Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Titanic, but not bad at all
If you thought Titanic had too much romance and wanted lots of gunfights, then Britanic is what you are looking for. Mixing a blend of Titanic with Western like gunfights and Indiana Jonesesqe escapes, Britanic comes off as one of the best TV Movies I've seen in years. The plot centers around a maid who works for a familly sailing on the HMS Britanic. After a flashback...
Published on March 14 2002 by Ian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICALLY INACURATE LOUSY DIGITAL GRAPHICS
I FOUND THIS MOVIE HISTORICALLY INACUARATE WITH LOUSY DIGITAL GRAPHICS.
AMONG THE MANY HISTORICAL INACCURACIES WAS STATEMENT BY ONE OF THE IRA MEN, " THEY HAVE SEEN MANY OF THEIR FRIENDS AND FAMILIES KILLED BY THE BLACK AND TANS. THE BLACK AND TANS ONLY CAME TO IRELEAND AFTER THE FIRST WORLD WAR DURING EIRE'S STRUGGLE FOR INDIPENDENCE. CONSEQUENTLY THAT...
Published on April 17 2003 by Juan de la Roca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible!, Dec 12 2008
By 
Greg Curtis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britannic (DVD)
An obvious attempt to cash in on the hysteria surrounding her more famous sister ship, Titanic, Britannic is one of the poorest films to be produced in years.

Launched in 1914, the Britannic was requisitioned by the Admiralty and summarily converted into a hospital ship for use during World War I. With modifications arising from the Titanic disaster, she was repainted white with a distinctive green stripe down her sides punctuated by red crosses. But on November 21, 1916, while heading for Gallipoli, she either struck a mine or was torpedoed off the coast of Greece.

The writers clearly thought it unnecessary to research the actual sinking of the doomed ship, and based their screenplay solely on assumption and what little common knowledge there is. With a lot of elements from James Cameron's Titanic (1997) and The Hindenburg (1975) thrown in, the end result is a preposterous storyline with laughable scenes that could never have taken place given the actual facts and morals of the times.

The soggy story follows Vera Campbell, a British agent posing as a nanny, who is placed aboard the vessel to uncover a nefarious German plot. But her mission is complicated when she falls in love with the ship's chaplain, Reynolds. The homely Amanda Ryan plays the female lead, while Edward Atterton plays her love interest -- the two share some of the most clumsy and revolting kisses in cinema history. But even the talents of John Rhys-Davies as the Captain and Jacqueline Bisset as Lady Lewis cannot keep the dismal production afloat.

Despite numerous shoot-outs and chases, there is not a single drop of suspense. With cardboard sets and the most embarrassing computer animation ever created, this is one voyage you should strive to miss. Rating: 1 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICALLY INACURATE LOUSY DIGITAL GRAPHICS, April 17 2003
This review is from: Britannic (DVD)
I FOUND THIS MOVIE HISTORICALLY INACUARATE WITH LOUSY DIGITAL GRAPHICS.
AMONG THE MANY HISTORICAL INACCURACIES WAS STATEMENT BY ONE OF THE IRA MEN, " THEY HAVE SEEN MANY OF THEIR FRIENDS AND FAMILIES KILLED BY THE BLACK AND TANS. THE BLACK AND TANS ONLY CAME TO IRELEAND AFTER THE FIRST WORLD WAR DURING EIRE'S STRUGGLE FOR INDIPENDENCE. CONSEQUENTLY THAT PARTICULAR STATEMENT IS TOTALLY ERRONEOUS, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE OF MANY.
ALSO THE QUALITY OF THE GRAPHICS WAS BAD ENOUGH BUT WHAT JARRED MY NERVES WAS THE TOTALLY ERRONEOUS SHOWING OF THE BRITISH BATTLESHIP VICTORIA.
A BRITIAH WARSHIP NEVER FLIES THE UNION JACK,(BRITAINS NATIONAL FLAG),AT THE STERN THAT IS FLOWN ON THE BOW. THE FLAG FLOWN ON THE STERN SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE WHITE ENSIGN, THE STANDARD OF THE ROYAL NAVY WHICH IS THE RED CROSS OF SAINT GEORGE ON A WHITE FIELD WITH A SMALL UNION JACK ON IT TOP RIGHT CORNER. FUTHERMORE BRITISH WARSHIPS DO NOT HAVE THEIR NAMES ON THEIR BOWS IN THE SAME WAY THAT MERCHANT SHIPS HAVE. ROYAL NAVY SHIPS HAVE THEIR NAMES MID SHIPS ON THE SUPERSTRUCURE.
BESIDES THESE DISSAPOINTMENTS I MUST SAY THE PLOT WAS INTERESTING AND EVEN GRIPPING, THE ACTING GOOD.
WHAT A PITY IT WAS SPOILED BY LOUSY GRAPHICS AND HISTORICAL UNTRUTHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great engineroon, awful movie, Dec 10 2000
This review is from: Britannic [Import] (VHS Tape)
If I was a family member of one of the people who died in the sinking of BRITANNIC, I would be devasted by the treatment of this subject. Rather than build a film based on facts and reasonable conjecture, the producers have created a contrived, might have been plot that doesn't do much to clear up any questions about the loss of the ship. Not that it is their intention, but still it could have been done so much better.
It is true that there was a survivor from BRITANNIC that also survived the sinking of TITANIC; I believe it was a woman who was employed as a stewardess in both ships, certainly not the charecter portrayed in this film.
The computer graphics make this film seem more of a computer generated animation film. However, the scenes in the engine room are great for those of us with an interest in ship's engines. For me, this was the high point of the film.
The acting was mechanical by all concerned. I got the feeling that several people needed a paycheck to cover outstanding bills and this seemed a painless way to accomplish this task.
By the way, Britain was in a state of war, it is highly unlikely that there would have been an illuminated light house beacon in operation to light up ships leaving a harbor outside of which were potential submarines waiting to attack. Sloppy research here!
I've seen worse maritime movies, but Britannic is totally without interest. It could have been done so much better with a better script and actors who were really involved in their roles. If there is a choice between A Night to Remember and Britannic, go for the former!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Titanic, but not bad at all, March 14 2002
This review is from: Britannic [Import] (VHS Tape)
If you thought Titanic had too much romance and wanted lots of gunfights, then Britanic is what you are looking for. Mixing a blend of Titanic with Western like gunfights and Indiana Jonesesqe escapes, Britanic comes off as one of the best TV Movies I've seen in years. The plot centers around a maid who works for a familly sailing on the HMS Britanic. After a flashback sequence involving the Titanic, we learn that she survived the Titanic. How this relates to the film dosent really matter, but is obviously nessicary. Later some deep, dark, secrets are revealed, but saying them would ruin the suprise (Although we know what one charachter is 3 minutes after we meet him). The highlights for me were definitly the gunfights and the exciting "Escape the sinking ship" sequence. Definitly worth a look.
The Good:
Lots of action, likable charachters, Good CGI
The bad:
Obvious copy of Titanic
And the Ugly:
Nothing really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate, but still great fun, Sept. 14 2002
By 
This review is from: Britannic [Import] (VHS Tape)
I have spent literally hundreds of hours researching the Britannic for a book that I'm working on, and as soon as I heard that they were making a film about her I was instantly curious. I turned on the television to see it one night without expecting very much, mainly because nobody has any idea what really sank the ship in the first place. However I was bowled over by the great story, character development and interesting take on what may have happened to her. As far as I'm concerned this movie is as good as it could have been considering the historical evidence, and the possiblity of a German spy on board was indeed an interesting touch. Although for the record, the famed torpedo incident didn't take place, and neither did the gunfight on board. My only real complaint is the casting of John Ryes-Davis as Captain Bartlett. Although a great actor, he does not resemble the real Captain Bartlett in any way. Still, a great view!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining story on the demise of the Britannic, Jan. 11 2002
By 
J. Taylor (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britannic [Import] (VHS Tape)
"Britannic" is well worth watching. The pace keeps moving swiftly, and the action is compelling. The acting is impressive, especially that of Edward Atterton. Atterton plays a German spy on the ship. His mission is to either take control of the vessel or sink it. With a skillful performance, he causes the viewer to really believe that he will accomplish his mission at all costs. But in the end, he is only doing his duty. As for the movie's other qualities, the computer graphics appear cartoonish at first, but they end up adding creative and helpful scenes to the storyline. For example, the aerial shot of the German submarine's torpedoes heading towards the Britannic is quite stunning. All in all, an entertaining story speculating on the demise of the Britannic. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed Tour de Force for Bisset and Crew!, June 28 2000
By 
This review is from: Britannic [Import] (VHS Tape)
Thanks to expert storytelling, this clever sequel to The Titanic keeps the action ahead of the audience at all times. Featuring a powerful star turn by Jacqueline Bisset, who keeps burnishing her awesome talent with each role, this dramatic thriller is a spell binder. I was skeptical at first that anyone could sink another ship and keep it interesting. I was won over by the amazing plot and the tension that was built with flashbacks and the mysterious activities of Ms. Bisset and her shipmates. Would have been five stars if Director and effects were stronger, but still more fun and faster moving than it's billion dollar sister ship! More thrills and surprises than Titanic, with more action and much less mush. One great surprise twist after another kept me on the edge of my seat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Britannic Review, July 2 2002
By 
Joe (N.J, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britannic (DVD)
When I WATCHED THIS VIDEO IT WAS A VERY GOOD EPIC THRILLER/DRAMA MOVIE THOUGH THIS SHIP THE bRITANNIC DID COPPY OFF OF ITS SISTER SHIP'S MOVIE tITANIC IN SOME WAYS. IT IS A GREAT MOVIE WITH EDWARD ETTERTON AS REYNOLDS AND AMANDA RYAN AS VERA CAMBELL. tHE STORY IS ABOUT AN ENGLISH PERSONEL (AMANDA RYAN) BELIEVING THERE IS A SPY ON BOURD TO SABOTAGE THE VOYAGE(EDWARD ETTERTON. THEN SHE FALLS IN LOVE WITH REYNOLDS AND FINDS OUT HE IS THE GERMAN SPY! SHE TRYS TO STOP HIM BUT ITS TOO LATE AND NOW SHE HAS TO RESCIEW HIM FROM AN EXPLOSION AND SAVES HIM BUT HE EVENTUALLY DIES AND THE SHIP GOES DOWN.(THIS REALLY HAPPENED BUT THERE WASNT REALLY A SPY. I RECOMEND THIS MOVIE VERY MUCH. 5 STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars More Drama than Documentary, June 25 2000
By 
Super Shopper (Delaware Valley) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britannic (DVD)
As an historian of Titanic and her sisters, I was disappointed that the film did not take a scientific approach, answering some old questions and raising new ones. I always like to learn something I don't already know, and this film had nothing new to offer unless you consider the fictionalized story, which gives the film a nice tv-movie feel. This one would never have made it at the box office. If you know nothing about the Britannic, or just like an interesting tale of adventure/disaster at sea, then this is worth a look. If, however, you prefer solid documentraies with top-notch research and original thinking, this film will be a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Entertainment Only--Not exactly TRUE, July 6 2000
This review is from: Britannic (DVD)
This February 2000 TV movie claims to be based on "true events", but the only truth to this film is that the ship sank. The filmmakers decided to instead tell the dramatic tale of a group of German spies who attempt a fictionalized take-over of the ship that, in a roundabout way, leads to a bomb exploding which causes Britannic to sink. Despite the lack of historical detail found in Cameron's TITANIC, Britannic is a good adventure movie which boasts better-than-average computer graphics for a TV movie. I encourage viewers to remember the ficitonal aspects of this film and give in to the whimsy of the post-TITANIC sea disaster flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britannic [Import]
Used & New from: CDN$ 40.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews