Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any real Nirvana fan
In my opinion this is a great way for any Nirvana fan to start their collection. It has many of their great songs on it such as Heart Shaped Box, 'Teen spirit, Sliver, and Lithium and most times some songs such as lithium and drain you sound better live than in they do on Nevermind, because on nevermind they sound too soft. The only dissapointment was that some very...
Published on Dec 20 2003 by dayvhid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, could have been much better
Disclaimer - I possess and have listened to almost 200 different Nirvana concerts obtained through tape trading. I am not your run-of-the-mill Nirvana fan!
The good: A lot of the performances chosen for certain songs were very good...anything from the 12/28/91 performance (Drain You, Aneurysm, Smells Like Teen Spirit), Scentless Apprentice from the MTV Live and Loud...
Published on Sept. 30 2003 by Christopher M. Hickman


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any real Nirvana fan, Dec 20 2003
By 
"dayvhid" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is a great way for any Nirvana fan to start their collection. It has many of their great songs on it such as Heart Shaped Box, 'Teen spirit, Sliver, and Lithium and most times some songs such as lithium and drain you sound better live than in they do on Nevermind, because on nevermind they sound too soft. The only dissapointment was that some very important songs in the Nirvana song catologue are missing such as: Rape Me, Dive, About a Girl and All apologies, but even without these songs this album is on of my favorite Nirvana albums, and my favorite non-studio album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent introduction to Nirvana..., Jan. 6 2003
By 
J. Farmer "the-maggot-elite" (Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Originally intended to be released as a double cd along with "Unplugged: Live in NY," this album is THE perfect way for anyone interested in Nirvana to start their collection. As Krist says in the liner notes, "Nirvana started as a live band..." This CD is an excellent sampling of Nirvana's canon in their element...the stage. There is an added slice of attitude in these live versions of the songs that solidify what Nirvana was about. Several songs on the album stand shoulder-to-shoulder with their studio versions if not better. Several I enjoy listening to more than the studio cuts. The best part about "Wishka" is the track selection: you can tell that a true fan compiled this cd (instead of say the greatest hits cd)...hits like Lithium and Heart-Shaped Box are found along side Blew and Spank Thru...spanning the band's career from Bleach to Utero. In conclusion, anyone who is genuinely interested in getting into this great band should pick this album up before Nevermind and (definitely) before the greatest hits album and the real Nirvana fans would miss an integral part of what Nirvana was about without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great live CD, with some live takes better than studio, Nov. 18 2002
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
I really love this album. It gives you a real taste of what Nirvana was like in concert. The editing is such that it seems that you are listening to one whole concert, even though the album is culled from many live performances. Here are the tracks:
1 - Intro - Just a cut of pre-show noise. Has some conversation between Kurt and Krist. Then Kurt screams for some fun, and then we get...
2 - School - This is a "Bleach" cut. It's really well done. It churns and smashes in true form. It isn't the best, but it's a good starter.
3 - Drain You - Kurt's vocals are great. Very raw and it's a great reinterpretation. I would say better than studio, which is saying a lot.
4 - Aneurysm - I love this take. The vocals are hilarious. It's really tight.
5 - Smells Like Teen Spirit - Not even close to the studio version, but it's cool to hear Krist stomp on his distortion pedal during Kurt's solo.
6 - Been A Son - This is a marvelous cover of a Vaselines song. Bursts with energy and it rocks. Kurt loved the Vaselines, and it really shows.
7 - Lithium - I hate this one. The whole take is sharp. Not even close to studio.
8 - Sliver - Krist is so good in the beginning. His tone is awesome. Pat's entrance is marked by some horrific feedback. Kurt concentrated harder on his vocals on the "In Utero" tour, so I think there's more guitar from Pat. Pat's always on the left channel.
9 - Spank Thru - There is a reason why they didn't release this on "Incesticide" or anything else. ...
10 - Scentless Apprentice - For my money, I'd say this track is the best on the album. Bar none. If you listen to the left channel alone on this, you can see why Pat was an idol to both Kurt and Dave. Everyone is in great form, but this is really Pat's track. His distortion is the best EVER. Much, much better than the "In Utero" version, and that was one of my favorite cuts on "In Utero". The fast tempo is great.
11 - Heart-Shaped Box - This is nowhere near "In Utero"'s version. Kurt's solo here though is awesome. Heavy, heavy chorus effect on his solo.
12 - Milk It - Again, Pat is in great form. Listen to him on the left channel (for those of you who don't know what I mean, pan to the left speaker alone.) He's great. Recorded shortly before Kurt died. Really good. It does sound like a Rotovibe is used, although I know no one in Nirvana ever used one. Something with the mixing?
13 - Negative Creep - Pure headbanging enjoyment! I love that thing about "Great Caesar's ghost!" at the beginning.
14 - Polly - Pretty [bad] prethink of the song. It is truly meant to be acoustic and slow, or clean electric when there isn't an acoustic around.
15 - Breed - Don't like this too much either. Channing's drumming is inferior to Grohl's drumming, and you just need that distorted bass.
16 - Tourette's - Krist's intro is simply hilarious. I love the first title - "The Eagle Has Landed". But it needed that thing about "moderate rock" at the beginning.
17 - Blew - So sweet. Great way to end. Double bass drumming!
Great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great picks then some god-awful ones., July 1 2004
By 
K. Rowland (Atlanta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Overall this is a good cd to show what nirvana was like live. It gives me some idea since i would have only been 4 when kurt died. I will tell u upfront i love all the bleach songs on this album with david grohl on drums. This is a great album but in the future i hope they will make a better one, along with a new greatest hits(that was a horrible choice of songs on the greatest hits).
1. Intro- Why in the hell include this, ditch it for a song
2.School-sounds awesome with dave at drums
3.Drain You-It is a more hard rock verison of the song but it sounds awful(especially the vocals)
4.Aneyurysm-This sounds great, one of the best songs on the cd
5.Smells Like Teen Spirit-this is a damn emabarrasment a very lazy performance. I have heard way better live versions.
6. Been A SOn-sounds exellent. great choice.
7. Lithium-sounds alright bad vocals at the chorus parts
8. Sliver- Kurt is mumbling the whole time and disotion sounds awful. Damn awful choice.
9. Spank Thru- the beginning sux, but the rest of the song is awesome, it also has an extended guitar solo. Kool song.
10. Scentless Aprrentice- The best song on the cd drums, bass, and guitar are rockin, and Kurt's vocals rock!!
11. Heartshaped Box-Lacks the emotion of the original version, I have also heard great live performances of Heart-Shaped Box on TV why chose this 1?
12. Milk It- This song sounds GREAT the dueling guitars it is just really kool.
13. Negative Creep- SOunds great with dave at drums. Awesome choice.
14.Polly- Thsi more upbeat verison of Polly is great another good song.
15. Breed- God-Awful. They ruined a great song.
16. Tourette's- sounds good but where's the "moderate rock" from IN UTero
17. Blew-Sounds better than studio vertsion great vocals
All in all this album had its ups and downs, but still gets 4 stars from me. If you wanna get Nirvana best live get MTV Unplugged In NEw York, but i am warning u its all on acoustic guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album(unknown too), April 7 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Ten years without Kurt cobain and his music still lives. This concert was recorded ten years back, and the cd quality for a live album is amazing. In this album you heir songs from all nirvana albums. They perform their songs so well; it's like your hearing the recorded. Without the crowd going yeah and it wont sound that well. Like it wont sound exactly like it but it's still pretty cool. This live record is also kind of unknown, like not a lot of people no about this album. The sound of Dave Grohls drumming, the sound of Krist Noveselics base, and the guitar and voice of Kurt Cobain, makes an incredible band and makes a great live performance by 3 guys from Seattle.
In this album you heir what some people say is better than the original recording is the version of Tourette's. Which I think the original recording of Tourette's. This album you can like the songs they perform in this album better than the recording of the original. In this album the song I like better than the recording is "Lithium". I like this version better, so for as "smells like teen spirit". This is a very must if you are a true hardcore Nirvana fans. You will not regret buying this great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hick Hillbilly slop rock disguised as slop o' mudd, March 25 2004
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
So this is what Nirvana is like live. Muddy Banks was the turning point in my Nirvanamania period... I loved them until I discovered THIS is what they really are, and that all their albums are nothing bu studio trickery made to make them sound as far from THIS as possible. There is no way anyone could like Muddy Banks. I've never heard playing as sloppy as this get released to the public, and for good reason. Kurt's singing is even worse than anyone could fathom on here. To everyone here who says they thought it sounded like crap on the first try: Your ears were not deceiving you. To everyone here who says they thought it sounded like crap on the first try but decided to "let it grow on them": You're lying. If you hate it the first time, there's no way you can honestly like it. It seems anything by Nirvana is an excuse to release crap because only with Nirvana does slop and schit equal greatness. In October of '96 Muddy Banks was sent to stations across the country labled as Nirvana songs performed by Nirvana cover bands (just as a joke to see how the DJs would react). Subsequently, the DJs said it was pure slop, and that Kurt Cobain would never sound that bad. How wrong they were. Once they were told that it WAS actually Nirvana, the same DJs took back their genuine reactions against Muddy Banks and showered the band with underserved praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars From the Banks of the Wishkah to the Novoselic's bank, Nov. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
"From our banks to yours..." This line was recently heard in a commercial pertaining to bank funds. And no, it obviously wasn't talking of the banks of a river in Aberdeen. Novoselic should've just titled the CD "Banks", because all the cash you shell out for this rip-off is going into his. But what can I say? I'm in awe because of the fact I spent nearly twenty big ones on something people should be ashamed of calling even "good". Banks is nothing like any of Nirvana's studio material. It's such a waste it'll make you sick to even look at the cover again because it'll remind you of what you could have spent your cash on instead. Every single person who has said this CD is even mediocre isn't letting people in on how bad it is. Listen to the samples provided here, and hear for yourself. I'm all for "raw passion", and I know what is, and it ain't Nirvana live. He actually tried to sound serious in the linear notes, but I'm sure Novoselic's laughing all the way to his bank with this one. Once you pop your Banks CD and hear that nauseating hillbilly "Heeeeeeeee Errrrahhhhh Aerrrrghhheeee" from Cobain, you'll realize you wasted your cash too (if you're capable of admitting the band you love sounded cr@p live). Like all bad rock bands, Nirvana was based on looks and image (yes they were). It was based on looks because Cobain spent as much time acting like he didn't care about his looks as the fashionable trendies spent on making themselves "beautiful"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ever wonder what it would have been like?, Oct. 20 2003
By 
elijah (Anchorage,Ak) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Have you ever wanted to go to a Nirvana concert but weren't ever able to go?Maybe they didn't come to your area or you didn't have the money or time or a ride but for whatever reason,you weren't able to go.
Well,put on your headphones,push play,close your eyes and your there.You're there when Kurt starts playing the riff to Smells like teen spirit,and the audience goes crazy as they recognize it,see,this cd is the ticket you never had,and as you hear these songs you love being played live and with an urgent passion it's not impossible to imagine you're actually at one of their concerts,right next to the speakers,bumping against sweaty,angst filled,flannel wearing teenagers in the moshpit, feeling that incredible release.Indeed perhaps you can see Kurt up there with his blonde hair flailing as he screams into the microphone "A denial" at the top of his lungs over and over and in that moment you know that you're not just listening to nirvana,you're EXPERIENCING nirvana,to me,THAT'S what this cd's about,when you can be there,without ever having gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, could have been much better, Sept. 30 2003
By 
Christopher M. Hickman (Channahon, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Disclaimer - I possess and have listened to almost 200 different Nirvana concerts obtained through tape trading. I am not your run-of-the-mill Nirvana fan!
The good: A lot of the performances chosen for certain songs were very good...anything from the 12/28/91 performance (Drain You, Aneurysm, Smells Like Teen Spirit), Scentless Apprentice from the MTV Live and Loud concert, Tourette's from the famous 1992 Reading Festival, Negative Creep from the famous 1991 Seattle Halloween concert, and the Heart-Shaped Box is a good one.
Also, they only repeated one track from Unplugged, and the screaming intro was a nice addition.
The bad: Some of the performance choices were sub-par, and that's coming from a person who, unlike Krist and Dave, doesn't have access to soundboard recordings of every show...I could name dozens of better performances than the ones chosen for School, Been a Son, Lithium, Blew (suggestion: also should have been culled from Halloween 1991), Sliver (any 1990 or 1991 version would have been better), Milk It (the next night same city and venue was much better), Breed, and Polly (much better in 1991, but even sticking with pre-Nevermind versions as this album did there are way better ones).
Also, though longer than the travesty of a greatest hits album released last year, this only runs about an hour. In the 20 minutes of space left, they should have included other live staples not on Unplugged like Floyd the Barber, Dive, Radio Friendly Unit Shifter, Serve the Servants, and the grand finale should have been a live version of Endless, Nameless (preferrably, again the 1991 Halloween performance), the secret track off Nevermind.
Finally, the dates documented in the liner notes are often incorrect.
The ugly: That has to be the worst performance of Spank Thru I've ever heard. Wow, it's bad.
This is as good of a place to start to get into Nirvana's live performances (since there's nothing else available), but I hope that there will be a better release than this someday, preferrably one that is a full live concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good live album, Sept. 25 2003
This review is from: 1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank (Audio CD)
Nirvana is, without question, one of the most popular bands to have come out of the nineties. And when a band gets popular enough, it's only proper that they release a live album. Nirvana was no different. This is the band's only live album (excluding the Unplugged one.) Read on for my review of it.
PROS:
-If you want to hear awesome live versions of Nirvana's big hits, you've come to the right place! The live takes on studio masterpieces like Smells Like Teen Spirit and Heart-Shaped box are excellent.
-The band also plays a number of its underrated gems, including songs like Negative Creep and Blew, both off of their debut album (Bleach.)
CONS:
-This is a good live album, but it doesn't contain any fancy studio bonus tracks, cover songs not available on the studio albums, or any of the premiums that other artists have tried using to sell more albums.
OVERALL:
If you like Nirvana, then you're gonna enjoy this live album. They're one band that pretty much never failed to disappoint, and this release proved to be no exception. However, if you're only going to buy one of Nirvana's live albums, I suggest passing this one by in favor of the more popular Unplugged one. It's much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank
1989-1994 From The Muddy Bank by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews