Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Passion of the Godfather
James Brown- now there's a name to conjure with. Funk, Soul, classic R&B, Bootsy Collins, Maceo Parker and so much more. Most artists would be hard pressed to fill a single disc of greatest hits without including at least some filler, but not Mr. Brown. He's got four discs of wall to wall hits and classic deep cuts and even as definitive as this set is, he could easily...
Published on May 7 2004 by Glenn Nippert

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Not as funky as you think it will be..
I am troubled by StarTime as it contains at least one whole disk of the early, non-funky, material. For a better collection of James Brown at his funkiest try Make it Funky(1971-75). This cd shows how good JB was even after Bootsy left. I also recommend Funk Power 1970, which highlights the Bootsy Collins era. However, if you like the complete James Brown career...
Published on Feb. 10 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If it had just one song, I'd still buy it, May 15 2002
By 
Wim Nap (Groningen Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
That song would be Mother Popcorn! (first song on disk 3). I'll never forget the first time I heard it, and I still play it a couple of times every week. Never heard a band that played so tight and disciplined and yet with such playfullness and musical talent. Buy this now, the best gift you can give yourself or your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Joke!, April 30 2002
By 
grooove "grooove" (ROCK HILL, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
I have had this set for over 10 years, and it is still on my most played list. It is amazing to hear beats on rapper's cds that were originally James'. This is a must for any R&B fan, even hip-hoppers need to check it out for some education. Rock fans will get a kick out of it too. From the early days, to his 70's peak, James Brown is in a class by himself. Kicking it for fun, or making a political statement, either way, he can make your feet move. "The Big Payback" has got to be the most sampled song ever. James Brown is no joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 6 stars for Star Time., Feb. 17 2002
By 
Jacob Bailis (Downers Grove, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Star Time is the greatest box set is the universe. But that's not saying enough, because the competition is so lousy. Let me see. Star Time is one the greatest human acheivements, right up there with music itself. This is modern music. Listen to the drum solo at the end of "Funky Drummer". Listen to "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag." What are you doing? Stop reading and go listen now. You mean you don't own this CD? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who Begun The Funk?, Feb. 6 2002
By 
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Absolutely essential listening for anyone with any desire to delve into the origins of funk, hip hop or modern rhythm and blues. As one who grew up with the origins of hip hop, this box set acts as a catalog for me of thousands of "funky breaks" used in hip hop music since the advent of the affordable sampler. But it also serves as a course in the study of popular music - period. While every would-be Cobain can trace their roots back to the Beatles, anyone who's played or programmed beats comes back to James.
This collection is offered in chronological order, allowing the listener to follow James Brown's development of the genre referred to as funk. Not a great musician (he can play keys, most notably Hammond organ), and not a composer (can't read or write music), James Brown is the best bandleader (some members might say "taskmaster") of the past 35 years. Many of James' best tracks are arranged on the spot ("take me to the bridge!"), challenging the band repeatedly to be on their toes at all times.
Some of the best players of the genre (Clyde Stubblefield, Bobby Byrd, Bootsy Collins, Fred Wesley) have played with James, adding to the impact of his importance. Is every song a classic? Not by a long shot - James' grooves far outweigh any of his lyrics. But the world has always had an appetite for mindless dancable chants (from Chic to Daft Punk). The included booklet is fantastic and easily worth $15 by itself. A must-have by anyone claiming to "know" and love popular music, especially those who's listening tends to the funky and rhythmic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Will Take You Years to Understand This Much Funk, Oct. 22 2001
By 
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Five stars are barely adequate to describe how monumental this box set truly is. With seventy tracks spanning thirty years of prime James Brown material, you will be exploring the offerings here for a very long time. I bought this box way back in 1993 and I'm STILL absorbing everything that it has to offer.
With the tracks presented in chronological order, you can track the development over time not just of the JB sound (blues to R&B to funk to classic soul), but you can also follow the history of entire branches of popular music in which the JB influence looms large. Disc one covers the early years when James was storming the R&B and blues circuits with some of the most intense new sounds those scenes had ever encountered. He invents funk near the end of disc one, and even says so himself in the liner notes, where he credits the long-lost "Out of Sight" (heard here in its original form for the first time) as his funk songwriting breakthrough.
After getting the funk off the ground, discs two and three are a non-stop, relentless collection of piledriving funk grooves. These two discs will rock any party without apologies, and I don't care if you dig the funk or not. James brought on board the funkiest, tightest, and most relentless bands available (especially in the 1969-71 period) to create this incredible music that has been a huge influence on all subsequent funk, not to mention hip-hop and large chunks of the rock world. The party slows down a bit with disc four, in which you can see that James was getting past his prime, although there a few late-period surprises like "The Payback" and "Get Up Offa That Thing." By this point it was natural for James to slow down on the creation of new sounds, and focus on his current duties as a non-stop live attraction for his ravenous followers.
Another worthy part of this box set is the extensive liner notes, which include exhaustive chart listings and historical info, and an acceptable James Brown bio. There is also much good info on the more important members of JB's bands, like Bobby Byrd, Clyde Stubblefield, Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley, and the teenaged Bootsy Collins (who would later single-handedly redefine the bass guitar as an instrument in his work with Parliament/Funkadelic and as a solo artist). Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go back to getting my mind blown by this set. Like I said, I'm still digging it after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Minister of the New New Super Heavy Funk, Feb. 4 2001
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
How can I possibly describe my feelings for this box set? I bought "Star Time" in 1995 and it ruled my stereo for over a year. James Brown for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Each CD is jammed with the magic and intensity of Mr. Brown and his dozens of funky collaborators. I'm particularly enamored of the rhythmic explosions of the early 1970s compositions (Bootsy Collins, baby!), but I also get down to the sixties songs. Each and every James Brown scream is awe-inspiring. In short, "Star Time" is indispensable and a truly majestic collection of revolutionary music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Funk, the whole Funk, and nothing but the Funk, Dec 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
I can't imagine a better summation of funk than this set. I saw James Brown live a few years ago -- before that I really didn't know much about him, associating only "I Feel Good" with him -- and immediately went out and picked up this boxed set. Since then I have only come to love it more (especially discs 2 and 3); this is the bible of boxed sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proves Unequivocally..., Dec 13 2000
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
...that the last great James Brown single was "Papa Don't Take No Mess". And that his tenure as the greatest showman was being upstaged by Parliament, Sly and the Fambly and the Ohio Players. Anyone who says otherwise is "Tawkin' Loud and Saying Nuttin'"...best Discs in set, #2 and #3....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, Dec 8 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Every note of every song on each cd of this set is a sufficient and necessary argument for the deification of James Brown. There is not one single note in this entire collection that is not perfect. This set defines a universe where everything and everyone is groovy. A MUST for anyone with a SOUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Papa's got a brand new box, Aug. 11 2000
By 
J. L LaRegina "Jim LaRegina" (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Time (4CD) (Audio CD)
Bigger fans of James Brown may know, but I am just guessing that many of the jewels in the James Brown anthology STAR TIME had been out-of-print records before they were included in this collection. As overpriced as CDs are (according to rock critic Dave Marsh, CDs only cost pennies more to manufacture than tapes or vinyl but retail for several dollars more), their popularity seems to be enough reason for record companies to re-release the songs for which fans have searched.
Buried treasures of the prolific, multi-decade R&B career of James Brown were unearthed to shine once again on STAR TIME. You cannot listen to STAR TIME in one sitting not because of its four-CD length but because you will want to get on your feet and dance.
Those who find box sets overblown should have no complaints with STAR TIME. James Brown has been grooving so long that even a collection this lengthy leaves you wanting more.
Amazon's lead review points out STAR TIME's inclusion of the full-length, correct-speed "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag." The shorter, hit edit you hear on the radio is a sped-up version. Maybe they had to cut the time for radio play but who knows why they changed the playing speed - the original smokes like a forest fire! More STAR TIME surprises include the full-length "Sex Machine" and "Cold Sweat."
Unfortunately, the STAR TIME versions of "Say It Loud" and "Hot Pants" turn out to be edited. Bummer. And why were essential James Brown songs "I'm Real," "Living In America" (perhaps his biggest hit) and the instrumental "Popcorn" excluded? I could almost rate STAR TIME at just four stars because of those flaws. But the souvenier booklet that accompanies the four CDs raises its value back up to five stars.
Long live the music of James Brown. Get STAR TIME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Time (4CD)
Star Time (4CD) by James Brown (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews