Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be sure that you buy the better of 2 DVDs of this film
Plan 9 is just as bad as everyone says it is (buy it buy it buy it!), so this review is just a reminder for you to purchase the better of the two DVDs that Amazon offers of this title.
Do NOT buy the Passport Video edition...it has horrible sound and the picture lighting throbs between dark and bright through the entire film. Passport Video also included a watermark...
Published on Jan. 14 2001 by cvarland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Put a little crimson in your soul
There are several packages of Plan 9. I have a few my self including an earlier release contains 40 minute documentary "The Ed Wood Story" featuring interviews with Johnny Depp, Martin Landay, Dolores Fuller, Vampira, Bela Lugosi Jr., and Johnny Legend.

Plan 9 is an operating system that is designed to replace UNIX. Oh yeah It is also a movie...
Published on June 18 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be sure that you buy the better of 2 DVDs of this film, Jan. 14 2001
By 
cvarland (Boise, Idaho) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
Plan 9 is just as bad as everyone says it is (buy it buy it buy it!), so this review is just a reminder for you to purchase the better of the two DVDs that Amazon offers of this title.
Do NOT buy the Passport Video edition...it has horrible sound and the picture lighting throbs between dark and bright through the entire film. Passport Video also included a watermark of their logo in the bottom right hand corner of the screen that lasts throughout the film. In addition to all of this, what is advertised on the package as "Show 2: THE ED WOOD STORY" is in fact 40 mins. of cobbled together interviews with Vampira, Johnny Depp, Ed Wood's wife, and one of Tor Johnson's neighbors. Sounds okay, but they are actually mind-bogglingly uninsightful and focus mostly upon Tim Burton's Ed Wood film.
The edition of this DVD that you will want to buy is the Image Entertainment version that includes the 111 min. documentary "Flying Saucers Over Hollywood" (which is a wonderful addition). This DVD has great sound and picture quality, vastly superior to Passport Video's piddly excuse for a quality DVD.
I know that it may seem counter productive to buy a more expensive release of the worst movie of all time, but you will appreciate the horrible experience of grave robbers from outerspace much more (and Image Entertaiment's documentary is great too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Stupid! Stupid minds!", Feb. 22 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Plan 9 from Outer Space (DVD)
I have a confession to make: I love Ed Wood's "Plan 9 From Outer Space."

It's one of those bad movies that is so beautifully consistent, so weird, so utterly bafflingly WRONG that it ends up being the PERFECT bad movie. Few movies are as perfectly suited to snark. And the wretchedness is spread smoothly like luxurious upholstery over the ghastly dialogue, bad acting and laughable storyline, until EVERYTHING becomes hilarious.

The plot is actually a bit baffling at first. Flying saucers are buzzing a random American town, but the military is pretending that they don't exist because... actually, I'm not sure why they're being this stupid. After all, it's not as if the military denials keep PEOPLE from seeing those flying saucers. So the aliens (Dudley Manlove, John Breckenridge) implement Plan 9.

What is Plan 9? It's raising the dead (Bela Lugosi, Tor Johnson, Vampira) as zombies, and sending them out to attack people.... very slowly.

Sadly, this does not have the desired effect, since it only happens to three corpses, and nobody really knows how to respond to the dead lurching slowly to attack the living. Only an intrepid (read: bumbling) trio of humans will be able to infiltrate the flying saucer, and discover why the aliens have come to Earth. It's quite a letdown.

"Plan 9 From Outer Space" is one of those movies like "Birdemic," "Santa Claus Conquers the Martians," "The Room" and "Troll 2." It is so bad that somehow it goes all the way around, and ends up being entertaining. Every single thing about this movie is awkward, strange, inept or just plain WRONG -- there is not a single redeeming characteristic about this movie.

And it's WONDERFUL.

No comedy could be as amusingly awful as this movie. The dialogue is clunky and sometimes semi-incoherent ("A flying saucer? You mean the kind from up there?" "Yeah, either that or its counterpart"), the science sounds like it was lifted from a Monty Python skit, and the plot lumbers along in a confused, stumbling manner... not unlike Tor Johnson. Sometimes it feels like two unrelated movies (a vampire movie and a sci-fi movie) somehow got mixed up.

This was also sadly the last movie that featured the late great Bela Lugosi, and he's quite good for the two-and-a-half minutes of actual footage that he's in. Actually, most of the supporting cast is too good for this movie, giving the awkward feeling that they're not sure what they're doing. They're not GOOD (in fact, most are pretty bad) but they're better than the movie deserves.

Dudley Manlove is the one major exception, giving a hilariously over-the-top performance ("Stupid! Stupid minds!") as an alien who tries to entreat humanity by repeatedly insulting us. Tor Johnson is hilarious as an undead hulk who has a perpetual look of mild horror on his face, and Vampira is awesome just because she's in this.

Oh, and definitely get the edition of the movie with Mike Nelson's commentary track. No, on second thought, get the Rifftrax edition.

"Plan 9 From Outer Space" is often said to be the worst film of all time, but there's a reason that it's developed a cult following: it's also gutsplittingly funny in its ineptitude. A must-see for every lover of snark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You might be surprised..., May 19 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the cream of the crop... in terms of miserable moviemaking, that is. Nevertheless, don't think you're in for some Uwe Boll stuff, the two don't share the same career at all.

In fact, Plan 9 offers plenty of laughs, inept acting, mistakes, flubs and the entire dictionary of what not to do in pictures. There's no story (well, there IS one, but it's quite atrociously written), the actors (forgive me for using that word) deliver their lines with the conviction of an ice pick and the effects are anything but special.

Watching it at a party or with a group of people insures almost immediately laughter and watching one of the worst films of all time.

The restoration isn't the best there is out there, but it's the best the film ever looked so far. For the price, it's a keeper.

Also, stick to your former DVD with the same cover since some special features are absent from the present edition. Nevertheless, it's great fun, and if you like commentaries, Mike Nelson's is just a load of fun, improvising as he watches, making funny voices and giving us plenty of reasons to enjoy the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As Bad As Promised, Oct. 18 2012
By 
Ian R. Macpherson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
Voted the worst film of all time, and fully deserving of the title! I have a collection of some very bad movies, but this is the first one my kids have wanted to show their friends. They were on the floor laughing at times. I won't go into the myriad miscues in this movie (they're well documented elsewhere), but will simply say that if you want something so bad it is actually funny, this is good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Put a little crimson in your soul, June 18 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
There are several packages of Plan 9. I have a few my self including an earlier release contains 40 minute documentary "The Ed Wood Story" featuring interviews with Johnny Depp, Martin Landay, Dolores Fuller, Vampira, Bela Lugosi Jr., and Johnny Legend.

Plan 9 is an operating system that is designed to replace UNIX. Oh yeah It is also a movie.

"Future Events Such As These Will Affect You In The Future!"

Due to their inability to make friendly contact with the earth government the aliens on the first 8 plans they must resort to Plan nine. This basically consists of reanimating the dead to become their army of conquest. Will the plan work?

Due to low budget and the unfortunate early demise of Bela, Ed Woods has to resort to his Plan 9. You will notice that a lot of the scenes are done with curtains. Does his plan work?

This would be a one star movie but because this is a must see to be culturally literate I gave it three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two films in one, Aug. 10 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
There are several packages of Plan 9. I have a few my self including this one ASIN: 630546666. This DVD also contains 40 minute documentary "The Ed Wood Story" featuring interviews with Johnny Depp, Martin Landay, Dolores Fuller, Vampira, Bela Lugosi Jr., and Johnny Legend.

Plan 9 is an operating system that is designed to replace UNIX. Oh yeah It is also a movie.

"Future Events Such As These Will Affect You In The Future!"

Due to their inability to make friendly contact with the earth government the aliens must resort to Plan nine. This basically consists of reanimating the dead to become their army of conquest. Will the plan work?

Due to low budget and the unfortunate early demise of Bela, Ed Woods has to resort to his Plan 9. You will notice that a lot of the scenes are done with curtains. Does his plan work?

This would be a one star movie but because this is a must see to be culturally literate I gave it three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "You see. You see. Your stupid minds. Stupid. Stupid.", June 21 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
Also known as "Grave Robbers From Outer Space", Edward D. Wood's masterpiece of horrific filmmaking has been called the "worst movie ever made" by more than a few critics and movie fans. This hasn't kept this unintentially hilarious sci-fi dud from becoming a massive cult classic. And rightfully so. Ed Wood's art for making movies so bad that they're actually good has never been more apparent than it is here.
"Plan 9" revolves around a couple of space invaders in bad suits who fly around in spaceships on strings and resurrect the recently dead to haunt the inhabits of a small town where it seems to go back and forth from night to day a lot. The humans aren't having it though as a joint team of the local police, military, and an overacting airline pilot refuse to be terrorized by the undead creatures (who can't decide whether they're ghouls or vampires). But these visitors from a badly-drawn planet resembling Saturn have their own intentions. They're hear to warn us of a new solar-powered weapon that the Earth will eventually create and wipe out the universe. But our heroes aren't going down without a fight. They've got enough army movie stock footage to send them aliens back where they came from.
What makes "Plan 9" so entertainingly terrible? Where do I start? There's the overly-descriptive narration of Criswell who practically gives play-by-play for every action in the film. You've got Bela Lugosi who appears courtesy of silent footage recorded before his death and with the help of a stand-in who looks nothing like him. And who could forget those cooky cops who don't allow the discovery of their Captain's horrifying death to damper their moods any? Also there's Duke Moore's hards-as-nails detective who fearlessly uses his gun to fix his hat when necessary.From the bargain basement graveyard chalk full of cardboard headstones to the hungry young overactors spitting out silly dialouge, "Plan 9" is truly the "Citizen Kane of bad movies".
For those looking to pick this gem up on DVD, the Image edition is the only way to go. Not only is the picture the best that it's ever looked but it comes with a feature-length documentary, "Flying Saucers Over Hollywood: The Plan 9 Companion" and the trailer for the movie. Avoid the Passport version which has a company logo imprinted in the bottom corner similiar to the ones that TV networks use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bela Lugosi Lives! (Just not in this film), July 1 2004
By 
Chris O'Malley (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
How does one describe a movie such as this? Like "Robot Monster," it is a masterpiece, and like "Robot Monster," this is not because "Plan 9 From Outer Space" has even a shadow of an ounce of quality to it. Rather, this is an example of just how wrong everything in any creative project can go if it is in the hands of the right angora-wearing genius.
For nothing (and I mean NOTHING) came out right in this movie. Continuity? Hah! Realistic dialogue? Pish! Convincing acting? Gah! Remotely realistic special effects? Heaven forbid! No, what Ed Wood gave us with "Plan 9" is quite simply a cinematic failure that not even Orson Wells could have duplicated if he had tried. In what other movie is one of your stars dead even before the script is written or shooting begins?
No, "Plan 9" is unique, a thing that we mere mortals can only begin to try and understand. Instead we can only watch, transfixed and trembling in awe that Wood's vision was transmitted so perfectly to the silver screen. This is a movie that well deserves to be ranked among the immortal creations of motion picture history, despite or perhaps because of the fact that it completely lacks any of the features that would normally merit such an inclusion.
To think otherwise can only be the result of stupid minds. Stupid! Your stupid, stupid minds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Bad Gets, Jan. 29 2004
By 
Blaine Huff (Elgin, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
"We are all interested in the future, for that is where you and I are going to spend the rest of our lives. And remember, my friends, future events such as these will affect you in the future."
"Modern women!"
"Yeah, they've been the same down through the ages."
The above are samples of dialogue from "Plan 9 From Outer Space," and the script is the most coherent component of this film. Be warned, this is B-movie magic in its purest form; it seems that not a penny was spared...err, I mean spent in the acquisition of props, sets, or competent actors, and the result is one of the funniest films ever produced.
Here's a rundown of the plot: aliens want to bring earthlings to the bargaining table, and to achieve this they reanimate the dead. The extra-terrestrials hope that the fear of seeing walking dead will force the governments of Earth to...oh, it doesn't really matter. You see, this is a movie where a "detective" scratches his neck with the barrel of his revolver, night and day repeatedly alternate within scenes, and flying pilots speak to the ground crew on an actual telephone.
It's a fine line, sometimes, between a one-star review and a five, but, this is a fun film, a classic, one that deserves to be laughed at and, eventually, loved by any viewer with a sense of humor. So, watch and giggle as each low-grade actor delivers his campy lines with absolute conviction and cardboard tombstones wiggle when bumped.
And, with that, let me leave you with one more classic bit of dialogue:
"Visits? That would indicate visitors."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for our stupid, stupid minds!, Jan. 3 2004
By 
D. Allen "Wolfman" (Sparks, Nv USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) (DVD)
One of those rare movies you can't help but fall in love with. Seemingly a blueprint for Mel Brooks' "The Producers", this is living proof that when all the ingrediance are the worst possible, something unbelievably good may arise. This movie has it in spades. It's probably the best non-intentional comady to date. You can get everything you need from every other review, the only thing I'd ad is to get Tim Burton's "Ed Wood" as a companion to ad to the fun. First watch "Plan 9", then see a recreation of how it was put together. And you thought this movie was unbelievable. Any video collection is certainly incompleat without "Plan 9". Why? Because all you people of Earth are idiots! Your stupid, stupid minds! That's why you must be destroyed! (Fun factiod...the original title for this film was to be "Grave Robbers From Outer Space".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition)
Plan 9 From Outer Space (Full Screen Special Edition) by Mark Patrick Carducci (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews