march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

  • Pop
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars259
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 124 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on March 29, 2001
Pop- to make or cause a small explosive sound.
And that is what U2 did. after a 3 year hiatus, they swagger back into view with what can only be called a CLASS album. O.K americans may not have grasped the popmart concept, but what about the songs ? Discotheque is just the funkiest U2 song ever. Edge's repetitive riff gets me moving anyway.
Do You Feel Loved is rock'n'roll. No ifs or buts, it's rock'n'roll end of story.
Mofo - larry mullen not so jr proved his drumming prowess on this song. while bono lyrics are about his mother, the instrumentation on this song is second to none.
If God Will Send His Angels- good song, sounds half finished. this is proven by the fact they re-recorded it for the single.
Staring At The Sun- if you read the november issue of Q magazine, you will read larry saying this song was not finished properly. WHAT ? this is a top notch tune. Larry, stick to what you're good at- hitting things.
Last Night On Earth -good rock song, but live it kicks ass! Gone - has richard ashcroft joined the band? a track reminscent of the verve reminds us that U2 do emotional songs very well.
Miami- Interesting sounds.
The Playboy Mansion-see miami
If You wear that velvet dress - Bono at his most lustful. Wicked guitar licks from Mr The Edge. However as is the case with U2, live it kicks ass!
Please - see god will send his angels
Wake Up Dead MAn- good album closer. gets under your skin and moves around. and stuff. so all in all, a class album (said that before didn;t I ). IMO, is better than ATYCLB, purely because the drums are more prominent on this album. the themes range from joy to darkness and excellent instrumentation.
You Americans don't know a good thing when it hits you in the face !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2001
I'm so tired of former U2 fans whining about U2's experiments in electronica in the 90's. They act as if the band should have kept remaking the JOSHUA TREE over and over and never try to reinvent or challenge themselves as a group. U2's albums in the 90's were some of the decade's finest, and POP is no exception. I have little doubt that Radiohead would have had the courage to put out an album like Kid A had it not been for Pop. Of course Pop was not such a radical departure for U2 (following Passengers vol.1, Zooropa & Achtung Baby) that Kid A was for Radiohead, but it was still a brave new album at the time. For example, I think "discoteque" was almost unrecognizable as a U2 track when it came out, and that is what is so brilliant about it. These guys are blowing their own minds. Good for them. As for the other songs, taken together the overall production may seem a bit pretensious, uneven and over done. However, taken individually, the songs stand on their own as some of the best songs of a decade. If one takes a listen to the top songs of 1999, it all sounds like a mixed pop culture package. It sounds a lot like Pop -just two years ahead of it's time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2000
This album was a flop, but I don't think it was because of the music, I think it was because of lack of interest. Since "Zooropa", a musical revolution had taken place, and teen-pop and rap were now the in things. "Pop" is U2's most electric, most danceable album, and it's very techno. It starts with "Discotheque", a danceable song that's about dancing. This is one of my favorite songs on the album. It's catchy, and it's rock, though at times it sounds a bit rappy. "Do you feel loved" has one of the best and most catchy melodies on the album, and at times, you can hear the U2 of old in this song. "Mofo" is rock song but it sounds very rappy. It's intro made it the ideal opener for the POPMart tour. It's a very personal song about Bono's mother. "If God Will Send His Angels" is probably the second best ballad on the album, and it sounds very much like the U2 of old, only much more electric. "Staring At The Sun" is a gem. I think it's the best song on the album, and like "If God Will Send His Angels", it sounds very much like the U2 of old. In contrast, "Last Night On Earth" doesn't, but it's still great. It's a fast-paced, loud, very catchy hard rocker, with a skat-singing intro. "Gone" is a kind of mellow, starts slow but gets much faster, rock song, and it's great. "Miami" is the most rappy rock song on the album, and I think it's the worst song on the album. "The Playboy Mansion" is a very mellow, but great ballad about U2's take on being famous. "If You Wear That Velvet Dress" is a trademark U2 love song. It's slow, and it takes some listening, but it grows on you, and it's really quite beautiful. "Please" was one of "Pop's" biggest hits, another starts slow but gets much faster song, and I think it's one of the best songs on "Pop", as well as one of U2's best songs from the 90's. The closer, "Wake Up Dead Man", is actually one of my favorite songs on the album because of The Edge's short but powerful guitaring in the chorus. "Wake Up Dead Man" continues the U2 tradition of soft ballad album closers. Although a lot of the music on this album sounds like a completely different band from the one that produced "The Joshua Tree", it still has some great music on it, and it's definitely worth buying. "Pop" ended the third era of U2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2000
I must say that this is not my favorite U2 album. It has sounds that I was not expecting from them, it uses a producer that does not use them in the way that I am used to.
Nonetheless, this is a wonderful CD. And I can't help but grow to love it. With writing like this and Edge's foray into new types of guitar screams, it still gives me the shivers. U2 are still in their "over the top" mode with Popmart, yet they still know how to touch the heart with raw emotion.
Please is a stirring, anthemic call to Ireland, begging for a change and to think of peace, to put off traditionalism. Gone is a sonically crashing song that uses Bono's soaring plaintive voice. If God Would Send His Angels asks the age old questions of God in a new way; it is beautiful and pretty. Wake Up Dead Man goes a step further - it is NOT pretty, but heartwrenching and powerful.
This IS a different U2, as different as their change from Joshua Tree to Achtung Baby. Consequently, some people may be put off with their attempt to try new things. I admire them for that. I admire them because I think they are a band that truly cares about music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2000
Pop. Pop es un disco que es sólamente lo que nos promete, es un disco de música pop. Pero a la vez, los genios irlandeses nos han plasmado este genero de música en una forma totalmente radical e inusual. Generalmente cuando uno escucha la palabra pop, asocia esto inmediatamente con música intracendente, de ritmos atractivos para el oido únicamente. Pero uno también sabe que esta siendo expuesto a un ritmo que acabará por endulzar el paladar auricular más de lo debido. Desafortunadamente para la gente que limita la musica pop a solamente esto, los irlandeses nos prueban lo contrario acerca de este género.
Podemos dividir el pop en varios subgéneros, tales como el pop balada, pop electrónico, pop rock, pop balada, entre otros. Este disco no solamente contiene canciones que representan cada uno de estos subgéneros, sino que también alcanzan un nivel de perfección al representar a estos, que se podría llegar a tomar las canciones de este disco como definiciones para estos. Incluso podriamos decir que el cuarteto de Dublin se mofa de los artistas que producen este tipo de música. Desde el momento que vemos la portada de este disco sabemos que nos deparan sonidos y ritmos totalmente diferentes a lo que hemos escuchado de esta banda en el pasado, pero igualmente hay ciertas conecciones y reminiciencias de este mismo pasado. La portada de este disco nos da una imagen sencilla, pero a la vez alterada electrónicamente por filtros computacionales, tal como la muscia que lleva dentro. Los resultados de estas infiltraciónes de lo electronico y la sencillez hacia la música de U2 simplemente resultan en una genialidad que solamente podría definirse como el verdadero pop.
Con las canciones Discothéque, Do You Feel Loved, y Mofo podemos ver el aspecto del pop electrónico en este disco. Cada una de estas canciones lleva con ellas un excelente uso y mezcla de sintetizadores, guitarras, y la voz inconfundible del vocalista Bono. El ritmo de la guitarra de The Edge, combinado con la voz y los sonidos creados por la voz de Bono combinan en estas canciones para crear una digna represenacion de lo que es la música electrónica de hoy, algo que muchos críticos pensaban que U2 jamás podría lograr. Muchos criticaron la intención de estos por crear un album que fuera de ritmos totalmente pop. La gente creyó que U2 finalmente había caido a las manos de los promotores ambiciosos y a un mercado eternamente creciente para la música de 'usesé y tírese.' Una vez mas nos han dejado sin palabras para argumentarles en su contra.
Vemos en If God Would Send his Angels, Staring at the sun y Last Night on Earth, una mezcla entre el U2 de antaño y esta nueva versión del grupo. Estas canciones nos recuerdan de los ritmos que tocaban al final de la decada de los ochentas pero al igual se le implementó a estas un pequeño toque de los noventas. La letra de If God Would Send his Angels tiene una faceta religiosa, algo muy común en la música de los irlandeses, ya que Bono, Larry Mullen Jr. y The Edge son sequidores fervientes del cristianismo. La canción pide que los angeles vengan y nos ayuden a recuperar y restaurar este mundo que estamos perdiendo y devastando. Esto se puede relacionar directamente con el espiritu de este grupo, ya que ellos son eternos contribuyentes a fondos de beneficio social y cultural.
Con esto, y mucho más el grupo que alguna vez fue duramente criticado por su incursión al género pop, nos contradice una vez mas. Este material discográfico explaya las virtudes musicales de estos genios dublinenses variando desde la gutarra eléctrica de The Edge, hasta los excelentes effectos de percusión concebidos por Adam Clayton. Esto aunado a una pequeña inclusión de previos ritmos y letras extrañamente conmovedoras nos plasma una nueva idea de lo que es el verdadero pop. El verdadero pop es el pop de U2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2000
First of all, let's clear up a few myths about this album: 1: Pop is not a techno album - at least no more than Achtung Baby or Zooropa are techno albums. Unlike its misguided sister record, David Bowie's "Earthling," Pop uses electronic beats surprisingly sparingly, and has a less sterile feel than either of its two immediate predecessors. 2: Pop is not a pop album. While some songs are obviously singles, the majority are not so accessible. While critics and fans never seem to tire of panning this one, it has a few things that set it apart from their other albums. First of all, it is entirely without throwaway or "clone songs" (by this I mean the embarrassing similarities between All I Want is You and For the First Time, The Fly and Acrobat, etc.) Even the weaker songs have many redeeming qualities, and the album grows with each successive listening. The criticisms of its lyrical content continue to puzzle me, they don't seem to be altogether different than the trademark mix of social irony, conscience, and Irish nationalism/Catholicism that cover most of their albums (However, there is one glaring error, Bono's description of "Southern accents" in Miami; we do not have Southern accents). Granted, the album does not have a song that is as majestic as "Where the Streets Have No Name" or "New Year's Day," but tracks like "Discotheque," "Do You Feel Loved," and "Last Night on Earth" all rank among U2's best. Don't believe the anti-hype; give this album a chance and don't worry about being burned at the stake for saying it's better than Achtung Baby or The Joshua Tree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2000
When I saw the world premiere of U2's new single, "Discotheque," I was bit surprised. Can this be U2? No. Really? They sounded so different!
I was a bit miffed. The sound was different, unique, but definitely U2. I waited for the CD to come out. I listened to the CD as much as I could to familiarize myself with their songs as I waited for them to tour. Well, wouldn't you know... the more I listened to POP, the more I liked it.
"Discotheque" has a snappy beat, while on the other side, "If God Will Send His Angels" grabs at you. My favorite song is "Please." It's dark and moody, but it lifts you up and carries you away. Bono hasn't moved backward in his songwriting; on the contrary. He shows as much promise as a songwriter as he did when "Boy" came out. He'll continue to grow, as will the band.
I think what best defines U2 is that they can't be defined. They can't be forced under one sub-genre of rock n' roll. True, they have a definite sound - when you hear Bono sing, you know it's him, when you hear The Edge play his guitar, you know it's him - but they are a band that will be forever trying out new sounds. They aren't satisfied with being labeled under one type of sub-genre. It's as if each album has it's own story, it's own life. U2 keeps reinventing itself, trying out new sounds. That's what makes them U2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2000
I remembering watching MTV one night, and they kept on playing all the music videos by U2. When "Discotheque" came on, I was amazed by the sound. I then bought the album when it came out in March. "Mofo" was a cool song to me! "Staring at the "Sun", "Please", "If You Wear That Velvet Dress", "Gone", and "Last Night on Earth" are really new great songs from U2. They really, to me, found what they were looking for on this album. The music ia a whole lot different from the others, but this one is their third best. "POP" really didn't get to many good reviews when it came out. Everybody thought U2 was going to end. You have to understand the only way you're going to like this album is if you're a huge U2 fan like me. If you all of a sudden like U2, then I wouldn't let this be your first album. I would recommend "October." "October" fully explains early music of U2. You have to get the flow of their music. Let "POP" be the last album you get from U2. But if you don't want to take my advice, and if you really want it, nuy it right now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 1999
The simple name Pop placed on this album is the first clue to the tongue-in-cheek nature of the entire project. Possibly the only pop elements to this project are the Liechtenstein-esque cover portraits and the familiar instrumentation. Flood's production expertise combined with the raw talent of U2 results in a melange of techno rhythm tracks, snarling guitars, and palpitating bass that is at once stimulating and mind-bending. Bono's voice floats atop the mix with characteristic ease of expression, whether he's crooning (If you wear that Velvet Dress) or mocking show business (The Playboy Mansion). The Edge's playing is still intoxicatingly minimal, always tasteful, insistent, and effective. Adam provides the rich bottom, even when confronted with the sequenced riff that runs throughout Mofo. And Larry's loops never sound like loops- the balance between pre-recorded and live playing is dynamic through the entire album.
Beginning with more active, frenetic compositions and settling into slower, funkier tunes at the end, Pop runs the gamut of moods and styles. U2 emerges triumphant again as a band that will not remain stagnant on one commercially popular idea (which makes the album's title even more hysterical). After hearing The Joshua Tree, I never thought I would ever hear Bono drop the F-Bomb in a song. It was only the beginning of the many surprises woven into these 12 songs. A must-hear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 1999
This album is great. Sure it's not JT, but why compare them? Just because that is the boys most commercially successful album, other albums should not be compared to it like that. JT is a great album and I love all the songs on it. Now for Pop, the first several months after I bought the tape (I didn't want to buy it on cd, because I was unsure about it) I listened to it maybe three times. It has been just recently that I have fallen hard for this album. The songs DYFL and Please just have an effect on me that is wonderful. The lyrics on DYFL are way too sexual for me, but I love the song because of the way it sounds. I know lyrics are the core of songs, but for me, the way the song makes me feel, is how I judge it. Miami, IYWTVD, and The Playboy Mansion are the ones I don't care for, but the lyrics are outstanding. And they are growing on me. Discotheque is just plain fun! WUDM is a beautiful plea. The album is great. But if you're a fan that's only comparing it to another of U2's "better" albums, of course you're not going to like it. You're going in negative. That's your choice. Do give this album the chance it deserves though. It really is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse