Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ROCK DVD I OWN.
Phenomenal quality; uninterrupted concert; Frampton and Mayo rock. Great energy. Solid from beginning to end. What rock and roll DVDs should be like. No gimmicks. Beautifully produced.
I also enjoyed Peter's interview for the DVD. Very informative and entertaining.
Peter's guitar work absolutely smokes!
Published on April 27 2004 by C. DiNota

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, but where's the Center Channel??
Am I the only one who has noticed that there's virtually no sound coming out of the center channel on this DVD? The dts sound quality is fine (though lacking some definition in the high frequencies, in my opinion), BUT -- where's the sound from the center channel? I compared this DVD with several others (Eagles "Hell Freezes Over", etc) to make sure the...
Published on Nov. 9 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ROCK DVD I OWN., April 27 2004
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
Phenomenal quality; uninterrupted concert; Frampton and Mayo rock. Great energy. Solid from beginning to end. What rock and roll DVDs should be like. No gimmicks. Beautifully produced.
I also enjoyed Peter's interview for the DVD. Very informative and entertaining.
Peter's guitar work absolutely smokes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SOUND QUALITY AND FOOTAGE, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ANY PETER FRAMPTON FAN! IT'S FANTASTIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clean..., April 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
This is a very good concert - indeed. It had been sometime since we heard from Peter Frampton. Tight band - Peter plays incredibly well for someone who has been "out of the loop" for so long. The widescreen video is excellent - viewed through component video inputs on an Hitachi HDTV and the afore mentioned excellent audio track in the DTS format. A must have for any Frampton fan........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frampton is Still Alive!, Jan. 24 2004
By 
CPW (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
Wow! Wasn't really expecting too much from this. Reality always seems to disappoint when one's memories have had too long to crystalize. This was certainly the exception to the rule. Frampton has lost none of his talent and his voice is as crisp as ever. His guitar playing only seems to have improved. It just goes to show that a great talent (like a good wine) only gets better w/ age. This is almost never the case w/ one-hit wonders. I'll buy a ticket the next time he plays live in my area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good!, May 26 2003
By 
jamie d lindman (Bloomington, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
I have never seen Frampton live and was surprised at the quality of his performance...20 years later! He might not have all the energy that he once did, but he can still sing and play like he did in his younger years. The sound/video quality was A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good concert!, Jan. 1 2003
By 
"jbriff" (Jackson, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
This DVD has excellent video as well as audio (DTS). The interveiw with PF is indepth without being too detailed. It's laid back but not boring. A real plus is that it doesn't interrupt the concert footage. A few times the the band kind of goofs around a little and this seems to disrupt the pace of the show. But Frampton is as much up on his vocals and chops as I have ever heard him. He has a good bunch of players with him including Bob Mayo who was with him back in the seventies. Overall this is a good concert performance. A real treat if your a Frampton fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for Fans, Feb. 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
Unless you're a rabid fan of Frampton it's kinda sad seeing him up there with this lacklustre band churning out those classics from Frampton Comes Alive - sure, his voice is totally intact, his guitar playing is all there and he looks healthy enough (although it's pretty hard reconciling this trim, greying and bespectacled mid-lifer with the image of that 70's rock star with the Roger Daltery-esque curls.) But it's a pretty shlocky concert and it just lack all the elements that defined him as a terrifically talented and cool star in the 70's.
The sound quality (on DTS) is fine so I give this one two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who is that old guy playing Frampton's stuff?, Dec 5 2001
By 
John Whitlock (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
You forget how old we have become..Frampton is STILL unbelieveable. Great to hear him again. Makes you think back to a great time and not so much responsibility. A must for all us 70's folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and Bob, still kicking it after all these years, Nov. 17 2001
By 
L. Brady (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
When I bought this DVD, I had just set up my Sony 5.1 DTS system. I had no idea I would be transported back to 1976...the only noticeable difference is that Peter Frampton plays and sings better than ever. Bob Mayo is simply astounding on keys, guitar and vocals. There is a seamless comradery between these guys that is a pure delight to watch, not to mention that they are without a doubt the tightest, most polished sounding foursome out there today. The sound quality of this DVD is better than any other Concert DVD I own, James Taylor Live at the Beacon, a close second. One of Peter's many strengths has always been drawing a crowd into an experience and making them feel a part of his world. Forget the hair, he looks better than ever (laid-back and on fire all at the same time) and he's proven to this viewer/listener that he's never been more alive than he is today! A must-have for any guitar lover (worth buying a DVD player to see). My personal faves: "Lines on My Face," "Can't Take That Away," Don't Need No Doctor," and "Money."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So-so sound, Aug. 25 2001
By 
"balata104" (Reston, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 (DVD)
I am a big fan of Peter Frampton and the performance in Detroit was top-notch. My only gripe is with the audio quality of this performance. If you compare the sound quality of this performance with the James Taylor Live at Beacon Street Concert, you'll see what I mean. If the sound quality of the Frampton concert had been better, I would have rated it a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999
Peter Frampton - Live In Detroit 1999 by DVD Music (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 39.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews