment. But to label it "great" is to give this little fluffy war romance more weight than it was ever meant to bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Casablanca (DVD)
NEW Casablanca (DVD) by Humphrey Bogart (DVD)
CDN$ 4.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews