Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must remember this ...
Aaaahhh ... Bogey. AFI's No. 1 film star of the 20th century. Hollywood's original noir anti-hero, epitome of the handsome, cynical and oh-so lonesome wolf (with his "Casablanca"'s Rick Blaine alone, one of the Top 5 guys on the AFI's list of greatest 20th century film heroes); looking unbeatably cool in white dinner jacket or trenchcoat and fedora alike, a glass of...
Published on Feb. 22 2004 by Themis-Athena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca - Good but not the top of the stack.
If I were suddenly transported back to 1940's America I'm sure Casablanca would strike many resonating issues with me. But as the situation exists I am too young to have even a memory of fifty years ago. Even so I can clearly see that Director Michael Curtiz found many ways to tie the originally B track movie into hearts of and eventually the culture of Americans. It...
Published on July 11 2000 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca: A beautiful gift to us all!, Dec 25 2007
Two of the stars didn't want to be in the movie, and no one knew how the picture would end until they shot the final scene. Yet, out of the chaos came one of the most enduring films of all-time, Casablanca! At every step along the road to Casablanca, the picture's creators had to make choices that later meant the differences between triumph and failure. Initially, Ronald Reagan was announced as the lead, but Bogart saw the film as a great opportunity, and was very sure of himself...never worried -- and nobody at the time realized they were making one of the all-time great Hollywood films. And what a movie it is! Adventure, an exotic locale, a memorable song, a beautiful heroine, a masculine hero, and an evil villain. Casablanca has it all. It is no wonder why people watch this film again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Aug. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How could I not like it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely overrated - 2 1/2 stars at most, Aug. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
Actors were pretty stiff in this movie. If you believe that uttering words is equal to acting, then this movie will not disappoint you. I could never understand how these actors could be so indifference and dead(!) while their dialogs supposed to be passonate and lively. I was very unconvinced watching their theoretcially romantic moments. I didn't think that they really care for each other. The real stars here are the screen writer and the song writer. And that is all you will get out of it. I keep this tape just to remind me that I should always rent the movie before buying it even it has great reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca: A beautiful gift to us all!, Dec 25 2007
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Two of the stars didn't want to be in the movie, and no one knew how the picture would end until they shot the final scene. Yet, out of the chaos came one of the most enduring films of all-time, Casablanca! At every step along the road to Casablanca, the picture's creators had to make choices that later meant the differences between triumph and failure. Initially, Ronald Reagan was announced as the lead, but Bogart saw the film as a great opportunity, and was very sure of himself...never worried -- and nobody at the time realized they were making one of the all-time great Hollywood films. And what a movie it is! Adventure, an exotic locale, a memorable song, a beautiful heroine, a masculine hero, and an evil villain. Casablanca has it all. It is no wonder why people watch this film again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HD DVD Casablanca is perfect!, Nov. 8 2007
By 
Brian Smith (Orillia, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casablanca [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
You may not expect an older black and white movie like Casablanca to deserve a High Definition release but the quality of the image on this HD DVD makes the movie look like it was filmed only yesterday. I was amazed at the picture detail. Well worth the upgrade from standard DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy, Oct. 10 2000
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
I love this movie I remember thinking it would not be good in English class but boy was I wrong.That Bogart guys voice is funny.I like when Peter Brady did his voice on the brady bunch.I can here it right now,PORK Chops and Applesauce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent version of a timeless classic with extras worth watching, Oct. 22 2010
By 
Miki (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aside for the film itself which I think is one of the best films ever made, great story, script, performances, etc., there are the extras including a documentary on the making of and the Bugs Bunny parody 'Carrotblanca'. If you are investing in a copy of this film this is a very good version to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca Restored, Oct. 19 2010
I've always loved this movie, but now that I've got this restored Blu-ray version I'm in Heaven.

It's not just that it's been cleaned up to it's theatrical release condition, it's better than that still.

If you are watching this on a Hi-Def LED screen it's just as though you were sitting right there in Rick's Café Americain.

It doesn't get any better than this, if you've ever seen Casablanca, you'll love this restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't play it again, Sam., July 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Howlingly overrated World War II weeper, aimed squarely, I would guess, at the Women On The Home Front. *Casablanca* is the typical sort of "woman's picture", of the type that still exists in places like *Lifetime Channel*: treacly, sentimental, featuring a Bad Boy (Bogart) who, underneath, has a Heart of Gold that is at the moment broken by the morally superior Ingrid Bergman. But bet on it, Rick -- with some nudging by that same morally superior Bergman -- will eventually "grow up", Be A Man, et cetera. Humphrey Bogart is the wrong sort of actor for this Hack Writer's role; I should think someone along the lines of Robert Taylor would've fit the bill much better, besides giving the ladies something to look at. Bogart is just too, well, adult for this part -- he's very unconvincing carrying a torch, let alone being the type of guy who suddenly discovers moral wherewithal within himself. (Bogie always gave the impression that he knew himself already, which indeed was part of his appeal as an actor. No Method-induced whiny inner turmoil with THIS guy.) One suspects the real Bogart, over and above having long ago moved on from his Parisian affair with Bergman, would have continued his profitable business as a club owner, playing all sides against each other. On the plus side, the movie is beautifully, even experimentally, shot by director Michael Curtiz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CASABLANCA, June 4 2010
By 
This is a clasic movie, what can I say about it? It is one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Casablanca (DVD)
NEW Casablanca (DVD) by Humphrey Bogart (DVD)
CDN$ 4.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews