Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any real Nirvana fan
In my opinion this is a great way for any Nirvana fan to start their collection. It has many of their great songs on it such as Heart Shaped Box, 'Teen spirit, Sliver, and Lithium and most times some songs such as lithium and drain you sound better live than in they do on Nevermind, because on nevermind they sound too soft. The only dissapointment was that some very...
Published on Dec 20 2003 by dayvhid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok...
L'album est trop "studio" et remastered. Je préfère les bootlegs...
Published on April 1 2004


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any real Nirvana fan, Dec 20 2003
By 
"dayvhid" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is a great way for any Nirvana fan to start their collection. It has many of their great songs on it such as Heart Shaped Box, 'Teen spirit, Sliver, and Lithium and most times some songs such as lithium and drain you sound better live than in they do on Nevermind, because on nevermind they sound too soft. The only dissapointment was that some very important songs in the Nirvana song catologue are missing such as: Rape Me, Dive, About a Girl and All apologies, but even without these songs this album is on of my favorite Nirvana albums, and my favorite non-studio album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent introduction to Nirvana..., Jan. 6 2003
By 
J. Farmer "the-maggot-elite" (Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Originally intended to be released as a double cd along with "Unplugged: Live in NY," this album is THE perfect way for anyone interested in Nirvana to start their collection. As Krist says in the liner notes, "Nirvana started as a live band..." This CD is an excellent sampling of Nirvana's canon in their element...the stage. There is an added slice of attitude in these live versions of the songs that solidify what Nirvana was about. Several songs on the album stand shoulder-to-shoulder with their studio versions if not better. Several I enjoy listening to more than the studio cuts. The best part about "Wishka" is the track selection: you can tell that a true fan compiled this cd (instead of say the greatest hits cd)...hits like Lithium and Heart-Shaped Box are found along side Blew and Spank Thru...spanning the band's career from Bleach to Utero. In conclusion, anyone who is genuinely interested in getting into this great band should pick this album up before Nevermind and (definitely) before the greatest hits album and the real Nirvana fans would miss an integral part of what Nirvana was about without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great live CD, with some live takes better than studio, Nov. 18 2002
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
I really love this album. It gives you a real taste of what Nirvana was like in concert. The editing is such that it seems that you are listening to one whole concert, even though the album is culled from many live performances. Here are the tracks:
1 - Intro - Just a cut of pre-show noise. Has some conversation between Kurt and Krist. Then Kurt screams for some fun, and then we get...
2 - School - This is a "Bleach" cut. It's really well done. It churns and smashes in true form. It isn't the best, but it's a good starter.
3 - Drain You - Kurt's vocals are great. Very raw and it's a great reinterpretation. I would say better than studio, which is saying a lot.
4 - Aneurysm - I love this take. The vocals are hilarious. It's really tight.
5 - Smells Like Teen Spirit - Not even close to the studio version, but it's cool to hear Krist stomp on his distortion pedal during Kurt's solo.
6 - Been A Son - This is a marvelous cover of a Vaselines song. Bursts with energy and it rocks. Kurt loved the Vaselines, and it really shows.
7 - Lithium - I hate this one. The whole take is sharp. Not even close to studio.
8 - Sliver - Krist is so good in the beginning. His tone is awesome. Pat's entrance is marked by some horrific feedback. Kurt concentrated harder on his vocals on the "In Utero" tour, so I think there's more guitar from Pat. Pat's always on the left channel.
9 - Spank Thru - There is a reason why they didn't release this on "Incesticide" or anything else. ...
10 - Scentless Apprentice - For my money, I'd say this track is the best on the album. Bar none. If you listen to the left channel alone on this, you can see why Pat was an idol to both Kurt and Dave. Everyone is in great form, but this is really Pat's track. His distortion is the best EVER. Much, much better than the "In Utero" version, and that was one of my favorite cuts on "In Utero". The fast tempo is great.
11 - Heart-Shaped Box - This is nowhere near "In Utero"'s version. Kurt's solo here though is awesome. Heavy, heavy chorus effect on his solo.
12 - Milk It - Again, Pat is in great form. Listen to him on the left channel (for those of you who don't know what I mean, pan to the left speaker alone.) He's great. Recorded shortly before Kurt died. Really good. It does sound like a Rotovibe is used, although I know no one in Nirvana ever used one. Something with the mixing?
13 - Negative Creep - Pure headbanging enjoyment! I love that thing about "Great Caesar's ghost!" at the beginning.
14 - Polly - Pretty [bad] prethink of the song. It is truly meant to be acoustic and slow, or clean electric when there isn't an acoustic around.
15 - Breed - Don't like this too much either. Channing's drumming is inferior to Grohl's drumming, and you just need that distorted bass.
16 - Tourette's - Krist's intro is simply hilarious. I love the first title - "The Eagle Has Landed". But it needed that thing about "moderate rock" at the beginning.
17 - Blew - So sweet. Great way to end. Double bass drumming!
Great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From the Muddy Banks of Wishka [LIVE], July 16 2004
By 
B. Viberg "Alex Rodriguez" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
From the Muddy Banks of Wishka [LIVE]~ Nirvana is an interesting post nirvana album. The treacks vary greatlin quality. Some are really good like other sound terrible. Overall 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great picks then some god-awful ones., July 1 2004
By 
K. Rowland (Atlanta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Overall this is a good cd to show what nirvana was like live. It gives me some idea since i would have only been 4 when kurt died. I will tell u upfront i love all the bleach songs on this album with david grohl on drums. This is a great album but in the future i hope they will make a better one, along with a new greatest hits(that was a horrible choice of songs on the greatest hits).
1. Intro- Why in the hell include this, ditch it for a song
2.School-sounds awesome with dave at drums
3.Drain You-It is a more hard rock verison of the song but it sounds awful(especially the vocals)
4.Aneyurysm-This sounds great, one of the best songs on the cd
5.Smells Like Teen Spirit-this is a damn emabarrasment a very lazy performance. I have heard way better live versions.
6. Been A SOn-sounds exellent. great choice.
7. Lithium-sounds alright bad vocals at the chorus parts
8. Sliver- Kurt is mumbling the whole time and disotion sounds awful. Damn awful choice.
9. Spank Thru- the beginning sux, but the rest of the song is awesome, it also has an extended guitar solo. Kool song.
10. Scentless Aprrentice- The best song on the cd drums, bass, and guitar are rockin, and Kurt's vocals rock!!
11. Heartshaped Box-Lacks the emotion of the original version, I have also heard great live performances of Heart-Shaped Box on TV why chose this 1?
12. Milk It- This song sounds GREAT the dueling guitars it is just really kool.
13. Negative Creep- SOunds great with dave at drums. Awesome choice.
14.Polly- Thsi more upbeat verison of Polly is great another good song.
15. Breed- God-Awful. They ruined a great song.
16. Tourette's- sounds good but where's the "moderate rock" from IN UTero
17. Blew-Sounds better than studio vertsion great vocals
All in all this album had its ups and downs, but still gets 4 stars from me. If you wanna get Nirvana best live get MTV Unplugged In NEw York, but i am warning u its all on acoustic guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice, June 26 2004
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Nice CD.What you didn't hear live on "MTV Unplugged",you get on this CD.(and some of the same songs,as well).I liked it.If you like live cds,and you like Nirvana,this should be a must have for you.You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Has Kurt got tourette's in this album?!, May 22 2004
By 
Chris "www.twitter.com/chrisMibacache" (Christchurch, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
This album is OK, it is creepy though, there are some awful, awful tracks, I mean really bad! AKA "Milk It". But its ok for a live album, MTV unplugged was much better but this isnt a bad album in the Nirvana legacy. Ill list my favourites from this album and rate them out of 5.
Drain You..4
Smells like Teen spirit...5 (1991-early 1992 must've been the only time the band liked to play this!)
Lithium..3
Scentless Apprentice..4.2 (scary, but good)
Heart Shaped-Box...5
Polly..4
tourette's...5!!!!! I LUV THIS VERSION BUT WHAT RUINS IT IS HE DOSENT SAY "moderate rock" AT THE START LIKE ON "IN UTERO" but its just as good.
and thats it, all the rest are average for my likings, I may not just like the actual song.
Its an OK album straight up, but definitley not as near close to MTV unplugges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dear menthol cig, May 4 2004
By 
Shuhua An "ROCK_guy" (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Dude, before you go on to bash Cobain's vocal abilities, you should get yourself a copy of "unplugged in New York". It'll make a believer outta you. Kurt's voice was genuine and brilliant. His covers for Bowie, vaselines, meatpuppets etc. were so much better than the originals. Radio stations nation wide played "man who sold the world" for weeks after the taping!! I can tell that your not a really a grunge or alt rock fan. Muddy banks is a perfect demonstration as to how these songs were supposed to be performed. Nirvana had always wanted their music to be raw and full of emotion. Granted, kurt was probably high on heroin during most of these performances, but you can't deny his inherent talent and vocal abilities. If you want polished and pretty vocals, you should check out "unplugged", which is in my opinion the greatest live album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album(unknown too), April 7 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Ten years without Kurt cobain and his music still lives. This concert was recorded ten years back, and the cd quality for a live album is amazing. In this album you heir songs from all nirvana albums. They perform their songs so well; it's like your hearing the recorded. Without the crowd going yeah and it wont sound that well. Like it wont sound exactly like it but it's still pretty cool. This live record is also kind of unknown, like not a lot of people no about this album. The sound of Dave Grohls drumming, the sound of Krist Noveselics base, and the guitar and voice of Kurt Cobain, makes an incredible band and makes a great live performance by 3 guys from Seattle.
In this album you heir what some people say is better than the original recording is the version of Tourette's. Which I think the original recording of Tourette's. This album you can like the songs they perform in this album better than the recording of the original. In this album the song I like better than the recording is "Lithium". I like this version better, so for as "smells like teen spirit". This is a very must if you are a true hardcore Nirvana fans. You will not regret buying this great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mix of live songs., April 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Nirvana is one of the greatest bands, if not the greatest band ever. This mixture of live songs on this cd is amazing. Kurt's vocals sound so good in these live songs and when he sings it almost like your at the concert you can just feel the energy. Although great songs like "rape me" and "about a girl" this cd is still a perfect 5. I perfer this cd to any nirvana fan.
RIP- Kurt Cobain and Layne Staley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb678c1ec)

This product

1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank
1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews