Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying just for the first one...
Cronenberg's masterful remake of "The Fly" is, simply put, one of the very best sci-fi movies in recent memory. Much like his "The Dead Zone," it mixes a character's terrifying journey with a powerful love story, and manages to do so successfully. Poor Seth Brundle's transformation is disturbing, suspenseful, and gory indeed, but Jeff Goldblum and...
Published on May 31 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Fly" launches Cronenberg as a director to watch
Forget about "Fly II", but the classic sci-fi movie "The Fly" is worth watching (about once every five years) as it's a truly romantic story, sensitively realised by Canada's David Cronenerg. "Romantic" actually means "Roman" plus "romain" for novel, plus "roamin'" for "On the Road": what a zesty...
Published on July 30 2004 by John Colville


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars i thought it was as good as the original,but definitely not for the squeamish, Aug. 30 2007
this sequel to "The Fly" isn't all that bad,all things considered.it is
however,more disgusting,believe it or not.a lot of the really gross
stuff was overkill and gratuitous,i thought.in the original,the gross
scenes were sort of necessary to the story.not so in this movie.i also
found the movie to have some slow spots at times,which in my mind,took
away from the flow of the story.as well,this movie had a slicker more
polished look than the original,which i think kind of takes away from
the effect.the acting is not bad,and i liked the direction the story
went.i really liked the ironic ending.i actually almost cheered at
it.if you watch the movie,you'll know why.a word of caution:this movie
is definitely not for the squeamish.despite what i didn't like,i
actually liked the movie more than not.for me,overall,i'd say i liked
this movie as well as the first one.therefore,i give The Fly 2 a 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "The Fly" launches Cronenberg as a director to watch, July 30 2004
By 
John Colville (Bridgetown, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Forget about "Fly II", but the classic sci-fi movie "The Fly" is worth watching (about once every five years) as it's a truly romantic story, sensitively realised by Canada's David Cronenerg. "Romantic" actually means "Roman" plus "romain" for novel, plus "roamin'" for "On the Road": what a zesty multimedia stew these ingredients make!
"The Fly", like the wonderful 1957 movie, "The Incredible Shrinking Man", is really about men feeling badly about themselves - old, male lions in the myth-emersed world of postmodern consumerism. The plot line: We men have offended as youngsters, and now we must watch the pride from afar, as outcasts, much like Marlon Brando in "One-Eyed Jacks". And so it is with Seth Brundle. We love Seth because he's (like Cronenberg, I'd guess) the Roy Orbison archetype: weird but sweet. This guy LOVES sugar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying just for the first one..., May 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Cronenberg's masterful remake of "The Fly" is, simply put, one of the very best sci-fi movies in recent memory. Much like his "The Dead Zone," it mixes a character's terrifying journey with a powerful love story, and manages to do so successfully. Poor Seth Brundle's transformation is disturbing, suspenseful, and gory indeed, but Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis bring such conviction and sadness to their roles, your heart is pulled along for the ride. The metaphor of watching someone you love succumb to a disease which changes them utterly, is just as shocking as the mutations Brundle's body undergoes. Enough said. This is a great and powerful, albeit sad, movie experience.
"The Fly 2" is far less successful. It's always good to see Eric Stoltz, who is a strong actor with lots of appeal, and although his career has proven that he's not exactly leading man material, he comes close to pulling it off here. But the movie takes the formula from the first movie and screws it up: the gore is heaped on while the love story takes a back seat to it. Daphne Zuniga and Stoltz just don't generate the kind of chemistry and compassion that Goldblum and Davis did. Instead, the movie is basically an F/X vehicle. Once the two pretty young people hit the sack, it's pretty much downhill into head-smashing, face-peeling splatter movie territory. Too bad.
But Cronenberg's movie will live on forever; this two-movie disc is well worth the price for anyone interested in a frightening, suspense-filled human drama which doubles as a pretty darn cool horror show, even if its sequel is vastly inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legacy Lives On..., April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm addicted to these movies. I didn't know what to expect, seeing as I had only seen the original with Vincent Price. This is definitely now one of my favorite movies of all time. The first one features Jeff Goldblum who fuses with a fly and starts to mutate into a 185-pound walking fly. The gross effects in this movie is definitely not some for the weak-stomached.
The sequel was just as good as the first one. The ending is a classic example of "what goes around comes around." In this movie, Brundle's son has a chromosome disorder which makes him age at a faster rate. When he reaches adulthood, he starts to mutate into the fly, for he inherited the genes from his father. He then hatches out of a cacoon and starts reeking revenge on Bartok Industries. I liked it. The Fly [is action packed] in this movie.
These movies are must-see-material. Beware...it's not for the weak-stomached...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever heard of Insect Politics?, April 4 2004
By 
Darko (London, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Fly must have been one of the single greatest films of the 1980's because it left us with quotes, parodies, and astounding visuals that would change special FX in moviemaking forever. Besides the makeup effects, It had terrific acting especially from Jeff Goldblum whose performance as Seth Brundle sparked my interest in theater. People ask me when i'm interviewd "What got you into acting and production?" my usual response is "The Fly". Sometimes I say Jeff Goldblum but this is the one that made me realize I had to become an actor. The humanism is astonishing in the screenplay by Charles Edward Pogue whom I would hire to write for a project any day. It takes a modern turn from the 1958 version in which the teleportation booths are now Telepods. The names and locations have been changed. The forging of the characters is also different and there is a better conflict between Seth and Stathis Borans. Seth and reporter Veronica meet at the Bartok industries party where new inventions for that year are being unveiled. The first shot of the film besides that terrific title sequence with the cell like colors and the beautiful main title begins with a shot of Seth saying "What am I working on? Uh I'm working on something that will change the world and human life as we know it." Then we cut to Veronica asking if it will change it a lot or just a bit. They then go back to Seth's lab for a demonstration with her stocking as the subject of teleportation. She is clearly astonished and starts to get quotes when he gets excited and says she can't write a story. Luckily for him, her boss doesn't buy it. Seth then propositions for her to live with him and record his process. They fall in love and make love like 3 times in which once after merging with the fly he gets her pregnant leading up to part 2. One night she leaves to confront Stathis for printing a story after he said he wouldn't and Seth assumes that she's running out on him and gets drunk. He feels that the pod's imperfections are worked out and decides to use the ultimate subject- himself. But a stowaway fly wants to join in on it too and the computer (one of my favorite pieces of the system) splices their DNA patterns together and soon Seth finds he is turning into a freakish, irritable 185 pound fly with one ill temper and dangerous enzymes that can melt through anything. So he directs his anger to Stathis who suggests an abortion and the murder of Brundle. But the newly formed Brundlefly won't go down without a fight. He sets out to find a cure for himself even if it takes killing Borans and sacrificing the life of his one true love to do it. This film struck me hard when i viewed it on the sci fi channel for the first time. I loved it. I loved the telepod system especially because of the construction of the computer, pods, prototype pod 3, and the backup generator (you see that in the background sometimes). I loved the computer's visuals on the screen and i wish more computers were made that way. But most of all I loved the stages of the brundlefly transformation. There needs to be a seperate dvd of this film with lots of bonus features, photos and the infamous deleted monkeycat/leg amputation scene. If i'm not mistaken, there is an online petition fot the special edition dvd release. That was the first film on the disk. Lets move on to the inferior sequel. The Fly 2 was pretty good to be so low budget and low in plot. Martin played by Eric Stoltz is pretty good for a kid raised to speak properly and in scientific terminology. He turns into a bigger, meaner, faster and more fake looking fly than his dad. He undergoes a catterpillar to butterfly like transformation but when he merges, he comes to get revenge on those who lied to him for so long with deadly results. I liked it pretty good. It had dramatic music and sequences and i liked the "I'll show you a magic trick you'll never forget." line. The idea of a bulletproof, acid shooting monster roaming around killing everything in an unescapeable complex is great. And he actually finds the cure. There were some pretty unbelieveable parts. Such as injecting water into the blood stream (...) I grew up with them. They got me to where I am today. I owe it all to a small stowaway fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 wonderful masterpieces for the price of one!, March 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
"The Fly"
A scientist creates a telepod, goes in, comes out fine, but slowly mutates into a freakish fly-being out of my worst nightmares. Really graphic and disgusting make-up effects, beyond realistic acting, great character development, and a suspense filled ending make this movie a unique find. I love the make up effects. ****/*****
"The Fly 2"
The scientist from the previous movie has a kid, and he's no different from his father. After his birth, a big company takes him in to study him. 5 years later, the kid is 15 years old. He falls in love and discovers that the company had been lying to him.(watch the movie) He mutates into a fly/crab monster and goes on warpath. Severley underrated movie. Don't believe what everyone else says, "Fly 2" is every bit as good as the original. ****/*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SWAAAAAAAT !!!, Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody.
Cronenberg's 'obsession' with the disfigurement of the human shape ["The Brood", "Scanners", "Crash"] has never been more brilliantly flung into the audience's face as with THE FLY, and the casting, acting and most of the rest of the movie is really superior. The love between Davis and Goldblum forms the backdrop to this tale of terror and metamorphosis - and the auditotrium squirmed many a time and looked the other way during the eating, and conversion sequences .... not even mentioning those who just left their seats for a few moments - then returned - shall we say 'lighter'?
NO, stick to Cronenberg's remake - this one goes way beyond five stars .... a classic in our time.
[As is the 1958 original] the rest?
Get some imagination guys and write something worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SWAAAAAAAT !!!, Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody.
Cronenberg's 'obsession' with the disfurement of the human shape ["The Brood", "Scanners", "Crash"] has never been more brilliantly flung into the audience's face as with THE FLY, and the casting, acting and most of the rest of the movie is really superior. The love between Davis and Goldblum forms the backdrop to this tale of terror and metamorphosis - and the auditotrium squirmed many a time and looked the other way during the eating, and conversion sequences .... not even mentioning those who just left their seats for a few moments - then returned - shall we say 'lighter'?
NO, stick to Cronenberg's remake - this one goes way beyond five stars .... a classic in our time.
[And the 1958 original] the rest?
Get some imagination guys and write something worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid, Sept. 25 2003
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The 5 star rating is mainly for the first film which is the best horror film of the 80's. Its dramatic music, grousome special effects and fantastic acting (especially on Goldblum's part)make it a masterpiece of modern horror. Goldblum's synical Brundle is his best part in a film ever, as body parts fall off he seems more interested rather than afraid. Geena Davis gives a great performance as Brundle's fearful girlfriend and delivers one of the greatest lines in Horror film history.
Both films have a great moral and I reccomend them to all horror film lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WOW! It's like you buy THE FLY and get the sequel free., Sept. 3 2003
This review is from: The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
..I say this because this DVD is at such an affordable price. You get The Fly (1986) on one side of the DVD and THE FLY II (1989) on the other side. Both presented in widescreen and 5.1 surround sound. The Fly stars Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis. It's a horrific horror classic with gory award worthy effects. Goldblum is superb as the hidious title character, his gittering and effective nervous system failure is amazing to watch. The last 30 minutes are not for those with a weak stomach. However if you make it that far your likely to be alright. The Fly II stars Eric Stolz in what was a somewhat disappointing sequel. There are just so many things that just wouldn't have went down the way they did. The Lab/Scientist seemed so unprofessional, it was hard to take them seriously. On the upside the make-up and some of the special effects were pretty good. Over all the two movies together make for a very good double feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen)
The Fly / The Fly 2 (Widescreen) by Chris Walas (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews