biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars252
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$34.95+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2001
An all time classic love story. Why don't they make movies like this anymore?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2000
Rick and Louis start
A beautiful friendship while
Ilsa gets on plane
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
Very nice gift! My uncle was very pleased since it's his number one movie!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2002
What a love story and it still works. Classic is always a classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2003
This is the only moive I watched more than a dozen times
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Mon beau-pere adore la derniere phrase de ce classique.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2002
If there is one film to be marooned with; this is it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2010
I've always loved this movie, but now that I've got this restored Blu-ray version I'm in Heaven.

It's not just that it's been cleaned up to it's theatrical release condition, it's better than that still.

If you are watching this on a Hi-Def LED screen it's just as though you were sitting right there in Rick's Café Americain.

It doesn't get any better than this, if you've ever seen Casablanca, you'll love this restoration.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2001
Don't be surprised if it becomes a classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2003
A lot of people seem to consider this the "best movie ever", however, Kane it is not. Although I can't understand how anyone could possibly consider this the best, it is a good movie, upon which few improvements could be made. Compared to the best, this movie really isn't great, but compared to the stereotypical quality of a hollywood movie (in the 1940s or the 2000s), Casablanca really is a standout, especially in terms of execution, structure, and quality control and the cast are well suited to their roles.
The biggest problem lay in the contents of the film. The movie maintains an emotional distance that even perceptibly cold films do not obtain - not once was there resonance in the characters or atmosphere, all the way to the thematically bittersweet but absurdly content resolution. Despite the potentially exploitable situations in the movie, you're left with that sense of contentment, neither the dialog nor most of the characters expressions reflect the emotions of the situation, not once was i brought to really consider the situation. This is both a good and a bad thing, while the viewer may remain constantly in safety, a movie of this sort is not at its best without a real sense of danger (not literal danger, but the sort of visceral danger that you find in comedy as well as drama), and therin is where Casablanca fails.
So, Casablanca is a good movie marred less by studio hollywood's conventions (absurdly snappy dialogue, overly bombastic score, etc...) than its refusal to elicit any response from its audience. I'd say, rent this one, as you'll probably feel indifference at both its conclusion and the prospect of whether you'll watch it again or not.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse