Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One Day you're here baby...and then ya gone!!!
UGK's third album is the album when they came with it lyrically. Their other albums were built around thumping grooves and samples with playalistic rhymes about life. While they still rap about their lives, now they are RIPPING songs to shreds. Bun B comes into his own on this album and proves why his name is mentioned among the most slept on mc's ever to grace a mic...
Published on July 19 2003 by Enlightened

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Meruit & Unjust Enrichment
Not since jam master Slicey Dice proffered unalloyed alluvial capacities in his 1989 masterpiece "Eat Da Meat, B*tch!" has the music industry heard anything quite like this reticulated casus belli, wherein slap master F*cky G takes a long, hard look at society's natatory polymorphism and decides he doesn't really dig it after all. Well, my good man, it's too...
Published on Nov. 25 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One Day you're here baby...and then ya gone!!!, July 19 2003
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
UGK's third album is the album when they came with it lyrically. Their other albums were built around thumping grooves and samples with playalistic rhymes about life. While they still rap about their lives, now they are RIPPING songs to shreds. Bun B comes into his own on this album and proves why his name is mentioned among the most slept on mc's ever to grace a mic. The production as always is excellent and the samples are still going on on this album. And if there was ever a song to pop that collar to, it would have to be "Pinky Ring", that song is for the playas around the way. The album's title "Ridin Dirty" does the album justice as it is perfect for your car while you are just cruising around. "Diamonds & Wood" is just playalistic cruising with one hand on the wheel seat back in that gangsta lean...just chillin and ridin. I would compare this album to Outkast's first album "SPCM", every joint is borderline classic if not a classic. "3 In the Mornin", "One Day", "F... My Car", the title track, and "Hi Life" are all bumping tracks. Any true hip hop fan should have at least heard this album and more likely than not own it somehow someway. Dirty South Masterpiece. Five stars easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a CLASSIC it flows smooth like spring water, Oct. 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
UGK RIDIN DIRTY is one of the best rap albums of all time. Since POCKET FULL OF STONES on the MENACE II SOCIETY soundtrack came out in 1991 I have been a true PIMP C and BUM B SWISHER SWEET SMOKIN supporter. This album jams from start to finish . ONE DAY and PINKY RING ARE THE TOP 2 SONGS although every other song is just as good. I like the way they use live instruments with droppin bass and super crisp lyrics. UGK has been on several No Limit releases and No Limit should be honored to have them. I am lookin straight forward to DIRTY MONEY it was supposed to release back in April but it was pushed back until today 10-26-99 Pick it up I am sure it will be TIGHT but I dont think anything can outdo RIDIN DIRTY. KEEP IT TIGHT UGK AND I GOT YOU IN THE CD CHANGER 24-7. KEEP SMOKIN---TO THE ORIGINAL DOWN SOUTH HUSTLERS !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have for Any Music Collection, May 9 2003
By 
Wes (Beaumont, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
In my mind, this is hands down the greatest rap album of all time. This is such an amazing album, from top to bottom... not a single mediocre track on it. It's a damn shame not very many people know about UGK outside of TX, but I have a feeling all that's gonna change in the near future. This album was put out 7 years ago, and it's still 100 times better than a lot of the whack stuff being passed off as rap these days. Seriously, it's almost excruciating to listen to 99.9% of hip-hop put out 7 years ago these days, but not this one.... just buy the cd and you'll see. Matter of fact, you need to get all of UGK's albums, but if you can just buy one, this is definitely the one to get... trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Top Ten Albums of all time, March 7 2003
By 
G. Johnson "gordonbones" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
This album ranks up there with Nas's Illmatic, Jay-Z's Reasonable Doubt, Dr. Dre's Chronic, and the first three A Tribe Called Quest Albums. Ridin' Dirty is so smooth and it still bangs in my ride and this album is 7 years old. The best songs are "One Day," "Murder," "Pinky Ring," "Diamonds & Wood," and my personal favorite along with track 5 is "Hi-Life" because that song is so real. These are no sugarcoated, powder puff rappers that you hear on the radio. UGK is too real. Get UGK's entire collection because they never put out a wack album. Even their "Side Hustles" album which is more like a guest appearances greatest hits is their worst album and that's bangin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tight A$$ CD, Jan. 25 2002
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
First off let me start by saying diamonds and wood is the tightset song i have ever heard. man i don't think there will ever be another song as tight as diamonds and wood, and im talking bout from anybody, that includes jay-z cash money no limit, and even 2pac.this cd is tight from start to finish, what i don't understand is why all of these wack groups and labels like cash money, no limit, and rocafella getting all of this recognition and ugk is still considered underground, and still not being respected and none of these wack groups or labels can come close to them. well this is a must for anybody that listens to ugk, and who loves 3rd coast rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...tight fa'sho..., Sept. 30 2001
By 
R. Davis "upfromsumdirt" (louisville, ky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
...these boys done f@&ked around and got a triple-double with this! the production on here is rich and deep...you can play this on your granmama's ol' clock radio and its gonna make you sit up and lissen! it's true, tho, they aint sayin a whole lot...references to drugs and sex are integrated into damn near every verse! but they are so skilled in creating lyrical landscapes and the production is so tight that true hip hop fans wont complain too much...but if you want insight and meaning then check out mos def, talib, outkast or any of the old school recordings that are still out there. these boys only wanna keep it crunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Won Me Over, Nov. 30 2001
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
First off, I want to make it clear that I don't even like much rap music. I'm heavy metal, punk rock to the bone. When I heard this album back in '96 it only took one listen to get me hooked on it. These guys are just unreal, they have some off the best beats, lyrics, and vocals I've ever heard when it comes to rap music, and I've heard plenty of other artists in this genre. I like the way they combine emotion with pure, raw talent. To sum this up, this is an esential cd for anyone's music collection, no matter what style of music you're into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 REAL THO, March 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
THIS WAS THE REALIST OF THE REALIST EVER WROTE. MYSELF NOT BEING FROM PA, BUT TRAVELING THERE FROM TIME TO TIME AND LIVING IN THE ROCK. I FEEL THIS MUSIC WRITTEN BY THESE GUYS. (CHAD)PIMP C SAYS THINGS I CAN FEEL AND RELATE TO. HE SPEAKS OF HOW THESE WOMEN TODAY ONLY CARE OF WHAT YOU DRIVE AND HOW MUCH MONEY YOU GOT. THIS IN ITSELF MAKES MEN GET ON THE GRIND AND DO WHATEVER IT TAKES TO GET A DOLLAR. ALL FOR THE LOVE OF MONEY. MOST OF ALL THIS IS A KIND OF MUSIC I KNOW MOST PEOPLE CAN RELATE TO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxed., Oct. 10 2000
By 
"thegreatgrizant" (Eindhoven, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
Positives: A really laid back album that'll keep you in a relaxed mood. Both members of Underground Kings have really distinct voices and tight Southern accents. An all around nice album to bump when you just want to sit back and chill.
Negatives: Nothing here for those who want inventive or "meaningful" topics in their rap. This isn't exactly Dead Prez or Common. These guys don't have the lyrical skills of someone like Pac, Eminem, or Canibus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UGK Holdin' it down for TEXAS, Aug. 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Ridin' Dirty (Audio CD)
Ridin' Dirty .....man I can't explain it! UGK keeps it so real
and so gangsta! They represent for us TEXANS! UGK keeps it so trill they won't change their style just to get exposure outside
of TEXAS. That's why they are called UNDER GROUND KINGS!
Pimp C & Bun B have the best lyrics ever. I got the album Ridin'
Dirty back in '96 & I still bang it till this day! I never get
tired of this one....... DeDe from Austin TX representing '21
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridin' Dirty
Ridin' Dirty by Ugk (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews