Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a beauty
I think it rates up there with "Stairway To Heaven."
Published on Sept. 12 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great archive to the Golden Era of Comedy Albums...eh?
This was probably the last great comedy album from a time (1965 - 1982, or whenever Cheech & Chong split up) when spoken-word LP's were actually worth purchasing and before rap music turned the spoken word from the mainstay of comedy to beat-driven poetry.
>
And "LP" is definitely the operative term here...the material, while perfectly written...
Published on Jan. 7 2003 by Johnny Sideburns


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great archive to the Golden Era of Comedy Albums...eh?, Jan. 7 2003
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
This was probably the last great comedy album from a time (1965 - 1982, or whenever Cheech & Chong split up) when spoken-word LP's were actually worth purchasing and before rap music turned the spoken word from the mainstay of comedy to beat-driven poetry.
>
And "LP" is definitely the operative term here...the material, while perfectly written and recorded with an LP album format in mind, really doesn't transfer well to CD. There are a number of references to the LP record format and even the LP record production process that date the recording significantly and simply don't make sense when applied to and listened to in a compact disc format; a previous reviewer's concern that the listener's lines from the "You Are Our Guest" track are ommitted from the CD exacerbates the point somewhat (the lines are included, eh, it's just that those hosers at Mercury Records shrank 'em down so small from the old LP jacket when transposing "The Hoser" to the CD liner notes that you need the Hubbell Telescope to magnify 'em so's you can read 'em properly). That's the ONLY reason why I docked 2 stars from the album review, eh?
>
However, it is a lot of fun to listen to, if only as a means to preserve your memory of the old "Great White North" LP, should you have been lucky enough to have owned it back in the day. Frankly I'm even more impressed at how entertaining it is considering that there is not a single swear word to be heard anywhere on the album. A full-length comedy recording like this wouldn't even be ATTEMPTED today. There are plenty of smoking (tobacco only, mind) and beer drinking references, but that's the lion's share of Bob & Doug's appeal ANYWAY...I wouldn't have any problem recommending that kids listen to it (there are no parental advisory labels on it, eh), although a "drink responsibly" sermon should probably precede it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a beauty, Sept. 12 2000
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
I think it rates up there with "Stairway To Heaven."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Take Off, Eh?, June 30 2001
By 
Acnoth "acnoth" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
This album was one of the defining moments of Canadian culture, and the listening of it makes one hearken back to one's halcyon days of youth. The only Canadians with living memories of the 80s who will not appreciate this album are those who are too 'cool' to recognize themselves through any means other than a mirror. It is Canadiana at its raw finest, especially the brothers fondness for beer and donuts. The two highlights of the CD are of course "Take Off," where Geddy Lee from Rush deadpans his way through the McKenzie Brothers' 'hit single' and the resulting dialogue, and the purely Canadian version of "Twelve Days of Christmas." In this latter the boys delightfully request every Canadian stereotyped staple (from toques to turtlenecks), to be capped with the inevitable "Beer . . . in-n-n-n a tree." That being said, even when it was initially released this was a long listen between highlights. The jokes are older now and SCTV is now safely in the vaults (except for on the Comedy Network). If you remember the "Great White North" with fondness then this is an excellent reminiscence purchase, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who doesn't already know the jokes. Finally, in the used CD I picked up, there were no liner notes allowing me to follow along with "You Are Our Guest." That was very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great, funny classic, July 15 2001
By 
J. K. Kelley "literary mercenary" (Eastern WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
A lot of people outside Canada have now forgotten about Bob & Doug McKenzie, but their brand of Canadian hick humour hasn't lost any of its appeal. Originally started by Dave Thomas and Rick Moranis as a reaction to a requirement for more Canadian content in a production, they ultimately went on to star in the hilariously stupid _Strange Brew_.
On this CD you'll find comedy pieces on a number of topics: The Beerhunter, their Christmas song, Doug conducting church services, Bob as principal of a school, and more. The best way to describe them is that they're so stupid they're hilarious.
While many Canadians are no doubt appalled to the degree that Bob & Doug actually impacted the typical viewpoint of Canada held in the States, the fact remains that their parody of the content laws is an indelible part of Canadian culture. Get this CD while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is my review, eh?, July 29 2003
By 
Johnny Heering "trivia buff" (Bethel, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
The classic comedy album from the SCTV team is now on CD. This is really funny stuff, but some of the jokes don't really work on CD. There are many specific references to the vinyl LP format. But overall, this is a fun album from a classic comedy team. G'day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take Off with Bob & Doug, Sept. 14 2000
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
Rick Moranis & Dave Thomas created the McKenzie Brothers on the brilliant SCTV and took them to the big screen in the hillarious Strange Brew. They also released this record and it is one of the best comedy albums of all time ranking up there with Richard Pryor's & George Carlin's releases. Bits like "Coffee Sandwich", "Peter's Donuts", "The Beer Hunter" and "Twelve Days Of Christmas" are down right side-splitting. The album even has a "hit song" with "Take Off" (it actually got to #12 on the charts in '82) that includes backing vocals by Geddy Lee of Rush. Every time you play this album, you will bust a gut laughing, whether it's the first or one-thousandth time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What are yew looking at, hoser?, May 5 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
When I went to Camp Sumner in Ely, Minnesota we had to watch a video about the Great White North and believe it or not, part of the soundtrack to that informational film was "Take Off". Several years later, after having watched STRANGE BREW, I discovered that the McKenzie's had made this quirky little ablum and had to get my hands on a copy. It's worth every penny. I mean, where else can you get a comedy album that talks about beer, Star Wars, doughnuts, black holes, the flip side of an album, and includes a hit song largely sung by Geddy Lee? There just isn't anything like it. If you like silly, witty, yet stupid humor, this one's for you (and I don't mean the beer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I found this on CD!!!, Nov. 15 2002
By 
Tonya Price "elysianhunter" (Gahanna, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
This was an 80's cult classic, especially the "12 Days of Christmas." I can still remember my mother blowing hot tea out her nose the first time I played the old vinyl record (which mysteriously disappeared sometime around 1990) when they got to the "beer... in a tree" spiel.
Of course this is probably not for younger listeners, they do talk a lot about beer and cigarettes, and the whole deal with Bob as a school principal telling the kids to go outside and light up may be unsettling to some. But who cares about being politically correct when you're having this much fun? And it certainly isn't dirty! It's hilarious every time you listen to it, and it doesn't get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is truly BEAUTY, eh?, Oct. 9 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
The amazing thing about this album is that it was all improvised (except for the two musical tracks) in one afternoon! Just think how funny this record would have been if these guys ad really tried!! I still crack up, all these years later, at the thought of Pastor "Elron" McKenzie welcoming in his flock, who fought through the 8 feet of snow, just to hear him sermonize how they shouldn't kill bugs! If there's any justice, Polygram will eventually re-release the soundtrack album (NOT their second album, they will insist) from Strange Brew, but until then, this record continues to provide many hours of fun for me and my entire family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HOSERS FROM SCTV AND THEIR FIRST ALBUM WITH BOB & DOUG!, July 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Great White North (Audio CD)
Good day eh? Bob & Doug McKenzie from SCTV and their famous character skecth played by Rick Moranis & Dave Thomas. These guys very first CD album debut called "Great White North" is a laughing and hilarious comedy routine landmark in history between brothers drinking beer and cooking back-bacon to go with every performance. From Bob & Doug's storytelling and to their christmas carols montage of the "Twelve Days of Christmas" in these tracks included here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great White North
Great White North by Bob & Doug McKenzie (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews