Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Perfection
These are some of the words to describe the Tribes second album I bought it and it is now one of my most listen to albums this thing is butter and the whole thing just blends and is smooth as a babies bottom are JJ Reddicks jumper you pick.As I said this is a perfect album and it even has jazz musisian Ron Carter live on some songs just flawless masterpiece...
Published on April 22 2004 by Chris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best
If you like 'Tribe', you might enjoy this one, but definatly don't start with this one. But, if you're looking for a good hip-hop album, let me suggest 'Peoples Instinctive Paths', or '3 feet and rising' by De La. The middle of the original three, and definatly the weakest
Published on April 5 2001 by Sean Nolan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Perfection, April 22 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
These are some of the words to describe the Tribes second album I bought it and it is now one of my most listen to albums this thing is butter and the whole thing just blends and is smooth as a babies bottom are JJ Reddicks jumper you pick.As I said this is a perfect album and it even has jazz musisian Ron Carter live on some songs just flawless masterpiece.
1.Excurtions-This one is a classic song 10/10
2.Buggin Out-what a verse by Phife Dawg on this 10/10
3.Rap promoter-a smooth song Q-Tip does good nice 10/10
4.Butter-Phife got like 5 verses on the album this is great 10
5.Verses from the abstract-Just another classic on here 10/10
6.Show bussiness-This one is a posse cut 10/10
7.Vibes and stuff-no doubt this is no filler on here 10/10
8.Classic example of a date raper-also great song 10/10
9.Check the Rhime-Great by both of them a classic single 10/10
10.Everything is Fair-Great chorus on this album 10/10
11.We've got the jazz-what a beat for them 10/10
12.Skypager-Even this is not really even filler still smooth 10
13.What-Busta Rhymes should have been on here to his beat 10/10
14.Senario-The Banger of Bangers features L.O.N.S. 10/10
This is like illmatic in that it sounds like one big song 48 minute song this thing is great by Q-Tip and Phife Dawg
Lyrics 10/10 Production 10/10 X Factor 10/10 Style 10/10 Voice10
Music 10/10 Innovative 10/10 Classic 10/10 guest 10/10 Blends 10
Overall=100 wich means 5 Mic classic *****Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Check the TRIBE!!!!, April 14 2004
By 
Wayne Maye (Petersburg,VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
1991 was a GREAT year in hip hop. I was glad to see Organized Konfusion, Public Enemy, Ice Cube, Main Source, and others drop GEMS. Also, A Tribe Called Quest with their second album. This album is one of the greatest EVER, and it's production(and lyrics as well) is what pushed it over the top. If you didn't feel the impact on their first album, you DEFINITELY felt it on this album. Here's the review:
Album Highlights: NO filler, but the HIGHLIGHTS are Check the rhyme, Buggin out, Butter, Show Business(w/Brand Nubian & Diamond D), Jazz, and Scenario(w/Leaders Of The New School).
Production: Thumbs up, Ali Shaheed's BEST production ever.
Lyrics and Subject Matter: Thumbs up.
Originality: Thumbs up.
The Last Word: The GREATEST album from the ATCQ catalog. Most artists' second album usually cannot touch their first, but the Tribe did it, and they did it in style and grace. A STRONG RECOMMENDATION for this album if you don't own it. Don't be left out on owning one AWESOME album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moment in time, April 1 2004
By 
The Sesh (Waset, Kamit) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
During the late 80s the torch of conscious lyricism had been handed to the Native Tongues (Jungle Brothers, De La Soul, and A Tribe Called Quest). The difference between them and other conscious lyricist of the time such as Boogie Down Productions and Public Enemy was their more relaxed, spiritual presentation. This created a new sound to Hip Hop which became mastered by New York's own, A Tribe Called Quest, with their sophomore release, "Low End Theory", in 1991. The heavy jazz influence was revolutionary at the time along with Q-Tip's Slick Rick style flow. This is the reason this record is hailed as a classic. It represented a pinnacle era where groups like Brand Nubian, Organized Konfusion, and Gang Starr were the faces of true Hip Hop. It also gave birth to later acts like Digable Planets, The Fugees, and The Roots to debut in the early 90s. Despite assassination attempts on Hip Hop in the mid 90s artist remembered these earlier groups which gave birth to the more contemporary kings of conscious lyricism like Talib Kweli and Blackalicious. Though Low End Theory is recognized as a classic it's true significance may not come until several decades when it will represent Hip Hop much in a way that Miles Davis' Kind of Blue has become regarded as the benchmark of Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a hip-hop guy but..., Feb. 3 2004
By 
"howlinw" (California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
This one is a fairly recent pruchase for me. I got it a few years ago, after hearing enough buzz and reading enough positive reviews to tip the scale. Thing is, I am not a hip-hop guy. I dig jazz, funk, all kinds of rock, even some electronica, but until I got this album I never was able to get into rap. I guess I just didn't connect to it, and I was turned off by the violence and macho posturing. Well, none of that here. What we have on the "low end theory" is intelligent worldplay, a smooth delivery, and the most laid-back, jazzy set of grooves I've ever heard on anything even resembling hip-hop. There's interesting commentary on the music scene, discussion of the connection between hip-hop and bebop, and a little tribute to Ron Carter the famous jazz bassist who plays on a couple tracks here. It's an engaging and fun listen from beginning to end (except maybe "date rape," my least favorite track here). If all hip-hop was like this, I would be a fan of the genre. But I still notice Nellie at the top of the charts, while many people don't even know that this exists. It's a sad, sad world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop Tour de Force, July 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
In one defining moment, A Tribe Called Quest made a classic CD as well as opened possiblities to what Hip Hop (and music) could become. This makes the Low End Theory one of the most important Hip Hop CDs ever made. If the Native Tongues (De La Soul and Jungle Brothers) added fresh new colors to Hip-Hop, then A Tribe Called Quest were the Michaelangelo of their time and the Low End Theory was their Sistine Chapel. Check the Rhime, Vibes & Stuff, and Verses From the Abstract were all sounds that hip-hop fans had never heard before. The Tribe took obscure, yet masterful jazz abstractions and anchored them with heavy, low end beats. Add in Q-Tip's enigmatic flow and a game Phife (check him on Butter and Scenario) and the resulting music was more fun than Be-Bop and is still light years ahead of most of the hip-hop in your CD player right now. Never before had rap artists put in such work to fuse beats, melodies, lyrics, timing, and thought into a relevant musical effort as ecletic and stomping as this CD. As a group, a Tribe Called Quest raised the bar in Hop-Hop at a time when it needed raising (Hammertime, Young MC, anyone?) and for that, the heads are eternally grateful. The Low End Theory crystalized the the Tribe as legends in the rap genre and still makes a definitive statement about creativity, innovation, and artistry in modern music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "If it moves your booty then shake, shake it baby", June 21 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
Well, here it is: after more than 250 reviews, my first ever of a rap album. And I can't think of one more deserving than "The Low End Theory." It's because of albums like this one that it pays to keep an open mind. Much like rock, hip-hop over the past decade (or at least its public face) has been largely a non-stop parade of mediocrity, but A Tribe Called Quest provided convicing proof of just how much potential the genre actually has. Instead of focusing too much on establishing a threatening image or blasting the listener's eardrums with mindless and overbearing basslines, Tribe married the seemingly contradictory poles of jazz and rap with more musicality and intelligence than anyone would have a right to expect. The uber-smooth Q-Tip and Phife spat out witticisms and allusions with a flow that puts the likes of DMX and Ja Rule to shame. The jazzy drums and bass in the background give the music a warm and organic feel, in sharp contrast to the canned beats that predominate in hip-hop (with a few exceptions) these days. Perhaps most importantly, the fourteen songs here are all irresistibly catchy. If you can't bob your head to tunes like "Excursions," "Buggin' Out," the aptly titled "Butter," and the concluding rave-up "Scenario," chances are you're way too uptight. Busta Rhymes's guest spot on "Scenario" even makes me want to get down, and there are few people out there more rhythmically impaired than I. "The Low End Theory" is a great reminder of how little things like fun and artistry could make for a great album. That's certainly a lesson that more people in every genre would be well advised to heed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless. Represents the artistic apex of the medium., June 17 2003
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
RUN DMC's "Raising Hell" set the standard. It raised the flag for Hip Hop. Run, Darryl Mack, and Jay were the undisputed masters of their domain...
Until Eric B & Rakim's "Paid In Full" raised the bar with unprecedented lyrical composition, and a superbly elegant flow, all backed by the distilled funk of the Godfather of Soul himself. Nobody could touch Rakim...
Until Public Enemy's "It Takes a Nation of Millions" brought together revolutionary musical production, socially relevant rhymes, Chuck D's ethereal voice, and combined them into a package that seemingly maximized all of the genre's possibilities. "Nations" was clearly the Sergeant Pepper of the Rap canon; nothing would ever surpass it. Or so it seemed...
All Tribe's "Low End Theory" manages to do is amalgamate and refine all that came before it. Lyrics, beats, rhymes, and message; it boils rap down to it's essential essence and completely removes the filler. They dethrone the original Kings from Queens, the new trio makes the old seem quaint and antiquated by comparison. Ron Carter's live basslines trump my once beloved Eric B scratches and canned James Brown samples. Somehow this album makes even the mighty works of P.E. feel orchestrated, while this set simply feels effortless (great artists always make the impossible look easy).
Nothing I've heard sense has even come close for me. And after 12 years, I think it's probably safe to go ahead and call this the greatest Hip Hop album of all time.
An absolutely essential purchase for Hip Hop fans, R&B fans, Jazz afficianados, and anyone who claims to be able to appreciate great music with an unprejudiced ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hip-hop's answer to Miles' Kind of Blue., Dec 6 2002
By 
H. Brumfield (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
Guru and Premier from Gang Starr might have introduced jazz to hip-hop on their uneven 1989 debut No More Mr. Nice Guy, but a year and a half later, with Tribe's Low End Theory, the styles blended perfectly like apples & cheese. This is also one of the genre's most consistent records; from the first note of the first song, you sense what kind of ride you're to be taken on, and you're never disappointed.
Highlights include "Check the Rime," which finds Q-tip and Fife rockin' old-school routines over a Minnie Ripperton sample (and may I say, some had been uneasy about Fife's mic skills until this record silenced all naysayers). "Vibes and Stuff" is particularly groovy, as its entire track is a loop of only one record, by Idris Muhammad, a jazz drummer who has done more for hip-hop than most emcees after 1990. Fife tears up the mic on this one: "All I do is write rhymes, eat, drink, ..."
I think the album reaches its moment of perfection on what, at first glance, is a throwaway track, "Skypager". It's short, perhaps two minutes and some change, with one of the raunchiest jazz basslines ever, which seems to fold in on itself in such a way that it's difficult to tell where the loop ends and begins again. The snare drum fill doesn't end where it would conventionally and carries itself halfway into the first bar of the next section, and the flute solo, augmented by the turntable mechanics of Ali Shaheed Muhammad, is a sublime moment where hip-hop transcends its confines as pop music and truly becomes great art.
But just when you thought it couldn't get better, the album culminates in the posse cut "The Scenario", which features the members of the Leaders of the New School, who have been largely forgotten in the shadow of the success of one of their own, none other than Busta Rhymes. THIS is the track where Busta discovered what was to become his trademark style, not to say schtick: the growling. Anyone who doesn't like Busta, or thinks they like him now, are urged to check out Leaders of the New School's first album, before he sounded like he was continually attempting to pass a hairball. "Chocalatey Chocko, the Chocolate Chicken!"
So, what have we learned? Low End Theory is the apex of A Tribe Called Quest's brilliant career, and one of the most significant albums of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This IS hiphop, Nov. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
First off Id like to say that the guy before is right. There is barely (except the Roots, Common, J5, etc) any mainstream talent like this anymore but Dre is one of the originals and even though he doesnt rythme about truly thoughtful topics, he still has crazy mic skills. There is talent out there but its in a little known place called the underground where real mcs live.
Anyway, this is a review, so ill review:
THIS CD IS ONE OF THE BEST EVER!!
phife, q-tip and ali straight have mic control. But I must warn you that this not a gangsta rap album. This is hiphop. This got soul.
Let me sum it up for you. If you dont know of TCQ or this album then you are not a hiphop fan. Thats okay but if youre starting to get into hiphop, this is a must-have. And I know tons of rap-haters who love Tribe. I dont think there is a person on this earth who doesnt like this cd. The beats are jazzy, and arent you sick of hearing the same beats by the Neptunes, or any of those soldout rappers who are looking for "bling-bling" and rapping about their money and their [girls]?
TCq has no blingbling and dont want any. They were raised and put out music in a time when hiphop meant more than illiterate rappers who make up words so they can rythme...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ATCQ: The Greatest Rap Group Ever !!!, Aug. 24 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
A Tribe Called Quest is by far my favorite Rap group ever because no one can or has matched the skills these guys have. They know how to make albums as well as hits. No one can say that they are really into Hip-hop if they don't agree with what I'm saying. I remember when this first came out. Everybody was talking about this album and everyone that knew I had it wanted to borrow it from me. It was crazy! The Low End Theory is the climax of ATCQ's history and it will go down as one of the greatest contributions to rap. Just check this album out if you haven't done so already and you will know exactly what I mean. I highly recommend buying their first album as well, People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm, which is as good if not better than this. Get Midnight Marauders after you have completely immersed and absorbed yourself in the first two albums and your looking for more. But don't look any further past their third album for more of the jazzy sound that you like because their style changes a little and is quite different than their first three albums. But their later albums are better than a lot of stuff that is out there now. Oh yeah if your a casual listener than buy the Anthology but if you really want to hear ATCQ than just buy their albums. I promise you will not regret it. A Tribe Called Quest is the Best! PEACE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Low End Theory
Low End Theory by a Tribe Called Quest (Audio CD - 1999)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews