Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great music.
Thanks, great music.
Published 12 days ago by errol ramjattan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Queen rises to greatness.
This might be called Queen's first real rock album. Queen and Queen 2 had some medieval and even religious overtones. Heart Attack has some real gems like Killer Queen and Now I'm Here. It wouldn't be Queen without some real oddball songs like Leroy Brown. Still a good album and Queen was always good for stretching themselves musically and not staying in a certain...
Published on Nov. 29 2000 by Eric James Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great music., July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thanks, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Queen Attack, Aug. 2 2006
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Sheer Heart Attack (1974), the third album from ever-legendary Queen.

This resembles A Night At the Opera, their yet-to-come masterpiece, being an eclectic work of original songs, which vary from sheer rock ( Stone Cold Crazy) to vaudeville (Bring Back Leroy Brown). Good, good.

So, the tunes..

1) Brighton Rock: Opens with carnival sound. Freddie uses his lovely falsetto and then lowers his voice, nice work. The story told is quite fun.

2) Killer Queen: Their first international hit is indeed a killer. A Freddie pop-rock song, I enjoy the backing vocals very much there.

3) Tenement Funster: A Roger-piece, he also offers the vocals, good and raunchy as ever. I like this song.

4) Flick Of The Wrist: Similar to Death On Two Legs, storywise. I just love the chorus! Nice and flowing pop-rockish song.

5) Lily Of The Valley: Short and sweet, similar (to me at least) to Nevermore on Queen II.

6) Now I'm Here: Familiar from hit collections and concerts. A good rock staple.

7) In The Lap Of The Gods: The beginning of this song clarifies why mr Taylor is credited for his screams; very 'showstopping'. I adore Roger as a vocalist! (and a drummer, too)

8) Stone Cold Crazy: Even Metallica covered this one. Original is better. Fast-paced and rocking.

9) Dear Friends: Time to cool things down with this endearing yet short tune. I really like these short numbers Queen has on these earlier records, but I always wish they were longer...

10) Misfire: John Deacon's first tune! Enchanting one, this! Very much his "style" already.

11) Bring Back That Leroy Brown: Freddie goes vaudeville! A funny piece, love the "We want Leroy for president..." -part.

12) She Makes Me: Brian-sung and -written piece, slow and flowing. Soothing.

13) In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited: Probably the more famous "Lap" -song. Everybody knows at least the "Whoo-ooo, la la laa..." -bit. So good an ending for the album, I love this song!

Overall, this is one of my favourite Queen-albums, one of the real classic ones.

In fact, this is one of my fave-ever albums!

Once you are familiar with Queen (= have Greatest Hits, A Night At The Opera, The Game..) this is a safe choice. I predict you will love this album! Do not hesitate! :o)

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Aug. 2 2011
What more can you say about classic Queen! The sound quality is outstanding and the extra tracks are worth rebuying this CD for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant album from Queen, Aug. 30 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
A brilliant rock album and there's lot's billiant songs on there that didn't make it on to the Gretest Hits album and enough to make a good contribution to a Greatest Hits IV. Now I'm Here and Killer Queen are the best tracsk but most of the others are really good and enjoyable. Apart from naming all the songs I like because I think's a waste of time and most of them are very good. So the main reasons you should buy it is it's one of the best albums they made and as I said there's lot's of other good songs that are not in the Greatest Hit's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Friends,, July 20 2004
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
this album is Queen's third (after Queen I and Queen II) and was released in 1974. The first track "Brighton Rock" shows how high Freddie Mercury can sing. It is one of my favourite songs in this album. "Killer Queen" is very much like the first track. I love the parts when there's sung "anytime" and "Wanna try?". "Tenement Funster" and Flick Of The Wrist" are indeed very good tracks. Freddie's voice is very good, indeed! "Lily Of The Valley" is a peaceful song and after it starts "Now I'm Here" which is a collection track, just like "Killer Queen". "In The Lap Of The Gods" is a very good song too. It is quite peaceful but not a ballad. "Stone Cold Crazy" is a fast track. It is one of my favourites too. "Dear Friends" is a peaceful and short track. It is not one of my favourites. It is too short. "Misfire" is a good track too. It is my favourite track after "Killer Queen" and "Brighton Rock. "Bring Back That Leroy Brown" is a funny and playful song. It could have been in "A Night at the Opera", it is like "'39" or other great songs in "Opera". "She Makes Me" is an excellent track too. I love it! "In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited" is a little bit peaceful but still a great track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great, consistent album from Queen, July 4 2004
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
I'm in the minority here among Queen fans in that I don't really like Queen II all that much, but I find Sheer Heart Attack to be a huge improvement. As with their debut album, the album is good and very consistent -- I can listen to it the entire way through without wanting to skip any tracks (although I do dislike "She Makes Me"). A great Queen album, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First flawless Queen album for me IMHO, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
English rockers Queen released their third album Sheer Heart Attack in October of 1974. The album was a huge improvement over the somewhat bland Queen II(my least favorite Queen album and many Queen fans will probably disagree with me on that) and set the pace for their experimentation that they would take to the enth degree on the next two albums A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races. SHA kicks off with guitarist Brian May's Brighton Rock, which had the innovative use of an echo plex during the guitar solo to make it sound like there were two guitarists playing the middle solo and would be his solo showcase for the next three years and then again on the 1978/79 tour(on the '78-'79 tour it was more of an improv with John Deacon's bass and Roger Taylor's drums although Roger had a tympani solo spot and Brian with a guitar solo on his own). Brian also contributed the rocking Now I'm Here and the ballads Dear Friends and She Makes Me(in which he also does lead vocal). Vocalist Freddie Mercury contributed Killer Queen(which was the band's first US Top 20 hit peaking at #12 and pushed the album to #12 in the US and Gold status in sales as a result), the rocking Flick of the Wrist, the ballad Lily of the Valley, the weird In the Lap of the Gods, the ragtimeish Bring Back That Leroy Brown and the closing track In the Lap of the Gods...Revisited. Drummer Roger Taylor wrote the rocking Tenement Funster. Finally, bassist John Deacon wrote his first track for the band Misfire and is the first of many great tracks he would write for Queen in later years. Also, all four members of the group co-wrote Stone Cold Crazy, which was the first song they wrote together as a band. That track would be in the setlist for the next few tours and was also covered by Metallica in 1991. James Hetfield of Metallica also did that track with the surviving members of Queen at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert in April of 1992. This album has aged gracefully in the nearly 30 years since release and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go, Go ,Go little queenie, June 1 2004
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
I guess that there arent any words to discribe how great this is. The reason why i bought this in the first place was that I liked all the songs from "sheer heart attack" that were put on "classic queen", or queen's "greatest hits," which was a good sign because those were two mixed bag conpilations.
But this was nothing but queen at it's most brilliant. It's 100% filler free ( the worst song was misfire simply because it was just good). Freddie Murcury was at his peek here( and that's saying a lot. Plus Has done some downright amazing guitar work ( especially his page-esque solo in the middle of "Brighton Rock").
IT is also one of thier notably more rocking releases featuring songs like "stone cold crazy,""Tenement funster( excellent vocas by may)," and "Now I'm Here". And has some of thier best prog. rock ditties like "in the lap of the gods(parts 1, and 2),"" She makes me( a beutifull prog. ballad sung by may),"
and a song towards the end called "bring back that Leroy Brown," which adds ragtime to queens list of seemingly infinite genre bending.
so as they say...
...leave it in the lap of the gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's first true classic IMHO, May 14 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
English rockers Queen released their third album Sheer Heart Attack in October of 1974. The album was a huge improvement over the somewhat bland Queen II(my least favorite Queen album and many Queen fans will probably disagree with me on that) and set the pace for their experimentation that they would take to the enth degree on the next two albums A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races. SHA kicks off with guitarist Brian May's Brighton Rock, which had the innovative use of an echo plex during the guitar solo to make it sound like there were two guitarists playing the middle solo and would be his solo showcase for the next three years and then again on the 1978/79 tour(on the '78-'79 tour it was more of an improv with John Deacon's bass and Roger Taylor's drums although Roger had a tympani solo spot and Brian with a guitar solo on his own). Brian also contributed the rocking Now I'm Here and the ballads Dear Friends and She Makes Me(in which he also does lead vocal). Vocalist Freddie Mercury contributed Killer Queen(which was the band's first US Top 20 hit peaking at #12 and pushed the album to #12 in the US and Gold status in sales as a result), the rocking Flick of the Wrist, the ballad Lily of the Valley, the weird In the Lap of the Gods, the ragtimeish Bring Back That Leroy Brown and the closing track In the Lap of the Gods...Revisited. Drummer Roger Taylor wrote the rocking Tenement Funster. Finally, bassist John Deacon wrote his first track for the band Misfire and is the first of many great tracks he would write for Queen in later years. Also, all four members of the group co-wrote Stone Cold Crazy, which was the first song they wrote together as a band. That track would be in the setlist for the next few tours and was also covered by Metallica in 1991. James Hetfield of Metallica also did that track with the surviving members of Queen at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert in April of 1992. This album has aged gracefully in the nearly 30 years since release and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An indication of what was to come, May 9 2004
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
There are some delightful moments on Sheer Heart Attack, but mostly it's interesting in that it shows what Freddie and the team were aspiring to, rather than what they had achieved to date.
I don't think Queen had quite the mastery of the studio or their own technique here, and on some tracks it shows. Most glaringly, on opener Brighton Rock Freddie is obliged to abandon falsetto and drop an octave not just mid-way through a line, but in the middle of a word, which I am pretty sure isn't from the bombastic-operatic lead vocalist textbook that Freddie eventually helped to write. Also, Brian May's early experiments with an echoplex, while game, in truth are a bit of a mess (especially compared with the level of proficiency he showed during the (much later) performance of Brighton Rock on "Live Killers").
Elsewhere the album shows the unevenness we've come to know and love in Queen albums: as well as Killer Queen, the tracks Tenement Funster and Now I'm Here are absolute crackers; She Makes Me and the appropriately titled Misfire are less successful.
Af first glance, it is surprising that the one track not included is the ostensible title track - surprising, that is, until you remember that the song wasn't written for a couple of years after this album was released. And anyway, it's a good excuse (were one needed) to buy the exquisite News of the World, which for my money is Queen's finest record, on which Sheer Heart Attack does appear.
Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sheer Heart Attack
Sheer Heart Attack by Queen (Audio CD - 1991)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews