Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really deserves more than five stars!
This album will ram your head through a brick wall! There are so many great elements in it. It's a shame that more people haven't heard it, as it truly is a work of genius. It's true that King Diamond's approach to singing is a bit unusual and takes some getting used to, but he really is an excellent singer who grows on you after a while. If you like vocalists such...
Published on March 21 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and solid.
I've had Abigail for several years, and I still find it to be a solid and interesting piece of music. "The Family Ghost" was the first song that I remember hearing from King Diamond in 1987. I still think that it's a cool tune after all of these years. All of the tracks are energetic and listenable. King Diamond is truly a very distinctive, dramatic, and...
Published on Sept. 15 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really deserves more than five stars!, March 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
This album will ram your head through a brick wall! There are so many great elements in it. It's a shame that more people haven't heard it, as it truly is a work of genius. It's true that King Diamond's approach to singing is a bit unusual and takes some getting used to, but he really is an excellent singer who grows on you after a while. If you like vocalists such as Bruce Dickinson (formerly of Iron Maiden) and Rob Halford (formerly of Judas Priest), then you'll probably like KD's vocal style. What really sets him apart, however, is his music-writing ability. The instrumental music on ABIGAIL is so complex and full of contrasting moods and tempos that it might not sink in the first time you hear it; however, after giving it a few more listens, you'll never be able to live without it again. Guitarists Andy La Rocque and Michael Denner deserve special praise, as their playing -- particularly Andy's blinding speed and Mike's emotional, melodic leads -- is simply astounding. Without exaggeration, these are two of the best guitarists on the globe, and they have been grossly overlooked and underrated. Not only is the playing terrific, the actual guitar sound itself is the best I've ever heard on any album; it sounds downright evil! The bass playing of Timi Hansen is also strong and solid, and drummer Mikkey Dee unleashes very complex patterns with creativity and enormous technical skill. I've owned ABIGAIL for about ten years now, and it still sends shivers down my spine. If you're seriously into metal (and I mean REAL metal, not the corny alternative stuff you hear on the radio incessantly), then you NEED this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond's finest., June 28 2004
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
King Diamond, Abigail (Roadrunner, 1986)
Imagine a perfectly written gothic horror novel about a demon child capable of possessing anyone who inhabits the house where her grave lies. Now imagine it turned into a disc with the same quality as the novel. You now have a basic idea of Abigail.
King Diamond's finest moment, either solo or with Mercyful Fate, is this disc. Both concept and execution are flawless. Not only is this the finest heavy metal concept album ever released, it is among the finest concept albums released in any genre. No overly-long filler tracks, nothing that wanders away from the premise off into its own little world. Nothing but plot and characterization. In fact, the story is so strong it cries out to be reviewed as a novel, not a musical performance.
If you're familiar with King Diamond, you don't need a description of what you're likely to find; those unfamiliar with find heavy metal that sits on the border between goth and thrash (King Diamond's solo projects all sound, probably not coincidentally, exactly like Mercyful Fate), with vocals that ping-pong back and forth between contralto growl and falsetto screech, hitting most everything in between along the way. King Diamond's voice is something of an acquired taste, to be sure. Abigail, however, is so lyrically strong that it's worth the multiple spins required to listen to Diamond's voice, for those who aren't already fanatics. This is an essential album, by any standards. Destined for classic status. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To The Chapel In The Forest. There's A Coffin Waiting., June 19 2004
By 
maiden pa. "gammaraider" (bedford, pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
The first time I listened to this CD I was hooked. It just has a constant flow from end to end. It has the great drumming of Mickey Dee and the guitar work of Laroque and Denner. It's just one of the best metal CD'S I ever owned. Buy the remastered one because it has the better quality recording. Every time I listen to it, it's the same as the first time. It's King Diamond's best CD along with Fatal Portrait. Buy them both,the remastered ones. I've never heard a better concept CD. 5 stars is not enough.Turn out the lights and enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS #@!$ ROCKS!, May 11 2004
By 
David A. Elliott (PORTLAND, OREGON, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
YEAH, DIAMOND CAN'T SING....BUT IT'S JUST THE WAY IT IS. THE MUSIC IS RIPPIN', THE LYRICS AND STORY ARE AWESOME, AND (IT MAY TAKE A WHILE, BUT) DIAMOND'D RIDICUOUSNESS GROWS ON YOU. I FIND THAT THIS STUFF MUST NOT BE LISTENED TO IN MIXED COMPANY. OTHERS JUST DON'T GET IT AND THEY WILL WONDER HOW ON EARTH YOU DO. THIS IS A METAL CLASSIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, Feb. 18 2004
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
This is a true piece of metal history. Maybe this is Kings most famous album, and the greatest too probably. The album starts out with killertracks like arrival, a mansion in darkness (which i totally love the opening riff in) and the family ghost. The others songs are great too, but not as good as the three first ones. Nothing you really can complain about here. Buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Brilliant, Awesome, Incredible!!!!, June 16 2001
By 
Masked Jackal (Ft. Lauderdale, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
First off, this is not Satanic Metal....I just wanted to get that straight.
What this is, is nothing short of genius. I love King Diamond, and Abigail was the first King I ever picked up.
From the very first listen, I was addicted for life. This story is bone-chilling, and the production is flawless. This release opened up all kinds of new doors in the world of Heavy Metal.
Some may consider this Kings 2nd or even his 3rd best recording, putting Mercyful Fates' "Mellissa" or "Don't Break The Oath" above it, and that's alright. I love both of those releases as well....
Nobody does it quite like King, and even today, he's still going strong. His latest release "House Of God" is excellent as well.
Many people may be turned-off by his make-up, or his scary stories, but let me tell you something, after listening to this, none of that will matter anymore. You will be so impressed with the pure talent these guys hold, that you'll beat yourself for not buying this earlier.....TRUST ME.
I've been a Metalhead since 1980, and Iron Maiden are my favorite Heavy Metal band. Not since Maidens "Piece Of Mind" has there been a release that has effected me as much as this did. I put "Abigail", "Mellissa", and "D.B.T.O." in the top 10 Heavy Metal recordings of all-time!!!
Even after "Abigail", King has stayed true to his nature, and in these days, that's very rare. I hope you enjoy every second of Abigail, I know I do.....every single time I hear it.
If you like this, and I'm sure you will, check out all of the other CD's I mentioned above.....They are all considered monumental releases in the history of Heavy Metal.
UP THE IRONS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece from the Edgar Allen Poe of heavy metal..., Dec 12 2000
By 
B. G. Shultz "pyfr" (Rockwall, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
King Diamond creates more atmosphere in the first four songs on this album than some horror writers do in five hundred pages. Following the course of his spectacular "Fatal Portrait" album, King delivers conceptually and musically on this album.
The story involves the possession of a young woman by the ghost of a stillborn child and the attempts of her distraught husband to rectify the situation. The music is a complex neo-classical/metal hybrid with some of the most melodic solos and powerful drumming ever. And then, of course, there's King. While the man's Satanic parading and piercing falsetto have driven away more than a few would-be fans, it must be said that his melodic lines and vocal harmonies are absolutely outstanding. He can jump from a demon growl to a glass-shattering wail effortlessly, and his lyrics are pure poetry (even more impressive when one considers that the man is Danish- most native English speakers would be hard pressed to rival his mastery of the language). His own religious beliefs are not at all apparent on this album (unlike the Mercyful Fate albums), so those who are sensitive about crap like that can enjoy as well. Abigail is a wonderful ghost story in a Gothic setting, with some of the most tasteful music ever as a backdrop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Along with Them and Conspiracy, a Must-Have, June 12 2000
By 
D. Read "Maximumdread" (GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
Abigail is my favorite King Diamond record. To me, there are three essential King Diamond records: Abigail, Them, and Conspiracy. These three records comprise some of the best metal recorded in the late 80s. It's hard to put King Diamond, the band, in a category. This is metal for sure, but may not appeal to die-hard thrash/death/speed metal fans who shy away from melody and harmonies. That's not to say that this goes as far as Helloween or other such melodic-metal bands, but it's more towards that ballpark.
King Diamond, and these three records, work so well because of a perfect combination of great songwriting; inspired and extremely skillful playing; tight, well-rehearsed arrangements; and the chemistry and personality of the players. Mikkey Dee is one of the great unsung metal drummers. Andy LaRoque's hooks and flourishes are always a joy. Earlier and later King Diamond records suffer from the lack of at least one of these qualities, or from the lack of some of the personnel. Mikkey Dee, especially, is sorely missed in the post-Conspiracy era. The songwriting on the later records is lacking the great hooks of the Abigail/Them/Conspiracy triumverate (but, after 1990, songwriting for most metal bands changed in a way I did not like). Also, King's story conceptions on these three records have always seemed to me to be more inspired.
The bottom line is that there are plenty of people who are never going to like Kind Diamond. Either they're simply not into this kind of metal, or they can never get used to King's singing style. For my money, though, these three records are important, inspired, and a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bloodmaster, Oct. 31 2003
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
A great album with great guitarwork and excelent singing,Bye it or die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By Far The Greatest, July 26 2003
By 
Mark Flickinger (Hanover, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abigail-Remastered (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of King Diamond's music for 15 years now and "Abigail" remains my favorite. Even though "Them" was the one that really put King on the map as a solo artist I still think that "Abigail" rocks harder and tells a more interesting story. Yes, I probably don't need to mention that this is a concept album. It tells the story of the ghost of a stillborn baby named Abigail who haunts the mansion of her parents'. Or so it seems. You really have to study the lyrics to get a lot of it and I honestly didn't fully understand it until I read the lyrics to "Abigail II-The Revenge" which reveals a little more. King Diamond's voice just shines throughout this entire CD and he had the best lineup for his band on this one as well. Michael Denner and Andy Laroque on guitars, Timi Hanson on bass, and Mikkey Dee on drums (who is now with Motorhead). My favorite track by far is "A Mansion In Darkness". The intro features some great guitar harmonies and the drum beat makes you think of a horseman "riding up the alley in the rain" as the lyrics say. Other great tracks include "The Black Horsemen" with it's very haunting classical intro and "The Possession" which has an almost grunge feel to the guitar riffs. But don't worry!! There ain't nobody named Kurt playing guitar on this album. Not only is "Abigail" my favorite King Diamond album. But I would go as far as to say it is one of the best metal albums of all time. Period!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abigail-Remastered
Abigail-Remastered by King Diamond (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews