Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 2
Garner made 2 movie for disney. if your on the look out for good family movie that are fun, no cursing or nudity, a little action and a little romance... you want Castaway Cowboy, CC not One Little Indian, OLI.
CC is a nice movie about a cowboy that ends up stuck on an island. He shows the nice widow woman how to start a cattle ranch instead of tring to far or...
Published on July 26 2003 by JediMack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining little Disney comedy-western
In the early '70's, James Garner made two films for Disney studios, "One Little Indian" and "The Castaway Cowboy." Of the two, "Cowboy" is by far the best: a slight but entertaining little comedy-western co-starring the lovely Vera Miles (who was also in "Indian"). She plays Henrietta McAlvoy, the owner of a failing Hawaiian...
Published on May 19 2004 by james d. leverton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining little Disney comedy-western, May 19 2004
By 
james d. leverton (San Marcos, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
In the early '70's, James Garner made two films for Disney studios, "One Little Indian" and "The Castaway Cowboy." Of the two, "Cowboy" is by far the best: a slight but entertaining little comedy-western co-starring the lovely Vera Miles (who was also in "Indian"). She plays Henrietta McAlvoy, the owner of a failing Hawaiian (known here as the Sandwich Islands) potato plantation whose native workers fish a nearly drowned deserter named Costain (Garner) out of the ocean. While Costain waits for a ship home to Texas, he hatches a plot to save the farm by turning it into a cattle ranch, using the Hawaiian workers as ranch hands. Of course, in Disney films of the era, there is always a villain, and "Cowboy" features Robert Culp as Bryson, a local businessman who romances Henrietta in order to get her land and when she won't sell, stoops to some nasty business to sabotage Garner's plan.
Everything is predictable and ends just like you think it might. Also quite predictably, Henrietta is a widow with an irrepressibly cute (i.e. cloying and obnoxious) preteen son played by "The Poseidon Adventure"'s young Eric Shea, who gives an even more annoying, don't-say-your-line-shout-it performance than he gave in the previous film. The only other performances of note are given by native Hawaiians playing the workers as stereotypes who exist merely as goofballs to be laughed at. (More about that later.) Only Elizabeth Smith as Henrietta's housekeeper escapes with her dignity intact, since she manages to make her character more than a one-note stereotype.
Finally, about Anchor Bay's DVD presentation. Even though the copy I received was in fullscreen format (instead of the advertised widescreen--grumble, grumble) I kept it because of the excellent remastered print and the addition of a cool copy of the original poster art from the 1974 release on the back of the scene breakdown card. I still would prefer widescreen, but at least the picture and sound are much better than the awful transfers Disney have been ripping us off with on its own lazy releases.
Now, a word of warning about the presentation of the native Hawaiian characters: if you are sensitive about racial issues and potential racism in the movies, you may want to steer clear of this film. The Hawaiian workers are stereotyped as lazy and undisciplined men-children who would rather swim and play than work. This fact may make the film as offensive to some as "Song of the South" is to African-Americans. However, the natives do become better, more competent workers by the end of the film, so proceed at your own risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 2, July 26 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castaway Cowboy, the (VHS Tape)
Garner made 2 movie for disney. if your on the look out for good family movie that are fun, no cursing or nudity, a little action and a little romance... you want Castaway Cowboy, CC not One Little Indian, OLI.
CC is a nice movie about a cowboy that ends up stuck on an island. He shows the nice widow woman how to start a cattle ranch instead of tring to far or fish.
OLI is very boring. Not one of my three kids stayed for the end. And isn't that the true test of a movie. It isn't totally what mom or I like, it is also what they will like enough to sit and watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disney Should Be Ashamed!, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
Disney should be ashamed this movie is racist to it's core. I would not let little children watch this trash and have them believe that some of the earliest and greatest cowboys in the world were in fact bumbling fools on horseback that needed to be taught to rope and ride by the righteous white man.The Hawaiians
were taught how to be cowboys by Mexican cowboys and quickly became and still are some of the greatest cowboys and hello they pre dated the cowboys in Texas by 20 years.Why not tell the truth sometime DISNEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Castaway Cowby--a great movie!, Feb. 7 2004
By 
I really liked this movie!! The scenery was beautiful (of course, it's Kauai and that can't be helped!) and the story line was interesting with all the obstacles James Garner had to contend with to help this family establish a cattle ranch. It also had a great ending and the good people won! My kids even enjoyed it (ages 4,5, and 8), so I must recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Tad Long for my taste!, Oct. 28 2001
By 
"cardsprite" (Springfield, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This movie was ok, but I found myself looking through magazines and such as it had many slow parts in it making it seem so much longer. It is hilarious in spots where Garner is attemting to teach the islanders how to ride a horse and rope cattle. I would rent first, it is fine for kids of all ages, hey, it's Disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this movie!!!, June 23 2001
This movie is classic Disney fun! Grab a copy while you can... This old movie has excellent picture quality but mono sound.
This movie was not released on video since a long time ago so this is your only chance to own it forever on the best video format ever: DVD !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Flick, March 16 2003
By A Customer
This is a nice family movie for all and it is a bit on the long side. Good DVD treatment from Anchor Bay. Let's hope they get more Disney films to release as Disney treats the majority of their classics in miserable shoddy full screen format. Kudos to Anchor Bay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Family Viewing, June 12 2000
By 
Kathleen Bounds (Huntsville, AL by way of California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castaway Cowboy, the (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie when it first came out. It was a good family movie then and it still is a good family movie now. It's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great James Garner Movie, July 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Castaway Cowboy, the (VHS Tape)
I just saw this movie and it is very funny! James Garner even sings! And not bad either! Excellent family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castaway Cowboy, the
Castaway Cowboy, the by Vincent McEveety (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews