Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last album of Yngwie being true to himself
After this, it was all downhill. His albums began to get a bit "samey", containing songs of dubiously similar, commercial style, with the occasional left-field entry of a real metal epic. This album shows him wanting to try the radio-friendly thing with "You Don't Remember", which is probably his least bubble-gum flavored pop song, but overall it isn't very commercial...
Published on Oct. 30 2003 by e5150

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For guitarists ONLY!
Yes, it's dated. Yes, It's short. I know that. But, it's the greatest exercise for guitarists. Yngwie maybe can't write mainstream stuff, be he is perhaps the greatest guitar soloist. I really liked Crying because of it's flamenco style. Other than the other instrumental, this is just cheesy 80's rock with excellent solos. Pretty good.
Published on May 30 2001 by Musicman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last album of Yngwie being true to himself, Oct. 30 2003
By 
e5150 (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
After this, it was all downhill. His albums began to get a bit "samey", containing songs of dubiously similar, commercial style, with the occasional left-field entry of a real metal epic. This album shows him wanting to try the radio-friendly thing with "You Don't Remember", which is probably his least bubble-gum flavored pop song, but overall it isn't very commercial. And it was the last one to be without one of his ultra-cheesey ballads, which gains MAJOR points for TRILOGY.
Nope, there are definitely NO songs on TRILOGY that your girlfriend would like, which is how it should be. Well, the aforementioned "You Don't Remember" might actually be a chick song, but besides that one it's all dungeons and dragons and shreddery.
Yngwie will never be called a poet, but he at least covers some fairly interesting topics with "Queen in Love" and "Dark Ages". "Liar" sees him seething at someone who backstabbed him, whilst "Crying" is a nice little acoustic solo vehicle.
Undoubtedly the final tune is the piece-de-resistance. "Trilogy Suite" is in my useless opinion his best, most interesting instrumental. It wears many more faces than the throw-away 3 minute shred-fests he tacked onto his subsequent albums, and never loses your attention. The blistering acoustic break towards the end is To DIE FOR.
Yngwie also plays bass on the album and does an amazing job at that, especially in the Trilogy Suite where he routinely does his Bach schtick on the four-string.
Apparently the singer Mark Boals has found some disfavor amongst Yngwie fans, which I can't really relate to. I find him much more interesting than any of the other singers Yngwie's had, especially the "middle-namers": Jeff Scott Soto and Joe Lynn Tuneless, rock star extraordinaire.
Yngwie's first 3 albums show him doing it his way. After that, it was Yngwie doing it the financial way. Turns out it never really paid off--he was never a radio staple--and part of me is glad that it backfired on him. Serves him right for abandoning his integrity to greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yngwie in a more commercial musical direction (3.5 stars), Sept. 25 2011
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
In the 1980's Swedish guitarist Yngwie Malmsteen was a guitar revolutionary with is neo-classical guitar playing and popularized the art of "shredding". I'm not Malmsteen's biggest fan and he was not the first guitarist who was influenced by classical music (Ritchie Blackmore was there before him) but I'll give him credit for his playing and his influences on some of the Power/Symphonic Metal bands. While his first solo album Rising Force showed his talents as a guitarist and featured a heavy dose of instrumentals his third album, 1986's Trilogy sees Yngwie going towards a more commercial direction and tends to sound more pop and radio friendly like much of the Glam bands of that era. Yet Yngwie still shreds, produces amazing solos and excellent guitars in general. This album marks another change for Yngwie as singer Mark Boals replaces departed singer Jeff Scott Sotto. Malmsteen would collaborate with many singers (Joe Lynn Turner, Doogie White, Tim "Ripper" Owens just to name a few) and everyone has their favorite but it's fair to say that Mark Boals had a good voice and was a competent singer.

"You Don't Remember" opens the album with crunchy guitars and accompanying keyboards in the background. This song indicates a more radio friendly sound but is still a hard rocking song, even though it hints at commercialism it's still a good catchy song. "Liar" is much more aggressive and is more guitar oriented, a heavier track and one of the best on Trilogy. "Queen In Love" has been described as "cheesy" by other reviewers but I think it's a good 80's pop-flavored song that's undeniably catchy. What can I say? I do enjoy some cheese now and then. "Crying" to me is a personal highlight of Trilogy. It's really as if Yngwie is crying through his guitar, its powerful instrumental music. Yngwie shows his classical guitar skills and also demonstrates that he's not all about speed. "Fury" is one of the heavier tracks on Trilogy and it is also one of the songs on which Boals is most effective. "Fire" is suffers from having a bad, cheesy chorus that brings the song down when it had potential. "Dark Ages" is a good slow, heavy song with interesting lyrics and story. "Magic Mirror" sees Mark Boals going for the high notes but it doesn't really go anywhere unfortunately. Album closer "Trilogy Suit Op: 5" is very much the equivalent classical music on guitar, it sounds incredible and it shows just how much of a virtuoso Malmsteen is. It's not surprising considering Malmsteen's love of classical music. This one is epic; it has many time changes and it's the Yngwie show. Of course he's backed up by solid music. This is for those who are into displays of over the top soloing and represents Malmsteen doing what he does best, those who aren't will find little of interest in this song.

Overall Trilogy is not Yngwie Malmsteen's best or even his most popular album and while it goes in more of a commercial direction than his two previous effort Rising Star (1984) and Marching Out (1985). Yngwie is still true to himself and on Trilogy he's still an impressive guitarist. The songs are more mainstream and there were some radio tracks such as "You Don't Remember" and "Queen In Love" but he remains true to himself. I have a soft spot for Trilogy because while it's not my favorite Yngwie Malmsteen record it was my first. I remember thinking the cover with Yngwie fighting a dragon was a cool image. Trilogy features some excellent guitar work, good new singer and a mix of catchy/heavy/instrumental songs. 3.5 stars/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to really cheese it up..., Nov. 22 2005
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Very good playing here, with "Crying" and "Fire" being the most memorable moment. Cheesy songs/lrics like "Queen is in love", and a big filler in "Dark Ages" made this album lack. Marc Boals softened up the Viking metal way too much, as did the song writing, and was the wrong guy for the glam swing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Masterpiece, July 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Yngwie Malmsteen is one of the best guitarists on the planet. I once heard someone say he's one of most "over-rated, under-rated" guitar players and I suppose that's true, you either like him or you don't. This album has great production and yes it sounds a little dated, but Mark Boals is a great singer and this album has some of Yngwie's most accessible and well written songs. Unlike a lot of Steve Vai, some Joe Satriani, and even some Eric Johnson songs Yngwie's songs rarely wander and have good structure and feel to them. If you want esoteric nonsense listen to Steve Vai, but if you like well written, played, and produced neo-classical metal and all around talent check out Yngwie J. Malmsteen. Nice cover art too by the way. Either this album or Rising Force is an excellent introduction to his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lose Mark Boals And It's A Masterpiece. 4 STARS., Jan. 29 2003
By 
Kindle Customer (Insane Land of Words & Music) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
The only other gripe I ever had with this recording (besides Mark Boals on vocals) was the song 'fire.' It comes off sounding like Yngwie wanted a radio-friendly song that wasn't too 'metal' sounding or something. Every other song on here is classic Malmsteen and I would tell any fan to get it. Magic Mirror, The haunting riffs of Dark Ages, and the two outstanding instrumentals on this release: Crying, and Trilogy Suite. Trilogy Suite is the gem of this 40 minute CD. The beginning is amazing: with Yngwie making it sound like he's having a guitar duel with himself, and the rest just amazing solos on his part, make it the centerpiece of the LP, even if it's the last track. I'd love to hear a remastered copy though: the drums drown out a lot of Yngwie's basic riffs, but don't sweat it, his solos on this are (as always) loud as hell. Replace the Fire track and either get a different singer, or Yngwie should have told Mark Boals to make his voice soar a bit more, and it's a 5 star rating. Essential though for ANY Malmsteen listener. **** 4 STAR RATING FROM SCRAGGY'S TOMB. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the cheese..., Dec 27 2001
By 
Nunya Business (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Everyone else has addressed the marvellous instrumental aspect of this album, so I'm not even going to bother with that. But here's my assessment of the rest - this album is full of cheese!
Of course, with song titles like "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget" and "Queen In Love", how could it not be? You have to love it, though. This much cheese cannot be ignored.
Once you hear this album, you will not be able to take it out of your CD player for approximately 3.72 weeks. Make sure you have a nearby supply of food and water before listening. And don't worry; if your friends ask why you like it so much, you can always point to Yngwie's always superlative guitar work and the other excellent instrumentation, but you'll know the truth: it's the cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST GREAT MALMSTEEN ALBUM PERHAPS ...?????, Nov. 18 2001
By 
M. Fonseca "carmarthen" (Thunder) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
This is perhaps, depending on your point of view, the last worthwhile Malmsteen album. After this release, Malmsteen was plagued by personal problems, worst of them his terrible car crash who almost claimed his life. After TRILOGY, Malmsteen hired pop singer Joe Lynn Turner and released the pop ODYSSEY, with totally AOR lyrical themes. Malmsteen went on to concentrate apparently only in his mind-numbing "shredding" technique, when vibe and emotion never more returned to his music. TRILOGY is already more pop oriented than his two previous releases, but still manages to have something special surrounding its songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For guitarists ONLY!, May 30 2001
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
Yes, it's dated. Yes, It's short. I know that. But, it's the greatest exercise for guitarists. Yngwie maybe can't write mainstream stuff, be he is perhaps the greatest guitar soloist. I really liked Crying because of it's flamenco style. Other than the other instrumental, this is just cheesy 80's rock with excellent solos. Pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 2 songs good, rest are dated., March 6 2001
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
YAWN, SNORE! Those are the thoughts I had when listening to the regular songs. There all that "evil in the night-never in the day because day is less frightening" feel. The only thing that was good about them was the solos...THAT NO ONE CAN EVER PLAY! God, Yngwie, SLOW DOWN! MORE! MORE! SLOWER! SLOWER!, etc...
On the other hand, I loved the instrumentals. Crying was very nice, and it reminded me of Paco De Lucia. The Trilogy Suite really shows his skill, and his flamenco style. But, he does rip off Bach in one of the passages.
This album should've been his last. Oh Well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yngwie Fires Off His Third Opus: Trilogy!, Nov. 27 2000
By 
This review is from: Trilogy (Audio CD)
By 1986, Yngwie had definently deserved the acclaim he was receiving from the guitar community. With 2 classics firmly under his belt and a growing reputation as the premier rock guitarist, Yngwie had truly re-invented the wheel! TRILOGY follows mostly the same pattern as the previous MARCHING OUT with the glaring exception being the overall "pop-ness" of the disc, possibly to widen his audience. And, to his benefit, he did with the now standard "You Don't Remember, I'll Never Forget" featuring quite a fine solo and the great vocal stylings of Mr. Mark Boals. Quite befitting Yngwie's ever present Dungeons And Dragons vibe, Boals' thin, high, shrill seems right at home with the minor key madness of such uptempo shredders as "Liar", "Fury", and "Magic Mirror". Anders and Jens Johannson return while Yngwie grabs the bass on this one. We are treated to the emotionally charged instrumental "Crying" as well as the vocal tinged mid-tempo "Queen In Love" and "Fire". The trudging "Dark Ages" is also quite a gem on an album that really saw Yngwie lean with the glam moving times of the mid to late 1980's (possibly the only time Yngwie leaned with the times in his whole career! He truly stands by his invented neo-classical style, but it is obvious that this record was a slight departure from the raw satan-esque vintage metal of his earlier recordings). The true classic on this record, and what really sends it home with a four star rating instead of a 3 or 3 1/2 is the epic majesty of the title track, "Trilogy Suite Opus 5". A true high point in Yngwie's career, this instrumental reminds us of why we listen to this guy in the first place and totally is on par with "Black Star" or "Far Beyond The Sun" from his first record. Yngwie had truly solidified himself as the master of his art and with TRILOGY, he reached a broader audience while still staying true to his artistic muse. Quite a feat! A true guitar classic as well as being a metal masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc0eb0de0)

This product

Trilogy
Trilogy by Yngwie Malmsteen (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews