Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy but buy it on DVD for less.
Movie is funny as anything. Not sure it was honest of them to try and sell it for extra money as a Blu Ray, the image quality is crap. I'd buy it again, but only on DVD.

Worth buying though. Watched it over and over with friends and it still makes me laugh.
Published 4 months ago by Andrea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - but I had problems with the DVD too.
One of my favorite movies of all time. I bought the DVD a few years ago and it played fine, but all of a sudden it couldn't be read by any of my DVD players. It almost looks tarnished. ...
I'm giving this 3 stars: 5 for the movie but 1 for the quality of the DVD.
Published on Nov. 9 2002 by oceantno


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy but buy it on DVD for less., March 17 2014
By 
Andrea (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Movie is funny as anything. Not sure it was honest of them to try and sell it for extra money as a Blu Ray, the image quality is crap. I'd buy it again, but only on DVD.

Worth buying though. Watched it over and over with friends and it still makes me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - but I had problems with the DVD too., Nov. 9 2002
By 
"oceantno" (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
One of my favorite movies of all time. I bought the DVD a few years ago and it played fine, but all of a sudden it couldn't be read by any of my DVD players. It almost looks tarnished. ...
I'm giving this 3 stars: 5 for the movie but 1 for the quality of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1st Movie for the guys who made Airplane, Dec 6 2010
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Great Movie the movie the Zucker, Zucker and Abraham's guys made before Airplane. Full of sight gags and one liners. A must for true Airplane comedy lovers. A true cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Samuel L Bronkowittz presents a very funny film, June 30 2004
By 
Thomas B. Talbot (New Market, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I remember seeing this film the first time when I was 15. My friends and I had an inside joke with some of the more outrages sketches such as 'Catholic High School Girls in Trouble', 'Fist full of Yen', and "Zinc Oxide' (fake science filmstrip).
Having seen the DVD, I must say that the print is good though the original film stock had poor detail. There is a choice of 16:9 or fullscreen, though this choice is awkwardly implemented in the menu.
If you wish to see an early example of tasteless sketch comedy, you may enjoy this film. Some of the fake movie previews, directed by the ubiquitous Samuel L. Bronkowitz are still very funny. Other parts of Kentucky Fried Movie may not have aged well from the 1970s, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the funniest thing I have ever seen., May 17 2004
By 
Kevin G. Pitchford (Augusta,Ga) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I doubt you will ever see a movie like this again.
It starts off with a bang. When I first rented it a few years
ago, I watched it with a few freinds. And after the opening theme song, which is strange enough. A reporter comes on and
says "The popcorn you are eating has been pissed in."
One of my freinds nearly choked on a ciggarette from laughter.
There are so many funny moments to this movie. One is where a family makes there dead kid part of the family again. As they take him to the dinner table and ball game.
Another is a spoof of a porno called "When Catholic Girls Go Wild" This is just too funny, I laugh as I'm typing thinking about it. My 3rd favorite is The Joy of Sex which is like an instructional video on how to have sex narrated by Shadow Stevens formerley of American Top 40. I could go on and name scene after scene. But they are all funny.
If you like sketch comedey and have a open mind to humor.
This is a must own. It is old but this is a classic.
I love this stupid movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically FUNNY, Feb. 20 2004
By 
god (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Words can not express the amount of laughter I had when I watched this last week. I rented it and heard about it for years. I couldn't believe it was made in the 70's, I wonder what the writers are doing today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven mishmash prototype for future films, Jan. 15 2004
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
A hodgepodge of sketches and parodies, based on a theater group of the same name, featuring ample breasts and crude bathroom humor, KFM ultimately succumbs to its mindnumbingly slow pacing and poor production values. Just because a film is old doesn't mean it has to be outdated. Here we simply have a case of half-bakedness. The gents behind this film would find greater success with future features and with good reason. Movies like Airplane and Naked Gun kept the lulls at a minimum and the jokes coming like a shotgun, plus they have a budget. KFM on the otherhand has far too many lulls between the sight gags, slapstick and jokes to keep it afloat. There is also little continuity to the film. It reminds me more of a college film project, which makes sense, as these directors were barely out of school when they made this. KFM will always be legendary for its launching a new style of raunchy sightgag movies with tons of scatological and sexual double entendres but it was only a prototype of a genre-in-progress and as such should be seen in its true context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny At Times But Very Corny!, July 12 2003
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I saw this movie a long time ago. When I was a kid and wasn't really supposed to see it. The funniest skit was the parody of the kung fu action flick. The other skits were all right but more corny than anything. The movie is more for camp value. Many people probably don't remember ever having seen it way back when.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Uneven But Often Very Entertaining, March 29 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
THE KENTUCKY FRIED MOVIE is a series of sketches that lampoon various venues of its day: industrial training films, television commercials, news shows, martial arts flicks, and talk shows--in fact, it is very much like the original SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE. But while being on the big screen means the film can go a lot further than SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE ever could on television, KFM doesn't have the same level of talent behind it. When you add in the dated quality of the humor, the result is very hit or miss indeed.
The film originated when two brothers and their best friend--David and Jerry Zucker and Jim Abrahams--created a live show called "Kentucky Fried Theatre," and it proved such a hit that the three took the show to Los Angeles, where they managed to interest director John Landis and producer Robert Weiss in turning the whole thing into a low-budget film. Filmed with a no-name cast interspersed with cameos by Bill Bixby, Donald Sutherland, and Henry Gibson, KFM became the surprise hit of 1977.
Some of it holds up extremely well, most notably the "movie trailers" for such imaginary no-class explotation films as CATHOLIC HIGHSCHOOL GIRLS IN TROUBLE and CLEOPATRA SCHWARTZ, both of which will probably have film buffs screaming with laughter. And then there is a sketch which has a couple making love according to directions issued by a phonograph record, an instructional film on the uses of zinc oxide, a wicked take-off on "Point/Counterpoint," and a still darker take-off on television public service announcement--all of them a hoot and half.
But when the film falters, it falls with a thud. Fans of Bruce Lee will probably appreciate the film's centerpiece more than I did, a twenty-minute take-off on martial arts films called "A Fistful of Yen;" I myself thought it would be more amusing if it were half as long. The "Feel-Around" selection was a clever idea that never actually took off, and really much the same can be said for most of the sketches. Some of it is a matter of datedness: what was topical in 1977 doesn't necessarily have a great deal of relevance for a contemporary viewer. Some of it is shock-humor that doesn't shock any more because it has been done so often and so much better. But even so, and while the film as a whole is perhaps best approached as a cultural artifact, it's still worth a look--particularly if you like such films as AIRPLANE, THE NAKED GUN, ANIMAL HOUSE, and THE BLUES BROTHERS, all of which were created by various members of the crew that originally created KENTUCKY FRIED MOVIE.
As for the DVD, the film quality is as good as it gets (and you should remember it wasn't great to begin with), and it offers the option of viewing the film in either widescreen or pan-and-scan--but the bonuses that seem so intriguing are actually less interesting than you might expect. The "behind the scenes" home movies and stills are actually rather dull, and as for the commentary... well, it sounds like the DVD package producers got the Zuckers, Abrahams, Landis, and Weiss together, gave them a couple of beers, and turned on the movie. They clearly haven't seen the film in quite a long time, spend a great deal of time trying to remember the names of the actors, and generally yuk it up. Now and then it is amusing and even informative, but on the whole it isn't greatly memorable one way or another. On the whole, I do recommend the DVD as a curiosity--and it would be a great party film--but this isn't one that you're likely to replay a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It'd Be Nice If Mine Worked, Nov. 15 2002
By 
Keith Doyle (Panama City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
My DVD copy of Kentucky Fried Movie would not play in any DVD player I tried it in. There must have been something wrong with the disk because I used a Toshiba DVD player, a Sylvania DVD player, and a PlayStation2...all with the same result. The disk suffered from indefinite pauses and constant skipping, making the film unwatchable. A few other buyers had similar problems, so beware! I have no explanation for this flaw. That's a shame, too, because I saw bits and pieces of the movie and it looks hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kentucky Fried Movie (Widescreen/Full Screen)
CDN$ 66.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews