Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Come On Now!!
Any collection of Bon Jovi songs is near perfect or perfect, so to have to rate this album really is cheating. But I do have some criticisms to make.
If you are only getting this to complete your collection or to get a lineup of Bon Jovi songs played in a refreshingly different order than you are used to, OR just to make sure you have a reference copy to the three...
Published on May 6 2004 by D. Rausch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Band Truly Reached a "Cross Road" in their Careers
Bon Jovi's first greatest hits album is entitled "Cross Road". The title is appropriate because by the time of its release in 1994, the group had really reached a true crossroads in their career. Bon Jovi had rode the wave of the hard rock/metal-like influence on the pop music scene in the late 1980s. By the time of 1992's "Keep the Faith", they...
Published on July 10 2004 by L.A. Scene


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars The Band Truly Reached a "Cross Road" in their Careers, July 10 2004
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
Bon Jovi's first greatest hits album is entitled "Cross Road". The title is appropriate because by the time of its release in 1994, the group had really reached a true crossroads in their career. Bon Jovi had rode the wave of the hard rock/metal-like influence on the pop music scene in the late 1980s. By the time of 1992's "Keep the Faith", they still were doing what they do best - but now Alternative Music was beginning to dominate the pop scene. Therefore, I think its very appropriate that the group put out a Greatest Hits album - and look back to determine what the next steps should be in their career. This is what the band did on "Cross Road" - a compilation of 11 Bon Jovi songs spread over the groups' 5 albums (plus one Jon Bon Jovi solo effort) as well as the inclusion of 3 new tracks that are truly reflective of this "crossroads" theme.
It's important to know that this is really a sampling of Bon Jovi's greatest hits. This collection doesn't attempt to go deeper. It really took the most popular songs from the group's previous albums and included them on one collection. I think the reason for 3 new tracks was to try to attract the pure Bon Jovi fans who were looking for more I was disappointed there was only 1 song from "7800 Degrees Fahrenheit" ("In and Out of Love") and one song from the self-titled "Bon Jovi" album ("Runaway") . It is also worth noting that Bon Jovi has done other Greatest Hits compilations - such as the live album "One Wild Night" and the acoustic-sounding remake of their greatest hits on "This Left Feels Right". This is going to be the only pure studio recorded greatest hits album that has been released.
Of the three new songs, the best of the new songs is "Someday I'll Be Saturday Night". I feel the "cross roads" theme is very evident here as this has a very acoustic like theme to it. Jon Bon Jovi has some great vocals, but it's Richie Sambora's guitar and background vocals are going to make this song stand out. The lyrics are catchy and melody are both catchy. Sticking with this "cross roads" theme, Bon Jovi re-recorded an acoustic, slower version of "Livin on a Prayer" - this one is just called "Prayer 94". On the "This Left Feels Right", there is a much better acoustic recording of this song, but the Bon Jovi fans should still appreciate this song. The group also includes the "Slippery When Wet" version of the song as well. The final new song is "Always". Once again, this is consistent with the crossroads theme of a calmer, more mellow Bon Jovi sound. Despite the fact that "Always" has more of a classic Bon Jovi sound with Jon's vocals and David Bryan's keyboards - this is a pretty weak song. "Always" seems like it was custom made for Top 40 radio. I was surprised that "Always" got the nod to be the single released over "Someday I'll Be Saturday Night". One final note, I do think Richie Sambora provides some nice background vocals again on this single.
As for the other albums, "Slippery When Wet" is represented by the megahits "You Give Love a Bad Name", "Livin' on a Prayer", and "Wanted Dead or Alive". "New Jersey" is represented by "Lay Your Hands on Me", "Bad Medicine", and "I'll Be There for You". "Keep the Faith" is represented by "Keep the Faith" and "Bed of Roses" (I thought that "In These Arms" should have also be included). "Blaze of Glory", the single that Jon Bon Jovi recorded for the "Young Guns II" movie (from the "Blaze of Glory" album he recorded) is also included on here. I think "Blaze of Glory" is a great song, but it isn't a pure Bon Jovi song and I would have liked to see another song by the full band included in place of this song.
The liner notes for this album are extremely poor. The credits are pretty poor as well - there basically are some footnotes making it tough to read. There are no lyrics included for any of the songs (including the new ones). There are pictures of the album covers, but the associated albums the songs are from are not corresponded with the songs. I also thought it was interesting that a picture of the album cover from Richie Sambora's album is included, but yet none of his solo stuff is included while one of Jon's solo songs was. Much of the liner notes is a fold-out into a picture of the band in a New Jersey diner with a pseudo autograph "Thanks for Believing" signed by Jon Bon Jovi. The songs aren't in chronological order and usually I prefer a greatest hits album to go in that order.
I'm hoping that the band eventually will release a boxed set that goes much deeper with their music portfolio. This album is a nice way for someone to get an introduction to Bon Jovi. It also does keep with theme of "Cross Road", so that is a plus. However, if you are a pure Bon Jovi fan - stick with the original studio albums. Finally, once Bon Jovi reached this "cross roads" in their career - I don't think the band was ever the same in terms of their later releases and never captured the magic of the earlier days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come On Now!!, May 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
Any collection of Bon Jovi songs is near perfect or perfect, so to have to rate this album really is cheating. But I do have some criticisms to make.
If you are only getting this to complete your collection or to get a lineup of Bon Jovi songs played in a refreshingly different order than you are used to, OR just to make sure you have a reference copy to the three songs that as of now aren't available anywhere else, fine.
But if you want to get this 1) because Bon Jovi isn't important enough to purchase their catalog, all they are good for is the hits everyone knows, 2) as an introduction to the band, or 3) you just LOVE that song called "Always", then: shame on you.
Bon Jovi is one of the best bands of the second half of the 20th century, and hopefully more than just that. To think that your Bon Jovi quota can be fulfilled with a hits cd is depressing. Come on now! "New Jersey" and "Keep the Faith" are such incredible albums, you will never know how good they really are if you don't own them. "Always" is just a ripoff of their waaaay better composition entitled "I Want You" from their "Keep the Faith Album." It went to #1 and now barely anyone seems to know of the 2X platinum "Keep the Faith" album. I could go on but I've made the necessary point.
Now to the album itself, rated against the criteria of a solid hits album (equally representative of all major hits, albums up to that point in time, and inclusion of new material).
The new tunes are alright, but against the masterpiece they made only 2 years before, their evolution in sound was slightly worrisome, only because they were really soooo good in '92 (thank God with "Bounce", they're back on track again). "Someday...." has grown on me but it was the beginning of the "strum songs" that would be more and more substituting for creative guitar lick-based output by Richie in the coming years. "Always", as previously mentioned, is fine, but it blindly stole people's hearts away after that should have already been done by "I Want You." No disrespect to big fans of that song, it IS good. And I also am very aware that for Bon Jovi to do what they did in a time when the music industry begin selling its soul to the devil can only be considered a miracle. "Prayer '94" was a hint to how they would continue to play that song off and on to this day, which is fine given you should always be reworking and experimenting, even if the orignial is best (you can't beat the version on Slippery, I'm sorry).
As for the hits: Their first two albums, though not excellent, should have been just slightly more represented. The BIG problem with the album is the huge disappointment in terms of the missing children: "BORN TO BE MY BABY" and "LIVING IN SIN" are nowhere to be found on the American release. "In These Arms" really should have been there also. You can only make a cd so long, but these are huge mistakes. I know it has to do with the record company making money, but if you gotta go to a doubledisc release, you gotta do it.
However, I was very happy to see "Blaze of Glory" on there, and I wish "Ballad of Youth" could have been there as well. The songs that ARE there are flawless, and they all deserve to be there, so although it seems like I'm tearing the album apart, it really is essential to ANY cd collection, and its faults are with the material it lacks, not what is already there. Now just go get the other albums, will you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Bon Jovi hits (1984-1994) on one disc!, March 11 2004
By 
B-MAN "B" (Earth, occasionally. Until I get bored.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
This 1994 collection is the only Bon Jovi CD many a fan will need. Cross Road covers 10 songs coming from the first five albums, along with "Blaze of Glory" from the Young Guns II soundtrack and 3 1994 tracks: Someday I'll be Saturday Night, Always, and Prayer '94 (a slower acoustic version of Livin' on a Prayer). This is the only Bon Jovi hits package of the original recordings available. Don't confuse the 2003 release "This Left Feels Right: Greatest Hits with a Twist" as a definitive greatest hits because its not original recordings, its experimental versions of all the hits which bare little resemblance to the orginal classics. Pass it up unless you're a hardcore fan and even if you are, listen to samples first before spending money on it. I can highly recommend Cross Road to anyone wanting all the best Bon Jovi tracks neatly compiled on a single disc. Of course, since the band has released three albums since this collection, there may be another hits CD in the future, but as of now Cross Road is your best bet and captures Bon Jovi in all their 80s and 90s glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Their Lives, Dec 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
It is just so hard to imagine the megastars we've recieved in this industry that came from New Jersey. We have recieved Whitney Houston, the legendary Bruce Springsteen, and a working class group that truly has arisen to the top, Bon Jovi. The guys who group up in New Jersey have still proven that after all these years in this industry, they still have the touch. Although many people don't find them as definitive as Manufactured Britney Spears, it is so hard to believe that Jon, Richie, and all the rest of the members are still slated as a incredible force in the industry. The music is still giving a hunger to all kinds of fans.
Cross Road is a collection of their biggest songs from their original golden era in the mainstream from 1980's to the mid 90's. Their power ballad blend dtill id captured very beautifully here. The songs are all still rolling out there with great ease, including Lay Your Hands On Me, Wanted Dead Or Alive, Bad Medicine, and a whole list of others. The songs may seem like a guilty pleasure right now, but the music still makes a whole lot of noise. The package also includes the only song Jon did as a solo act at that time, Blaze Of Glory,which was nominated for an Oscar in the early 90's, as well as the power ballad, Always.
Although none of the songs from their recent period are on this record, it still won't make a difference in what Bon Jovi has made in this industry. I just have to say that this is truly one of the top Greatest Hits collections of all time, and I hope many more and a better one is issued down the road. They just can't stop their train ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come On Now!, Dec 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
Any collection of Bon Jovi songs is near perfect or perfect, so to have to rate this album really is cheating. But I do have some criticisms to make.
If you are only getting this to complete your collection or to get a lineup of Bon Jovi songs played in a refreshingly different order than you are used to, OR just to make sure you have a reference copy to the three songs that as of now aren't available anywhere else, fine.
But if you want to get this 1) because Bon Jovi isn't important enough to purchase their catalog, all they are good for is the hits everyone knows, 2) as an introduction to the band, or 3) you just LOVE that song called "Always", then: shame on you.
Bon Jovi is one of the best bands of the second half of the 20th century, and hopefully more than just that. To think that your Bon Jovi quota can be fulfilled with a hits cd is depressing. Come on now! "New Jersey" and "Keep the Faith" are such incredible albums, you will never know how good they really are if you don't own them. "Always" is just a ripoff of their waaaay better composition entitled "I Want You" from their "Keep the Faith Album." It went to #1 and now barely anyone seems to know of the 2X platinum "Keep the Faith" album. I could go on but I've made the necessary point.
Now to the album itself, rated against the criteria of a solid hits album (equally representative of all major hits, albums up to that point in time, and inclusion of new material).
The new tunes are alright, but against the masterpiece they made only 2 years before, their evolution in sound was slightly worrisome, only because they were really soooo good in '92 (thank God with "Bounce", they're back on track again). "Someday...." has grown on me but it was the beginning of the "strum songs" that would be more and more substituting for creative guitar lick-based output by Richie in the coming years. "Always", as previously mentioned, is fine, but it blindly stole people's hearts away after that should have already been done by "I Want You." No disrespect to big fans of that song, it IS good. And I also am very aware that for Bon Jovi to do what they did in a time when the music industry begin selling its soul to the devil can only be considered a miracle. "Prayer '94" was a hint to how they would continue to play that song off and on to this day, which is fine given you should always be reworking and experimenting, even if the orignial is best (you can't beat the version on Slippery, I'm sorry).
As for the hits: Their first two albums, though not excellent, should have been just slightly more represented. The BIG problem with the album is the huge disappointment in terms of the missing children: "BORN TO BE MY BABY" and "LIVING IN SIN" are nowhere to be found on the American release. "In These Arms" really should have been there also. You can only make a cd so long, but these are huge mistakes. I know it has to do with the record company making money, but if you gotta go to a doubledisc release, you gotta do it.
However, I was very happy to see "Blaze of Glory" on there, and I wish "Ballad of Youth" could have been there as well. The songs that ARE there are flawless, and they all deserve to be there, so although it seems like I'm tearing the album apart, it really is essential to ANY cd collection, and its faults are with the material it lacks, not what is already there. Now just go get the other albums, will you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good band, mediocre hits album, Sept. 10 2003
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
[Before you rate this review, understand that the reason I am being so hard on this compilation is because I LOVE Bon Jovi!]
In the early-mid 1980's, Bon Jovi added itself to the already widely-populated onslaught of hair bands. However, Bon Jovi was different. They weren't a glam metal band like Poison, but at the same time they weren't an all-out thrash metal band like Metallica. These guys were just about the happy medium, though they tended to lean a little more toward the glam spectrum. However, their songs were nowhere near as cheesy as Poison's. After twenty years the band is still together, and for the most part going strong. This is Bon Jovi's greatest hits, released in 1994 originally. Read on for the compilation's pros and cons.
First of all, the pros. Every one of the band's major hits in present (Livin' On A Prayer, Keep The Faith, Wanted Dead Or Alive, Lay Your Hands On Me, You Give Love a Bad Name, Bad Medicine, I'll Be There For You, In And Out Of Love, Runaway.) As an added bonus, we get three new tracks. One of which is a 1994 remake of Livin' On A Prayer, which is pretty cool.
Unfortunately, the cons of this compilation drag it down. This compilation focuses WAY TOO MUCH on the hits, and not enough on what is truly the band's best material. Most of the band's essential masterpieces came from their first two albums. How many tracks from those albums are on here? One song from each. WHAT A RIP! Roulette, Breakout, Love Lies, She Don't Own Me, Only Lonely, Tokyo Road, and the band's best song of all, The Hardest Part Is The Night, are all missing in action. It is only made worse by overemphasising the post-Slippery When Wet era. Bad Medicine and Lay Your Hands On Me are great tunes from this era, but everything else from it is disposable. From New Jersey (the album) on, the band turned from hard rock to pop rock, so it's a shame we don't see more material from the band's early days. Likewise, this came out in 1994, so don't expect to see any hits from the recent Bounce album.
Final verdict? If you're a casual fan of Bon Jovi, this will probably be just what you need. But even if you're just a casual fan, I strongly suggest buying the first two albums, so you can hear everything this compilation is lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter for a Bon Jovi collection, but needs a pt. 2, April 17 2004
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
Cross Road is a 14 track (11 previously released) Greatest Hits collection Bon Jovi released in 1994. The album was a huge success and gave them one of their biggest singles, Always.
The bulk of the album focuses on Bon Jovi's peak in popularity, roughly 1986-1990. With Slippery When Wet and New Jersey, Bon Jovi were one of the top hard rock bands of the late 1980's. 3 tracks off each album.
With Cross Road, you can get the biggest of the big Bon Jovi hits from 84-94 on one package, prepare to ride on the steel horse or be shot down in a blaze of glory whenever you wish to be.
However, I think it's time for a Cross Road 2. Bon Jovi's had quite a few hits since this album, and they can put in some of the "missing" hits off this album, such as the #3 Born To Be My Baby, the #9 Living In Sin, the radio smash Never Say Goodbye, the top 20 In These Arms, and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good medicine., Oct. 21 2003
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a great best of "Bon Jovi" cd, and really has almost everything that it should. 14 tracks including the huge hits "Wanted Dead or Alive", "You Give Love a Bad Name", "Bad Medicine", "Keep the Faith", and two versions of "Living on a Prayer". Also this has the excellent soundtrack song "Blaze of Glory", and the new song "Always". The only tracks that really seem missing are "Never Say Goodbye" and "Living In Sin". Of course "It's My Life" came out well after this was released. There is a new hits disc out called "This Left Feels Right: With A Twist", but that has all the songs reworked. I would stick with "Cross Road". It has all the original versions, and will go great with your "Van Halen" and "Def Leppard" cd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decade of hits!, Jan. 28 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
CROSSROAD was released in 1994,ten years after Bon Jovi released their self-titled debut. Their first hit was RUNAWAY,then from 1985's 7800 FAHRENHEIT is IN & OUT OF LOVE. 1986's SLIPPERY WHEN WET,a megahit,brought LIVIN' ON A PRAYER,YOU GIVE LOVE A BAD NAME and WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE. 1988's NEW JERSEY,another megahit,brought BAD MEDICINE,I'LL BE THERE FOR YOU and LAY YOUR HANDS ON ME. BLAZE OF GLORY,is frontman Jon Bon Jovi's solo hit from the 1990 movie YOUNG GUNS 2. From 1992's KEEP THE FAITH comes the title track and BED OF ROSES. Original tracks are ALWAYS,SOMEDAY I'LL BE SATURDAY NIGHT and a remake of LIVIN' ON A PRAYER entitled PRAYER '94. Total playing time for this CD is 72 minutes and 13 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a new HITS or remaster, May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cross Road Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a- okay first time hits CD, but it's 10 years old and needs help. My suggestion would be to REMASTER/REISSUE this short ( only 14 songs ) CD and add 6 hit songs, thus makeing a great HITS album that BON JOVI deserves( Makeing this album 20 songs long, which is needed ). Here are a few of the really great ones left off and should be added for the fans:"Without Love, Born to be my Baby, I die for you, Wild is the wind, Never say goodbye,Thank you for loving me". These are the true "GREATS" of the greats. Anybody who where young adults in the 80's know without these songs, this is NO HITS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross Road Best Of
Cross Road Best Of by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews