Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars classic must
This CD is one I will replace no matter how many times it gets stolen lost or broken. If you like A Tribe you will know why, if you don't know a Tribe, then wake up
Published on July 5 2004 by dr_bower

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vinyle piteux, album digne de louange
Le vinyle en soie est de mauvaise qualité. En le sortant de l'emballage il était déjà ondulé. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une production du début des années 90, le consommateur contemporain s'attend à beaucoup plus d'efforts de la part des maisons de disque qui publient ces albums. C'est à dire que de nos jours, le...
Published on Feb. 5 2012 by Dominic


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Vinyle piteux, album digne de louange, Feb. 5 2012
Le vinyle en soie est de mauvaise qualité. En le sortant de l'emballage il était déjà ondulé. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une production du début des années 90, le consommateur contemporain s'attend à beaucoup plus d'efforts de la part des maisons de disque qui publient ces albums. C'est à dire que de nos jours, le vinyle de 180 grammes devrait être le standard minimum. Au-delà de ce défaut, l'album est excellent. Je dois mon coup de coeur à Busta Rhymes qui fait une apparition surprenante.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic must, July 5 2004
By 
"dr_bower" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
This CD is one I will replace no matter how many times it gets stolen lost or broken. If you like A Tribe you will know why, if you don't know a Tribe, then wake up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tribe Called Quest - The Low End Theory, June 23 2004
By 
M.C. Ol' Skool (from the old school) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
If People's Instictive... was a classic, then this album was even better. It gave Phife Dawg a chance to shine in his own right (see "Butter") and Q-Tip was sounding better than ever, especially on "What" and "Verses from the Abstract". Everyone knows about the posse cut "Scenario" with Leaders of the New School (Busta and Brown rip it), but don't forget about another posse cut, "Show Business" with Lord Jamar, Sadat X and Diamond D. This posse cut is just as good as, if not better than, "Scenario".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless Perfection, April 22 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
These are some of the words to describe the Tribes second album I bought it and it is now one of my most listen to albums this thing is butter and the whole thing just blends and is smooth as a babies bottom are JJ Reddicks jumper you pick.As I said this is a perfect album and it even has jazz musisian Ron Carter live on some songs just flawless masterpiece.
1.Excurtions-This one is a classic song 10/10
2.Buggin Out-what a verse by Phife Dawg on this 10/10
3.Rap promoter-a smooth song Q-Tip does good nice 10/10
4.Butter-Phife got like 5 verses on the album this is great 10
5.Verses from the abstract-Just another classic on here 10/10
6.Show bussiness-This one is a posse cut 10/10
7.Vibes and stuff-no doubt this is no filler on here 10/10
8.Classic example of a date raper-also great song 10/10
9.Check the Rhime-Great by both of them a classic single 10/10
10.Everything is Fair-Great chorus on this album 10/10
11.We've got the jazz-what a beat for them 10/10
12.Skypager-Even this is not really even filler still smooth 10
13.What-Busta Rhymes should have been on here to his beat 10/10
14.Senario-The Banger of Bangers features L.O.N.S. 10/10
This is like illmatic in that it sounds like one big song 48 minute song this thing is great by Q-Tip and Phife Dawg
Lyrics 10/10 Production 10/10 X Factor 10/10 Style 10/10 Voice10
Music 10/10 Innovative 10/10 Classic 10/10 guest 10/10 Blends 10
Overall=100 wich means 5 Mic classic *****Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Check the TRIBE!!!!, April 14 2004
By 
Wayne Maye (Petersburg,VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
1991 was a GREAT year in hip hop. I was glad to see Organized Konfusion, Public Enemy, Ice Cube, Main Source, and others drop GEMS. Also, A Tribe Called Quest with their second album. This album is one of the greatest EVER, and it's production(and lyrics as well) is what pushed it over the top. If you didn't feel the impact on their first album, you DEFINITELY felt it on this album. Here's the review:
Album Highlights: NO filler, but the HIGHLIGHTS are Check the rhyme, Buggin out, Butter, Show Business(w/Brand Nubian & Diamond D), Jazz, and Scenario(w/Leaders Of The New School).
Production: Thumbs up, Ali Shaheed's BEST production ever.
Lyrics and Subject Matter: Thumbs up.
Originality: Thumbs up.
The Last Word: The GREATEST album from the ATCQ catalog. Most artists' second album usually cannot touch their first, but the Tribe did it, and they did it in style and grace. A STRONG RECOMMENDATION for this album if you don't own it. Don't be left out on owning one AWESOME album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moment in time, April 1 2004
By 
The Sesh (Waset, Kamit) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
During the late 80s the torch of conscious lyricism had been handed to the Native Tongues (Jungle Brothers, De La Soul, and A Tribe Called Quest). The difference between them and other conscious lyricist of the time such as Boogie Down Productions and Public Enemy was their more relaxed, spiritual presentation. This created a new sound to Hip Hop which became mastered by New York's own, A Tribe Called Quest, with their sophomore release, "Low End Theory", in 1991. The heavy jazz influence was revolutionary at the time along with Q-Tip's Slick Rick style flow. This is the reason this record is hailed as a classic. It represented a pinnacle era where groups like Brand Nubian, Organized Konfusion, and Gang Starr were the faces of true Hip Hop. It also gave birth to later acts like Digable Planets, The Fugees, and The Roots to debut in the early 90s. Despite assassination attempts on Hip Hop in the mid 90s artist remembered these earlier groups which gave birth to the more contemporary kings of conscious lyricism like Talib Kweli and Blackalicious. Though Low End Theory is recognized as a classic it's true significance may not come until several decades when it will represent Hip Hop much in a way that Miles Davis' Kind of Blue has become regarded as the benchmark of Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy Classic, March 16 2004
By 
P. Mcmahon "Skeeter" (Dallas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
ATCQ! this cd is so funky i love every minute of this if you enjoy Mos Def,Talib Kweli,Common,Pharcyde,Pharoahe Monch and Prince Po then you will enjoy any tribe cd this is one to start your collection of with
P.S. Q-Tip is so smooth
Favorite Track:We Got The Jazz
Guests:Busta Rhymes
10 of 10 lyrics 10 of 10 beats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the ELITE, Feb. 28 2004
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
This is the follow-up to the classic People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm. And it, suprisingly, lives up to all expectations. Low End Theory is jam-packed with quality, jazzy beats. It has excellent word play and both Q-Tip and Phife both shine on this excellent album. All it's songs are flawless and have great rhymes. The best songs from this Earth shattering album are "Scenario" "Check the Rhyme" "Butter" and "Excursions" This is a TREMENDOUS album.
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this album to any hip-hop fan. Though not the greatest, it, like ATCQ's first album, is among the elite. I would recommend this album along with People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm. They both portray how innovatice ATCQ was. This, is a hip-hop essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TCQ at Its Best, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
If you want to listen to one of the best albums ever made, I reccomend picking this one up. The beats and the rhymes are outstanding. Q - Tip and Fife spit hardcore on this record and compile a classic masterpiece. I tried to pick out a favorite song on this cd but I couldn't. All the tracks are catchy and I never skipped over songs while listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Word: Classic, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Low End Theory (Audio CD)
Classic is the only word that can describe this album. "The Low End Theory" was an album from A Tribe Called Quest that set the groundwork for a number of great albums to follow from this great trio. Nowadays, the rap albums at the top of the Billboard charts consist of a few "good" songs that are released as singles, and a bunch of garbage songs in between. Not here. Every track on this album is solid. I just put it in the CD player, hit play, and listen to the entire album without skipping any tracks. The rhymes on this album are ahead of their time, and if you listen to songs today, you will hear a lot of artists spitting the same lines that Phife and Q-Tip spit on this album. The two feed off each other perfectly and have a chemistry that sounds great. While they are not together today, their many albums are still great and I could listen to these two spit all day.
My 3 Favorite Tracks:
Butter
Scenario
What?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3c0b630)

This product

Low End Theory
Low End Theory by a Tribe Called Quest (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews