Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at it's best!!!
I've seen it before but wanted to see it again. Excellent, Elvis at a great moment in his life. A true performer!!
Published 1 month ago by François Barbeau

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turner Travesty
This is a Turner Entertainmnet/AOL/Time/Warner film. It is NOT the MGM film. Turner has destroyed my memory of the original film. There's lots missing, nothing has been added except a (for the most part) horrible sounding soundtrack. A travesty. Stick with the old MGM VHS.
Published on June 5 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turner Travesty, June 5 2004
By A Customer
This is a Turner Entertainmnet/AOL/Time/Warner film. It is NOT the MGM film. Turner has destroyed my memory of the original film. There's lots missing, nothing has been added except a (for the most part) horrible sounding soundtrack. A travesty. Stick with the old MGM VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at it's best!!!, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen it before but wanted to see it again. Excellent, Elvis at a great moment in his life. A true performer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!, June 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just love this DVD. Shows Elvis at his best! If you are an Elvis fan, or even if you are not, get this DVD! One thing though, I am not technical and am not sure if I am saying it right-anyway, I wished that the image would cover the whole TV screen instead of just a quarter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
recu a la bonne date la personne etait vraiment contente de se coffret d'elvis il est un fan merci a vous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 9 2012
By 
K. L. "K. L." (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is typical Elvis, excellent of course. I have not opened the DVD as I have with others, They are purchased for nostalgic purposes and will only be opened if someone other than me wants to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis has NOT left the building!, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Ron Wise (Cleveland, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You'll have Elvis in your building every time you play this great restored version of the 1970 classic "Elvis: That's the Way It Is."
First of all, I want to say that film archivist and restorer Rick Schmidin (who restored Orson Welles' "Touch of Evil") did a FANTASTIC job of reworking this film and adding footage from hours of film shot during Elvis' Vegas concerts and not used in the original release. Most of the fan comments were taken out and more Elvis was put back in. The picture and sound are outstanding. The viewer gets to see Elvis in his prime: a lean, mean, rock and roll machine. They don't call the country boy from Tupelo, Mississippi the King of Rock and Roll for nothing.
My only complaint is that Warner Brothers did not do a double-sided disc with the restored version on one side and the original movie on the other.
After recently touring Graceland, I noticed in the "Forever Elvis" museum that they were showing the original version of this movie on the monitors. There I saw many fans expressing their love for the King. Actually, it was quite touching to listen to the comments from young and old and people of all races.
So it's really somewhat sad that the original version of this film was not deemed worthy by Warner Brothers to be included on the DVD. Hopefully, when this film is released again, it will contain the original and the restored version.
Aside from that, the restored verion is great and well worth buying. In fact, put a round table with a red tablecloth in front of your TV, add a few drinks, and pretend you are in Vegas in the summer of 1970 enjoying one heck of an Elvis show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 13 2003
By 
michael g. pierce (newport, N.H. United States) - See all my reviews
There is no question that this is Presley at his best ever. He is 35 years old and has never looked or sounded better. the sad thing with this version is that some of the songs have been edited out. I just can't help believing, I've lost you and Bridge over troubled water live on stage versions. As the other's he does an excellent job woth these also. wish they had left them in. hopefully we can get another version or another dvd with all the other footage there must be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvid - That's the Way it Is, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Mark Terpstra (Rancho Cucamonga, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This DVD of Elvis's times in Vegas is unbelievable. I am in awe when I watch it. So much better than the VHS version obviously because of the picture and 5.1 sound. On my bigscreen and home theatre system, it's almost as if I am there in concert. This is a must have for any Elvis fan. What is good about this DVD is that it is all rehersal and concert. Gone is the fan and other footage from the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Thats The Way It Is (Special Edition), Feb. 4 2004
By 
Luke H. (Hermitage, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
Elvis Thats The Way It Is in this Special Edition of the legendary Las Vegas concert shot in 1970. This movie goes in the studio with Elvis and back-stage. I have seen all the live Elvis movies and nothing can compare to this one. This DVD is Restored, remixed, it focuses on a new look at Elvis Presley. The sound is out of this world its way better than the orginal the cameras keep rolling their is not a missed piece of footage. This is a must have for an Elvis Presley fan I enjoyed this and so will you so what are you waiting for go buy this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Someone PLEASE RE-EDIT THIS CLASSIC!, Sept. 2 2001
By 
Carlos Garcia (West New York, New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The original version of "Elvis: That's The Way It Is" was a classic about a musical legend. Yes there were some annoying fan interviews which did slow down the overall impact of the movie, but this new "Special Edition" version of the movie is just a 21st century, MTV-style edited version that, while it still entertains, leaves those of us who saw the original version of the movie, wanting much much more. I don't want to see fast motion montages of Vegas, or Elvis and his entourage walking backstage, this is supposed to be a chronicle of one of the greatest performances of the King of Rock and Roll, not the Benny Hill Show! Alright, so all those interviews were wiped out, good move. But for all the good that did, cutting out several of the King's best songs (shown in the original version) just wasn't worth it. I don't know who decided to produce this new "Special Edition" version, but it's obvious they went about it all wrong. What about the DVD extras? A 9 minute pretty worthless documentary about the reconstruction of the movie. Also some more useless tidbits about who Elvis was...blah blah blah...as if the actual person who would buy this DVD would have never heard of him or his life story by now. It really saddens me to say this, but I wanted to love this DVD. I wanted to look at this movie, and say "This is the difinitive Elvis DVD EVERYONE should own", unfortunately, I have to say to people...if you can find it anywhere, buy the original version instead. Oh the potential is there for a newer, far better version of this movie to be released, but it's too bad this version doesn't cut it. Now I'll tell you what REAL Elvis fans would like to see in the DVD "Elvis: That's The Way It Is (The FANS' version). Take the original version of the movie, then remove all the fan interviews. Now take all the pre-show planning scenes of the original, combine them with the pre-show scenes of the new version, and edit them together into one great "Behind the Scenes of Elvis: That's The Way It Is"...This will be the 90 minute "making of the show" (DVD Extra)...Now that we know what the DVD extra will be, what about the title movie? Well, with all the great new concert footage used in this special edition, they should combine all of it, with the old footage, as well as all the songs from the original version that were FOOLISHLY edited out for the Special Edition. There you have it. THIS is what Elvis fans want: 1. A 90 minute "Making of" documentary that shows all the behind the scenes action, clowning around, etc. and 2. A 90 minute "In Concert" version of "Elvis: That's The Way It Is", which shows all the actual performance footage from the original version, plus the new found footage from the Special Edition. Yes the DVD quality of this version looks awesome, but I wanted a coherent concert movie, not the mess they gave us. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb9770840)

This product

Elvis: That's the Way It Is
Elvis: That's the Way It Is by Denis Sanders (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 10.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews