Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the ONE-STAR raters...
What is wrong with you people? TRASH? CRAP? Give me a break! You wouldn't know trash if you stuck your head inside garbage can! So I suggest you remove your heads from another odorous place and try to be a little more open-minded instead of so closed-minded. Let me explain why you are WRONG! I'll talk slow so you can keep up, ok?
Here we go:
Yes, I know...Peter...
Published on May 16 2004 by Randall M. Benton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - not what you'd expect from a KISS member
On September 18, 1978, KISS did something no other rock band has ever done to this day - all four members released a solo album on the same day. Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, and Peter Criss would now not only be recognized for their music-making abilities as a group, but also as solo artists.
Of these solo albums, it was Peter Criss who employed the most...
Published on Nov. 2 2003 by Rocker_Man


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the ONE-STAR raters..., May 16 2004
By 
Randall M. Benton (Ridgway, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
What is wrong with you people? TRASH? CRAP? Give me a break! You wouldn't know trash if you stuck your head inside garbage can! So I suggest you remove your heads from another odorous place and try to be a little more open-minded instead of so closed-minded. Let me explain why you are WRONG! I'll talk slow so you can keep up, ok?
Here we go:
Yes, I know...Peter should have done the standard rock drummer thing and just re-made a bunch of "Black Diamond/Strange Ways/Baby Driver"-style songs and stayed within the limits of what the KISS "fans" expected of him. Who the hell is he anyway thinking he can record something other than the basic KISS song everyone knows and loves? Yes, it IS his solo album...but he shouldn't try to do something (God forbid) different!
I never heard such narrow-minded blithering idiots sound so inanely simplistic in their "reviews." I don't care if you like what Peter did or not. I give him credit for having the guts to stretch out and follow his passion for R&B, dance, pop, jazz...whatever...and do something he wanted to do. I guess he should have consulted all the KISS fans out there and see if it was ok to do something original.
If you just plain don't like the songs, fine...but give the guy credit for doing what HE wanted. He stretched farther than Ace, Gene, or Paul did. That was their choice and this was his. Nobody said to the band prior to the project "each of you make an album...but ONLY make it sound like KISS or at least 'hard rock.' Or else you'll have morons from all over the world giving you crap about it for the next 30 years!"
And, I hate to break it to the incredibly creative-with-their-words "reviewers" who trash this album...but these songs are pretty well done from a guy who everyone loves claiming is so one-dimensional. No, he doesn't have the voice Paul Stanley does, but that even gives him MORE credability because he has to work harder to get results. It's not a natural strength so he has to work harder. Yeah, he doesn't deserve credit for THAT does he!
I've had problems with Peter and some of his troubles involving his tenure in KISS over the years. But, I can't fault him for being original enough to follow his heart and soul and do whatever the hell he wanted on HIS solo album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS ALBUM IS GREAT!!!!!!!, June 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
I admit I did'nt really give this album a chance when I first got it, but when I listen to it now, it is really a cool album!!. I'm so sick of people acting like this is a KISS album, ITS NOT!, its a PETER CRISS solo album!!!!, and if you pulled your head out of your @ss you might like it.
some of the stand out songs are "Tossin n Turning", "Easy Thing", "Kinda suga pa pa likes", "hooked on Rock n Roll", and "You matter to me".
well done Peter, this album rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - not what you'd expect from a KISS member, Nov. 2 2003
This review is from: Kiss Solo (Audio CD)
On September 18, 1978, KISS did something no other rock band has ever done to this day - all four members released a solo album on the same day. Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, and Peter Criss would now not only be recognized for their music-making abilities as a group, but also as solo artists.
Of these solo albums, it was Peter Criss who employed the most progressive stylings of all the KISS members. While their solo albums tended to stay fairly close to the KISS stylings that fans knew and love, Criss released an album of blues-based rock and roll. The band rarely used any of Criss's material, so it was great that he finally got the opportunity to record a whole album's worth of it! Read on for my review of this - Peter Criss's first release as a solo artist.
I'm Gonna Love You - The album is kicked off with this track - a good, solid blues-based rocker. Criss uses piano and horns in this track, which give it a certain uniqueness. Excellent opener.
You Matter to Me - Basically this track sounds like what just about every pop star was going for in the seventies - though Criss pulls it off better than just about all of them. The keyboards in this track are great.
Tossin' and Turnin' - This one is just weird. It's a bluesy track which uses female backing vocals. Though this isn't a bad track by any means, it's certainly weird, and probably the weakest thing here.
Don't You Let Me Down - Here Criss slows things down a notch for one of the album's ballads. The keyboard riffs used here are very nice. This certainly isn't the kind of track you'd expect from a KISS member.
That's the Kind of Sugar Papa Likes - With this track, we get an excellent example of classic rhythm and blues rock. I admit, this track is a little weird, but it's still pretty good.
Easy Thing - Once again, Criss slows things down and gives us a love song. Every artist, regardless of genre, has to do a few love songs - and Criss gets the job done nicely.
Rock Me, Baby - Here we get another classic blues rocker, which, like the first track on the album, uses pianos and horns. Overall, another good track.
Kiss the Girl Goodbye - This is the softest of the ballads the album has to offer. Don't let that fool you, though - Criss ISN'T wimping out. This is an excellent track that you must listen to.
Hooked on Rock 'N' Roll - Here we get more straight-up blues rock. Criss's vocals here are excellent, as is the piano. Is anyone else this surprised that a guy from a hard rock group can do blues rock this well?
I Can't Stop the Rain - The album closes with another love song, this one employs the usage of pianos and acoustic guitars. An album should always end with a song that will leave a lasting impression - and this one does just that.
If this is such a good album, then why only 3.5 stars? The album, while good, is certainly redundant in a few places. That's not to say it's a bad album, though - it's excellent. If you haven't listened to this album yet, take my advice - DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS ALBUM UNLESS YOU HAVE AN OPEN MIND. This is Criss solo, NOT KISS, SO DON'T BUY THIS EXPECTING AN ALBUM WITH THE CLASSIC KISS SOUND.
To put it simply, Criss's solo album is an excellent change of pace for the legendary hard rock drummer. It's not what you'd expect him to play by any means, but it's STILL excellent. Check this album out - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - not what you'd expect from a KISS member, Oct. 27 2003
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
On September 18, 1978, KISS did something no other rock band has ever done to this day - all four members released a solo album on the same day. Paul Stanley, Gene Simmons, Ace Frehley, and Peter Criss would now not only be recognized for their music-making abilities as a group, but also as solo artists.
Of these solo albums, it was Peter Criss who employed the most progressive stylings of all the KISS members. While their solo albums tended to stay fairly close to the KISS stylings that fans knew and love, Criss released an album of blues-based rock and roll. The band rarely used any of Criss's material, so it was great that he finally got the opportunity to record a whole album's worth of it! Read on for my review of this - Peter Criss's first release as a solo artist.
I'm Gonna Love You - The album is kicked off with this track - a good, solid blues-based rocker. Criss uses piano and horns in this track, which give it a certain uniqueness. Excellent opener.
You Matter to Me - Basically this track sounds like what just about every pop star was going for in the seventies - though Criss pulls it off better than just about all of them. The keyboards in this track are great.
Tossin' and Turnin' - This one is just weird. It's a bluesy track which uses female backing vocals. Though this isn't a bad track by any means, it's certainly weird, and probably the weakest thing here.
Don't You Let Me Down - Here Criss slows things down a notch for one of the album's ballads. The keyboard riffs used here are very nice. This certainly isn't the kind of track you'd expect from a KISS member.
That's the Kind of Sugar Papa Likes - With this track, we get an excellent example of classic rhythm and blues rock. I admit, this track is a little weird, but it's still pretty good.
Easy Thing - Once again, Criss slows things down and gives us a love song. Every artist, regardless of genre, has to do a few love songs - and Criss gets the job done nicely.
Rock Me, Baby - Here we get another classic blues rocker, which, like the first track on the album, uses pianos and horns. Overall, another good track.
Kiss the Girl Goodbye - This is the softest of the ballads the album has to offer. Don't let that fool you, though - Criss ISN'T wimping out. This is an excellent track that you must listen to.
Hooked on Rock 'N' Roll - Here we get more straight-up blues rock. Criss's vocals here are excellent, as is the piano. Is anyone else this surprised that a guy from a hard rock group can do blues rock this well?
I Can't Stop the Rain - The album closes with another love song, this one employs the usage of pianos and acoustic guitars. An album should always end with a song that will leave a lasting impression - and this one does just that.
If this is such a good album, then why only 3.5 stars? The album, while good, is certainly redundant in a few places. That's not to say it's a bad album, though - it's excellent. If you haven't listened to this album yet, take my advice - DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS ALBUM UNLESS YOU HAVE AN OPEN MIND. This is Criss solo, NOT KISS, SO DON'T BUY THIS EXPECTING AN ALBUM WITH THE CLASSIC KISS SOUND.
To put it simply, Criss's solo album is an excellent change of pace for the legendary hard rock drummer. It's not what you'd expect him to play by any means, but it's STILL excellent. Check this album out - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When it comes to KISS solos, this is the cat's meow, April 13 2003
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
The KISS solo albums provided an interesting look at how each band member's style came out apart from the band. For the Cat Man, Peter Criss, who didn't sing enough songs, this was the perfect opportunity for his feline self to emerge. His album is a mixture of soulful piano and brass rock and slow ballads. There's nothing here that rocks as hard as anything from the KISS to Love Gun albums. Most of the material is mid-paced to downright mellow. There's a lot of personality in Criss's raspy voice, which is really heartfelt in the ballad songs. He also steps away from the drums in half the songs.
"I'm Gonna Love You" sports piano, rock guitar, a brass section and some soulful backing vocals.
"You Matter To Me" with the Farfisa-like synthesizers, could be easily remixed into an old school disco tune.
Peter does a decent and rousing cover of the insomniac "Tossin' And Turnin'" with a pair of soulful female backup singers. Curious that this was the one track that KISS fans really liked.
The sad Elton Johnesque "Don't You let Me Down" is the first of four sad killer ballads. The second, my favourite song here, "Easy Thing," as in "Love is such an easy thing to lose," is backed by strings, and actually outdoes "Beth" in its heartfeltness. The lullaby-like "Kiss The Girl Goodbye" with lines as "Time for me to fly/I will be home some day/baby please wait for me" might be a sequel to "Beth." Some of the guitar work reminds me of Heart's "Dog & Butterfly." And "I Can't Stop The Rain," another tearjerker with strings that become powerful with the chorus: "I can't stop the rain/here it comes again/lightning strikes across the sky/I can't stop the rain/here it comes gain. because lightning only blinds my eyes." At one point, he substitutes the words "it takes a witch to curse that g-----ned sky" for the last line in the chorus.
The rollicking "That's The Kind Of Sugar Papa Likes" could've been done by Blondie, say, Eat To The Beat era if they erased the soul edge to it. Steve Lukather from Toto does a guitar solo.
"Rock Me Baby" and "Hooked On Rock 'N' Roll" are songs in the same vein as "I'm Gonna Love You."
Vini Poncia co-wrote many of the songs with Criss, did backing vocals, and in addition to producing this album, would be the hand behind Dynasty and Unmasked, which, depending on how KISS fans view those albums, may not put him in a favourable light. I don't know--I liked those albums good enough. Despite being the lowest selling of the four KISS solo albums, Peter Criss's one remains my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated album of all time, Sept. 26 2002
By 
Clay Davis (Shreveport, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
Ace and Paul made what sounded like two great Kiss albums. Gene - as Gene always does - tried really, really hard to impress the world. But Peter Criss made an incredibly melodic, sensitive and stylish album. Musically, this is the best of the four solo albums. The opener, "I'm Gonna Love You", is very much in the vein of the Rolling Stones. "Easy Thing" is a powerful ballad, almost cinematic in feel - think of Rod Stewart performing a movie theme. "Don't You Let Me Down" and "Kiss The Girl Goodbye" could have easily been performed by the Eagles. But it's the absolute majesty - the romantic, tragic majesty of "I Can't Stop the Rain" that makes this album worth every penny. "Rain" is not just the best song on this disc. It's one of the best songs on ANY Kiss CD. Forget Gene's constant carnival barking about Peter's studio habits or lack of talent. In the end, Peter Criss made a great album. It was typical 70's -- sometimes it rocked, sometimes it was sweet, sometimes it grooved -- but it still stands as the most honest of all four albums. Think of it this way. If Ace's album was a beer, Paul's album was a bottle of cheap wine and Gene's album was a caffiene-free diet Coke, then Peter's album is a hot cup of creamy cappiuccino. Get it. Right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN WITH OPEN EARS & AN OPEN MIND!, Aug. 17 2002
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
This album has been run roughshod over since the day it was released. Its critics lambaste it for not sounding like a KISS record, which isn't entirely true - many of the songs on this album have a similar feel to the group's cuts that feature Criss prominently, (think "Nothin' To Lose," and "Mainline"). Probably due to the (much-deserved) success of Beth, Criss has never been recognized as the fine r&b/soul vocalist he truly is, and more than any other member of the band, he went into the studio to produce the album he couldn't make within the confines of KISS. With a rasp somewhere between Bruce Springsteen and Rod Stewart, Criss tempers the expected ballads with equal doses of rock and funk. Opener "I'm Gonna Love You" is a first-rate soul stomper, complete with punchy horns and Supremes-style back-ups. "Easy Thing" and "I Can't Stop the Rain" are big, epic love songs that Criss and his sandpaper lungs deliver beautifully, and his snappy version of "Tossin' & Turnin'" holds its own.
KISS were at the height of their popularity when the solo projects were released, and Criss could easily have stuck with the tried and true and been assured of strong sales. Daring to be different requires guts and should be commended, especially
when the end result is a fine album such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE CATMAN, May 29 2000
By 
Kevin Dobbs "dragonboots" (Perth Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
This CD is not only one of my favourite CDs but also one of many favourite Kiss CDs. I think the reason I like it so much is the fact that of all the members Peter's is the most honest in feel (it comes from the heart)...and in my humble opinion I think on most counts it works extremely well at what it sets out to be..a set of tunes that Peter would like to have released if he weren't in Kiss! After all wasn't that the idea behind these solo albums being released? The styles contained are varied with all kinds of experimentations crossing from soul to pop to r'n'b. Some may find this a little eclectic on first listen. Being neither a brilliant song writer, singer, or drummer, it is simply Peter's charisma that make this album so enjoyable, and if you give it a chance I'm sure you'll find this to be true! Musical highlights would be the heart felt "I Can't Stop The Rain", hands down the best Peter ballad (you'll forget the insipid Beth when you hear this one), "You Matter to Me" good pop plain and simple, and the Heart like "Kiss The Girl Goodbye." But really the joy of this CD is its entirety and the many stops it takes along Peter's musical landscapes. Enjoy the ride...purrfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest entry of the KISS solos., May 5 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
I find, like most other KISS fans do, that Peter Criss is the most disappointing of the 4 solo albums. I have never cared much for any of his songs or his vocal style. In fact, I don't own any of his post-KISS recordings nor do I wish to. Has anyone ever noticed that there seem to be 2 theories on Peter Criss: 1) Peter is the crown jewel of KISS whose drumming and vocals were never appreciated by the money-hungry Paul and Gene, or 2) a hack jazz drummer with a god-awful voice who couldn't write a good song if he had a gun to his head and made a name for himself simply by being in an otherwise talented group (can you say Ringo Starr?). Sorry Catman fans...I subscribe to the latter. That aside, Peter Criss does have a few good songs on it, most notably I'm Gonna Love You and You Matter To Me. I Can't Stop The Rain and Hooked On Rock 'N' Roll are OK; the rest of the songs are awful. Even when I try to separate the album from being linked to KISS, I still can't give it any praise. I should note though that my impression of this album has increased significantly in recent years (maybe it's my advancing age?!). You should have heard what I thought about the album 5 years ago! It is interesting though how much different Peter's songs are from the KISS "sound". There really isn't any song on the album that would fit into the KISS canon. However that was one of the main points in Peter leaving the band; he felt that his songs weren't accepted by Paul and Gene. I do feel, though, that Paul and Gene were wise in limiting the number of songs that Peter contributed to KISS. His songs just don't have that KISS "feel" to them and the fact that Peter's album was the lowest-selling of the four proves this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cat-Man delivers! But its no 'KISS' album, Aug. 8 2000
This review is from: Peter Criss (Audio CD)
Peter Criss' solo effort of 1978 was probably one of the most anticpated out of the three members of KISS. Coming off two years after the huge hit "Beth" from 'Destroyer' and receiving a People's Choice Award in 1977, there was a feeling Criss' solo album would be a hot seller. However, those looking for a KISS-like record were disapointed. Although it achieved platinum status, Criss' solo album was the lowest selling of the four masked men.
Yet, its still a great album. Criss delves heavily into his own R&B, Blues influences on such tracks as "I'm Gonna Love You" and "Hooked on Rock n Roll". Even the discoesque "You Matter to Me" is a treat. Not to mention, the groovy rumble of "That's the Kinda Sugar Papa Likes".
There are also a lot of power ballads to boot such as the Lennonesque "Easy Thing".
'Peter Criss' is a tour-de-force that should not be overlooked. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Criss
Peter Criss by Kiss (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews