Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tramps Suffering is eased with Brilliant Comedy...
Gold Rush is one of Charlie Chaplin's legendary films about the Tramp who seeks fortune and a better life in Klondike, Alaska, during the gold rush. In his quest for fortune he encounters several questionable characters which often lead to comic situations. Underneath the comedy there is a serious undertone of struggle for happiness and prosperity where the Tramp...
Published on Jan. 7 2004 by Kim Anehall

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not As Advertised ("the Gold RUCH?)
The DVD I was sent was a bootleg-style version named "The Gold RUCH".

It was also NOT THE FAMOUS SILENT MOVIE - this is a later version in which a man's voice-over narrates and describes the action in the scenes.

These details were not made clear in the description, or before payment.

The description did say this DVD wouldn't...
Published 18 months ago by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tramps Suffering is eased with Brilliant Comedy..., Jan. 7 2004
Gold Rush is one of Charlie Chaplin's legendary films about the Tramp who seeks fortune and a better life in Klondike, Alaska, during the gold rush. In his quest for fortune he encounters several questionable characters which often lead to comic situations. Underneath the comedy there is a serious undertone of struggle for happiness and prosperity where the Tramp becomes easy prey as he helps those in need. However, through his kindness he ends up being hurt in several ways. Throughout the film, Chaplin conveys his messages with comedy that makes it easier to look at the hardships the Tramp encounters, and through this comedy he teaches the audience valuable morals. Overall, Gold Rush offers a brilliant cinematic experience that offers something for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Rush, Feb. 22 2004
By A Customer
I agree with one of the reviews above. Go right to the second disc and see the film as it originally appeared. Fantastic! (The first disc with the narration is very nice, but the narration is totally unnecessary). The film still holds up beautifully and the prints of this whole collection are amazing. Particulary if you've never seen this film, the best one to watch is the second disc original release. You won't be sorry!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still makes me cry! and i am 13!, Sept. 15 2003
By A Customer
This movie is beautiful! The dvd is great! I read other reviews and they do not talk about the dvds that much (thank you for those who have) but the dvd is outstanding! Breathtaking transfer i have two versions of this movie this one and the ... version from koch and this is simply beautiful. almost made me cry! the transfer well i have no speaker system but on HEADPHONES it was wicked good! and the extras well there is alot on there and it took me a weekend to watch all of them and i am an extra freak! One bad note though: The 1940's version ah how do i put it... is not that good aside from the original score it was worthless to me. and the "good" version is on the 2nd disc! what! it would have got a better transfer on the first disc oh well! sad that some people might overlook it! Well if u r wondering y i cry it is in the scene well..you'l have to see the movie yourself! sorry i did not talk about the movie much! one word describes it:brilliant. and beautiful. the two b's well see ya! can't wait for city lights! p.s. you know what i mean...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Please take off your boot, we're hungry, July 17 2003
By 
"The Gold Rush" has been delighting audiences for almost 80 years -- it's one of the flat-out funniest films made in the silent era or any other. This is the movie Chaplin wanted to be remembered for.
Like other films in the Chaplin Collection (at least so far) the "Gold Rush" enjoys across-the-board improvements in video and audio, including digital transfers from Chaplin family elements and Dolby Digital 5.1 mixes. Imaginative bonus features inform and entertain without wearing out their welcome.
But this is Chaplin and so there is controversy. Image and Fox Home Entertainment felt the wrath of the faithful a few years back when they released Chaplin's audience-friendly 1942 sound version of the film, ignoring the classic all-silent film.
MK2 and Warner didn't dare blow off the original, but their "Gold Rush" package relegates the 96-minute silent to disc 2, as an extra. The 1942 version gets the star treatment, taking up all of disc 1. It runs 69 minutes, as transformed by Chaplin when he recut the film, added narration and recorded an orchestral score.
The 1942 edition will be more accessible to mainstream audiences, but it's a shame that most viewers will bypass the original, probably the grandest silent-movie entertainment of them all. (A new piano track by Neil Brand adds even more zest to the silent.)
The Chaplin Collection's 1942 film looks great, with most of the wear digitally scrubbed out., but some videophiles will stay with Fox's 2001 release, which retains a bit more contrast and detail with the tradeoff of wear. The Warner silent sports a decent restoration job, from Kevin Brownlow and David Gill, but its images tend to be flat and inconsistent, with wear throughout. Warner's two versions are presented full-screen (1.33:1, as Chaplin intended), lacking a bit of picture information found on Fox's widow-boxed film, which runs 72-minutes. And the Warner silent employs some subtly different takes than the updated film.
A half-hour MK2 TV documentary retells the tale of the production, which started in the Sierra Nevada before retreating to an elaborate set in L.A., where 100 barrels of flour stood in for mountain snow. The docu points out that Chaplin's humor frequently revolved around hunger, the curse of his childhood. "The Gold Rush's" comic tale of starving prospectors was based, in part, on the real-life horrors of the Donner party. The DVD includes rare outtakes of Big Jim the miner chasing his hallucinatory chicken (Chaplin) through the woods.
The Chaplin Collection's next releases, due in early 2004, include "The Kid," "City Lights," "Monsieur Verdoux" and "The Circus." All but "Verdoux" are double-disc sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic Chaplin, July 15 2003
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Gold Rush is a silent Charlie Chaplin film from 1925. The version that I watched on this DVD was a reissue of the film where Chaplin himself adds narration to the film. Not having seen the unaltered original, I can't make any comparisons to that. However, for the film that I saw the narration mostly helps the story. The acting is done well enough that you would know exactly what is happening without any narration (the mark of a good silent film), but the narration does not take anything away from the film and it does not run through every scene. According to what I've read, the silent version is almost 30 minutes longer, but the 69 minute length of the film I saw was just right for The Gold Rush. The new DVD in the Chaplin Collection includes both versions.
The story is that the Tramp (Charlie Chaplin) is a prospector heading to the Yukon Territory during the Gold Rush. He meets up with two other prospectors and during a storm they get stuck in one cabin. Here The Tramp cooks his own shoe and he and another man eat the shoe. The hunger scenes are actually quite funny. Later on in the film we see Chaplin do the little dance with dinner rolls that is later revisited in the film Benny and Joon. This is absolutely classic. The Tramp also falls for a dance hall girl (Georgia Hale) and throughout the film there is a definite air of loneliness.
This is a fun movie and there is something intriguing about watching classic Chaplin films. Even 80 years later, it is easy to see why Charlie Chaplin was one of the masters of early film and why he is still considered a comic genius. To top it all off, Chaplin usually wrote, directed, and starred in all of his movies. You can't get much better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last, the REAL Gold Rush is on DVD, July 22 2003
By 
Michael Gebert (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The real news here isn't the second video release of Chaplin's 1942 talkie reissue of the 1925 film, with narration in his plummy later voice detracting from much of the fun. What's significant here is on Disc 2-- the first video release of a definitive version of the original silent classic, which has been restored by Kevin Brownlow and David Gill from Chaplin family material and is about 14 minutes longer and noticeably better quality than the best previous version, the Killiam print which had seen assorted releases on tape and laserdisc. The Chaplin family had previously refused to release that version, believing that the 1942 version represented Chaplin's final thoughts on the film, when what it in fact represented was Chaplin's best idea of how to make an old silent film seem relevant to Casablanca-era audiences. Now it's the '42 version which seems old fashioned, while the '25 one is timeless as ever. Be sure you get this new Warner/MK2 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars, please!, Sept. 3 2003
By A Customer
Amazons "average customers review" of 4 stars is an average for 3 DIFFERENT editions of this great, GREAT film:
1) A very poor, Public Domain reprint of the 1925 edition from Digital Disc Entertainment; got around 2 stars.
2) A fine reprint of the 1942 edition from Image. All complaints about this DVD were about the missing of the 1925 edition.
3) This ultimate edition from Warner and MK2. Disc 1 include the 1942 edition, disc 2 include the 1925 edition and a lot of extra material. Both versions are restored and of surprisingly high quality!
This edition surely deserve FIVE STARS. Please DON'T include the ratings for other editions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not normally a Chaplin-ite...., Oct. 28 2003
By 
Tony Hughes "stellarossa" (Cincinnati, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To be honest, I've never really been a fan of Chaplin. Too much pathos, too mush sentiment, too clever by half.I've always fallen on the Laurel and Hardy side of the fence as we much prefer to watch "Fresh fish! HONK!" to a tramp eating his shoes. However, The Gold Rush I can make an exception for. The sentiment is there but the gags work well and the impression for once is that this is a comedy and not a tragedy with the odd falling over scene. There's no doubting it's technical brilliance either and its originality and innovation, which don't matter much to us without the laughs, but there's plenty of those as well so, in it goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rush to get, July 15 2003
This 2003 release of The Gold Rush, part of "The Chaplin Collection," is a wonderful package and a good deal besides! The original 1925 version is here, beautifully restored and scored. The "newer" 1942 version is on the other disc, likewise wonderfully restored (both are so clean they look like they were filmed last week). The extra materials are well done and well chosen. Chaplin fan, film historian, comedy fan, all-of-the-above, you gotta have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming film of the silent era, June 7 1999
This review is from: Nothing Sacred 37 (VHS Tape)
Of all the silent films available today, this is the most watchable: it is a timeless film.If you have never seen a silent film, you won't be disappointed in viewing this "Little Tramp" classic. Chaplin's famous "dancing dinner rolls" stands out in my mind as one of the most clever and charming scenes ever filmed.The film still evokes emotion even today.One of the greatest films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gold Rush
Gold Rush by Charles Chaplin (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 76.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews