Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying just for the first one...
Cronenberg's masterful remake of "The Fly" is, simply put, one of the very best sci-fi movies in recent memory. Much like his "The Dead Zone," it mixes a character's terrifying journey with a powerful love story, and manages to do so successfully. Poor Seth Brundle's transformation is disturbing, suspenseful, and gory indeed, but Jeff Goldblum and...
Published on May 31 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars SWAAAAAAAT !!!
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody...
Published on Jan. 18 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying just for the first one..., May 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Cronenberg's masterful remake of "The Fly" is, simply put, one of the very best sci-fi movies in recent memory. Much like his "The Dead Zone," it mixes a character's terrifying journey with a powerful love story, and manages to do so successfully. Poor Seth Brundle's transformation is disturbing, suspenseful, and gory indeed, but Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis bring such conviction and sadness to their roles, your heart is pulled along for the ride. The metaphor of watching someone you love succumb to a disease which changes them utterly, is just as shocking as the mutations Brundle's body undergoes. Enough said. This is a great and powerful, albeit sad, movie experience.
"The Fly 2" is far less successful. It's always good to see Eric Stoltz, who is a strong actor with lots of appeal, and although his career has proven that he's not exactly leading man material, he comes close to pulling it off here. But the movie takes the formula from the first movie and screws it up: the gore is heaped on while the love story takes a back seat to it. Daphne Zuniga and Stoltz just don't generate the kind of chemistry and compassion that Goldblum and Davis did. Instead, the movie is basically an F/X vehicle. Once the two pretty young people hit the sack, it's pretty much downhill into head-smashing, face-peeling splatter movie territory. Too bad.
But Cronenberg's movie will live on forever; this two-movie disc is well worth the price for anyone interested in a frightening, suspense-filled human drama which doubles as a pretty darn cool horror show, even if its sequel is vastly inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever heard of Insect Politics?, April 4 2004
By 
Darko (London, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Fly must have been one of the single greatest films of the 1980's because it left us with quotes, parodies, and astounding visuals that would change special FX in moviemaking forever. Besides the makeup effects, It had terrific acting especially from Jeff Goldblum whose performance as Seth Brundle sparked my interest in theater. People ask me when i'm interviewd "What got you into acting and production?" my usual response is "The Fly". Sometimes I say Jeff Goldblum but this is the one that made me realize I had to become an actor. The humanism is astonishing in the screenplay by Charles Edward Pogue whom I would hire to write for a project any day. It takes a modern turn from the 1958 version in which the teleportation booths are now Telepods. The names and locations have been changed. The forging of the characters is also different and there is a better conflict between Seth and Stathis Borans. Seth and reporter Veronica meet at the Bartok industries party where new inventions for that year are being unveiled. The first shot of the film besides that terrific title sequence with the cell like colors and the beautiful main title begins with a shot of Seth saying "What am I working on? Uh I'm working on something that will change the world and human life as we know it." Then we cut to Veronica asking if it will change it a lot or just a bit. They then go back to Seth's lab for a demonstration with her stocking as the subject of teleportation. She is clearly astonished and starts to get quotes when he gets excited and says she can't write a story. Luckily for him, her boss doesn't buy it. Seth then propositions for her to live with him and record his process. They fall in love and make love like 3 times in which once after merging with the fly he gets her pregnant leading up to part 2. One night she leaves to confront Stathis for printing a story after he said he wouldn't and Seth assumes that she's running out on him and gets drunk. He feels that the pod's imperfections are worked out and decides to use the ultimate subject- himself. But a stowaway fly wants to join in on it too and the computer (one of my favorite pieces of the system) splices their DNA patterns together and soon Seth finds he is turning into a freakish, irritable 185 pound fly with one ill temper and dangerous enzymes that can melt through anything. So he directs his anger to Stathis who suggests an abortion and the murder of Brundle. But the newly formed Brundlefly won't go down without a fight. He sets out to find a cure for himself even if it takes killing Borans and sacrificing the life of his one true love to do it. This film struck me hard when i viewed it on the sci fi channel for the first time. I loved it. I loved the telepod system especially because of the construction of the computer, pods, prototype pod 3, and the backup generator (you see that in the background sometimes). I loved the computer's visuals on the screen and i wish more computers were made that way. But most of all I loved the stages of the brundlefly transformation. There needs to be a seperate dvd of this film with lots of bonus features, photos and the infamous deleted monkeycat/leg amputation scene. If i'm not mistaken, there is an online petition fot the special edition dvd release. That was the first film on the disk. Lets move on to the inferior sequel. The Fly 2 was pretty good to be so low budget and low in plot. Martin played by Eric Stoltz is pretty good for a kid raised to speak properly and in scientific terminology. He turns into a bigger, meaner, faster and more fake looking fly than his dad. He undergoes a catterpillar to butterfly like transformation but when he merges, he comes to get revenge on those who lied to him for so long with deadly results. I liked it pretty good. It had dramatic music and sequences and i liked the "I'll show you a magic trick you'll never forget." line. The idea of a bulletproof, acid shooting monster roaming around killing everything in an unescapeable complex is great. And he actually finds the cure. There were some pretty unbelieveable parts. Such as injecting water into the blood stream (...) I grew up with them. They got me to where I am today. I owe it all to a small stowaway fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SWAAAAAAAT !!!, Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody.
Cronenberg's 'obsession' with the disfigurement of the human shape ["The Brood", "Scanners", "Crash"] has never been more brilliantly flung into the audience's face as with THE FLY, and the casting, acting and most of the rest of the movie is really superior. The love between Davis and Goldblum forms the backdrop to this tale of terror and metamorphosis - and the auditotrium squirmed many a time and looked the other way during the eating, and conversion sequences .... not even mentioning those who just left their seats for a few moments - then returned - shall we say 'lighter'?
NO, stick to Cronenberg's remake - this one goes way beyond five stars .... a classic in our time.
[As is the 1958 original] the rest?
Get some imagination guys and write something worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SWAAAAAAAT !!!, Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody.
Cronenberg's 'obsession' with the disfurement of the human shape ["The Brood", "Scanners", "Crash"] has never been more brilliantly flung into the audience's face as with THE FLY, and the casting, acting and most of the rest of the movie is really superior. The love between Davis and Goldblum forms the backdrop to this tale of terror and metamorphosis - and the auditotrium squirmed many a time and looked the other way during the eating, and conversion sequences .... not even mentioning those who just left their seats for a few moments - then returned - shall we say 'lighter'?
NO, stick to Cronenberg's remake - this one goes way beyond five stars .... a classic in our time.
[And the 1958 original] the rest?
Get some imagination guys and write something worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Icky, Gooey, Slimy Love Story..., July 19 2003
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
David Cronenberg directed the remake of "The Fly". Actually, it bears little resemblance to the original. Cronenberg is the master of over-the-top gross-outs that nevertheless seem to fit the story. He has crafted a poignant love story, smeared with goo and ooze! Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis fell in love for real making this movie, and it shows! They are totally believable as tragic lovers, caught in hideous circumstances beyond their control. Their bond is deeper / stronger than the horrors that befall them. Yes, there's lots of gore and mega-violence. Especially stuff like the infamous arm-wrestling scene or the finale. However, this is NOT your typical splattery monster movie! Goldblum and Davis go from passion and mutual lust, to true, agonizing love in a way that's unheard of in most, if not all movies of this type. As for "The Fly 2", well, it's not as good as "The Fly", but it's not a complete abomination either. There's no Jeff Goldblum or Geena Davis here. Eric Stolz isn't bad as the son of Brundle. The gore is ratcheted up, without Cronenberg around to give it purpose. I still highly recommend this double bill! ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Fly (1986) and The Fly II (1989) on one DVD disc., April 27 2003
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
This DVD is a double feature. The Fly (1986) is on one side of the disc and its sequel The Fly II (1989) is on the other side. Both films are in Widescreen. The Fly (1986) is a remake of the classic The Fly (1958), which two sequels were made, RETURN OF THE FLY (1959) and CURSE OF THE FLY (1965). Twenty-eight years later after the classic THE FLY (1958), this 1986 version stars Jeff Goldblum and his lady interest, Geena Davis. These two in real-life were a couple at the time. They have since been long divorced. This version is very different from the classic, more gore, heavy on the special effects. The teleporting is still there with just two machines with lots of smoke. It's a cool movie. Teenagers will like this, but I still think the 1958 classic is the best. The Fly II (1989) is a sequel, but is more like the son of The Fly. The son is played by Eric Stoltz (Mask [1985], Naked In New York [1994]). The movie begins with the baby being born. (Geena Davis is not in this one) Her worst nightmare, a mutant thing is delivered, however inside this mutant coccoon is a live baby. Stathis (played by John Getz as in the first film continues his role) watches on. They raise the boy in a clinical lab who by the way is a genius. Normal in every way, except he has a disease. The same one his father had. He ages more rapidly than the norm. He will be a teenager soon. As a boy, he sneaks in to Zone 4. He sees the lab people are continuing the same teleporting exercises his father did (as he will understand later). Now he is five years old, but his body and mind are of the age of eighteen. After viewing videos of his father (Jeff Goldblum returns in cameo appearances) he decides to continue his father's legacy and performs his own teleportation experiments. Beth, played by Daphne Zuniga (Stone Pillow [1985 TVM]), is his new friend. K.D. Lang tune, "Lock, Stock and Teardrops" can be heard here. This double feature DVD does not contain any special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A look at the un-watchable, March 5 2003
By 
Laura G. Carter "Castlebreaker" (Reidsville, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
"The Fly" is simply brilliant, an emotional roller-coaster that takes you on a horrifying trip with Geena Davis as she watches her lover, Seth Brundle (played with great sensitivity by Jeff Goldblum) turn into a fly as the result of a scientific experiment gone awry. Director David Cronenburg does not spare the viewer any more than he does Davis; she and we watch the disintegration, the mutation and, eventually, the death of someone who was once normal, loving, loved.
The film's emotional power lies in the fact that, because she loves him so deeply, Davis' character CANNOT TURN AWAY from Brundle as he transforms into the gooey, pitiful BrundleFly. Because, through Goldbloom's delicate, endearing performance, the audience has come to view Seth Brundle with affection, we, too, are unable to avert our gaze, essentially "abandoning" him to his fate. The pain of both characters is riveting, but ultimately redeemed by the love which doesn't die despite the changes which Brundle experiences.
Made in 1986 when the AIDS crisis was gaining strength, of course one could think of it as an allegorical tale referencing anyone who's watched a loved one die from some horrible disease, such as cancer or AIDS. What makes this film so powerful is that you are involved in the characters' tragedy, just as you would be were you watching a father, mother, lover, sibling transformed outwardly by rot and unnatural change.
When I originally saw this in the theater in '86, I drove about halfway home afterward, the pulled over to the side of the road and cried harder, I think, than I ever have before or since. Seldom does a film impact the viewer on such a gut level.
"Fly II" ... well, it just doesn't even bear mentioning. I'm amazed they put these two films together. Must've been the only way "Fly II" would sell. Don't even bother with it - once you've seen "Fly I", you'll be sadly disappointed and wonder why anyone wasted time and money on this celluloid turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Afraid, Be very afraid. And Be wary of the sequel., March 9 2002
By 
GLENN WHELAN (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
THE FLY is surely a unique film. Sure, it has a science-fiction horror storyline. It has production values similar to most other horror films. And it has more than it's share of gross out moments. But, where this film is unique is in its truly dramatic performance by JEFF GOLDBLUM as the tragic hero. From early on, his Seth Brundle is a brilliant anti-social with a scientific experiment that could change the world as we know it. But, when a minor detail is overlooked, his experiment changes his body. Gradually, he loses his human body to that of a BRUNDLEFLY, half man and half housefly. No matter the horror overtones, Goldblum takes the role very seriously and the results are admirable. He is paired in the film with a science reporter portrayed by Geena Davis (ACCIDENTAL TOURIST). She works well with the medium as well, even though she is often left with expository dialogue. The direction is tight and this will probably be David Cronenberg's most commercial effort as his films are often more 'artistic'. That is not to say there are not negatives in the experience. The worst of these is the performance by John Getz as Davis' former boyfriend Stathis Borens, a truly amateur addition to this otherwise great film.
But, filmmakers decided that Seth Brundle had a son. He is also brilliant. He matures rather quickly. And he is probably gonna turn into a beastie like his old man. After the small budget success of THE FLY, it was inevitable someone would cash in and make a sequel. The result is a quick bang for your buck hour and a half. This time around, CHRIS WALAS takes over directing chores. He did the original make-up designs for the first film. And so, unsurprisingly, this entry is filled with even more grotesque and sickening "gooey" effects. But gooey is not always better. Eric Stoltz plays the five-year old offspring and is given very little to work with in the formulaic screenplay. He does have one excellent scene as he prepares to immerse his body into a cocoon, so he can get "Better". Daphne Zinuga is the beautiful but useless girlfriend who, like Geena Davis before her is quite often running her hands over the wet, gooey, deformed skin of her fly-friend. And like it's sequel before it, we have another ridiculous performance by Gary Chalk as Scorby, the overzealous security guard. John Getz, the only performer returning from the predecessor, joins him in the ridiculous department. (Goldblum does show up in a brief video recording.) The second film is often gross which was obviously the intention of the director. All in all, THE FLY 2 is an obvious story to get a quick buck. Come prepared. Bring a flyswatter.
The Double Feature DVD set is excellent in that it is priced that you get the sequel for free! The audio, including Howard Shore and Christopher Young's musical scores sound great and the video transfers are sufficient. The disc also includes theatrical trailers for both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Like Father, Like Son, March 9 2002
By 
GLENN WHELAN (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly II, the (VHS Tape)
Set Brundle was a fly. Seth Brundle had a son. He is brilliant. He matures rather quickly. And he is probably gonna turn into a beastie like his old man.
After the small budget success of THE FLY, it was inevitable someone would cash in and make a sequel. The result is a quick bang for your buck hour and a half. This time around, CHRIS WALAS takes over directing chores. He did the original make-up designs for the first film. And so, unsurprisingly, this entry is filled with even more grotesque and sickening 'gooey' effects. But gooey is not always better. Eric Stoltz plays the five-year old offspring of Jeff Goldblum's BRUNDLEFLY and is given very little to work with in the formulaic screenplay. He does have one excellent scene as he prepares to immerse his body into a cocoon, so he can get 'Better'. Daphne Zanuga is the beautiful but useless girlfriend who, like Geena Davis before her is quite often running her hands over the wet, gooey, deformed skin of her fly-friend. And like it's sequel before it, we have another ridiculous performance by Gary Chalk as Scorby, the overzealous security guard. John Getz, the only performer returning from the predecessor, joins him in the ridiculous department. (Goldblum does show up in a brief video recording.) The film is often gross which was obviously the intention of the director. All in all, this film is an obvious story to get a quick buck. Come prepared. Bring a flyswatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars keep the first, trash the sequel!, Feb. 22 2002
By 
SharpX13 "Jeremy" (Warwick, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
the only reason i gave this 4 stars and not 5 is the terrible sequel included in this set. i give the first film 5, and the second bomb.
The Fy: This film is an extremly powerful story of an border line mad scientist, played by Jeff Goldbloom and a beatiful journalist, played by Gena Davis, and the hell they go through. Jeff Goldbloom plays Seth Brudel. A scientist working on a new invetion of telepoting objects from one place to another. once he begins to have success with his experiment, he takes the next step by testing himself in the machine. but as luck would have it, just before he is teleported, a tiny fly flies into the transporter pod and mixes genes with Goldbum. at first, nothing seems wrong. after Davis and Goldbum fool around for a while, Goldbum starts noticing changes. yup...hes becomming an 185 pound human/fly. and to make tings even more dramatic, davis gets preeganst DUM DUM DUM... great special effects and music. incredibly emotional when goldbum has to tell davis "you have to leave and never come back because...i'll hurt you if you stay" it sends chills up my spine every time. well, this movie isnt really for people who are squrmish from gore and bodily trasformations. still, in my option a wondeful love/horror/dramma. worth the dvd pack on its own.
The Fly II: well well well. here we have the obvious sequel to the orignal (since the first ends with a cliffhanger). this flick is about goldbloom's kid who is half fly and starts to change just like in the first. [bad] sets, [bad] acting, [bad] music, but i guess they had to make this just to make fans of the first shut up. i guess you'll have to watch just to see how it ends, (could it be a happy ending for once?) no where near as good as the first but see it for the hell of it. you might like it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen)
The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) by Chris Walas (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews