Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sexist, raunchy, Spinal Tappish classic.
The Scorpions have never been all too good with the fairer sex. Their misogynist lyrics and album covers came to a head with this album, 1980's Animal Magnetism (well maybe not album covers if you think about Virgin Killer eww)..
If one wants to enjoy the Scorpions, they have to set those things aside because according to the parties involved (including Uli Jon Roth)...
Published on Nov. 5 2003 by Mattowarrior

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good remaster
Don't think many people need an introduction to the album, so I'll go ahead with the quality. I believe I also placed a review earlier, but it might have been under the wrong version. Basically the sound quality absolutely kills Deadly Sting. Totally demolishes. The only problem is that the remastering exploses some flaws, and there's clicks in track 2 similar to those in...
Published on Dec 7 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sexist, raunchy, Spinal Tappish classic., Nov. 5 2003
By 
Mattowarrior "Mattowarrior" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
The Scorpions have never been all too good with the fairer sex. Their misogynist lyrics and album covers came to a head with this album, 1980's Animal Magnetism (well maybe not album covers if you think about Virgin Killer eww)..
If one wants to enjoy the Scorpions, they have to set those things aside because according to the parties involved (including Uli Jon Roth) it was kind of all an act.
But enough of my yapping. Animal Magnetism rocks. Hard. It has a rough, raw feel but looser vibe than their previous album Lovedrive, and while a bit more unfocused, the songs are almost a bit more memorable. No Michael Schenker here, he was probably really drunk and recording his first solo album at the time anyway. He dropped the ball on these guys. Songs like "Only a Man" (Clinton's excuse), "Hold Me Tight", and "Don't Make No Promises (Your Body Can't Keep)" exemplfy the sleazy attitude of the album, but are probably the most rocking songs on the album as well. The Zoo, well let's just say its a fluke that it was a hit. Its not their worst song but its a bit pedestrian considering the other songs on the album. "Lady Starlight" continues in the traditions of their seventies ballads, however with no Uli Jon Roth it doesn't match to songs like "We'll Burn the Sky". Its still a great song, with an orchestra taking the place of Uli (!) and a slow burning solo from (Rudolph sounding a bit like his brother) Schenker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Scorpion Magnetism", July 3 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
"This was a very hard C.D. to find. But finally found it to replace the tape of the same name that was lost. I grew up in the "80's",& when a friend played one song called,"The Zoo",I really loved that song right away,& then listening to the rest,which back then I didnt know who they were at 15, I loved this record!!! There are some songs from the C.D. that werent my fav's, but enough to have to have it again. Make it real,Dont make no promises your body cant keep,Falling in Love,Only a man,The Zoo,Lady Starlight,I love those the most,they are really good "HEAVY METAL MUSIC",the other 3 are not bad at all,(Hold me tight,20th century man,Animal Magnetism,are also good,but everyone has their fav's. There are 9 tracks,& if Ive been looking for this, this long,then I think its worth every penny.The Scorpions do an excellent job ,the music is hard rocking metal as they are,the songs are unique,and I really love this C.D.,& Iam glad I finally found a copy. If you like "80's" HARD ROCK,then The Scorpions,"Animal Magnetism",wont be a disappointment!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Welcome to the eighties, May 16 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Animal Magnetism (1980.) Scorpions' seventh album.
Normally replacing band members can result in instant doom for a band. The Scorpions are one of the few bands that didn't have to face such a tragedy. Their new guitarist, Matthias Jabs, had more than proven to be a competent replacement for his predecessor, Ulrich Jon Roth. Their recent album, Lovedrive, had proven this well. And in 1980, the band released its seventh album - Animal Magnetism. Read on for my review.
Unlike the previous Lovedrive album, which experimented with a number of styles, just about every track featured on this album explores the same style - classic hard power rock. One of the band's earliest big hits, the rocker known as The Zoo, can be found on this album. This is one of the band's most popular songs to date, as well as one of their finest. A number of other excellent rockers can also be found on this album, including the excellent opening track Make It Real. The album's other rockers, including Twentieth Century Man, Falling in love, and the title track, are equally excellent. There is only one ballad to be found on this album, but it's one of their finest tracks of the styling - a little number entitled Lady Starlight. This is the band at its slowest and most melodic, but it's still an excellent song, and in my opinion, better than the other ballads they would score later in the decade. All the way through, this is an excellent album, and though it lacks the substance of its predecessor, Lovedrive, it's more than worthy of a score of four point five.
To put it simply, this is an album worth owning if you like the Scorpions for their hard rock material. Through and through, this album sticks with a style similar to what other power rock bands of the eighties would use, so if you like eighties hard rock, it's extremely likely that you will like this album. Don't pass it by; it's a Scorpions masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - The band enters the eighties..., April 7 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Animal Magnetism (1980.) Scorpions' seventh album.
Normally replacing band members can result in instant doom for a band. The Scorpions are one of the few bands that didn't have to face such a tragedy. Their new guitarist, Matthias Jabs, had more than proven to be a competent replacement for his predecessor, Ulrich Jon Roth. Their recent album, Lovedrive, had proven this well. And in 1980, the band released its seventh album - Animal Magnetism. Read on for my review.
Unlike the previous Lovedrive album, which experimented with a number of styles, just about every track featured on this album explores the same style - classic hard power rock. One of the band's earliest big hits, the rocker known as The Zoo, can be found on this album. This is one of the band's most popular songs to date, as well as one of their finest. A number of other excellent rockers can also be found on this album, including the excellent opening track Make It Real. The album's other rockers, including Twentieth Century Man, Falling in love, and the title track, are equally excellent. There is only one ballad to be found on this album, but it's one of their finest tracks of the styling - a little number entitled Lady Starlight. This is the band at its slowest and most melodic, but it's still an excellent song, and in my opinion, better than the other ballads they would score later in the decade. All the way through, this is an excellent album, and though it lacks the substance of its predecessor, Lovedrive, it's more than worthy of a score of four point five.
To put it simply, this is an album worth owning if you like the Scorpions for their hard rock material. Through and through, this album sticks with a style similar to what other power rock bands of the eighties would use, so if you like eighties hard rock, it's extremely likely that you will like this album. Don't pass it by; it's a Scorpions masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite Scorpions Album, May 14 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Scorpions Animal Magnatism In my opion is there best don't get me wrong eveything else they recorded turns to gold. But This album captures them heavy but more mature sounding But at the same time it sounds tight and it just has a great party beat to play at parties i was only 12 in 1980 when my sister and one of her friends constantly played this till they wore out there record and when i heard it it was love at first sight the sound they achieved on this was awsome totally awsome. And i have loved this recording ever since when i play it i feel like a teenager all over again this recording makes you feel good. Its definatly a metal staple of 1980's. This is one recording that will always be a classic. Buy it it'll be the best money you ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good remaster, Dec 7 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Don't think many people need an introduction to the album, so I'll go ahead with the quality. I believe I also placed a review earlier, but it might have been under the wrong version. Basically the sound quality absolutely kills Deadly Sting. Totally demolishes. The only problem is that the remastering exploses some flaws, and there's clicks in track 2 similar to those in some Priest remasters.
Hey You is also different then the old Rockers N Ballads cd. For one, it's cut to 3:40. The other part is that it sounds a lot less organized. It kinda goes all over the place, and the vocals sound like they're barely competing with the music. They're much easier to hear on the old cd. Hopefully that one will sound better when I get that remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Break through album for the Band, May 16 1998
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
This is the Scorpions album that launched their US popularity. This is a leather wearing, head bangin, your parents won't like it rock and roll album. While not the scorpions greatest album, this is a must have for anyone who enjoys 80's rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, May 6 2004
By 
L. B. Ivarsson (Rock City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
"ANIMAL MAGNETISM" from 1980 is one of Scorpions better albums. It continues where the previous "LOVE DRIVE" left off, and this time the band managed to do the best of the material they got. On this album you'll find some of Scorpions strongest tunes like the groovy "Only a man", the furious "Don't make no promises", the catchy "Make it real", and the heavy "The zoo". Maybe Scorpions developed into a pop metal band along the way (at least according to some people) but that is not the case when it comes to "ANIMAL MAGNETISM". And this album is certainly not a sell out, but a very fine link in the chain towards the excellent "BLACKOUT" and "LOVE AT FIRST STING". Turn it up and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement, Dec 7 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
I originally typed a review out for this, but mistakenly put it under the old US remastered version. I'll give a shortened one here. The sound quality is a HUGE improvement. It kills Deadly Sting. It's much louder, bigger, more clarity, and a huge improvement in bass. The only drawback is the same kind of clicking present on some Priest remasters that appears on track 2 during a couple verses. It repeats and is somewhat distracting, probably more total clicks on this song then all the clicks combined from the whole set of Priest remasters. There's also the standard static and tape hiss flaws that seem to be showing up on remasters done after 99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remastered?, July 9 2012
By 
Matt Hughes (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Hmm, so I love this album and always found it to be not the greatest sound quality, a bit muddy really and saw this 2001 Japanese 'remastered' version on amazon and thought this will probably sound even better, and going by how high some people are selling it for (up to 80 dollars or more!) I thought this is THE ONE! I found it for $8.99 used on amazon and snatched it up. But, just got it today and it sounds EXACTLY the same (caps make it more convincing!) as any other version! Still muddy! Not sure what they remastered it from, maybe an old cassette tape, I don't know, but it sure isn't worth what some people are selling it for on here, save your money folks and just by a regular version because they are all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Magnetism
Animal Magnetism by Scorpions (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews