Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars264
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$129.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 26, 2015
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
The editors were right : 300 out of 301 rejected it. Unfortunately the minority prevailed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Looks like its gonna be good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
This work is heartbreakingly beautiful. You will laugh. You will cry. You will think. A book like no other. It appeals to the best and worst of us all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 25, 2014
I might just be too dumb to work my way through this unpunctuated trash. Sorry. Not for me. This tripe gave me a headache.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Great read, if very dense, but this book holds your hand with extensive cataloging of the various typographical errors in this original print of the text (some by Joyce, others by the french printing company that was willing to produce it) and provides thorough insight into the printing, geographical, and intertextual histories brought up throughout the course of the book. As Gerry Duke says in his quote of the back of this edition, "this is the one to buy," and I must agree.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
Ulysses is (to me) the most important novel of the 20th Century. I have read it nearly every June since the late 1950s. I obtained a Kindle a while back, and have been reading on it, as it is lighter to carry and to read in bed.

Unfortunately, much of Ulysses has been maimed in the transfer to electronics: the itemization of Bloom's expenses (in the Ithaca section) is rendered absurd by listing items on on scheen and the amounts on the next one. Molly's final soliloquy -- some of the finest half-dozen pages in English literature -- is made nonsensical as "I'll" is reproduced as III (Roman 3).

Ulysses is still a great novel: the Kindle version is a disaster.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
'Ulysses' is surrounded as much by controversy as brilliance. In his masterwork, Joyce moulds his theories on narrative, humanity, and philosophy into a complex view of Dublin at the turn of the Twentieth Century. It is a great book mired by difficulty. Many readers avoid 'Ulysses' because of its difficulty, which is unfortunate because these intricacies are highlights. Joyce ambitiously portrays the psychological worlds of his characters as they go about their day. That's what 'Ulysses' is: one long day that parallels Homer's 'Odyssey'.

My favourite part of this book was its impact on narratology. Joyce's core style has a third person omniscient narrator, but also slips into the subjectivity of characters through interior monologues. This was a huge moment for literature, because it shows a shift from the description of thought to thought itself. It gives the reader direct access to the characters. Joyce's movement between his heroes' thoughts and their exterior world illustrates how they relate to it. By choosing this kind of narrative, Joyce can demonstrate the ironies and multiple perspectives that surround Leopold Bloom's actions in the book. The primary feature of this book is parallax.

However, Joyce's revolutionary approach to writing also cripples it. Stephen Dedalus's dense monologues aside, Joyce simply does TOO MUCH. 'Ulysses' suffers in its final half from constant changes to the narrative. After the tenth episode, Joyce uses a new style each episode. So extreme is his ambition that he metaphorically "gives birth" to the English language in episode fourteen, "Oxen of the Sun." (My review's title uses the last sentence of that chapter.) I understand that Joyce uses different writing styles to present the effect they have on the text, but to what result? Some critics believe that Joyce's product justifies his method. While I respect this view, I also believe that literature requires clarity, which Joyce sacrifices for his boundless artistry.

As a book that celebrates the common man, 'Ulysses' operates on the irony that the status quo cannot understand all its treasures. I suspect this is part of Joyce's quirky sense of humour, and actually makes sense if you consider that irony. Despite the book's reputation, I recommend people to "try it on," and see what they take away. It is a heart-warming story, and very funny too, especially when Bloom and Stephen enter the brothel near the climax. Read 'Ulysses' for a laugh at what you know, and what you don't. If you enjoy it that much, then by all means study it to your heart's content.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2012
I knew this wasn't going to be the easiest book to read when I ordered it, but it certainly is an interesting one! I wasn't sure if I would get anything from this tome or not. But as it turned out, thanks to Mr. James Joyce, it led me to discover a distant descendant. He,(James Joyce),made mention of his name, Dr.Lucas of Dublin, in the novel. I googled Dr. Lucas only to discover that he (Dr. Lucas) is a distant cousin of mine! His father was my Great, great, great, great, great, great Uncle! Thank you, Mr. Joyce!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
I bought the Ulysses (Gabler Edition) edition of this book recently as we were reading Ulysses as part of an online book club. The advantage of that edition is that it is popular edition and also has line numberings so that as part of a group you can immediately locate a piece of text.

Joyce edited and added bits and pieces to the text over the years much to the chagrin and frustration of his publishers, so you can expect minor variations between editions, yet they may be 95-99% similar.

"Ineluctable modality of the visible."

There are certain passages that no dictionary will help you with, and that is why you may need a companion book, such as Ulysses annotated, which explains the many allusions, whether to Latin, parallels with the Bible, with the Odyssey which this story loosely parallels, to Latin, British Rule, historical context, local maps, Hamlet, mythical search for the missing father, Shakespeare and the Bible.

The further you get into this book the better it gets.

At once this book is inpiring yet challenging, sometimes perplexing yet ultimately rewarding. Full of inventive wordplay that sometimes defies instant comprehension. I have read entire pages that turn out to be word salad at first. Every chapter has a different narrative style, such as inner monologue, narcissistic, catechism, stream of consciousness. Sometimes this book is brutal to read, sometimes a joy. I can understand why this book is so influential, and the words nibble at the edge of your consciousness forcing your mind to expand itself. This book has changed the way I think about writing, as I have never seen som many different narrative devices used in a single book before. The final chapter with Molly Bloom in bed, with its runon sentences is simply hilarious.

And if you search you can find free online chapter summaries of chapters to speed your comprehension.

I hope you found this review helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ulysses by James Joyce (Paperback - March 25 2015)
CDN$ 19.99

Ulysses Annotated
Ulysses Annotated by Don Gifford (Paperback - Sept. 7 1989)

Ulysses by James Joyce (Hardcover - Oct. 21 2010)
CDN$ 27.47