Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must remember this ...
Aaaahhh ... Bogey. AFI's No. 1 film star of the 20th century. Hollywood's original noir anti-hero, epitome of the handsome, cynical and oh-so lonesome wolf (with his "Casablanca"'s Rick Blaine alone, one of the Top 5 guys on the AFI's list of greatest 20th century film heroes); looking unbeatably cool in white dinner jacket or trenchcoat and fedora alike, a glass of...
Published on Feb. 22 2004 by Themis-Athena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca - Good but not the top of the stack.
If I were suddenly transported back to 1940's America I'm sure Casablanca would strike many resonating issues with me. But as the situation exists I am too young to have even a memory of fifty years ago. Even so I can clearly see that Director Michael Curtiz found many ways to tie the originally B track movie into hearts of and eventually the culture of Americans. It...
Published on July 11 2000 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Ingrid Bergman is a hottie!, May 8 2001
By 
"porwekin" (Bloomington, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
An all time classic love story. Why don't they make movies like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars : ), Dec 8 2000
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
Rick and Louis start
A beautiful friendship while
Ilsa gets on plane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A LOVE STORY., Aug. 21 2002
By 
Boris Zubry "Boris Zubry" (Princeton, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
What a love story and it still works. Classic is always a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Aug. 1 2003
By A Customer
This is the only moive I watched more than a dozen times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here's Looking At You Kid, Sept. 24 2002
By 
M. A HERBST (Mt. Vernon, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
If there is one film to be marooned with; this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FILM TO PLAY AGAIN & AGAIN, Sept. 21 2001
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Don't be surprised if it becomes a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good., Aug. 4 2003
A lot of people seem to consider this the "best movie ever", however, Kane it is not. Although I can't understand how anyone could possibly consider this the best, it is a good movie, upon which few improvements could be made. Compared to the best, this movie really isn't great, but compared to the stereotypical quality of a hollywood movie (in the 1940s or the 2000s), Casablanca really is a standout, especially in terms of execution, structure, and quality control and the cast are well suited to their roles.
The biggest problem lay in the contents of the film. The movie maintains an emotional distance that even perceptibly cold films do not obtain - not once was there resonance in the characters or atmosphere, all the way to the thematically bittersweet but absurdly content resolution. Despite the potentially exploitable situations in the movie, you're left with that sense of contentment, neither the dialog nor most of the characters expressions reflect the emotions of the situation, not once was i brought to really consider the situation. This is both a good and a bad thing, while the viewer may remain constantly in safety, a movie of this sort is not at its best without a real sense of danger (not literal danger, but the sort of visceral danger that you find in comedy as well as drama), and therin is where Casablanca fails.
So, Casablanca is a good movie marred less by studio hollywood's conventions (absurdly snappy dialogue, overly bombastic score, etc...) than its refusal to elicit any response from its audience. I'd say, rent this one, as you'll probably feel indifference at both its conclusion and the prospect of whether you'll watch it again or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blasphemous Review, May 24 2000
By 
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
If you're one of those people who loves Casablanca unconditionally then what are you doing reading reviews? Go watch it again and continue your beautiful friendship with the film. There is an air of nostalgia that surrounds people who grew up with the film that obscures the fact that it is indeed a very silly piece of melodrama peppered with some priceless moments.
One thing in Casablanca that hasn't aged, and I guess will never age is Humphrey Bogart's brilliant performance as Rick. He is the owner of Rick's Cafe Amercain, where just about everybody comes. He hides his idealism under a thick and delicious coat of cynicism, when he says "I don't stick my neck out for nobody", you know at that point that he would and will. But his tough armour is broken, as it is always in the movies, by a long lost love who walks into his bar early on in the film, her name is Ilsa played by the lovely Ingrid Bergman. They were lovers once in Paris, but that was before she learnt that her husband was alive. Now accompaning her husband Laszlo(Paul Henreid) who is in Casablanca as an underground leader of the French resistance to the Nazis. Complicated events unfold after that setup, but I wouldn't want to spoil it for the few who haven't seen it.
Casablanca has a labyrinthine plot involving the battle between the Nazis and the French resistance in North Africa, but you never take any of this seriously, never for a moment believe its melodramatic twists and certainly never believe that those backlots look anything like Morocco. The political realism of the film is ludicrous, specifically the ending which I can't reveal as that would be a spoiler. If the film works, it is because of those treasured individual moments, Sam(Dooley Wilson) playing "As time goes by", the aching looks of love between Rick and Ilsa, the colorful local and the one and only Humphrey Bogart.
You constantly hear professional critics such as Leonard Maltin above refering to Casablanca as one of the greatest films ever made, and they may genuinely believe that. The truth is that after Anthony Minghella's THE ENGLISH PATIENT and Peter Weir's GALLIPOLI, Casablanca looks very thin indeed. The fact of the matter is no professional critic would ever be able to get away with criticising Casablanca. I think it would be safer to read amatuer critics when you're checking on the "classics", they have a lot less to lose.
Classics such as CITIZEN KANE, THE THIRD MAN, and THE MALTESE FALCON are genuinely great films that have stood the test of time. Turn out the lights, forget the reviews and these films would still be stunning. Casablanca is not in the same league as those titles.
I'd hate to give the impression that Casablanca is a bad film, it is merely a light weight one that lives on its gentle charm. Its also a film that will join my Blasphemy files (overrated films that no one dares to criticise) along with such titles as Franklin J. Schaffner's Patton and Steven Spielberg's Close Encounter of The Third Kind. But enough sin for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Aug. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How could I not like it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely overrated - 2 1/2 stars at most, Aug. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Casablanca [Import] (VHS Tape)
Actors were pretty stiff in this movie. If you believe that uttering words is equal to acting, then this movie will not disappoint you. I could never understand how these actors could be so indifference and dead(!) while their dialogs supposed to be passonate and lively. I was very unconvinced watching their theoretcially romantic moments. I didn't think that they really care for each other. The real stars here are the screen writer and the song writer. And that is all you will get out of it. I keep this tape just to remind me that I should always rent the movie before buying it even it has great reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Casablanca (DVD)
NEW Casablanca (DVD) by Humphrey Bogart (DVD)
CDN$ 11.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews