Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last album of Yngwie being true to himself
After this, it was all downhill. His albums began to get a bit "samey", containing songs of dubiously similar, commercial style, with the occasional left-field entry of a real metal epic. This album shows him wanting to try the radio-friendly thing with "You Don't Remember", which is probably his least bubble-gum flavored pop song, but overall it isn't very commercial...
Published on Oct. 30 2003 by e5150

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of songs.
I remember getting my first copy of Trilogy on cassette several years ago. I used to listen to it all the time. I still listen to it occasionally--it's a cool hard rock album. The addition of Mark Boals on vocals was a good idea--he's a capable singer. Yngwie's guitar playing is very good throughout. Jens Johansson also does a skilled job with the keyboard...
Published on May 21 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last album of Yngwie being true to himself, Oct. 30 2003
By 
e5150 (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
After this, it was all downhill. His albums began to get a bit "samey", containing songs of dubiously similar, commercial style, with the occasional left-field entry of a real metal epic. This album shows him wanting to try the radio-friendly thing with "You Don't Remember", which is probably his least bubble-gum flavored pop song, but overall it isn't very commercial. And it was the last one to be without one of his ultra-cheesey ballads, which gains MAJOR points for TRILOGY.
Nope, there are definitely NO songs on TRILOGY that your girlfriend would like, which is how it should be. Well, the aforementioned "You Don't Remember" might actually be a chick song, but besides that one it's all dungeons and dragons and shreddery.
Yngwie will never be called a poet, but he at least covers some fairly interesting topics with "Queen in Love" and "Dark Ages". "Liar" sees him seething at someone who backstabbed him, whilst "Crying" is a nice little acoustic solo vehicle.
Undoubtedly the final tune is the piece-de-resistance. "Trilogy Suite" is in my useless opinion his best, most interesting instrumental. It wears many more faces than the throw-away 3 minute shred-fests he tacked onto his subsequent albums, and never loses your attention. The blistering acoustic break towards the end is To DIE FOR.
Yngwie also plays bass on the album and does an amazing job at that, especially in the Trilogy Suite where he routinely does his Bach schtick on the four-string.
Apparently the singer Mark Boals has found some disfavor amongst Yngwie fans, which I can't really relate to. I find him much more interesting than any of the other singers Yngwie's had, especially the "middle-namers": Jeff Scott Soto and Joe Lynn Tuneless, rock star extraordinaire.
Yngwie's first 3 albums show him doing it his way. After that, it was Yngwie doing it the financial way. Turns out it never really paid off--he was never a radio staple--and part of me is glad that it backfired on him. Serves him right for abandoning his integrity to greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Masterpiece, July 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Yngwie Malmsteen is one of the best guitarists on the planet. I once heard someone say he's one of most "over-rated, under-rated" guitar players and I suppose that's true, you either like him or you don't. This album has great production and yes it sounds a little dated, but Mark Boals is a great singer and this album has some of Yngwie's most accessible and well written songs. Unlike a lot of Steve Vai, some Joe Satriani, and even some Eric Johnson songs Yngwie's songs rarely wander and have good structure and feel to them. If you want esoteric nonsense listen to Steve Vai, but if you like well written, played, and produced neo-classical metal and all around talent check out Yngwie J. Malmsteen. Nice cover art too by the way. Either this album or Rising Force is an excellent introduction to his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lose Mark Boals And It's A Masterpiece. 4 STARS., Jan. 28 2003
By 
Kindle Customer (Insane Land of Words & Music) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
The only other gripe I ever had with this recording (besides Mark Boals on vocals) was the song 'fire.' It comes off sounding like Yngwie wanted a radio-friendly song that wasn't too 'metal' sounding or something. Every other song on here is classic Malmsteen and I would tell any fan to get it. Magic Mirror, The haunting riffs of Dark Ages, and the two outstanding instrumentals on this release: Crying, and Trilogy Suite. Trilogy Suite is the gem of this 40 minute CD. The beginning is amazing: with Yngwie making it sound like he's having a guitar duel with himself, and the rest just amazing solos on his part, make it the centerpiece of the LP, even if it's the last track. I'd love to hear a remastered copy though: the drums drown out a lot of Yngwie's basic riffs, but don't sweat it, his solos on this are (as always) loud as hell. Replace the Fire track and either get a different singer, or Yngwie should have told Mark Boals to make his voice soar a bit more, and it's a 5 star rating. Essential though for ANY Malmsteen listener. **** 4 STAR RATING FROM SCRAGGY'S TOMB. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yngwie Fires Off His Third Opus: Trilogy!, Nov. 26 2000
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
By 1986, Yngwie had definently deserved the acclaim he was receiving from the guitar community. With 2 classics firmly under his belt and a growing reputation as the premier rock guitarist, Yngwie had truly re-invented the wheel! TRILOGY follows mostly the same pattern as the previous MARCHING OUT with the glaring exception being the overall "pop-ness" of the disc, possibly to widen his audience. And, to his benefit, he did with the now standard "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget" featuring quite a fine solo and the great vocal stylings of Mr. Mark Boals. Quite befitting Yngwie's ever present Dungeons And Dragons vibe, Boals' thin, high, shrill seems right at home with the minor key madness of such uptempo shredders as "Liar", "Fury", and "Magic Mirror". Anders and Jens Johannson return while Yngwie grabs the bass on this one. We are treated to the emotionally charged instrumental "Crying" as well as the vocal tinged mid-tempo "Queen In Love" and "Fire". The trudging "Dark Ages" is also quite a gem on an album that really saw Yngwie lean with the glam moving times of the mid to late 1980's (possibly the only time Yngwie leaned with the times in his whole career! He truly stands by his invented neo-classical style, but it is obvious that this record was a slight departure from the raw satan-esque vintage metal of his earlier recordings). The true classic on this record, and what really sends it home with a four star rating instead of a 3 or 3 1/2 is the epic majesty of the title track, "Trilogy Suite Opus 5". A true high point in Yngwie's career, this instrumental reminds us of why we listen to this guy in the first place and totally is on par with "Black Star" or "Far Beyond The Sun" from his first record. Yngwie had truly solidified himself as the master of his art and with TRILOGY, he reached a broader audience while still staying true to his artistic muse. Quite a feat! A true guitar classic as well as being a metal masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's no Rising Force, but still a must-have, Oct. 19 2000
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
This is the 3rd Yngwie CD I bought, and at first I disliked it because, unlike Rising Force, there were only two instrumentals on it. But I eventually came to accept the lyrical masterpieces like "Magic Mirror" and "Liar." But back to the instrumentals. They are two of Yngwie's best songs ever. "Crying" takes you through about 3-4 minutes of passionate acoustic playing, followed by a screaming electric guitar response. And in his trademark epic, "Trilogy Suite Opus 5," you hear a wide variety of skills and sounds, including a lightning-fast guitar opening (some parts of the riff are even accompanied note-for-note by the bass), a heavy post-intro, and Yng's usual freestyle shredding. But as the song fades out, and you think it's over, an acoustic riff takes you by surprise, and then the guitar and bass come back in with another metal mashing session. By the end of the long piece, you'll want to go back and listen to it again and again!
As usual, the singing pieces in the songs are very hair-band oriented. But the highlight of many of the songs are the amazing guitar solos. I had a bunch of transcribed Yngwie arpeggio and sweep picking excercises that I'd been practicing, and I was very excited to hear them played (faster than I ever could, obviously) in "Magic Mirror" all in rapid succession. The cover of this CD pretty much tells it all: the lyrics and feel of the album are very fantasy/medieval inspired, and Yng takes on the world with nothing but his Fender Strat.
Buy this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of songs., May 21 2000
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I remember getting my first copy of Trilogy on cassette several years ago. I used to listen to it all the time. I still listen to it occasionally--it's a cool hard rock album. The addition of Mark Boals on vocals was a good idea--he's a capable singer. Yngwie's guitar playing is very good throughout. Jens Johansson also does a skilled job with the keyboard playing. Trilogy's musicianship is really tight--the production sounds nice too. There are a couple of very good instrumentals on here ("Crying" and "Trilogy Suite Op:5"). My favorite songs are "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget" and "Fire." Yngwie's guitar solo on "Fire" is fantastic. I've always been very impressed with it--it's very memorable and is my favorite solo from him. The only song I don't really like is "Fury." It just has never interested me. The rest of the material on the album is pretty good. Trilogy is a respectable release. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MALMSTEEN'S FINEST HOUR, March 4 2000
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
This album was the first that I heard from the Sweedish guitar virtuoso.It was back in the fall of 1986.While I was in high school,a friend came up to me and said "Dude,you got to hear this guy Yngwie!"I put on the headphones of his walkman and when I heard the solo to "You Don't Remember",I instantly fell in love and declared a new hero! "Trilogy" is the reference standard of Malmsteen,a measuring stick recording of a new six-string phenomenon that emerged on the scene of rock back in the early 80's.You can't help but be awe struck in his neo-classical style and his delivery of such now-classics as "Liar","Queen In Love","Fire" and "Fury".Malmsteen's over zealous performance has the critics dismissing his overall musical talent as "showing off" with lightning fast appregios,lacking emotion and statement.On the contrary,this was a young Malmsteen who eventually developed into a mature and modern rock musician as his follow-up albums indicated.Egotistical Yngwie performance? Maybe..however,it holds it's own amongst the crowd at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, June 20 2000
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
I have to agree with a previous reviewer in that this album is what all other Yngwie releases are compared against. This CD unofficially introduced the world of lightning fast, neoclassical guitar playing even though Rising Force and Marching Out were released earlier. The reason is the songs. "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget", "Queen In Love", "Fire", and "Magic Mirror" boast the best metal guitar solos in recorded music history. Yngwie has never matched the emotion and creativity of the instrumentals "Crying" and "Trilogy Suite". There is one major clunker in "Fury" and to me, "Liar" is Yngwie's most overrated song. Mark Boals is an average singer - high, shrill voice, very little range of emotions. However, these do not take away from what is one of the defining CD's in metal history. CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to really cheese it up..., Nov. 22 2005
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Very good playing here, with "Crying" and "Fire" being the most memorable moment. Cheesy songs/lrics like "Queen is in love", and a big filler in "Dark Ages" made this album lack. Marc Boals softened up the Viking metal way too much, as did the song writing, and was the wrong guy for the glam swing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the cheese..., Dec 27 2001
By 
Nunya Business (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Everyone else has addressed the marvellous instrumental aspect of this album, so I'm not even going to bother with that. But here's my assessment of the rest - this album is full of cheese!
Of course, with song titles like "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget" and "Queen In Love", how could it not be? You have to love it, though. This much cheese cannot be ignored.
Once you hear this album, you will not be able to take it out of your CD player for approximately 3.72 weeks. Make sure you have a nearby supply of food and water before listening. And don't worry; if your friends ask why you like it so much, you can always point to Yngwie's always superlative guitar work and the other excellent instrumentation, but you'll know the truth: it's the cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trilogy
Trilogy by Yngwie Malmsteen (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews