Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars211
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.84+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
on May 15, 2004
_This is Spinal Tap_ is a very funny, very original comedy that centers on the idea of a fake "rockumentary" of a fading British heavy-metal group. Rob Reiner does a superb job and the film actually feels like a documentary instead of a bunch of sequences designed to entertain. This movie will particularly appeal to musicians (or those that know and love them), though everyone will enjoy the comedy of this waning band being booked second to a puppet show and doing an act with a Stonehenge set, only to have a miniature Stonehenge descend on stage.
Whether it's Nigel explaining to us that his amps go to 11 or, my personal favorite part, when he starts to solo during a show, using a violin to play his guitar, only to stop and retune the violin, this movie will make you laugh time and time again. A must see for all fans of comedy delivered with a serious bent and dead-pan splendor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2004
What can ya say about Spinal Tap? You either love the movie, or hate it! Theres no in between's. This Rock or should i say MockUmentry is the funniest one out there. And now that its on DVD in this special edition, you are defintly getting your moneys worth! I was able to get this cheap for $20 Australian, and it was one of the first DVD's i bought, and it was one I have never regreted!
The sound quality is excellent, altho i do remember the guitar beeing a bit fatter in sound on the VHS but it dosent matter. These guys really know how to make this kind of comedy work. They dont try to go for gag after gag and joke after joke, they succeed well with what they do because it's more on the serios side then on the comedy side, and if you wernt aware you where watchign a comedy and knew it was all a gag then you might take the film serios as i know alot of people have! But they just dont understand the brilliant humour of Spinal Tap, and the very clever way it has been presented to make you laugh.
The bonus features are great, there is 2 discs packed full of extra goodies, video clips, interveiws, telivision appearences.... i dont know if the world version comes with them or not? but the Australian one does come with a few commercials that Tap did back in the early 90's for a food product that where called "Rock 'n rolls" which where horrible pizza bun things that never lasted, but the commercials where funny enough to watch again on the DVD!
The only thing I wish about this DVD was that they added the interveiw they did on an Australian talk show called "Tonight live with Steve Vizard" and there appearence on "The Simpsons" but even tho they arnt included, the DVD is still great value for money!
Also dont forget to check out "The Return Of Spinal Tap" if you wanna watch more a live show, then the acting....and "A Mighty Wind" which is along the same lines as how TIST was shown, but about folk music, but trust me, its a good film! Dont let the folk music thing make you think other wise!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2004
The guy writing reviews under the name Leonard Snerdley is joking, right? He is sitting at home laughing at all the people who take his reviews seriously....right?
Spinal Tap is totally fictitious. They were invented solely for the purpose of this movie, which may not be one of the milestones of motion picture, but principal actors Harry Shearer (AKA Mr Burns), Michael McKean, and Christopher Guest are certainly very talented comedians, and even play their own instruments.
The story is completely absurd, mocking the excesses of bands like Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin, Def Leppard, and numerous lesser gods. It's pretty funny, too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2003
This is probably not as funny as it once was, unfortunately, at least to a younger generation. And frankly, considering all that has come to past in rock and roll, it seems a little tame, even a little on the lame side in places. Or perhaps I have grown too jaded. Since Rob Reiner dreamed up this "pseudo-rockumentary" (after affixing some gold paint strategically on the USS Coral Seas baseball cap he wears--one of the many sight gags in the movie) the satirical assault on rock culture as been done and done again, perhaps a time or two too many.
The music itself is, shall we say, derivative with the Stones, some early Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Queen, and others having some distant unavoidable influence, while the unwashed antics of the stars both on stage and off have become cliches of the biz. Worse yet, satirizing the documentary mode itself has been done to death.
Alas, can we have back those moments of splendor in the grass (Wordsworth) or when we first leaned back in the movie theater, the smell of rancid popcorn butter in our nose, and sticky soda corn syrup on the soles of our shoes, and got blasted away by Spinal Tap? No, Virginia, you can't go home again, sad to say.
Might as well jump (Van Halen, 1984).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2003
Reiner, Guest and cast team up for this takeoff on bands coming across the pond, bringing along not only talent but barrel of problems as well.
From the band manager to girlfriends and inter-personal strife between band members, this is funny for the 60-70's group.
McKean is just outstanding in this one. Williard is not the strong character of the followons, but equally good here.
Too bad Levy isn't here, maybe as crazed drummer?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2003
The movie itself deserves five stars and the special features are just gravy, but I want to understand EVERY WORD, and when everybody's mumbling at the same time I need help!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2003
Man, this movie is incredibly! For people limike myself that like heavy metal (and hard rock) from the seventies and the eighties, it's a joy ride!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! I had never watched it before in VHS, so I boought the import DVD. Great!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2003
Hesitate no further, this is a must-have DVD! You get all the info you could want about the Loudest Band, including loads of outtakes you wish could have made the movie. I deduct one star because they didn't include the commentary with the director and actors from the Criterion DVD, which is no longer in print, and very hard to get for the new fan who didn't have the foresight to buy it when it was available. This is one of the funniest movies ever made, with satisfying extras, and needs to be in your collection!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2002
Spinal Tap, directed by Rob Reiner, follows a dimwit band on their tour in America. The band has a series of episodes, that do not portray them in a positive light. They are silly, and even admit they are child like. Their popularity has diminished and they need to come up with new ideas to rejuvenate the band. The film follows a young director making a documentary about them.
This DVD has good transfer and sound. The extras are good as well, with a commentary with the band, out takes and more. The film itself is an effective comedy/satire of rock n roll bands from the 60's folk to 80's hair metal. I found the jokes throughout the film set up well, and one joke comes up right after another, with no dull spots, although it is not bust out loud laughing kind of humor. Fans of metal with a sense of humor should enjoy this. 4 stars. Check it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2002
Yes it was funny and yes the songs made me laugh. If you rent this you will be happy. Workin' on a ... farm!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Best in Show (Widescreen)
Best in Show (Widescreen) by Parker Posey (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 6.60

A Mighty Wind (Widescreen)
A Mighty Wind (Widescreen) by Christopher Guest (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 19.98