Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Queen Attack
Sheer Heart Attack (1974), the third album from ever-legendary Queen.

This resembles A Night At the Opera, their yet-to-come masterpiece, being an eclectic work of original songs, which vary from sheer rock ( Stone Cold Crazy) to vaudeville (Bring Back Leroy Brown). Good, good.

So, the tunes..

1) Brighton Rock: Opens with carnival sound...
Published on Aug. 2 2006 by Katrina Karell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Queen I fell in love with but still good.
The Queen I first heard rocked and had awesome guitar riffs and vocals but not this. Although this album is pretty good, it's just not the Queen I like. They have some pretty stupid songs on here like Bring Back Leroy Brown and Dear Friends. When I first heard Lap of the Gods I skipped it but it's okay to me now. The rest of the songs are really good but some of...
Published on Feb. 26 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Queen Attack, Aug. 2 2006
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Sheer Heart Attack (1974), the third album from ever-legendary Queen.

This resembles A Night At the Opera, their yet-to-come masterpiece, being an eclectic work of original songs, which vary from sheer rock ( Stone Cold Crazy) to vaudeville (Bring Back Leroy Brown). Good, good.

So, the tunes..

1) Brighton Rock: Opens with carnival sound. Freddie uses his lovely falsetto and then lowers his voice, nice work. The story told is quite fun.

2) Killer Queen: Their first international hit is indeed a killer. A Freddie pop-rock song, I enjoy the backing vocals very much there.

3) Tenement Funster: A Roger-piece, he also offers the vocals, good and raunchy as ever. I like this song.

4) Flick Of The Wrist: Similar to Death On Two Legs, storywise. I just love the chorus! Nice and flowing pop-rockish song.

5) Lily Of The Valley: Short and sweet, similar (to me at least) to Nevermore on Queen II.

6) Now I'm Here: Familiar from hit collections and concerts. A good rock staple.

7) In The Lap Of The Gods: The beginning of this song clarifies why mr Taylor is credited for his screams; very 'showstopping'. I adore Roger as a vocalist! (and a drummer, too)

8) Stone Cold Crazy: Even Metallica covered this one. Original is better. Fast-paced and rocking.

9) Dear Friends: Time to cool things down with this endearing yet short tune. I really like these short numbers Queen has on these earlier records, but I always wish they were longer...

10) Misfire: John Deacon's first tune! Enchanting one, this! Very much his "style" already.

11) Bring Back That Leroy Brown: Freddie goes vaudeville! A funny piece, love the "We want Leroy for president..." -part.

12) She Makes Me: Brian-sung and -written piece, slow and flowing. Soothing.

13) In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited: Probably the more famous "Lap" -song. Everybody knows at least the "Whoo-ooo, la la laa..." -bit. So good an ending for the album, I love this song!

Overall, this is one of my favourite Queen-albums, one of the real classic ones.

In fact, this is one of my fave-ever albums!

Once you are familiar with Queen (= have Greatest Hits, A Night At The Opera, The Game..) this is a safe choice. I predict you will love this album! Do not hesitate! :o)

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Friends,, July 20 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
this album is Queen's third (after Queen I and Queen II) and was released in 1974. The first track "Brighton Rock" shows how high Freddie Mercury can sing. It is one of my favourite songs in this album. "Killer Queen" is very much like the first track. I love the parts when there's sung "anytime" and "Wanna try?". "Tenement Funster" and Flick Of The Wrist" are indeed very good tracks. Freddie's voice is very good, indeed! "Lily Of The Valley" is a peaceful song and after it starts "Now I'm Here" which is a collection track, just like "Killer Queen". "In The Lap Of The Gods" is a very good song too. It is quite peaceful but not a ballad. "Stone Cold Crazy" is a fast track. It is one of my favourites too. "Dear Friends" is a peaceful and short track. It is not one of my favourites. It is too short. "Misfire" is a good track too. It is my favourite track after "Killer Queen" and "Brighton Rock. "Bring Back That Leroy Brown" is a funny and playful song. It could have been in "A Night at the Opera", it is like "'39" or other great songs in "Opera". "She Makes Me" is an excellent track too. I love it! "In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited" is a little bit peaceful but still a great track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First flawless Queen album for me IMHO, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
English rockers Queen released their third album Sheer Heart Attack in October of 1974. The album was a huge improvement over the somewhat bland Queen II(my least favorite Queen album and many Queen fans will probably disagree with me on that) and set the pace for their experimentation that they would take to the enth degree on the next two albums A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races. SHA kicks off with guitarist Brian May's Brighton Rock, which had the innovative use of an echo plex during the guitar solo to make it sound like there were two guitarists playing the middle solo and would be his solo showcase for the next three years and then again on the 1978/79 tour(on the '78-'79 tour it was more of an improv with John Deacon's bass and Roger Taylor's drums although Roger had a tympani solo spot and Brian with a guitar solo on his own). Brian also contributed the rocking Now I'm Here and the ballads Dear Friends and She Makes Me(in which he also does lead vocal). Vocalist Freddie Mercury contributed Killer Queen(which was the band's first US Top 20 hit peaking at #12 and pushed the album to #12 in the US and Gold status in sales as a result), the rocking Flick of the Wrist, the ballad Lily of the Valley, the weird In the Lap of the Gods, the ragtimeish Bring Back That Leroy Brown and the closing track In the Lap of the Gods...Revisited. Drummer Roger Taylor wrote the rocking Tenement Funster. Finally, bassist John Deacon wrote his first track for the band Misfire and is the first of many great tracks he would write for Queen in later years. Also, all four members of the group co-wrote Stone Cold Crazy, which was the first song they wrote together as a band. That track would be in the setlist for the next few tours and was also covered by Metallica in 1991. James Hetfield of Metallica also did that track with the surviving members of Queen at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert in April of 1992. This album has aged gracefully in the nearly 30 years since release and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go, Go ,Go little queenie, May 31 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
I guess that there arent any words to discribe how great this is. The reason why i bought this in the first place was that I liked all the songs from "sheer heart attack" that were put on "classic queen", or queen's "greatest hits," which was a good sign because those were two mixed bag conpilations.
But this was nothing but queen at it's most brilliant. It's 100% filler free ( the worst song was misfire simply because it was just good). Freddie Murcury was at his peek here( and that's saying a lot. Plus Has done some downright amazing guitar work ( especially his page-esque solo in the middle of "Brighton Rock").
IT is also one of thier notably more rocking releases featuring songs like "stone cold crazy,""Tenement funster( excellent vocas by may)," and "Now I'm Here". And has some of thier best prog. rock ditties like "in the lap of the gods(parts 1, and 2),"" She makes me( a beutifull prog. ballad sung by may),"
and a song towards the end called "bring back that Leroy Brown," which adds ragtime to queens list of seemingly infinite genre bending.
so as they say...
...leave it in the lap of the gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's first true classic IMHO, May 14 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
English rockers Queen released their third album Sheer Heart Attack in October of 1974. The album was a huge improvement over the somewhat bland Queen II(my least favorite Queen album and many Queen fans will probably disagree with me on that) and set the pace for their experimentation that they would take to the enth degree on the next two albums A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races. SHA kicks off with guitarist Brian May's Brighton Rock, which had the innovative use of an echo plex during the guitar solo to make it sound like there were two guitarists playing the middle solo and would be his solo showcase for the next three years and then again on the 1978/79 tour(on the '78-'79 tour it was more of an improv with John Deacon's bass and Roger Taylor's drums although Roger had a tympani solo spot and Brian with a guitar solo on his own). Brian also contributed the rocking Now I'm Here and the ballads Dear Friends and She Makes Me(in which he also does lead vocal). Vocalist Freddie Mercury contributed Killer Queen(which was the band's first US Top 20 hit peaking at #12 and pushed the album to #12 in the US and Gold status in sales as a result), the rocking Flick of the Wrist, the ballad Lily of the Valley, the weird In the Lap of the Gods, the ragtimeish Bring Back That Leroy Brown and the closing track In the Lap of the Gods...Revisited. Drummer Roger Taylor wrote the rocking Tenement Funster. Finally, bassist John Deacon wrote his first track for the band Misfire and is the first of many great tracks he would write for Queen in later years. Also, all four members of the group co-wrote Stone Cold Crazy, which was the first song they wrote together as a band. That track would be in the setlist for the next few tours and was also covered by Metallica in 1991. James Hetfield of Metallica also did that track with the surviving members of Queen at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert in April of 1992. This album has aged gracefully in the nearly 30 years since release and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An indication of what was to come, May 9 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
There are some delightful moments on Sheer Heart Attack, but mostly it's interesting in that it shows what Freddie and the team were aspiring to, rather than what they had achieved to date.
I don't think Queen had quite the mastery of the studio or their own technique here, and on some tracks it shows. Most glaringly, on opener Brighton Rock Freddie is obliged to abandon falsetto and drop an octave not just mid-way through a line, but in the middle of a word, which I am pretty sure isn't from the bombastic-operatic lead vocalist textbook that Freddie eventually helped to write. Also, Brian May's early experiments with an echoplex, while game, in truth are a bit of a mess (especially compared with the level of proficiency he showed during the (much later) performance of Brighton Rock on "Live Killers").
Elsewhere the album shows the unevenness we've come to know and love in Queen albums: as well as Killer Queen, the tracks Tenement Funster and Now I'm Here are absolute crackers; She Makes Me and the appropriately titled Misfire are less successful.
Af first glance, it is surprising that the one track not included is the ostensible title track - surprising, that is, until you remember that the song wasn't written for a couple of years after this album was released. And anyway, it's a good excuse (were one needed) to buy the exquisite News of the World, which for my money is Queen's finest record, on which Sheer Heart Attack does appear.
Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen At Their Most Progressive, March 23 2004
By 
E. Minkovitch (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Let's face it. Every Queen album contains filler. The amount of filler is directly proportional to how recent the album happens to be. In other words, the older the material the better it is - which is a general formula applicable to most artists as well as Queen.
Sheer Heart Attack and Queen II are by far the most solid albums of their entire catalog, with unparallelled inventiveness and eclecticism, not to speak of impeccable musicianship.
The two albums are stylistically and conceptually related, but since both cannot be reviewed here, I'll pick S.H.A.Q.
This album covers a lot of ground. There are elements of metal, classic rock, glam, progressive and art rock. Classical music is well represented, particularly with Freddy Murcury's piano playing, which has to be the most underrated in rock. While no Keith Emerson, Mercury is more than capable on the keys - after all he has had classical training, and it is evident throughout the album. The sounds range from the angelic and ethereal to titanic fury, sometimes in the same song. There is '30's pop as well - barbershop harmony and swing-style jazz, courtesy of Brian May, a true guitar scholar. Because of their eclecticism, musical adventurism and well-developed artistic sensibility, one may call Queen an Art Rock band.
"Brighton Rock" and "Stone Cold Crazy" must be the very earliest specimens of speed metal, a genre Queen may have invented on their previous album, and revisited by other bands only a decate and a half later.
"Leroy Brown" is the first Queen attempt at '30's parody, and is outrageously campy, with banjo, tap dancing, swing-guitar, string bass and "all that jazz". And, there is room for great harmonies as well. One of their best songs ever.
"Now I'm Here" - is grandiose glam-rock Queen style, Bowie should be envious. Great Rush-like guitar riffing, pre-dating Rush by a few years. (Did you catch that reference to "Little Queenie" by Chuck Berry?)
"In The Lap On The Gods" - This is Queen at their most pompous and progressive, just listen to the piano and falsetto intro!
"In The Lap On The Gods ...Revisited" - more great pomp rock, Brian May is the undisputed maestro of the leading bass note. Full opera choir comes in for a grand finale. Queen at their best.
"Dear Friends" - a mini-anthem, with just Freddie on vocals and piano, and background harmony coming in later.
"Misfire" - Feel-good classic rock, would be unremarkable if it wasn't for the amazing key changes and gorgeous harmonized guitars (of interest to prog fans!)
"She Makes Me" - good, but does not sound like Queen, therefore uninteresting.
"Tenement Funster" - same comment as above.
"Killer Queen" - this is what Queen is all about. Nothing more to add.
"Flick Of The Wrist" - nice piano intro by Freddie, venom and mayhem - this is Queen at their most melodic. The chorus reminds me a little of Elton John in his better days. Segues seamlessly into "Lilly Of The Valley". Does Queen get any better than this?
"Lily Of The Valley" is a beautiful, ethereal, angelic ballad that rises to a great choral and instumental intensity towards the end.
Although music of Queen is almost impossible to categorize, the album has an overall Art Rock feel to it, due to complex and well constructed compositions, amazingly sophisticated symphonic arrangements (remember, they did not use mellotrons of synths) and self-mocking operatic pomp.
I am treading on dangerous ground here, but I'll stick my neck out and say that this is Queen's best and most consistent album. Of definite interest to anyone who enjoys hard rock, art rock or progressive rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Lack Of A Snappy Title: Amazing, March 18 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Though they're not labelled as such, I think Queen are the true definition of "progressive rock". Even bands that fall under that label like Yes and Genesis, though they are progressive, seem to follow a similar formula most of the time. Queen tends to jerk you around like the Scrambler ride at your local county fair. I guess you could say that they do have a formula-the fact that they always try something different. Queen change music styles and subject matter like my wife does clothing, but always maintain their signature sound. There is just absolutely nobody like Queen-never has been and never will be. Sheer Heart Attack is a fantastic place to start, and if you like Queen and don't have it, shame on you! Don't go buying some Greatest Hits compilation and think you have all the Queen that matters. You're not even close! Although Queen II remains my favorite, this album is fan-frickin-tastic. You get a bunch of songs of all different styles, none of them bad. After hearing "Stone Cold Crazy", you can safely credit Queen with writing the first speed metal song. Even Black Sabbath weren't advanced enough to pull this off. In fact, the riff for Sabbath's "Symptom Of The Universe" sounds very similar to "Stone Cold Crazy". So, basically what it boils down to is if you like Queen, there's no reason why you shouldn't have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's best album, March 13 2004
By 
K. Bentley "amateur critic" (Stratford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
I've been into Queen for a very long time, and Sheer Heart Attack is definitely their most flawless effort, in ny opinion, with Queen II coming in a very close second. It shows their versatility, sophistication and edge without having a song sound out of place or obstentanious. It starts off with "Brighton Rock," one of their greatest rockers, which has Freddie Mercury portraying a man meeting a woman (in his trademark falsetto and masculine vocals divded between the two characters), and the awe-inspiring guitar skills of Brian May. "Now I'm here" also follows in the same path, with anthemic guitars, awesome voclas and pure energy, and "Stone Cold Crazy" set the groundwork for bands like Metallica, in terms of speed. Many of the songs are more epic and dramatic, such as "In the Lap of Gods," and "Flick of the Wrist," as well as the campy, Broadway-esque "Bring Back that Leroy Brown." Even the quick and upbeat "Misfire" is a highlight on this album. All 4 members of the band contributed very worthy songs and ideas to this album, and their talents at each of their instruments is more than obvious (though frankly, May and Mercury had the lion's share of talent in the band, in terms of performance and composition).Many people thought that their next album, A Night at the Opera, was their finest accomplishment, and Opera was a great album, but in my opinion this one was even better. All of the songs were perfect on Sheer Heart Attack, and contains many of their finest songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Heaven For EVERYONE, Jan. 17 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Sheer Heart Attack, with A Night At the Opera and Queen II, will entertain anyone and everyone for the rest of their lives. Every single song is where it should be.
Brighton Rock boasts Freddie Mercury's very feminine (or childlike) falsetto in the beginning, and Brian May's guitar is dazzling and astounding. This song is also May's favourite guitar solo repertoire in concerts.
Killer Queen is, in my very personal opinion, the essence of Mercury's finesse in its purest form. From the beginning to end it is slick, graceful, light yet tense at the same time, like a wound-up cat. The lyric is decadant, yet amusing and very connotative.
Tenement Funster is one of Roger Taylor's best vocals in Queen albums. The guitar is harmonious yet strangely touching. Roger's heavy and stony voice is a very good contrast to Freddie's jem-like one. A great song.
Flick Of The Wrist... (gasp out) This song will knock out anyone with its sheer masterful instruments (Piano, drum, guitar, bass.... perfect) and delicate yet powerful vocal. In my mind a song as great an epic as Bohemian Rhapsody, March of the Black Queen or Prophet's Song. Can't say this is closer to the earlier Queen style... but how can anyone resist this masterpiece?
Lily Of The Valley is as lovely and beautiful as the Love of My Life and as philosophical as... well... anything! The lyric of this song is very Biblical, yet one can detect the fundamental depth into self-reflection and understanding of the speaker's own persona.
Now I'm Here starts with a simplistic staccato guitar playing and Mercury's soft vocal, and delightfully surprises the listener with Mercury's "elastic" voice and heavy instrument. A good concert material and a pleasing song.
In The Lap Of The Gods... What can I say more about this most underrated song... Just listen and you will enter a new world in itself. Possibly one of shortest and most "diverse" songs of Queen. True, a difficult to song to stomach at first... (for me, at least) Listen to other songs and come back to it a little while later. The world will look differently.
Stone Cold Crazy is one of the more "80's" attempts of Queen's... Although it is a rock song, it is a precursor to Sheer Heart Attack the song, but that is simply my opinion. (Ironic that the actual song is not in the album of the same title.) "Machine-like" sounds in the beginning, but sophisticated guitar playing combined with Mercury's incomparable vocal makes the song enjoyable.
Dear Friends... this is what "God Save the Queen" is to A Night In the Opera, but 1000000 times better because of Mercury's voice. I have no idea why this song isn't as popular as it should be... perhaps it is too short.
Misfire is John Deacon's pleasant and funny song. Light-hearted, acoustic, romantic (or erotically comical, if you so insist). Mercury's falsetto is impossibly high, clean and pleasing to anyone.
Bring Back That Leroy Brown is one of my personal favourites. A 20's style, yet so Queen... I don't even know how a rock band can sound like this. This is one of the songs that hooked me (a jazz fan) into rock.
She Makes Me is an enjoyable song... well, personally I tend to think that May's vocal is a little weak, especially compared to Mercury's. (But who can even compare to Mercury?) Still, a delightful nice song.
Although I can name many other good songs from their earlier and even later albums, this album is actually my most favourite. Queen II, although grand and gorgeous, is a little heavy for casual listening. (Strangely, March of the Black Queen is one song that is not heavy to me) A Night At the Opera is a bijou, but some of the songs are not too much of my taste. This album suits any of my mood like a perfect fit. Mercury's voice is at his height. (Although I also love his more "musical-like" voice in the 80's.)
OK, people out there, just buy it. This album deserves 100000 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sheer Heart Attack
Sheer Heart Attack by Queen (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews