Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The limited edition kicks
Yes it's a remake,for the first ten minutes and then it's all new.Ash(Bruce Campbell)and Linda(Denise Bixler)return to the cabin in the woods,read from the necronomicon and then all hell brakes loose,then four more new people show up to join the fun.Evil Dead 2 DBD is not as gory as the first one,but it's way more funny,it's like watching a 90 minute Three Stooges...
Published on Oct. 6 2002 by S. Schofield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great film but...
I give the the film 5 out of 5 stars. Everything that can be said about this film has been said many times over.
The dvd on the other hand.. I had heard good things about this dvd such as "excellent commentary, great transfer...". The picture quality seems acceptable most of the time except in the very dark scenes where it looks like there's some mosaic type effect...
Published on March 9 2004


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The limited edition kicks, Oct. 6 2002
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
Yes it's a remake,for the first ten minutes and then it's all new.Ash(Bruce Campbell)and Linda(Denise Bixler)return to the cabin in the woods,read from the necronomicon and then all hell brakes loose,then four more new people show up to join the fun.Evil Dead 2 DBD is not as gory as the first one,but it's way more funny,it's like watching a 90 minute Three Stooges episode.The DVD is a total getter for any Evil Dead fan or movie fans in general.It comes in a really cool tin,I think the cover art is from the UK poster like the replica inside.The disk as alot of cool features on it,the original theatrical trailer,the trailer for the Evil Dead:Hail To The King videogame for PlayStation1,a featurette called The Gore The Merrier,it's a great featurette if you forget the fact the half of the featurette is from old tapes that Greg Nicotero filmed while shooting ED2.The biggest treat on the DVD is the audio commentary(Say hello to Papa)with Sam Raimi,Bruce Campbell,Scott Spiegel and Greg Nicotero.When you watch the movie with the commentary it makes the movie way more funnier,with the four talking about their experiences making the film.I think Sam Raimi is a really great director,think about it,he's gone from the Evil Dead movies to Darkman(my favourite Raimi film)to A Simple Plan to The Gift and of course Spiderman and I really hope he thinks about making a fourth Evil Dead picture.Evil Dead 2 is a sweet,cool,enjoyable and funny flick to watch anytime.Groovy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sequel To The Ultimate Experience In Grueling Terror, Nov. 17 2011
By 
Andrew Foster (tillsonburg, ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't sure what to expect with the Blu-ray quality of this movie. Some older movies don't translate so well to the new format. Especially the lower budget movies like this one. But I am happy to say that the video quality on this movie is far beyond what I had hoped. Only a few shots have much grain in them. Most of the movie is very sharp. Looks great.
I haven't got into the special features yet, but it looks like there is a lot there. I am very happy with this blu-ray. If you like this movie, it is worth adding to you collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious gore fest!, Sept. 7 2005
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
This sequel to the cult classic film, Evil Dead, is the next installment into, what is praised to be, one of the goriest black comedy horror films to ever hit the film circuit. This film glorifies the very campy fun and essence of your typical B-movie plot, with a side of exaggerated amounts of cartoony violence and blood. Ash takes his girlfriend to a deserted cabin for a splendid weekend together of romance, but everything goes spiralling down into a blaze of horror as Ash idiotically finds a tape recording of a reading of, what is refered to as, "The Book of the Dead." From here on, this is when the film picks up and the girlfriend goes missing after 'something in the woods' smashes through her window. The origin of the book is narrated in the first 2 minutes, and it almost takes and additional 3 minutes for the girlfriend to go missing. For the rest of the film, Ash battles the forces of evil that reincarnate themselves into everything, from huge trees to even small books. The film is hilarious, with its 'splatstick' humor that pays homage to the likes of The Three Stooges. The pop up scares are impeccable and are always right on target with their build ups. This is a fast, fierce, scary, and most of all, incredibly good humored work by Sam Raimi. I highly recommend this film to horror fans who love a good scare, but at the same time, don't mind laughing at the same time as they're doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, June 7 2004
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
Well, we've got a comedy here my friends. Lotsa people like to throw around the term horror-comedy when describing this, but I don't think that's quite appropriate. While it uses a horror setting, it virtually never seems to be trying to work on a horror movie level, so I'm not really comfortable using the term horror in the description. On the other hand, calling it a spoof or parody doesn't really decribe it either, as too much of the humor seems to be unrelated to the horror setting. But, all that aside this is a pretty funny movie, and a rather 'cool' movie as well, for lack of a better term.
Unlike everyone else in the world, this is not my favorite of the series. In fact, it's my least favorite. However, it still stands up quite well, and is definitely worth your time. Despite the fact that it shares the setting of the original, this one has far more in common with Army of Darkness then the original, as it focuses on fast-moving and ridiculous comedic setups. It's largely a means for Campbell to do physical comedy and ham it up amusingly, and showcase lots of intentionally dated, but still cool special effects. Sadly, Ash isn't quite as amusing as he'd become in the next film. He's not nearly as angry/surly as he'd become, which I always thought was more important to humor of the film than the physical comedy. But he's still pretty damn amusing. Raimi's visual flair is as good here as ever. The 'force' shots are much improved from the already superb ones in the original. The famed scene of it endlessly chasing Ash around the cabin is especially noteworthy. He also does some nice stuff with the sky as well, particuarly a great shot of Ash in front of a ridiculously enormous sun.
The film starts off with a simplified recap of the first film, concluding with Ash's burial of Linda and his being assaulted by 'the force'. The briefly possessed Ash is exorcised by the rising sun, but the bridge is still out, and there is no other apparent means of escape, so he is forced to wait it out in the cabin. The first half of the movie, before the other characters arrive, is the better part. Most of the stuff involving Linda is quite amusing, particularly her stop-motion animated dancing out in the moonlight. The best part, however, has to be the scene where Linda's decapitated head attacks Ash. It's simple, mindless physical comedy, but his frantically running around trying to smash it off is just great. Probably the best scene in the film. I'm also especially found of how the head just spontaneously falls on him from above, without any explanation of how it could've gotten in the cabin, or up above his head, for that matter. The stuff with his evil and later severed hand is quite amusing too. The fact that it is inexplicably talking all the time is the real kicker to the whole set-up. The laughing house scene is quite cool as well, particuarly the disturbing deer head. It's not really funny or scary or exciting, but it's very, very weird, and works quite well.
The arrival of the other characters hurts the film a bit, partially because I find some of them to be rather annoying.(Most notably Jake, and, to a lesser extent, his girlfried, Bobbie Joe.) Of course, I think he's meant to be a bit irritating, but that doesn't really make him much more enjoyable to watch. Fortunately, he's largely redeemed by an extremely amusing death scene.
Despite not being quite as consistent or energetic as the first half, the second half still delivers. The fight with Evil Ed is a nice sendup of Shelley's death from the first film, and the final confrontation with Henrietta is delightful.(Film makers really need to use stop-motion animation more often these days) The fight with the rotten apple head isn't quite as good of a climax as I'd have liked, but it's still pretty decent, and does a good job of raising the stakes in terms of sheer ridiculousness.(particularly when Ash plunges his chainsaw into the creatures eye, and it sprays out hideous blue blood)
A few closing notes. First of all, as others have mentioned, although the DVD comes with both widescreen and fullscreen, the widescreen version just appears to have the top and bottom matted. (i.e. you see less in the widescreen version, not more) Since the Anchor Bay release comes with both it's not much of a concern, but it's good to know. Secondly, this movie has a reputation for being very gory, which is not exactly deserved. It's just too ridiculous to even be desribed as being gory in the conventional sense, as it generally uses ultra fake blood that isn't even red,(with either incredibly thick or incredibly water texture) and silly, incredibly plastery limbs.(That, and there just isn't all that much gore in it anyway) To say this is very gory is like saying that old Warner Brothers cartoons are very violent. You're technically correct, but you probably give completely the wrong impression to someone who's never seen the piece your talking about.
Anyways, this is good. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll swallow your soul!!, June 4 2004
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
When movies were still movies and not advertisements, or worse, "products", a couple of people like Sam Raimi, Scott Spiegel, and Bruce Campbell would get together to make a brilliant movie like Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn. I rented it then eventually bought it because I always felt like I was missing out on something people always quote/talk about. And I was.
I can't think of anyone who is doing this today: this superb mix of comedy and action/horror. There are some truly scary parts here (Henrietta is one of the most despicable characters in all of film; I jumped near the beginning when Demon Ash rose from the water) but most of it is comedic. It's a simple story: Ash and his girlfriend are just minding their business in a cabin when some evil spirits start freaking out because this old man released them wile translating "The Book of the Dead". Later his daughter and her group of stupid friends meet at the cabin and before the movie is over, a tree kills a girl, someone bites an eyeball, and a guy gets hacked to death with an axe. If you have a pulse, you want to watch this unfold.
Watch for a particular scene that involves Ash and the "removal" of his hand. It's one of the coolest scenes in the movies that I can think of. All of this is less scary than it could be, because Raimi is a skilled director who uses the Three Stooges as inspiration. As these characters run amok in this cabin, there is a certain joyful abandon at work here: a scene were mounted, stuffed deers laugh along with lamps and books, dead, decapitated girls that dance in the moonlight. "They just don't make 'em like they used to." Oh, and the ending is so funny that the first time I saw it, as the credits flashed I just had to rewind to savor it again. Army of Darkness was truly icing on the cake.
On the DVD itself side of things, this is a nice disc, hopefully Rosebud or Anchor Bay won't release 4,000 versions of this like they did with the original Evil Dead. It has both widescreen and full screen versions of the movie (for once the full screen doesn't look bad; you could say it's better) and it has a nice set of extras. A really interesting and informative doc about the making of the movie; this was pre-CGI, everything was done by hand (no pun intended). We learn about camera tricks involving floorboards and full body casts and dummies controlled by a man on a skateboard. They also take joy in pointing out some of the errors of the film, such as Henrietta's ripped bodysuit in one scene. Any commentary with Bruce Campbell is a winner. Trailers and bios round out the package, but this is more than sufficient for this movie.
I must say the movie is absolutely beautiful to watch and hear-I put it through my stereo and it came alive. This certainly beats the old version of this movie. If you like action/horror/comedy movies, you have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie Hero Since Indiana Jones, April 23 2004
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
Evil Dead 2 is not just another low budget horror movie. It is a singular experience. There is no other movie like it. If it were not for Peter Jackson's Dead Alive, a very different movie of the same genre, I would say that it is, by far, the best horror/comedy ever made. I hate saying horror/comedy, but I guess it fits.
The story is simple: Ashe and his girlfriend Linda take a trip out to, what he has assessed To be an abandoned cottage in the woods. After a little cagey chit chat, Ashe discovers a tape recorder and decides to play the tape. On the tape are ancient incantations from the "Sumerian Book of the Dead" that, once again, awaken a demon inhabiting the very woods surrounding them. The demon possesses Linda and the fun is underway. The movie never lets up from here on out.
The production is amazing. One of the best aspects of the movie is the combined use of sound effects, cinematography, and editing in such a way that they compliment each other and become, in effect, one effect (excuse the silly redundancy.) The jarring sounds, mixed with the equally jarring angles and lens usage, together with the tight editing makes for a movie that moves along like wildfire. Add to this the impossibly charismatic character of Ashe, portrayed perfectly by Bruce Campbell (I swear he was born specifically to make this movie) and you have the best movie of the genre, and, come to think of it, the best movie Sam Raimi has ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of my favorite movies, March 25 2004
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
While the first Evil Dead was good, it lacked something, and Army of Darkness (sometimes referred to as Evil Dead III) had the most money, Evil Dead II is a comfortable medium. It has the best black humor of the series and is just cheap enough to work as a lovable "Hey guys let's see what we can do with what we have" movie. This film will always have a special place in my heart. I saw it with my best friend at the time way back in '87 at the theater. We both loved it. Shortly after that, he ran away from home and I never saw him again.
For those who love some humor with their horror, this is a perfect film. Bruce Campbell is loved by his fans, and he appreciates what he is. A B-movie actor who loves what he does. Who couldn't like a guy like that. His timing is perfect and as Ash he's a character many can relate too. I mean c'mon who else in Hollywood can play a guy with a possessed hand and beat the crap out of himself.
This DVD has an outstanding behind the scenes making that is as entertaining as the film itself. It looks like so much fun, the average Joe would want to pick up his camera and make a movie with his buddies.
Though the extras show the tribute to Freddy Krueger in the shed, (right above and center to the door on the inside), his glove appears in one other scene. When Ash is in the celler to get the pages, there's one shot of the door he has to open and go through. On the left Freddy's glove hangs again.
ALso no one mentioned it, but when Demon Ash throws the professor's daughter against the wall and is about to kill her, he turns back into normal Ash atthe sight of his dead girlfriend's necklace. Check out the chain before he picks it up. Someone placed it in the shape of a skull.
For a frightening good time with the guys, or on the couch with that special girl, you can't go wrong with Evil Dead II. As Ash would say 'Groovy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great film but..., March 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
I give the the film 5 out of 5 stars. Everything that can be said about this film has been said many times over.
The dvd on the other hand.. I had heard good things about this dvd such as "excellent commentary, great transfer...". The picture quality seems acceptable most of the time except in the very dark scenes where it looks like there's some mosaic type effect. Never noticed that on my vhs copy or on any other dvd. It's not a big deal. 3 stars for the picture quality.
The commentary suffers from having 4 people yakking at once too often. 2 seperate commentary tracks would have been better. Or just Bruce and Sam. The fx guy says plenty in the doco "gore the merrier" which is also included on this dvd. Having him blabbing in the main commentary too is overkill. 2.5 stars for the commentary.
The extras consist of some stills, trailer (brings back some memories!) and the doco Gore the Merrier. This isn't bad as effects docos go, if you're really curious about "how they did that".. I'm not. The best part of it for me was the actress who played Linda talking about how much "fun" she had having the nude cast done of her body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Campbell playing with his right hand., Feb. 14 2004
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
Immediately, when you pop in this DVD, it gives you the choice of Widescreen or Full-Screen, Followed by the statement, "Warning: This Film Contains Scenes Which May Be Too Intense For Persons Under The Age Of Seventeen". Bruce Campbell (NBC serial, "Generations", in 1989) returns four years later in this sequel to the 1983 film EVIL DEAD. Ashley brings a girlfriend up to the cabin where he was terrorized before. Something happens. Ashley plays the reel to reel player with spell on it. The evil force is released. Girl taken through window. Ashley finds her possessed. Girl killed and buried. Then the evil spirit gets a hold of Ashley, temporarily. He gets back into the yellow car only to find the Dangerous Bridge has been totally destroyed. The evil spirit won't allow him to leave and chases him back into the cabin and into the cellar. meanwhile, there are other people who have flown in just to get to the cabin. The tow truck man knows another road. Ashley is now fighting with the evil spirit and with his own possessed right hand. Plays like a "drive-in" film and uses special effects we have seen in "7th Voyage of Sinbad" and "Basket Case" Studio must have been given him an extra $100 for the budget this time. Followed by the third sequel, Army of Darkness (1993).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unlike anything you've seen, Jan. 23 2004
By 
Damon Navas-Howard (Santa Rosa, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (DVD)
When I first saw "Evil Dead 2," I had recently become a fan of watching horror movies and mocking them with a friend and a beer. A friend of mine told me I had to see "Evil Dead 2" so I thought that meant it would be pretty bad and I would have myself a good time watching it. From the first six minutes of "Evil Dead 2" I became strangely in love with this film and watched with awe. "Evil Dead 2" is a remake of "The Evil Dead" but instead of making a serious horror film, it is a satire of the whole genre. "Evil Dead 2" has some of the greatest and most interesting camera work I've seen in a movie. The film is filled with the craziest crap your eyes will ever see. Bruce Campbell, instead of being a wimp like he is in "The Evil Dead," is now a witty mad man that can take anything and delivers some of the greatest one liners ever (kinda like John McLane in the "Die Hard" series). If you want to see a horror film that is beyond anything you've ever seen and will actually enjoy then you need to see "Evil Dead 2." It is the best horror film I've seen thus far and the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen)
Evil Dead 2 (Widescreen/ Full Screen) by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 17.98 CDN$ 16.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews