countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
191
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$48.90+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2014
This movie is awesome, not only for it's dark humour, but also for the awesome soundtrack by Cat Stevens. To see the Jaguar hearse again was worth the purchase price alone! Although both actors went on to have brilliant careers, I'll always see Bud Cort and Ruth Gordon as "Harold and Maude".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2002
I know people who have visited Venice and Prague and seen only the graffiti. I know people who have watched Harold and Maude and seen only an affair between a young boy and an old woman. I suspect they're the same people, and I feel for them.
I love movies. I love a lot of movies for a lot of reasons. My "top ten" probably includes about a hundred. But if I have to choose one, I can never think of one more complete, sweet, amazing or satisfying than Harold and Maude.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2004
Here is a film that I just cannot get enough of, and, I fear, is grossly misunderstood by far too many people. A love story like no other, an inspired lesson in self-awareness and fearlessness in self-expression - this may fall into the "cult" department, but should be seen by all.
Unfortunately, the extreme May-December romance of Harold and Maude raises eyebrows to the point that many see only this aspect of the film - "Oh my God he slept with an 80-year-old woman oh my God" - but in actuality, this has so little to do with the film's message. It points out that love comes in all shapes and sizes, and most often when we least expect it. Also, that a friend of any age can open us to seeing the world in a new, more truthful light. Harold begins as an introverted, unhappy young man, whose only creative outlet consists of tormenting his image-obsessed, utter snob of a mother (thus forming the most hilarious visuals for the viewer). After meeting with Maude, his world rapidly opens to new discoveries, and a greater understanding of his fellow human beings. If you have any kind of heart, the final sexual union (relax, folks - we don't see the details) between Harold and Maude doesn't offend - rather, it warms the heart and soul.
The DVD offers a few treats - theatrical trailers, and, well, a great print. I feel that this is a definite must-own... it is truly an amazing film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Voilà un film culte que tout cinéphile digne de ce nom se doit de posséder. Une histoire humaine entre une jeune homme qui a peur de la mort et une dame âgée qui embrasse la vie à pleins bras. La rencontre entre ces deux personnes que tout sépare tirera des rires et quelques larmes sans compter la trame sonore composée de chansons immortelles de Cat Stevens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
just a brand new movie in the plastic still. pretty much cant go wrong with that. like, it didn't have any bite marks in it or anything. it played a movie. and btw, Harold and maude is so classic. love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2004
Harold and Maude is an insightful, comedic and touching view of two individuals who are seemingly polar opposites. Ashby, the director, reminds the viewer that in death there is life and in life there is death and having a sense of humor is the best, if not the only antidote to both phenomena.
As many have mentioned, with a few dissenters, this is truly a wonderful film, full of irony and paradoxes. One falls in love with the characters and thus the film. Cat Stephens' haunting music provides a perfect soundscape to a film that will haunt
your memory for all time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
About a Young man that is completely unhappy with his life and want to give up and be dead. Then he meets this wonderful woman, ressourceful and very lively. They do all kind of activities together and finally they fall in love except that she is almost 80 and he is around 20. He wants to marry her.
What I found about the movie is the originality and the fact there is no age for love.
The actors where excellent the scenery beautiful and the story charming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
Harold and Maude is one of my favorite movies. I was really excited to own it on bluray. I didn't mind paying $40.00 for it, I figured there must be some really interesting extras or a booklet of something that would justify the price. A couple of interviews and some songs is all I got. Defiantly not worth the price tag. However the movie is fantastic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2004
"Harold and Maude" is not really a love story in the conventional romantic sense. It's more of a story about how one person can change another person's life just by being themself. Harold is a wealthy, bored, morose young man who gets his kicks by attending funerals of people he doesn't know and staging elaborate, fake suicides to rattle his mother. At one funeral he happens to meet Maude, another "funeral crasher". Maude, about to turn 80, is starting to wonder if her own death shouldn't be coming soon. The two quickly embark on a friendship (and, yes, even sexual relationship) which completely changes Harold's views on life. Maude is one of the greatest characters I've ever seen portrayed on film. At the same time daring and sensitive, childlike and wise, rebellious and spiritual, Maude is an elderly iconoclast whose fierce love of life has inspired her to free herself of almost all of society's restrictions. Frankly, she's my hero. At times touching, funny, inspiring and strange, "Harold and Maude" is one of my favorite films of all time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2003
Everything I ever needed to know about life I learned from Harold and Maude. Mostly Maude, but why quibble.
1. As alike as people are, we have discernable differences.
These should be celebrated, expounded upon, enjoyed - not forced into ill-fitting boxes, for they make us what we are. Ignoring them is tantamount to erasing a person.
2. You're alive for as long as you feel alive; you're dead as soon as you stop feeling.
Maude knew this. She also knew that going out at the top of your game is far better than being ushered off the field, limping. Harold never realized he wasn't really alive until he had in his view someone whose life was in stark contrast to his own.
3. Loving one person means embracing love in general.
Go out and love some more! That's what Maude told Harold, though he refused to listen, initially. We cannot be decimated by love, only hurt temporarily. The real damage comes from not loving at all.
4. Some movies should be bought, viewed, viewed again and cherished.

Harold and Maude is one such movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$32.99
$32.99