march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars527
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$28.40+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 18, 2004
Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness is the greatest combination of musical genius ever created. I feel that Billy Corgan achieved Musical Immortality with the earth shattering collection that is these two CDs. A huge collection of all types of rock, so no matter what your flavor, you will find it all in this stunning variety. It's the only album I have ever listened to that I have thoroughly enjoyed each and every one of the songs. Galapogos, Tonight, Tonight, Bullet With Butterfly Wings, Stumbleine, and Zero rank among my all time favorite songs. I completely recommend the collection of B-Sides from this album found in the "Aeroplane Flies High" box set. If you have never heard of the Smashing Pumpkins (Shame, if you haven't) or simply have never picked up this album, do now, as you will enjoy it till the end of time. It's just too bad the greatest band ever formed is no longer around, but their music will live on forever
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
Other people have been reporting that there are distortion issues with "Zero" and other parts of the LPs, but everything plays perfectly fine for me. This is truly a great reissue. The included book containing the memoirs of the album is a very nice touch. Personally, I would have prefered if they kept the original cover since it's such an iconic album cover from the 90s, but the original cover image is on the included book so it's certainly not missing. The LPs are quite hefty, i'm assuming 200g, and the box itself is quite sturdy and heavy, which I actually use as a bookend for my other vinyl records.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
I was apprehensive about buying this boxset because I had read so many negative reviews about it's audio quality (I think Zero was supposed to sound pretty distorted and I want to say that I read something about records being pressed off center). The copy that I received didn't have either of these issues. It sounds great. The album art and included booklets are really interesting. There are notes on each song written by Billy that shed light on the band and the writing and recording processes. Definitely a worthwhile purchase if you're a Smashing Pumpkins fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
Back when this album first came out many people didn't understand it... We were mostly at the end of the grunge era and pop was taking over the music industry... But what is amazing about this album is that in a whirlwind of cheap pop stars on the rise and mostly dying rock bands it managed to rise from the underdark of no more place for alt rock on mainstream radios and make its way to the top still and this is what makes an album a true masterpiece Billy Corgan did an amazing work on this album and once again with this remaster he does it again! The presentation is sublime all of the discs gatefold have pictures on one side and the tracklist on the other... It also includes a pictures and liner notes (for every single song i might add) book which is simply amazing and in my opinion one of the highlight is the actual lyrics book from the cd release but in blown up format that alone is worth the price haha :) but the tracks have all been remastered and well it's on vinyl so of course it sound amazing! If you are hesitating don't anymore and go buy this masterpiece! Cheers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2013
I already knew I loved the album of course, but I was not expecting this item to be so impressive as far as production and packaging goes. It's a great deal for what you get!! A really beautiful presentation of the album, with two booklets included, one with the lyrics and everything, and one with a history of the band/album. A really well put together album (really a box-set!).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2008
"Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" is an incredible work from the American alternative band The Smashing Pumpkins. Released on October 24th of 1995, the double CD (triple album) features some incredibly diverse styles and more input from D'arcy Wretzky and James Iha, though certainly Billy Corgan is still the dominant creative member of the band.

The album is not afraid to take some chances. It opens with an instrumental, which is relatively soft. There is tremendous diversity, as the sound can go from acoustic to very heavy and vice-versa from one song to the next. The majority of the album is made up of relatively short pieces of less than five minutes, but there are a few longer pieces mixed in with the 28 tracks. The shorter pieces tend to stick to one type of sound, while a couple of the longer pieces are more diverse within themselves.

The opening instrumental leads into the excellent "Tonight, Tonight", but the softer and more orchestrated sound doesn't sound last as it then turns much heavier with tracks like "Jellybelly", and "Zero", and the first single "Bullet With Butterfly Wings". The contrast in sounds goes back and forth, between the heavy and the light until eventually the group delivers a longer piece itself filled with contrast in "Porcelina of the Vast Oceans", which is then followed with the first half closer "Take Me Down". The album is a concept album of sorts, dealing with the very simple realities of life and death.

The second CD is more of the same, which is to say more diversity of sound and more changes and surprises. The transition from "1979" to "Tales of a Scorched Earth" is a great example of moving from one type of sound to almost its polar opposite from track to track. Not that every track change is so dramatic, but their changes help to keep things fresh and interesting. There also is a rather unusual use of tunings as well as instruments. Overall, this is an album which one needs to listen to many times, and one which the listener will hear something new each time. With its incredible diversity, there may be pieces which you don't like on this album, but for myself I found that they were all at least intriguing. From the titles mentioned before, to the delightfully odd "We Only Come Out at Night" and the stalker song done as a simple love song "Lilly (My One and Only)", this is a great album to experience over and over.

The Smashing Pumpkins are Billy Corgan (lead vocal, guitar, piano), James Iha (guitar, vocals), D'arcy Wretzky (bass, vocals), and Jimmy Chamberlin (drums, vocals). Guest artists include the Chicago Symphony Orchestra ("Tonight, Tonight"), and Greg Leisz (pedal and lap steel guitar on "Take Me Down")
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2002
Don't get me wrong, I like most of this record, but it has to be the single most pretentious faux art created by anyone during the last decade. Still, out of twenty-eight songs and two hours (!) fully half the songs are good, and a handful are classics. The first six or so tracks of each disc come to mind in the very positive category. The lyrics are straight out of a high school creative writing course, but THAT VOICE gets many of them across. "Zero," "Bullet With Butterfly Wings" (though the chorus is so simplistic that you could have written it yourself in an unhappy moment) "Love," "Bodies," "1979," and (my favorite!) "Tales of a Scorched Earth" are bona fide classics of fake grunge angst.
On the flip side, just reading the titles can identify to you the horribly overwrought numbers: "Cupid de Locke," "Porcelina of the Vast Oceans," "Thru the Eyes of Ruby," not to mention the sickly saccharine "Lily (My One and Only)" and "By Starlight." Still, as a gigantic concept album it works, better than "Animals" and some of the other Pink Floyd records that Billy is aping. And it sounds believable after a fashion.
If you have two hours and nothing else to do on a regular basis, then check this out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
This vinyl box set was more than I expected. Unfortunately each disc skips at the end of the last song on both sides... but I'm sure that can be buffed out, (i hope) ... besides that, the booklets that came with it are amazing and it was delivered so quickly after purchase. Well worth the money! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Way more then what I expected. For some reason when I first looked at this I thought it was just 5 disks in a small box about the same size as a cd case similar to the packaging of the Siamese Dream Deluxe Edition. Instead I got a package that measures approx 1.5FT X 1.5FT Squared. It has lots of great extras in the box not including the bonus disks. (Sorry no spoilers) When Mellon Collie first came out in the 90's I wasn't a huge fan of SP and only enjoyed the first disk of Mellon Collie. I AM SO GLAD I GAVE IT A SECOND CHANCE. The extras in this deluxe edition are awesome even if you're not a die hard fan and even better if you are. I paid about 10 or 20 dollars less then when it was first released and still think it was totally worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
You can't get any much better than this box set. Enough said. For the money it's well worth it. Everything cleaned up and shining like it was made yesterday.

For those of you that complain, the CD's are fine. I don't know about the LP's though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$21.52
$23.97