Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, BUT not better than Transformers the movie
This is the SECOND greatest animated movie made in America.
The opening 10 minutes is so amazing!!!! The camera moves smoothly through a fighting sequence without cutting to another camera angle. And that was created without the use of high tech computer special effects that is used in current cartoons.
I love this G.I. Joe movie, but the title of "Greatest...
Published on June 11 2004 by Tim

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is my 80s-ness showing?
Although I enjoyed the TransFormers toys much more than their fellow 80s Hasbro phenomenon G.I. Joe®-- 'cuz cars that can change into robots and back are way cooler than a buncha dumb ol' action figures any day of the week-- I found the Joe cartoon show just as entertaining, and not quite as hokey as the adventures of Optimus & Co. In fact, just the other day I had...
Published on March 18 2004 by Zagnorch


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 'Bout Time the Joes Hit DVD, Sept. 21 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
Here's one that'll give you goose-pimples kids. I popped this one in the DVD tray and that's what I got for sure. All the old-school Joes are here: Duke, Snake-Eyes, Roadblock, General Hawk, and the rest. There's some new Joes too: Lt Falcon (as voiced by Don Johnson), Jinx, and Law & Order. The story revolves around Cobra and their pals from Cobrala trying to get their hands on an energy device under the protection of the Joes. What follows is 90 minutes of those blue and red lasers and the resounding call of "Yo Joe!" DVD is such a great medium for the Joes. You can watch their adventures again and again with no worry of the tape giving out. In fact, the animation is crisper than I remember it as a kid watching the Joes after school. Let's hope that more of the episodes get released on DVD, you know there's a market for them! In addition to the film, the DVD contains all the "And knowing's half the battle!" PSAs from the original run of the show. Relive your youth and invite the neighbors over, GI Joe is here to stay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Lob Makes His Move!, Sept. 21 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
YES! DVD at last! GI Joe and Transformers were the biggest shows on in the eighties, and remain some of the most influential. I was always a bigger Transformers fan, but this movie does whip the llama's. Great animation, from Marvel I think. The shadows and movement are top notch and were incredible back in the day. Very slick for any cool person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but very frustrating..., Sept. 4 2000
By 
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
Okay, I'd like to start out by saying the G.I. Joe DVD is a very well done transfer and I was extremely satisfied by the quality of the film. But, I'm sorry people, I just can't resist using this review as a way to express my frustration at some of the problems with the G.I. Joe plotlines. First off, I gotta tell ya, Sgt. Slaughter needed to die! I hated him with a passion and if any Joe character was to ever bite the big one, I hoped to high heaven it would've been him. Unfortunately, he survives, of course. Also, I have to say, in this movie, and in every episode, I always wished Cobra would have won at least once. Just one time! All those cool characters, all those kick-ass weapons and they never won once. Well, okay, they came close in "Arise, Serpentor, Arise" (which was an awesome "movie" that I wish they'd release too, but they won't). Anyway, in "G.I. Joe: The Movie" it's pretty fun to watch Cobra start kicking some butt for awhile, but I just get depressed in the last 15 minutes or so when the Joe's end up winning by these rediculously impossible odds (by the way, I'm not giving away much here, you all know Cobra ALWAYS loses in the end). So, anyway, that's my rant and a little review... One last thing, though: What's with that annoying little turd, Lt. Falcon? He should've gotten squashed too. ;oP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gi joe is a go, Aug. 12 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
gi joe the movie is a great movie it is like transformers the movie both movies are great so go rent and enjoy both films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Knowing is half the battle!", July 9 2000
By 
iansomniak (USA, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
As excited as I am to see _any_ part of the legendary G.I. JOE series on DVD, I can't help but wish that the original and best JOE movie (the one about the MASS Device) had been chosen for the honor before this one. Although this particular film (which ran at or near the end of the TV series) is beautifully animated and action-packed, its plot is fantastically far-fetched, and way too much time is spent introducing - and then featuring - nearly a dozen new JOEs. Consequently, old favorites like Flint, Scarlet, Snake Eyes, and Lady Jaye (just to name a few) are given little or no screen time. I also dislike the way the script treats my favorite cartoon villain, Cobra Commander. Here we learn the reason the Commander wears a mask, but then he's dismissed as a useless buffoon. Nevertheless, this disc is a must-buy for any fan of the great toons of the mid 1980s. The picture and sound quality are tremendous (though all those flashing explosions may give you a headache), and the special features include no less than 25 of those unforgettable public service announcements that used to close every G.I. JOE episode. You'll also find two vintage toy commercials, and two trailers - which, ironically, pertain to the aforementioned MASS Device movie. I applaud Rhino for this DVD release, and remain hopeful that many more are on the way. YO JOE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLIMACTIC END OF AN ERA FOR GI JOE..., July 1 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
G.I. Joe and the Transformers were of course, rival shows in a way. They were both by Hasbro, and they both appealed to the same audience. "Joe" was a bit more conventional in my opinion. G.I. Joe was the ultimate 'Cold War' cartoon, with the U.S. being the "Joes" and Cobra representing whatever stood in opposition to the U.S. - and in the 80s, that was the U.S.S.R. Although my heart lay (and still lies) with the Transformers, I consider this movie to be a priceless gem. This was the last segment of G.I. Joe worthy of watching. In the early 90s, the franchise was thoroughly ruined when they introduced "G.I. Joe Extreme". Perhaps the same thing is happening with the Transformers (Beast Wars) - not really a fan at all.
In "G.I. Joe: The Movie" things get serious, and the action/plot is more intense than it ever was in the regular series. The animation is noticeably better (because they brought in Japanese animators to do the 'anime' thing) and the plot is way more mysterious thanks to the introduction of Cobra's creators, the Cobra-La. The Cobra-La (an underground race) are led a floating nemesis named Golobulus (played by Burgess Meredith). They come back, banish Cobra Commander for losing so many battles to G.I. Joe (poor guy - his position had already been severely compromised by Emperor Serpentor's presence). There is some GREAT drama here. (You'll love this...it teaches a good lesson to the kids - it just doesn't pay to be a bad guy...)
On the "Joe" side, Duke takes a backseat to his crazy younger brother, Falcon (played by Don Johnson). With the exception of a few memorable original characters, we focus more on the new "Joes" in this movie - just like we focused on Hot Rod and the new Transformers in the 1986 theatrical release. That's okay though, because Falcon is very likeable.
The BEST SCENE is near the end when Duke and Serpentor square off. The results are a bit shocking, and once again, you're reminded - this ain't the regular cartoon...THIS IS THE MOVIE, which means things get more serious. (Weren't you shocked when Prime died in Transformers the Movie? )Well, things do get more serious - some folks even tell me that certain characters weren't supposed to make it to the end of the movie. (Why don't we see a certain favorite "Joe" onscreen when the characters insist that he's recovering...c'mom it was censored for American audiences - that certain character DID NOT make it.)
The opening sequence (Statue Of Liberty Battle) is incredible. Suggestion: See some of the original "Joe" videos (they're selling them here - or rent them at your local video store) before watching this movie. Then you'll understand just how important characters like Duke, Roadblock and Cobra Commander are. You'll need to understand just how 'old school' they are by the time this movie came out - then you realize the significance of the plot twists.
Thanks for reading this - I loved this movie. Transformers the Movie it is not, however, if G.I. Joe had ended with this movie (which I consider it did), it went out with a bang. Yo Joe!
Knyte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun movie, finally available on DVD, June 30 2000
By 
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
If you're like most people my age, you most likely will smile at the mention of G.I. Joe. Along with TransFormers (whose movie is due out on DVD in October), this was my favorite cartoon. The opening of the movie is excellent! The movie itself, is good. However, it doesn't focus much on older characters, so if you're looking for such favorites as SnakeEyes or StormShadow, keep your eyes peeled, they appear only in fleeting moments. The new characters are pretty cool, and the revelation that Cobra was created by Cobra-La brings a whole new dimension to the whole G.I. Joe vs. Cobra theme. With a voice cast that includes Don Johnson and Burgess Meredith (who, ironically, starred in the 1945 movie THE STORY OF G.I.JOE), and extras such as the old G.I.Joe commercials and all the public service announcements that played at the end of daily episodes, this DVD is a great way to relive one's younger days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally On DVD!, June 28 2000
By 
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
Finally, G.I. Joe The Movie comes to DVD. Finally I can retire my original '80s VHS copy. What can you say about this movie? From top to bottom it's superb, from the opening sequence which still gives me chills to this day, to the spores "burning in orbit". The DVD version adds even more. From the wonderful animated menus and chapter selection screens, to 25 of those original "Knowing Is Half The Battle" public service announcements from the show that you KNOW you loved, to '60s and '70s G.I. Joe toy commercials, and more. A wonderful DVD and a wonderful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now I know... And Knowing is half the battle!, June 21 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
Yo Joe! This is the infamous (straight to video release) of G.I. joe the movie. Boy does this bring back sappy tears to my eyes. If your a fan of G.I. joe then this is a must. In reference to this dvd version, the picture is clear with no knicks or scrathces. Besides the movie, on the disc you get really cool supplements such as, 25 original, safety messages from classic G.I. joe members such as Flint,Lady Jay and deep six. You also get 2 classic t.v. commericals from old G.I. joe products. Not from the 80's mind you but from the 60's. Also included are two seperate theatrical trailers. For the price, G.I. Joe: The movie on dvd is definatley worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Generation X'ers get ready for a great time!, June 16 2000
This review is from: G.I. Joe:the Movie (DVD)
whats better than the famous words "yo joe" yeah sure this is not as good artistically as animation today, but for its time this was great! on top of that whats better than a bunch of joes battling cobra, the subject matter alone makes this movie worth while. when i saw this coming out it brings the great memories of the "cobra-la" and serpentor battling it out with the joes. this is surely a hit and a grat collector's piece for those of you who loved all the joes from snake eyes to tunnel rat and beyond. finally we can all stop looking... for a betamax player to play your old gijoe tape on and can now watch it on dvd... whata great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

G.I. Joe:the Movie
G.I. Joe:the Movie by Don Jurwich (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 46.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews