Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sexist, raunchy, Spinal Tappish classic.
The Scorpions have never been all too good with the fairer sex. Their misogynist lyrics and album covers came to a head with this album, 1980's Animal Magnetism (well maybe not album covers if you think about Virgin Killer eww)..
If one wants to enjoy the Scorpions, they have to set those things aside because according to the parties involved (including Uli Jon Roth)...
Published on Nov. 5 2003 by Mattowarrior

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remastered?
Hmm, so I love this album and always found it to be not the greatest sound quality, a bit muddy really and saw this 2001 Japanese 'remastered' version on amazon and thought this will probably sound even better, and going by how high some people are selling it for (up to 80 dollars or more!) I thought this is THE ONE! I found it for $8.99 used on amazon and snatched it up...
Published on July 9 2012 by Matt Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sexist, raunchy, Spinal Tappish classic., Nov. 5 2003
By 
Mattowarrior "Mattowarrior" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
The Scorpions have never been all too good with the fairer sex. Their misogynist lyrics and album covers came to a head with this album, 1980's Animal Magnetism (well maybe not album covers if you think about Virgin Killer eww)..
If one wants to enjoy the Scorpions, they have to set those things aside because according to the parties involved (including Uli Jon Roth) it was kind of all an act.
But enough of my yapping. Animal Magnetism rocks. Hard. It has a rough, raw feel but looser vibe than their previous album Lovedrive, and while a bit more unfocused, the songs are almost a bit more memorable. No Michael Schenker here, he was probably really drunk and recording his first solo album at the time anyway. He dropped the ball on these guys. Songs like "Only a Man" (Clinton's excuse), "Hold Me Tight", and "Don't Make No Promises (Your Body Can't Keep)" exemplfy the sleazy attitude of the album, but are probably the most rocking songs on the album as well. The Zoo, well let's just say its a fluke that it was a hit. Its not their worst song but its a bit pedestrian considering the other songs on the album. "Lady Starlight" continues in the traditions of their seventies ballads, however with no Uli Jon Roth it doesn't match to songs like "We'll Burn the Sky". Its still a great song, with an orchestra taking the place of Uli (!) and a slow burning solo from (Rudolph sounding a bit like his brother) Schenker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remastered?, July 9 2012
By 
Matt Hughes (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Hmm, so I love this album and always found it to be not the greatest sound quality, a bit muddy really and saw this 2001 Japanese 'remastered' version on amazon and thought this will probably sound even better, and going by how high some people are selling it for (up to 80 dollars or more!) I thought this is THE ONE! I found it for $8.99 used on amazon and snatched it up. But, just got it today and it sounds EXACTLY the same (caps make it more convincing!) as any other version! Still muddy! Not sure what they remastered it from, maybe an old cassette tape, I don't know, but it sure isn't worth what some people are selling it for on here, save your money folks and just by a regular version because they are all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's hard rock from the 80's, Dec 9 2013
By 
Sir Steven (Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
It's the Scorpions. The usual song styles are here. The rockers and the ubiquitous ballad. Not bad, but they did do this style better later on in the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, May 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
je suis vraiment content de mon achat , je lecoute a tout les jours depuis que je lai reçu , merci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Break through album for the Band, May 16 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
This is the Scorpions album that launched their US popularity. This is a leather wearing, head bangin, your parents won't like it rock and roll album. While not the scorpions greatest album, this is a must have for anyone who enjoys 80's rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars their best, March 7 2010
By 
? - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Animal Magnetism~ Scorpions
this is one of my all time favorite albums, i think album is their best work as all the songs have punch. great guitars and drums throughout. yes it's old but it's a classic. i have it on vinyl and cassette. it took me years to find on cd original print. I finally got it off craiglist for 2 bucks. If you like great metal check this album and band out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Scorpion Magnetism", July 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
"This was a very hard C.D. to find. But finally found it to replace the tape of the same name that was lost. I grew up in the "80's",& when a friend played one song called,"The Zoo",I really loved that song right away,& then listening to the rest,which back then I didnt know who they were at 15, I loved this record!!! There are some songs from the C.D. that werent my fav's, but enough to have to have it again. Make it real,Dont make no promises your body cant keep,Falling in Love,Only a man,The Zoo,Lady Starlight,I love those the most,they are really good "HEAVY METAL MUSIC",the other 3 are not bad at all,(Hold me tight,20th century man,Animal Magnetism,are also good,but everyone has their fav's. There are 9 tracks,& if Ive been looking for this, this long,then I think its worth every penny.The Scorpions do an excellent job ,the music is hard rocking metal as they are,the songs are unique,and I really love this C.D.,& Iam glad I finally found a copy. If you like "80's" HARD ROCK,then The Scorpions,"Animal Magnetism",wont be a disappointment!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Scorps Finest, June 23 2004
By 
Christopher Fryer (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Got this album on cassette in the mail from RCA in the early 80's and soon realized what a fine slab of metal I had purchased.
The production is very raw and the guitar riffs are the best of any Scorpions album. Make It Real, Falling In Love, The Zoo, and Only A Man rock hard. The title track is slow and hypnotizing. The sole ballad Lady Starlight contains some great Micheal Schenker style playing (hmmmmm?). Taken By Force, Blackout, Virgin Killer, and Love Drive should also be part of your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Welcome to the eighties, May 16 2004
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
Animal Magnetism (1980.) Scorpions' seventh album.
Normally replacing band members can result in instant doom for a band. The Scorpions are one of the few bands that didn't have to face such a tragedy. Their new guitarist, Matthias Jabs, had more than proven to be a competent replacement for his predecessor, Ulrich Jon Roth. Their recent album, Lovedrive, had proven this well. And in 1980, the band released its seventh album - Animal Magnetism. Read on for my review.
Unlike the previous Lovedrive album, which experimented with a number of styles, just about every track featured on this album explores the same style - classic hard power rock. One of the band's earliest big hits, the rocker known as The Zoo, can be found on this album. This is one of the band's most popular songs to date, as well as one of their finest. A number of other excellent rockers can also be found on this album, including the excellent opening track Make It Real. The album's other rockers, including Twentieth Century Man, Falling in love, and the title track, are equally excellent. There is only one ballad to be found on this album, but it's one of their finest tracks of the styling - a little number entitled Lady Starlight. This is the band at its slowest and most melodic, but it's still an excellent song, and in my opinion, better than the other ballads they would score later in the decade. All the way through, this is an excellent album, and though it lacks the substance of its predecessor, Lovedrive, it's more than worthy of a score of four point five.
To put it simply, this is an album worth owning if you like the Scorpions for their hard rock material. Through and through, this album sticks with a style similar to what other power rock bands of the eighties would use, so if you like eighties hard rock, it's extremely likely that you will like this album. Don't pass it by; it's a Scorpions masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, May 6 2004
By 
L. B. Ivarsson (Rock City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal Magnetism (Audio CD)
"ANIMAL MAGNETISM" from 1980 is one of Scorpions better albums. It continues where the previous "LOVE DRIVE" left off, and this time the band managed to do the best of the material they got. On this album you'll find some of Scorpions strongest tunes like the groovy "Only a man", the furious "Don't make no promises", the catchy "Make it real", and the heavy "The zoo". Maybe Scorpions developed into a pop metal band along the way (at least according to some people) but that is not the case when it comes to "ANIMAL MAGNETISM". And this album is certainly not a sell out, but a very fine link in the chain towards the excellent "BLACKOUT" and "LOVE AT FIRST STING". Turn it up and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Magnetism
Animal Magnetism by Scorpions (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews