Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS ALBUM IS GREAT!!!!!!!
I admit I did'nt really give this album a chance when I first got it, but when I listen to it now, it is really a cool album!!. I'm so sick of people acting like this is a KISS album, ITS NOT!, its a PETER CRISS solo album!!!!, and if you pulled your head out of your @ss you might like it.
some of the stand out songs are "Tossin n Turning", "Easy...
Published on June 6 2004 by David

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you expect
PETER CRISS is not a jazz album, it's not a country album, it's not an R&B album and it's not a rock album. If it's a failure in the eyes of Kiss fans, it's only because it's not a rock album. It falls under that dreaded catagory of "easy listening": just enough of each genre to make it classified as "lite rock".

In all honesty PETER CRISS is not a bad...
Published on Aug. 18 2009 by LeBrain


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS ALBUM IS GREAT!!!!!!!, June 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
I admit I did'nt really give this album a chance when I first got it, but when I listen to it now, it is really a cool album!!. I'm so sick of people acting like this is a KISS album, ITS NOT!, its a PETER CRISS solo album!!!!, and if you pulled your head out of your @ss you might like it.
some of the stand out songs are "Tossin n Turning", "Easy Thing", "Kinda suga pa pa likes", "hooked on Rock n Roll", and "You matter to me".
well done Peter, this album rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the ONE-STAR raters..., May 16 2004
By 
Randall M. Benton (Ridgway, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
What is wrong with you people? TRASH? CRAP? Give me a break! You wouldn't know trash if you stuck your head inside garbage can! So I suggest you remove your heads from another odorous place and try to be a little more open-minded instead of so closed-minded. Let me explain why you are WRONG! I'll talk slow so you can keep up, ok?
Here we go:
Yes, I know...Peter should have done the standard rock drummer thing and just re-made a bunch of "Black Diamond/Strange Ways/Baby Driver"-style songs and stayed within the limits of what the KISS "fans" expected of him. Who the hell is he anyway thinking he can record something other than the basic KISS song everyone knows and loves? Yes, it IS his solo album...but he shouldn't try to do something (God forbid) different!
I never heard such narrow-minded blithering idiots sound so inanely simplistic in their "reviews." I don't care if you like what Peter did or not. I give him credit for having the guts to stretch out and follow his passion for R&B, dance, pop, jazz...whatever...and do something he wanted to do. I guess he should have consulted all the KISS fans out there and see if it was ok to do something original.
If you just plain don't like the songs, fine...but give the guy credit for doing what HE wanted. He stretched farther than Ace, Gene, or Paul did. That was their choice and this was his. Nobody said to the band prior to the project "each of you make an album...but ONLY make it sound like KISS or at least 'hard rock.' Or else you'll have morons from all over the world giving you crap about it for the next 30 years!"
And, I hate to break it to the incredibly creative-with-their-words "reviewers" who trash this album...but these songs are pretty well done from a guy who everyone loves claiming is so one-dimensional. No, he doesn't have the voice Paul Stanley does, but that even gives him MORE credability because he has to work harder to get results. It's not a natural strength so he has to work harder. Yeah, he doesn't deserve credit for THAT does he!
I've had problems with Peter and some of his troubles involving his tenure in KISS over the years. But, I can't fault him for being original enough to follow his heart and soul and do whatever the hell he wanted on HIS solo album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you expect, Aug. 18 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
PETER CRISS is not a jazz album, it's not a country album, it's not an R&B album and it's not a rock album. If it's a failure in the eyes of Kiss fans, it's only because it's not a rock album. It falls under that dreaded catagory of "easy listening": just enough of each genre to make it classified as "lite rock".

In all honesty PETER CRISS is not a bad album, but it's not for everybody. When I was a kid I used to play it to my mom, saying, "See you'd like Kiss music too." That's what it is: music you can play for your mom so you don't scare her away.

Peter himself plays drums on most of the album, Allan Schwartzberg plays on the rest. The rest of the instruments are handled by studio musicians with Steve Lukather taking a solo. You can hear quite clearly that Peter loves playing this kind of music, and it suits his voice too. Peter has co-writing credits with his Lips bandmate Stan Pendridge on most songs.

The album kicks off with "I'm Gonna Love You", a R&B flavoured rock number with a nice horn section and lush backing vocals. This is about as uptempo as it gets. "You Matter To Me" is rendered hard to listen to due to a fat synthesizer riff before the verses. Very outdated and distracting. "Tossin' and Turnin'" is the old rock and roll standard and similar in tempo and arrangement to "I'm Gonna Love You". Peter does a great job vocally. "Don't You Let Me Down" is the first ballad of the album, very 70's, with more outdated keyboard sounds. I don't know if you can relate to this analogy or not, but most of these songs sound like things I used to hear on my parents' clock radio on those 70's easy listening stations. Side 1 ends with "That's The Kind Of Sugar Papa Likes", a nondescript underwhelming uptempo song.

Side 2 begins with one of the best tunes on the album, the acoustic ballad "Easy Thing" which goes into a string laden chorus. It's quiet yet epic at the same time. "Rock Me, Baby" is another R&B song, uptempo with lots of female backing vocals but otherwise filler. "Kiss The Girl Goodbye" is another acoustic ballad, a little too quiet and laid back, very folk sounding, and there are no drums on this track at all. "Hooked On Rock N' Roll" brings the tempo back up before we go to the last and very best song on the album, Sean Delaney's "I Can't Stop The Rain". It's a piano and strings ballad, even more epic than "Easy Thing" and even as a rocker kid I loved the epic ballads on PETER CRISS.

It's a shame in a way that Peter Criss was so out of touch with Kiss' core audience, and had such an inflated ego, that he thought making this album was a good idea at the time. Albums such as this and the later disco albums turned off Kiss fans in droves, although many have rediscovered them in the warm light of nostalgia.

I think the bottom line is this is a nostalgia CD. I can't imagine new young Kiss fans getting into this at all, but they may want to play it for mom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's with all the one star reviews ?, July 19 2004
By 
C. Ons (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
If you don't like the record, fine, but I can't believe some of the dumb remarks i've been reading here. Some people apparently get off giving a low rating to a record that they don't WANT to appreciate. I believe this album deserves better than that.
Look, at least Peter Criss seized this opportunity to do HIS OWN THING. While his voice sounds great on raunchy KISS tunes like "Black Diamond", "Strange Ways" or "Baby Driver", at least he had the guts to follow his heart and come up with a heartfelt, honest record that was closer to his musical roots : anything from r&b ballads to mellow or even danceable rock tunes. And guess what, he did a great job. "Peter Criss" is a *great* album from a great drummer / songwriter.
The 1978 KISS solo albums gave each member in the band the opportunity to record their OWN album - it's only natural the results of these individual efforts didn't come out sounding like the earlier 1974-1977 KISS studio albums. Ace's album is far heavier than KISS's early albums (as if KISS could have recorded something like "Rip It Out" ?!? - I don't think so !), Paul's album is much more refined in terms of songwriting / production (think "Take Me Away", for example), and Gene's album heavily relies on all sorts of guest star appearances and lacks sense of direction - to the point where it gets completely delusional and clueless (an emotional falsetto rendition of the Disney tune "When Wish Upon A Star", anyone ?). Mind you - NONE of these are "full blooded KISS albums". So why say Peter's record is "crap", just because it's the most "mellow" of the four ?
Sure, if you only like your rock hard, this is *not* the record for you. It's got horn sections, for crying out loud. So of it's not your cup of tea - cool. But the writing, performance and singing is GREAT.
It's downright sad that, a quarter of a century later, so many short-sighted people still describe Peter's offering as "the worst KISS record ever" - sure, it may have the logo in the upper left corner but it's pretty obvious it's NOT a KISS record, dammit - it's a PETER CRISS record, and an excellent one at that ... so start to judge it for what it is, will you ...
to Mr. Criss : RESPECT !
(Everyone is free to dislike the record, but to the people who think Peter is "full of it" just for doing what he felt like doing on this record - get a clue, and maybe listen to the recent interview on [...] - it shows you what kind of person Peter really is - genuinly honest, friendly, and caring about his music and fans. The contrast with Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons couldn't be bigger ... in hindsight, just who are the insincere a$$holes / corportate [prostitutes] anyway ?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This not the Catman, its Peter Criss, July 24 2011
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
In 1978 rock group KISS then at the top of their popularity did something that surprised many. The band members each released their own studio album on the exact same day which has never been done since or before. Each member did their own musical thing as they wished. The record company, Cassablanca, released the albums each with the KISS logo on the top left corner and the albums were named quite simply after each individual member: Gene Simmons, Paul Stanley, Ace Frehley and Peter Criss, each member with a different color (Red, purple, blue and green respectively). Out of the four solo output this was the album that deceived KISS fans the most. Fans expected something that would rock a little more I believe but they were in for quite a surprise with Peter Criss' solo debut. Criss sang on some excellent KISS songs like 'Black Diamond' and 'Strange Ways' and I always thought he had a certain quality to his voice that made him different and stand out, his singing on KISS album was nothing short of great. The fact that Peter's album is so different shouldn't be so surprising because after all this shows his well known Jazz/R&B influences from artists he loved in the 50's and 60's which is kinda what the album sounds like. Criss is also a little older than the rest of KISS so his influences were a little different. A good portion of the material comes was written before from Criss' pre-KISS bands like Lips.

Peter show right from the first track 'I'm Gonna Love You' with its boogie/blues guitars and the colorful piano that his album is going to be very different from what he played with KISS. 'Tossin' and Turnin'' is a good song with some doo-woop back vocals and fun lyrics. 'Don't You Let Down' sees Peter doing his own musical thing, this one sounds very Soul and Jazz inspired, it's a highlight of the album. 'That's The Kind of Sugar Papa Likes' is a good, happy upbeat song that's silly but fun at the same time, I like this song very much its one of the most Rock oriented songs here. 'Kiss The Girl Goodbye' is the 'Beth' of this album. It's not 'Beth' exactly but it's a touching slow ballad that's in the vein of that song, it's a great ballad that I feel is underrated. There are times when Peter Criss' album works and shows his different side. I always like to put out this album and try to get people to guess the artist, which of course they never, ever get right (unless they're hardcore KISS fans).

This is very much for the completists only, the average KISS fan may find 2-3 songs they like but it's likely that they won't much out of the album unless they like 50's and 60's R&B music. I can appreciate an artist doing something different and displaying some of his influences but even for me Peter Criss proves to be a little too much. I respect Peter's decision of making an album unlike KISS and one where he can be himself and be more creative and express himself but this is simply not my cup of tea. This is the solo album that puzzled a lot of fans and I can see why. Out of each member's solo record this is the one I play the least, although every once in while I take it out for a spin, it's not as bad as everyone says its just different. If you're a fan of mostly 50's and 60's music and less KISS then maybe this could hold appeal to you, otherwise it'll only complete your collection. I respect Peter's musical direction here and I like a few songs myself but I guess I'm just not a big fan of The Catman in solo. For me this is 2/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What in the name is this, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
I am a huge KISS fan, I have nothing against Peter, but no matter how many times I listen to this... I wonder what was he thinking. All the success and drugs must have really gone to his head. Now I love Jazz, Blues and Rock, but this album doesn't come close to being good in any of those. It has nothing to do with his drumming or voice, just plain bad writing, its too poppy and overdone, no good melodies or lyrics. Not even good music... when peter said he wanted to do an album not like a KISS album... he did it... but making a bad album... its no wonder why his solo album went on to do the worse of the 4. Its also no surprise that his later solo albums went on to do virtually nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A piece of crap, April 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
This is one of the worst albums ever made. Peter does songs that are pure moronic delights from the ridiculous "that's the kind of sugar papa love" to his pathetic cover of "Tossin ' and turnin".
The song selections are just pure crap for peter criss's voice. Why didn't he perform songs like "Black Diamond" and "Beth".
These songs suit his voice perfectly and though they have that Kiss sound it still is the only fit for his voice.
This album is equal to a day on the toilet with diarrhea.
It adds up to a long day of endless chunky dumps!!!!!!
It is just pure crap and Peter would've known better if he hadn't been busy boozing and drugging it up..Oh well.
If you're into torture or into smelly poop then scoop this one up.
It's sure to stink up your crib!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars One Listen Is Enough...., Nov. 26 2003
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
Yeah, yeah, yeah....listen with an open mind. This is still the worst of the 4 Kiss solo albums by far (Ace's is the only one worth a dang). Even if you can appreciate the varied musical stylings, Criss is still a very weak drummer; and by his own admission tone deaf! I would bet my life savings most people who bought this album gave it only one listen, if that. In the days of vinyl, most Kiss fans never even turn the disc over to side 2...back into the paper sleeve it went! A one star for the music with an extra star for Peter to have the b@lls to put his name on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - not what you'd expect from a KISS member, Nov. 2 2003
This review is from: Kiss Solo (Audio CD)
On September 18, 1978, KISS did something no other rock band has ever done to this day - all four members released a solo album on the same day. Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, and Peter Criss would now not only be recognized for their music-making abilities as a group, but also as solo artists.
Of these solo albums, it was Peter Criss who employed the most progressive stylings of all the KISS members. While their solo albums tended to stay fairly close to the KISS stylings that fans knew and love, Criss released an album of blues-based rock and roll. The band rarely used any of Criss's material, so it was great that he finally got the opportunity to record a whole album's worth of it! Read on for my review of this - Peter Criss's first release as a solo artist.
I'm Gonna Love You - The album is kicked off with this track - a good, solid blues-based rocker. Criss uses piano and horns in this track, which give it a certain uniqueness. Excellent opener.
You Matter to Me - Basically this track sounds like what just about every pop star was going for in the seventies - though Criss pulls it off better than just about all of them. The keyboards in this track are great.
Tossin' and Turnin' - This one is just weird. It's a bluesy track which uses female backing vocals. Though this isn't a bad track by any means, it's certainly weird, and probably the weakest thing here.
Don't You Let Me Down - Here Criss slows things down a notch for one of the album's ballads. The keyboard riffs used here are very nice. This certainly isn't the kind of track you'd expect from a KISS member.
That's the Kind of Sugar Papa Likes - With this track, we get an excellent example of classic rhythm and blues rock. I admit, this track is a little weird, but it's still pretty good.
Easy Thing - Once again, Criss slows things down and gives us a love song. Every artist, regardless of genre, has to do a few love songs - and Criss gets the job done nicely.
Rock Me, Baby - Here we get another classic blues rocker, which, like the first track on the album, uses pianos and horns. Overall, another good track.
Kiss the Girl Goodbye - This is the softest of the ballads the album has to offer. Don't let that fool you, though - Criss ISN'T wimping out. This is an excellent track that you must listen to.
Hooked on Rock 'N' Roll - Here we get more straight-up blues rock. Criss's vocals here are excellent, as is the piano. Is anyone else this surprised that a guy from a hard rock group can do blues rock this well?
I Can't Stop the Rain - The album closes with another love song, this one employs the usage of pianos and acoustic guitars. An album should always end with a song that will leave a lasting impression - and this one does just that.
If this is such a good album, then why only 3.5 stars? The album, while good, is certainly redundant in a few places. That's not to say it's a bad album, though - it's excellent. If you haven't listened to this album yet, take my advice - DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS ALBUM UNLESS YOU HAVE AN OPEN MIND. This is Criss solo, NOT KISS, SO DON'T BUY THIS EXPECTING AN ALBUM WITH THE CLASSIC KISS SOUND.
To put it simply, Criss's solo album is an excellent change of pace for the legendary hard rock drummer. It's not what you'd expect him to play by any means, but it's STILL excellent. Check this album out - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - not what you'd expect from a KISS member, Oct. 27 2003
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
On September 18, 1978, KISS did something no other rock band has ever done to this day - all four members released a solo album on the same day. Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, and Peter Criss would now not only be recognized for their music-making abilities as a group, but also as solo artists.
Of these solo albums, it was Peter Criss who employed the most progressive stylings of all the KISS members. While their solo albums tended to stay fairly close to the KISS stylings that fans knew and love, Criss released an album of blues-based rock and roll. The band rarely used any of Criss's material, so it was great that he finally got the opportunity to record a whole album's worth of it! Read on for my review of this - Peter Criss's first release as a solo artist.
I'm Gonna Love You - The album is kicked off with this track - a good, solid blues-based rocker. Criss uses piano and horns in this track, which give it a certain uniqueness. Excellent opener.
You Matter to Me - Basically this track sounds like what just about every pop star was going for in the seventies - though Criss pulls it off better than just about all of them. The keyboards in this track are great.
Tossin' and Turnin' - This one is just weird. It's a bluesy track which uses female backing vocals. Though this isn't a bad track by any means, it's certainly weird, and probably the weakest thing here.
Don't You Let Me Down - Here Criss slows things down a notch for one of the album's ballads. The keyboard riffs used here are very nice. This certainly isn't the kind of track you'd expect from a KISS member.
That's the Kind of Sugar Papa Likes - With this track, we get an excellent example of classic rhythm and blues rock. I admit, this track is a little weird, but it's still pretty good.
Easy Thing - Once again, Criss slows things down and gives us a love song. Every artist, regardless of genre, has to do a few love songs - and Criss gets the job done nicely.
Rock Me, Baby - Here we get another classic blues rocker, which, like the first track on the album, uses pianos and horns. Overall, another good track.
Kiss the Girl Goodbye - This is the softest of the ballads the album has to offer. Don't let that fool you, though - Criss ISN'T wimping out. This is an excellent track that you must listen to.
Hooked on Rock 'N' Roll - Here we get more straight-up blues rock. Criss's vocals here are excellent, as is the piano. Is anyone else this surprised that a guy from a hard rock group can do blues rock this well?
I Can't Stop the Rain - The album closes with another love song, this one employs the usage of pianos and acoustic guitars. An album should always end with a song that will leave a lasting impression - and this one does just that.
If this is such a good album, then why only 3.5 stars? The album, while good, is certainly redundant in a few places. That's not to say it's a bad album, though - it's excellent. If you haven't listened to this album yet, take my advice - DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS ALBUM UNLESS YOU HAVE AN OPEN MIND. This is Criss solo, NOT KISS, SO DON'T BUY THIS EXPECTING AN ALBUM WITH THE CLASSIC KISS SOUND.
To put it simply, Criss's solo album is an excellent change of pace for the legendary hard rock drummer. It's not what you'd expect him to play by any means, but it's STILL excellent. Check this album out - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Criss
Peter Criss by Kiss (Audio CD - 1997)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews