Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Passion of the Godfather
James Brown- now there's a name to conjure with. Funk, Soul, classic R&B, Bootsy Collins, Maceo Parker and so much more. Most artists would be hard pressed to fill a single disc of greatest hits without including at least some filler, but not Mr. Brown. He's got four discs of wall to wall hits and classic deep cuts and even as definitive as this set is, he could easily...
Published on May 7 2004 by Glenn Nippert

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Not as funky as you think it will be..
I am troubled by StarTime as it contains at least one whole disk of the early, non-funky, material. For a better collection of James Brown at his funkiest try Make it Funky(1971-75). This cd shows how good JB was even after Bootsy left. I also recommend Funk Power 1970, which highlights the Bootsy Collins era. However, if you like the complete James Brown career...
Published on Feb. 10 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars You can't resist this album! It's impossible!, Jan. 9 2000
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Put any of the CDs in your player. Pick any random track and hit play. Sit back for a couple minutes or so and try to sit still. I can guarantee you that it's almost impossible! James Brown's music isn't just heard. It gets inside you and moves your body, no matter what you do. While the first CD is not as funky as the rest, it has its share of greats. But it's not until the last three that you can really feel it. Many of the tracks I'm sure you've heard the tune for, but never knew the names, let alone that James Brown sang it. In the music category known as "Funk," the "Star Time" Box Set stands among the greats. It comes the closest to capturing the essence of funk. And if you need to exercise to lose weight, don't spend money on equipment or at the gym. Just buy this set of four CDs and get up, get into it, and get involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy Time Box Set- How did they get so much funk in a box?, Feb. 10 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
I have an extensive collection of cds (if I do say so myself) including a number of box sets. THIS IS THE BEST BOX SET I HAVE EVER HEARD. I put this thing on and I could not leave the room, I was dancing and singing like I hadn't done in 20 years. Everytime I moved to the machine to cut it off -the music made me stop. If you like James Brown and if you can only get one compliation of his work THIS IS THE ONE. There it is, mother popcorn,licking stick, doing it to death, can't stand it, hot pants, soul power and, believe it or not even MORE- so much funk it should be declared a deadly weapon. The godfather strikes again and again and again with his superbad, papa's got a brand new bag, havin a funky good time self 'cause it he made it that way-FUNKY. Don't miss this one and don't let your friends miss it either!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but....., Nov. 12 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
This is a must have CD in anybody's collection. However I have stereo versions of such classics as Hot Pants, Papa's got a brand new Bag, Stoned to the Bone, etc. I just question why the stereo verions were not put on the CD. You do notice the difference when listening with headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the godfather rocks, Dec 19 1999
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
what can you say? the man is super bad.his music has tresended time and inspired countless others.the beats were ahead of there time and still sound fresh just ask the rap&hip-hop community? who have benefited from him.as well as pop artists.this box set traces him from the 50's thru the 80's.he did his major damage from the late 50's to the mid 70's.creating the 4/4 beat chicken scratch guitar and the drums not to mention the horns.in one hundred years folks like miles davis,duke ellington&james brown will be viewed as mozart,beethoven&strauss are today. classical composers.james's genius is timeless.there will never be another artist like him.he is one of a kind.the godfather is a father of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TIME IS TIMELESS., March 13 2000
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
The word "essential" is used alot in regard to records, but here it fits the bill and then some: this boxed-set belongs in anyone's collection. I especially enjoyed hearing full-length versions of "Let Yourself Go", "Bring It Up", "Cold Sweat", and "Papa's...Bag"; the pre-edit "Money Won't Change You"; and the prev. unrel. tracks from '68 and '71. However, I was disappointed to note that some notable JB B-sides like "Georgia.." and "If I Ruled The World", two concert staples, were omitted, and could have fit in if several long tracks had been used in "Part One" form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TIME IS TIMELESS., March 13 2000
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
The word "essential" is used alot in regard to records, but here it fits the bill and then some: it belongs in anyone's collection. I especially enjoyed hearing full-length versions of "Let Yourself Go", "Bring It Up", "Cold Sweat", and "Papa's...Bag"; the pre-edit "Money Won't Change You"; and the prev. unrel. tracks from '68 and '71. However, I was disappointed to note that some notable JB non-hits like "Georgia.." and "If If I Ruled The World", two concert staples, were omitted, and could have fit in if some long tracks had been used in "Part One" form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TIME IS TIMELESS., March 13 2000
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
The word "essential" is used alot in regard to records, but here it fits the bill and then some: it belongs in anyone's collection. I especially enjoyed hearing full-length versions of "Let Yourself Go", "Bring It Up", "Cold Sweat", and "Papa's...Bag"; the pre-edit "Money Won't Change You"; and the prev. unrel. tracks from '68 and '71. However, I was disappointed to note that some notable JB non-hits like "Georgia.." and "If I Ruled The World", two concert staples, were omitted, and could have fit in if some long tracks had been used in "Part One" form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Alpha and the Omega of funk!!, May 31 2002
By 
D. Hawkins (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
When I hear young people talk about what great grooves today's rappers have, I want to just grab them by the ear and make them listen to this entire box set. Hip-hop was not invented in 1993 by Tupac; it started here!! Everyone owes a debt to the Godfather of Soul. If you can play someone this set, and their toes are not tapping, you better call 911 cuz they're dead. Today's young people certainly don't know enough about history, but they also need to be made aware of musical history, which to many fans like me, might just be more important. This box set might just be the greatest Christmas present you ever receive. Ask Santa now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Brown - Star Time, Jan. 4 2004
By 
Bert Struiksma (Friesland, NL, Europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
This is probably the funkiest collection available. There's just no way you could be dissapointed by this boxset if you are at all interested in James Brown. It's awesome, relentless and irresistible: this music will bring out the funk in YOU and it feels just great. Also... this is invigorating music, somehow (this I think it has in common with classical music) it makes anything you play afterwards fresh and new (unless it's something really twee like the Carpenters) and for that alone it is easily recommended. If you have the cash, this is money well spent. There's a reason for all the 5 star reviews here. It's Star Time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minister of the New New Super Heavy Funk, Feb. 3 2001
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
How can I possibly describe my feelings for this box set? I bought "Star Time" in 1995 and it ruled my stereo for over a year. James Brown for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Each CD is jammed with the magic and intensity of Mr. Brown and his dozens of funky collaborators. I'm particularly enamored of the rhythmic explosions of the early 1970s compositions (Bootsy Collins, baby!), but I also get down to the sixties songs. Each and every James Brown scream is awe-inspiring. In short, "Star Time" is indispensable and a truly majestic collection of revolutionary music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Time (4CD)
Star Time (4CD) by James Brown (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews