Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be sure that you buy the better of 2 DVDs of this film
Plan 9 is just as bad as everyone says it is (buy it buy it buy it!), so this review is just a reminder for you to purchase the better of the two DVDs that Amazon offers of this title.
Do NOT buy the Passport Video edition...it has horrible sound and the picture lighting throbs between dark and bright through the entire film. Passport Video also included a watermark...
Published on Jan. 14 2001 by cvarland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Put a little crimson in your soul
There are several packages of Plan 9. I have a few my self including an earlier release contains 40 minute documentary "The Ed Wood Story" featuring interviews with Johnny Depp, Martin Landay, Dolores Fuller, Vampira, Bela Lugosi Jr., and Johnny Legend.

Plan 9 is an operating system that is designed to replace UNIX. Oh yeah It is also a movie...
Published on June 18 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be sure that you buy the better of 2 DVDs of this film, Jan. 14 2001
By 
cvarland (Boise, Idaho) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
Plan 9 is just as bad as everyone says it is (buy it buy it buy it!), so this review is just a reminder for you to purchase the better of the two DVDs that Amazon offers of this title.
Do NOT buy the Passport Video edition...it has horrible sound and the picture lighting throbs between dark and bright through the entire film. Passport Video also included a watermark of their logo in the bottom right hand corner of the screen that lasts throughout the film. In addition to all of this, what is advertised on the package as "Show 2: THE ED WOOD STORY" is in fact 40 mins. of cobbled together interviews with Vampira, Johnny Depp, Ed Wood's wife, and one of Tor Johnson's neighbors. Sounds okay, but they are actually mind-bogglingly uninsightful and focus mostly upon Tim Burton's Ed Wood film.
The edition of this DVD that you will want to buy is the Image Entertainment version that includes the 111 min. documentary "Flying Saucers Over Hollywood" (which is a wonderful addition). This DVD has great sound and picture quality, vastly superior to Passport Video's piddly excuse for a quality DVD.
I know that it may seem counter productive to buy a more expensive release of the worst movie of all time, but you will appreciate the horrible experience of grave robbers from outerspace much more (and Image Entertaiment's documentary is great too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bela Lugosi Lives! (Just not in this film), July 1 2004
By 
Chris O'Malley (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
How does one describe a movie such as this? Like "Robot Monster," it is a masterpiece, and like "Robot Monster," this is not because "Plan 9 From Outer Space" has even a shadow of an ounce of quality to it. Rather, this is an example of just how wrong everything in any creative project can go if it is in the hands of the right angora-wearing genius.
For nothing (and I mean NOTHING) came out right in this movie. Continuity? Hah! Realistic dialogue? Pish! Convincing acting? Gah! Remotely realistic special effects? Heaven forbid! No, what Ed Wood gave us with "Plan 9" is quite simply a cinematic failure that not even Orson Wells could have duplicated if he had tried. In what other movie is one of your stars dead even before the script is written or shooting begins?
No, "Plan 9" is unique, a thing that we mere mortals can only begin to try and understand. Instead we can only watch, transfixed and trembling in awe that Wood's vision was transmitted so perfectly to the silver screen. This is a movie that well deserves to be ranked among the immortal creations of motion picture history, despite or perhaps because of the fact that it completely lacks any of the features that would normally merit such an inclusion.
To think otherwise can only be the result of stupid minds. Stupid! Your stupid, stupid minds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Bad Gets, Jan. 29 2004
By 
Blaine Huff (Elgin, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
"We are all interested in the future, for that is where you and I are going to spend the rest of our lives. And remember, my friends, future events such as these will affect you in the future."
"Modern women!"
"Yeah, they've been the same down through the ages."
The above are samples of dialogue from "Plan 9 From Outer Space," and the script is the most coherent component of this film. Be warned, this is B-movie magic in its purest form; it seems that not a penny was spared...err, I mean spent in the acquisition of props, sets, or competent actors, and the result is one of the funniest films ever produced.
Here's a rundown of the plot: aliens want to bring earthlings to the bargaining table, and to achieve this they reanimate the dead. The extra-terrestrials hope that the fear of seeing walking dead will force the governments of Earth to...oh, it doesn't really matter. You see, this is a movie where a "detective" scratches his neck with the barrel of his revolver, night and day repeatedly alternate within scenes, and flying pilots speak to the ground crew on an actual telephone.
It's a fine line, sometimes, between a one-star review and a five, but, this is a fun film, a classic, one that deserves to be laughed at and, eventually, loved by any viewer with a sense of humor. So, watch and giggle as each low-grade actor delivers his campy lines with absolute conviction and cardboard tombstones wiggle when bumped.
And, with that, let me leave you with one more classic bit of dialogue:
"Visits? That would indicate visitors."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be wary of which version you buy!!!, Feb. 28 2003
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
To my knowledge, there are two different releases of "Plan 9" out there, and choosing the right one can make all the difference in the world. The release from Image Entertainment, which includes the 110-minute documentary "Flying Saucers Over Hollywood" is THE version to purchase. I would not recommend the other, Passport Video's release that includes the 40-minute documentary "The Ed Wood Story." Firstly, the film itself has a much better presentation in the Image version; a cleaner print with better audio and, unlike Passport Video, there is no company logo on-screen throughout the film! Both releases give you the classic "Plan 9" trailers. However, only the Image release gives you the truly wonderful documentary "Flying Saucers Over Hollywood." A heartfelt, low budget look at the making of this anti-masterpiece, this special is longer than the film itself and overs amazing insight into society's continuing fascination with the "worst movie ever made." Passport's doc, "The Ed Wood Story," is a shoddy rehash of publicity material for the Johnny Depp movie and overs little substance. Believe me--choosing the right DVD version makes ALL the difference. And as far as buying "Plan 9" at all? Well, you simply must... because it is a classic, and you'll find yourself quoting its insipid dialogue for weeks on end. Since purcahsing it a year ago, I have probably watched it at least four full times. It never gets stale because there's always something new to laugh at. Watch it alone, then watch it with friends... work up a routine... entertain at parties. Ed Wood would be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampires and cardbord tombstones oh my!, March 26 2002
By now, pretty much everybody has heard of Plan 9 from outer space, if you are one of the ones who hasent, you should be ashamed of yourself. Plan 9 is the 2nd best comedy film ever made (Only Robot monster is funnier). It also won the Golden Turkey award for worst film ever made (The Exorcist 2: the Heritic came in 2nd) Its pretty strange that Ed Wood (won the Golden turkey award for worst director of all time) thought that this was supposed to be a serious epic. Instead we have a horrible narrator, stone cold acting, cardbord tombstones, 2 aliens that want to take over the planet, laugable sets ( an airplane cockpit with cardbord steering wheels and a shower curtian) lots of stock footage of military activities, and even Bela Lugosi standing ominously around his house. Theres a ton more, (Especially the space ships) that I wont go into. Plan 9 has no real stars with the exception of a few seconds of Bela Lugosi, who had the very good judgment to die before the film was completed. All the other charachters are so bad, its funny. Who can forget Tor Jhonson waddiling around looking like a hippopotimus, the dim witted police officers, and the lovable antics of the silk pajama wearing aliens. If you havent seen this classic, its about high time you went out and watched it! Ed Wood forevor!!!
The good:
Its plan 9 from outer space!!!
The bad:
Are you kidding me?
And the Ugly:
See above
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THE CORRECT VERSION OF THIS DVD!, June 7 2000
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
After reading many of the other Amazon.com reviews of the "Plan 9 From Outer Space" DVD, the consumer MUST be aware there are two different companies that are distributing this movie on DVD. The first is PASSPORT which, from all the other reviews seem to say, should be avoided. Apparently the company has their logo visible on screen the ENTIRE movie and featurette which follows. And they also don't even include a chapter index. The other company which distributes this movie is IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT. This is the version I have and THIS is the DVD to get of "Plan 9". (The cover of my version is the one Amazon.com has displayed in the picture above.) The picture quality is near perfect and the Dolby Digital Mono sound is excellent. And. . . .no annoying logo in the bottom corner of your screen. While the (seemingly) inferior PASSPORT version supposedly has a few interviews cobbled together from Tim Burton's "Ed Wood" press junket, the IMAGE version includes a 111 minute documentary which includes some of the stars of Plan 9 (including Vampira) as well as cult horror directors Sam Raimi and Joe Dante! It's two movies for the price of one! So unless you're a die-hard Johnny Depp fan and NEED to have a couple of clips of him speaking, the IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT DVD is the absolute one to purchase. I believe Amazon.com offers both so just beware. And if you're thinking of buying one from an on-line auction make sure you ask the person selling which version they have. I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worth the money!, Feb. 5 2000
This review is from: Plan 9 from Outer Space (VHS Tape)
I'm constantly mystified that people call this the worst movie ever made. True, the dialogue, special effects, acting, etc, clearly aren't on par with the big budget sci-fi movies Hollywood was cranking out at the time. However, if a movie is as entertaining as this one -even if it's not in the way its creators intended- it can't be that bad. I've watched this movie countless times and I never fail to laugh at the absurdity of it all. Nowadays, no one could intentionally create a comedy to be as entertaining in the way "Plan 9" is. It's a great party film if you have quick witted friends. If you really want a BAD film, watch "Wild Wild West." "Plan 9" may have UFO's made out of pie pans; but at least it doesn't have a stupid 80ft spider. There's a difference between entertainingly bad and just plain bad. "Plan 9" is the former. I think Ed Wood -the original "Bowfinger" - would be surprised to know that his "masterpiece" turned out to be exactly that. A masterpiece. Well, maybe not in the vein he intended! Buy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for our stupid, stupid minds!, Jan. 3 2004
By 
D. Allen "Wolfman" (Sparks, Nv USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
One of those rare movies you can't help but fall in love with. Seemingly a blueprint for Mel Brooks' "The Producers", this is living proof that when all the ingrediance are the worst possible, something unbelievably good may arise. This movie has it in spades. It's probably the best non-intentional comady to date. You can get everything you need from every other review, the only thing I'd ad is to get Tim Burton's "Ed Wood" as a companion to ad to the fun. First watch "Plan 9", then see a recreation of how it was put together. And you thought this movie was unbelievable. Any video collection is certainly incompleat without "Plan 9". Why? Because all you people of Earth are idiots! Your stupid, stupid minds! That's why you must be destroyed! (Fun factiod...the original title for this film was to be "Grave Robbers From Outer Space".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plan 9 Never Looked Better, Feb. 18 2000
By 
Povertyrow (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
I'm not going to say anything about the movie PLAN 9 FROM OUTER SPACE. Much has already been written. What I want to talk about is the dvd itself. It is the most stunning print of PLAN 9 I have ever seen. Yes, there are the ocassional speckles that many films have from this (and earlier) period - but the tonal range, sharpness, clarity of the audio - all are outstanding. It looks like the film was shot yesterday. As an added bonus - FLYING SAUCERS OVER HOLLYWOOD: THE PLAN 9 COMPANION - is offered complete on this dvd as well. This is a fascinating documentary on PLAN 9 and Wood, with many of Wood's associates and later film folk being interviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubcaps Seen Over Hollywood!!, July 5 2003
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
Somewhere, in the great and mysterious beyond, Ed Wood looks down and laughs. Why? Because we're stupid! Stupid! This is his zenith / nadir in one! Plan 9 is more than just a movie. It is a cultural phenomenon! There are good movies out there by the thousands that get no attention at all, while this celluloid stinkbomb is known universally! Ha! Ha! Ha! Plan 9 is inescapable! Vamprira and Tor Johnson are revered! Bela is immortalized by dying and being replaced by a chiropractor! Yes, Plan 9 has successfully conquered the world! All hail Ed Wood! Buy it now, or you are stupid! Stupid!! #9... #9... #9...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition)
Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) by Mark Patrick Carducci (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 13.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews