Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic movie..holds up today in all ways
To view this film today..i am speakin gof the 1925 version..in comparison to the inferior 1942 rerelease and edited/rerelease is to see mr chaplin at the height of his creative powers. A great film and what some critics dislike in his earlier films..the pathos..the lower class origins..politicizing of the hero..these elements are not so much an issue romance..the hunt for...
Published 8 months ago by Anthony Marinelli

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not As Advertised ("the Gold RUCH?)
The DVD I was sent was a bootleg-style version named "The Gold RUCH".

It was also NOT THE FAMOUS SILENT MOVIE - this is a later version in which a man's voice-over narrates and describes the action in the scenes.

These details were not made clear in the description, or before payment.

The description did say this DVD wouldn't...
Published 12 months ago by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a classic movie..holds up today in all ways, Aug. 25 2013
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To view this film today..i am speakin gof the 1925 version..in comparison to the inferior 1942 rerelease and edited/rerelease is to see mr chaplin at the height of his creative powers. A great film and what some critics dislike in his earlier films..the pathos..the lower class origins..politicizing of the hero..these elements are not so much an issue romance..the hunt for TREASURE..and what that treasure is and entails redeems this work..the original which premiered in L.A. became one of the highest grossing silent films, 7M plus..a big success and the premier saw many studio and stars of 1925..few of these would make the transition to sound films..almost none..charlie managed to hang on and the talking charlie was quite different..and the silent film is almost a different medium in all ways.the acting, and so on..here is one of the great silent films!!
The tramp or little man..the insignificiant..was a popular literary figure in london, not popular with readers outsid eof england, but the Dickens character and other practitioners of this character, the uneducated bumpkin, charlie gives an interpretation of a type of this character whoose warmth humor and value has some source some way of moralizing this character..and we must peep through the drama to find it inthe Gold Rush. Like todays lottery ticket..som eplaces you could win hundreds of millions, and they are a part of modern culture the search for unlimited wealth to have it all and purchase and surround ourselves with all the trappings of success..here is the low class hero..on aa search for gold. He battles with big Jim...that too is a literary type..and all the obstacles..to get hearts desire the heart of the film is the romantic life and the woman featured throughout the film..women through all walks of life..as if the gold rush was shot to film women in the various guises we see them in contemporary life..and what the people around them want to make of them and what they make of themselves..the scenes in the bar,,prostitute like figures..fighting for some worth..and dignity..and the four or five figures in the snow..snow balls tossed at charlie..classic scenes the scenes in the snow,,and as trhe women come interior like inside..and charlie throughout shows some ability to show relationship and emotions..among a group setting..touching and swiftly moving..the tale moves quickly from one scene to another..the women appealing and desirable and not overly sensualized to bring other elements to the fore..here we have christmas/new years..new years is the big feast not christmas..it suits the romantic nature of the film..new year and new beginnings love well new riches..the new year theme or a new person brought on by love being fulfilled..GREAT EXPECTATIONS realized..and i congratulate mr chaplin for filming women and ladies sphisticated and desirable in large numbers and able in various settings to put these fantasy figures across to the viewer..but solitude,,the elements..snow..perils of exterior scenes..can only be relieved by a FIGURE..GEORGIA..like ms GEORGIA..or ms UNIVERSE..the lower class dream of love as in a Dickens novel and the life of Dickens..is this the gold rush at the end..a parting kiss as the 1925 film shows..a long passionate kiss setting the hero off..INTIMACY as the prime reward in life many comic scenes..food eating..and good spewcial effectsof the home..greatly filmed for its time..the intimate life as a new heaven..new year..love as an antidote to solitude and despair..comedic hijinks..it moves so swiftly and venturesomely that we are on a ride and a ride all will enjoy..SOUND..1942 rerelease was reedited for sound audiences..the ending chopped and the hero is not seen as a fulfilled person..with a long lasting kiss..the war/personal despair and relations soured..it changes the tone..and 11 minutes are dropped..and the over narration seems clumsy and didactic..lecture like as the words are dropped from the screen..but watch both versions and Chaplin preferred later version..and destroyed or tried to 1925..and good it has been preserved..charlie at his best!! one of the great silent films..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The is the best of the best of Chaplin, Aug. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It recorded an important part of human history in Chaplin's way, funny, humane, and passionate. I think this should be ranked as top 10 greatest comedy film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not As Advertised ("the Gold RUCH?), April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gold Rush (DVD)
The DVD I was sent was a bootleg-style version named "The Gold RUCH".

It was also NOT THE FAMOUS SILENT MOVIE - this is a later version in which a man's voice-over narrates and describes the action in the scenes.

These details were not made clear in the description, or before payment.

The description did say this DVD wouldn't arrive in the original case, so I wasn't expecting that, and that was just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charlie chaplin, Nov. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How could I dare review the funniest man that ever lived? Gold Rush is classic that can never be repeated. Tremendous joy! The CD works fine. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Rush, Feb. 22 2004
By A Customer
I agree with one of the reviews above. Go right to the second disc and see the film as it originally appeared. Fantastic! (The first disc with the narration is very nice, but the narration is totally unnecessary). The film still holds up beautifully and the prints of this whole collection are amazing. Particulary if you've never seen this film, the best one to watch is the second disc original release. You won't be sorry!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tramps Suffering is eased with Brilliant Comedy..., Jan. 7 2004
Gold Rush is one of Charlie Chaplin's legendary films about the Tramp who seeks fortune and a better life in Klondike, Alaska, during the gold rush. In his quest for fortune he encounters several questionable characters which often lead to comic situations. Underneath the comedy there is a serious undertone of struggle for happiness and prosperity where the Tramp becomes easy prey as he helps those in need. However, through his kindness he ends up being hurt in several ways. Throughout the film, Chaplin conveys his messages with comedy that makes it easier to look at the hardships the Tramp encounters, and through this comedy he teaches the audience valuable morals. Overall, Gold Rush offers a brilliant cinematic experience that offers something for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating!!!, July 29 2003
By 
D. Mok (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
With two DVDs and a high budget at their disposal, the producers of this DVD should have been able to give us the film as it was originally intended to be seen. But no -- in this set, you get two versions, neither of which even came close to satisfying my memory of this film, watching a crappy TV version which nevertheless had the original score intact and no narration.
The two versions here are Chaplin's own retroactive tampering with his film, adding oodles of unnecessary narration which never tells us anything the images don't. It's strange that Chaplin himself didn't always realize that his was a highly theatrical, demonstrative comic technique of which he is a master, but which holds no element of naturalism whatsoever. Whenever he departed from the silent-film milieu, he never went too far (with the sole exception of Monsieur Verdoux). Chaplin's own dialogue technique is ill suited to film, being too magnanimous and self-conscious; when he employs it in a strange silent-film way (as in the singing sequence of Modern Times, or the "people-talking-gibberish" gag he uses in his later films) he succeeds grandly. When he tries to use sound naturalistically as in the narration here, The Great Dictator and Limelight, he tends to fumble.
Having been shell-shocked by the meddled-with version, I had hopes that the second version on Disc 2, billed as "the original 1925 silent version", would be better. Only marginally: Somehow they felt the need to replace all the titles (yes, the titles matter -- just look at Akira Kurosawa's Yojimbo) and, more grievously, redo the score. And this new recording is even more problematic than the overly clean re-recorded orchestral score to the recent DVD re-release of Metropolis. The music on this "1925 version" sounds so digital that it neatly destroys the feel of the picture. The piano sounds like it's a MIDI keyboard plugged direct into a computer, without the percussive feel of a real piano, and the resultant sound is so antiseptic that it's anachronistic to the picture. They should have at least used analog tape to record, to simulate the warmer, older sound that would have accompanied this film both in its day and throughout history. The musical performance also lacks that "soul"; it sounds like a series of notes following sheet music, rather than an expressive entity complementing the film. I don't think they spent nearly enough time drilling the performance and the production on the music here, and it just ruins the picture for me.
I refuse to believe that there isn't a soundtrack to The Gold Rush out there that dispenses with the narration yet includes music that sounds of the same era as the film. I'd rather hear a third-generation transfer of an old Beta soundtrack from a TV station rather than these two versions: One unnecessarily tampered with narration, the other a clean, technically flawless, yet soulless imitation of what the music might have been like in 1925.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not normally a Chaplin-ite...., Oct. 28 2003
By 
Tony Hughes "stellarossa" (Cincinnati, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To be honest, I've never really been a fan of Chaplin. Too much pathos, too mush sentiment, too clever by half.I've always fallen on the Laurel and Hardy side of the fence as we much prefer to watch "Fresh fish! HONK!" to a tramp eating his shoes. However, The Gold Rush I can make an exception for. The sentiment is there but the gags work well and the impression for once is that this is a comedy and not a tragedy with the odd falling over scene. There's no doubting it's technical brilliance either and its originality and innovation, which don't matter much to us without the laughs, but there's plenty of those as well so, in it goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still makes me cry! and i am 13!, Sept. 16 2003
By A Customer
This movie is beautiful! The dvd is great! I read other reviews and they do not talk about the dvds that much (thank you for those who have) but the dvd is outstanding! Breathtaking transfer i have two versions of this movie this one and the ... version from koch and this is simply beautiful. almost made me cry! the transfer well i have no speaker system but on HEADPHONES it was wicked good! and the extras well there is alot on there and it took me a weekend to watch all of them and i am an extra freak! One bad note though: The 1940's version ah how do i put it... is not that good aside from the original score it was worthless to me. and the "good" version is on the 2nd disc! what! it would have got a better transfer on the first disc oh well! sad that some people might overlook it! Well if u r wondering y i cry it is in the scene well..you'l have to see the movie yourself! sorry i did not talk about the movie much! one word describes it:brilliant. and beautiful. the two b's well see ya! can't wait for city lights! p.s. you know what i mean...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars, please!, Sept. 3 2003
By A Customer
Amazons "average customers review" of 4 stars is an average for 3 DIFFERENT editions of this great, GREAT film:
1) A very poor, Public Domain reprint of the 1925 edition from Digital Disc Entertainment; got around 2 stars.
2) A fine reprint of the 1942 edition from Image. All complaints about this DVD were about the missing of the 1925 edition.
3) This ultimate edition from Warner and MK2. Disc 1 include the 1942 edition, disc 2 include the 1925 edition and a lot of extra material. Both versions are restored and of surprisingly high quality!
This edition surely deserve FIVE STARS. Please DON'T include the ratings for other editions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1283924)

This product

Gold Rush
Gold Rush by Charles Chaplin (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 49.95 CDN$ 46.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews