Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must remember this ...
Aaaahhh ... Bogey. AFI's No. 1 film star of the 20th century. Hollywood's original noir anti-hero, epitome of the handsome, cynical and oh-so lonesome wolf (with his "Casablanca"'s Rick Blaine alone, one of the Top 5 guys on the AFI's list of greatest 20th century film heroes); looking unbeatably cool in white dinner jacket or trenchcoat and fedora alike, a glass of...
Published on Feb. 22 2004 by Themis-Athena

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca - Good but not the top of the stack.
If I were suddenly transported back to 1940's America I'm sure Casablanca would strike many resonating issues with me. But as the situation exists I am too young to have even a memory of fifty years ago. Even so I can clearly see that Director Michael Curtiz found many ways to tie the originally B track movie into hearts of and eventually the culture of Americans. It...
Published on July 11 2000 by Paul Martin


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca: A beautiful gift to us all!, Dec 25 2007
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Two of the stars didn't want to be in the movie, and no one knew how the picture would end until they shot the final scene. Yet, out of the chaos came one of the most enduring films of all-time, Casablanca! At every step along the road to Casablanca, the picture's creators had to make choices that later meant the differences between triumph and failure. Initially, Ronald Reagan was announced as the lead, but Bogart saw the film as a great opportunity, and was very sure of himself...never worried -- and nobody at the time realized they were making one of the all-time great Hollywood films. And what a movie it is! Adventure, an exotic locale, a memorable song, a beautiful heroine, a masculine hero, and an evil villain. Casablanca has it all. It is no wonder why people watch this film again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HD DVD Casablanca is perfect!, Nov. 8 2007
By 
Brian Smith (Orillia, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casablanca [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
You may not expect an older black and white movie like Casablanca to deserve a High Definition release but the quality of the image on this HD DVD makes the movie look like it was filmed only yesterday. I was amazed at the picture detail. Well worth the upgrade from standard DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars T, July 23 2007
For me, the intriguing story of _Casablanca_ is not the story of Rick and Ilsa trapped between the reality of their present and the memory of their past.
No, the truly interesting story of _Casablanca_ is that which is revealed in the DVD's supplementary documentary, _You Must Remember This_. The creation of this true work of art in an environment dedicated to the mass production of films gives hope to every artist who's had to perform commercially. Indeed, one almost comes away from a behind-the-scenes exploration of _Casablanca_ with an actual appreciation of the way in which deadlines and pressure can help the artist make a better product.

_You Must Remember This_ is thus useful for its display of the whole "studio system" era in Hollywood. It gives a good glimpse into that time and could serve as a useful jumping-off point to anyone seriously studying the subject.

Likewise, the way in which the film's producers and director led the project is a fascinating exploration of management science. The film became legendary, I think, because the people at the top allowed great flexibility for those they led, and weren't afraid to play around with ideas offered even on the studio floor. I think MBA candidates would do well to look at the way this film was put together for enlightenment.

Still, I can't resist talking about the film itself. For me _Casablanca_ is the legend I return to in my own mind whenever there are romantic crises in my life. I think that part of the reason that this movie has survived is because it offers a unique perspective on romantic disappointment. Instead of concluding with scorn or hatred of partners who've left one hanging, it says that people can have noble reasons for causing pain. It also says that ultimately pain is eased when one achieves understanding of the other person. I'm not sure that any major American film gives such a positive spin to heartbreak as this one.

It's thus not at all hard for me to recommend the DVD version of this product, for the excellent supplementary documentary alone, and the movie itself, for the surprising values it discovers in the heart of a morally ambiguous Morocco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just can't say anything else, July 5 2007
By 
Rob Larmer (Harvey,NB,canada) - See all my reviews
Casablanca is simply and honestly the most celebrated classic out there; loved by both fans of cinema in the art form and cinema as an entertainment medium. Who can't love it? Men can relate to Rick, women can relate to Ilsa, and we can all relate to giving up something for the greater good.

The plot is well known, the Nazi's occupy French Morocco and control passports in and out. Everybody fleeing Europe has to go there, and the man who gives the passports is Rick. Rick is owner of a bar, and everybody goes to him who needs to get out. He's a man who doesn't stick his neck out for anybody. He looks out for number one, and does not acknowledge anybody who needs help. That is until a former lover, Ilsa, comes to his bar with a need for passports out of the country for her and her husband. What follows is the most beloved classic, and one that I don't think anything negative can be said about.

Casablanca is honestly not a deep film, but it doesn't matter. the characters are such good people, and the plot is just so well executed that it works very well upon multiple viewings, and never ceases to engage the viewer. It is a flawless film today as it was 60 years ago, and it is one enduring masterpiece in which I don't believe will ever be surpassed.

A very deserving 10/10 for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.",, June 23 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I promise somebody I would watch this before the year end and I was fortunate enough to see this early this afternoon. I was quite surprised when I first watched Casablanca to find that I practically could already quote the last ten minutes. So much of this film is engrained into our cultural consciousness from the countless spoofs and references that have come since then. And for good reason.

In World War II, Casablanca is the place where displaced refugees find themselves in. Getting out is the hard part. A cynical American, Rick (Humphrey Bogart) runs the most popular gin joint there. Things are going good for him as he deigns to keep out of business that doesn't concern him. That all changes when a French underground leader, Victor Lazslo (Paul Henreid), comes to town with his wife Ilsa (Ingrid Bergman). It seems that Rick and Ilsa have a past together, and with the Nazis looking for some transit papers Rick happens to have and also trying to detain Victor, Rick finds himself in a tough spot.

After watching this I realized that's there's nothing staggeringly original or innovative about this film. It's how human the characters and the plights they find themselves in are, and the dry humor they throw out in the process. The conflict inside Rick whether to look after his best interests or help the woman he still loves is certainly compelling stuff, but that isn't all. There are so many memorable characters, from the ingratiating Captain Renault (played with relish by Claude Reins) to the weasely Ugarte (Peter Lorre). While the story isn't so much about Casablanca, a little bit of everything is worked in. Not the least of which being the sticky politics and smoldering national pride for Nazi occupied France. The romance is also ... well, the reason why this movie is so timeless. And then there's the script. Though there are numerous lines that are justifiably classic, the rest is a rare work of brilliance as well. The dark humor, the slow eroding of Rick's resolve, all result in classic scenes, one after another. It has it all.

Bogart and Bergman, a rare pairing that results in one of cinema's greatest romances. What more is there to say? They take what could have been completely conventional roles and make them truly human. A great supporting cast rounds out the crowd; there are more than just two memorable performances given. This was a film done in the old Hollywood studio system by all the rules, yet it inexplicably raises itself above and beyond that. It is a remarkable motion picture masterpiece. If you haven't seen it yet, I whole-heartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy, Oct. 10 2000
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
I love this movie I remember thinking it would not be good in English class but boy was I wrong.That Bogart guys voice is funny.I like when Peter Brady did his voice on the brady bunch.I can here it right now,PORK Chops and Applesauce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent version of a timeless classic with extras worth watching, Oct. 22 2010
By 
Miki (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aside for the film itself which I think is one of the best films ever made, great story, script, performances, etc., there are the extras including a documentary on the making of and the Bugs Bunny parody 'Carrotblanca'. If you are investing in a copy of this film this is a very good version to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casablanca Restored, Oct. 19 2010
I've always loved this movie, but now that I've got this restored Blu-ray version I'm in Heaven.

It's not just that it's been cleaned up to it's theatrical release condition, it's better than that still.

If you are watching this on a Hi-Def LED screen it's just as though you were sitting right there in Rick's Café Americain.

It doesn't get any better than this, if you've ever seen Casablanca, you'll love this restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't play it again, Sam., July 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Casablanca (DVD) (DVD)
Howlingly overrated World War II weeper, aimed squarely, I would guess, at the Women On The Home Front. *Casablanca* is the typical sort of "woman's picture", of the type that still exists in places like *Lifetime Channel*: treacly, sentimental, featuring a Bad Boy (Bogart) who, underneath, has a Heart of Gold that is at the moment broken by the morally superior Ingrid Bergman. But bet on it, Rick -- with some nudging by that same morally superior Bergman -- will eventually "grow up", Be A Man, et cetera. Humphrey Bogart is the wrong sort of actor for this Hack Writer's role; I should think someone along the lines of Robert Taylor would've fit the bill much better, besides giving the ladies something to look at. Bogart is just too, well, adult for this part -- he's very unconvincing carrying a torch, let alone being the type of guy who suddenly discovers moral wherewithal within himself. (Bogie always gave the impression that he knew himself already, which indeed was part of his appeal as an actor. No Method-induced whiny inner turmoil with THIS guy.) One suspects the real Bogart, over and above having long ago moved on from his Parisian affair with Bergman, would have continued his profitable business as a club owner, playing all sides against each other. On the plus side, the movie is beautifully, even experimentally, shot by director Michael Curtiz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CASABLANCA, June 4 2010
By 
This is a clasic movie, what can I say about it? It is one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Casablanca (DVD)
NEW Casablanca (DVD) by Humphrey Bogart (DVD)
CDN$ 4.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews