Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big and stupid. And clever. VERY, VERY clever.
Alright, I'm not going to bore you with the details or story of this sublime Reiner "documentary," nor am I going to babble on and on about how spot-on a parody of NWOBHM (that's "New Wave Of British Heavy Metal" to the uninitiated) this is.
Instead, I will offer you some quotes. Those alone should give you plenty of insight as to why this is one of the greatest...
Published on July 6 2004 by Shotgun Method

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting film, but not my favorite
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
Since I am not a fan of rock music, I am not too familiar with this film.
Having watched it, seemed to give me a sense of the 'rockumentary' idea of it. The film itself is not really a documentary since it is a work of fiction. It seems to be somewhat of a comedy, but i did not find it as funny...
Published on March 8 2004 by Ted


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big and stupid. And clever. VERY, VERY clever., July 6 2004
By 
Shotgun Method (NY... No, not *that* NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Alright, I'm not going to bore you with the details or story of this sublime Reiner "documentary," nor am I going to babble on and on about how spot-on a parody of NWOBHM (that's "New Wave Of British Heavy Metal" to the uninitiated) this is.
Instead, I will offer you some quotes. Those alone should give you plenty of insight as to why this is one of the greatest movies of all time. To wit:
"Oh, there actually is, uh... there was a Saint Hubbins?"
"That's right, yes."
"What was he the saint of?"
"He was the patron saint of quality footwear."
"You know, just simple lines intertwining, you know, very much like - I'm really influenced by Mozart and Bach, and it's sort of in between those, really. It's like a Mach piece, really. It's sort of..."
"What do you call this?"
"Well, this piece is called "Lick My Love Pump".

"As long as there's, you know, sex and drugs, I can do without the rock and roll."
"Here lies David St. Hubbins... and why not?"

"Dozens of people spontaneously combust each year. It's just not really widely reported."
"It's like, how much more black could this be? and the answer is none. None more black."
"We are Spinal Tap from the UK - you must be the USA!"
"You can't really dust for vomit."
"This pretentious ponderous collection of religious rock psalms is enough to prompt the question, 'What day did the Lord create Spinal Tap, and couldn't he have rested on that day too?'"
And of course: "Why don't you just make ten louder and make ten be the top number and make that a little louder?
"These go to eleven."

Not laughing? Well, the visuals are even funnier--malfunctioning stage props, a guitar solo that probably singlehandedly gave birth to the "neo-classical" shred style, unique ways to use a violin, and of course lots and lots of retarded sexuality and bad poetry. Christopher Guest, Michael McKean, and Derek Shearer absolutely NAIL it. Everybody should have this film. Especially metalheads who aren't afraid to have a good, long laugh at themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously funny....., Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This remains one of the top funniest movies I have ever seen!! It has an exceptionally funny cast, which helps. The satire never ends...
I'm happy to own it. Thanks for the quick mailing of this item, the reasonable price and shipping and the great shape it arrived in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This one goes to eleven, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Movie and fast Delivery. What can I say about this Bluray version of Spinal Tap!! The awesome songs will now sound even better on my home recording system. A must have if your even the least bit human. Thanks AMAZON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
It was a gift, so at least no negative feedback. Great for anyone with a sense of humour about rock n roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Dec 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This movie was 20 years ahead of its time. When it came out is was not appreciated for its genius. This movie never becomes tiresome. If you need a laugh watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is funny, March 5 2010
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
and clever and relevant and probably spot on in regards to how some people in the music and entertainment industry act.i loved the British accents ,and some of the gags are just too funny.the motley mix of characters are also great.the music actually isn't too bad sometimes,though i suspect that's probably unintentional.usually it's dog awful,and very funny which i think it's supposed to be.for a movie that's a quarter century old,you'd think it would feel dated,but i didn't think so at all.a lot of that is probably due to the writing of Christopher Guest and Michael McKean.for me,This is Spinal Tap is a well deserved 5/5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 15 2004
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The classic This is Spinal Tap is truly the greatest depiction of a rock band in cinematic history. I remember watching this for the first time with my buddies...everything thats happened in this movie has happened to me. The guy getting stuck in the pod, the tour dates being cancelled, playing under a puppet show, all of it!! And my buddies are sitting there laughing and Im like....this isnt funny. And THATS what makes the movie so great.....its SO realistic.
The definitive rock and roll band movie.....get it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' and Mockin', July 4 2004
By 
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
When this film was originally released, its targets were hard rock bands like Whitesnake and Dio, along with overly pretentious concert films like The Last Waltz and Song Remains the Same. 20 years later, the film still holds up - and practically everything in it could apply to newer bands like the Darkness, and VH1's ridiculous Behind the Music TV series. Why? The cast and creators manage to walk the fine line between satire and homage while staying in love with the spirit of rock n'roll. Sure, band members Nigel, David, and Derek may be half-witted hacks but we love them because they reflect not only most of our rock heroes - but our rock fantasies as well. There's a sense of joy in this film that's absent in many 'serious' rock bands and films that are soon forgotten. Director Rob Reiner was also smart enough not to aim for a constant barrage of one-liners and slapstick. There's actually a story and a subtext here that most parody films totally lack. The DVD comes with a grab-bag of Spinal Tap goodies, including a hilarious commentary track and rock videos. This one's a comedy for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BY FAR.., July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
the greatest movie ever. i love this movie soo much. thank. out of one to 5 stars, i'D GIVE IT ELEVEN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This review goes to ELEVEN (stars)..., June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Its ONE star louder.
Classic movie and the humor is timeless.
Its funny that there are so many people today that don't realize that "Spinal Tap" began as a total parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a857c8)

This product

This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import]
This is Spinal Tap (Widescreen) [Import] by Rob Reiner (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 10.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews