Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Karajan's best Mozart
That title will seem ridiculous to many. But if one listens with an open mind, there is a lot of good in this performance. Its overall style is out-of-date, but then so are many other great performances. But if you can bear to hear the Requiem performed as it was for half a century, you will hear greatness here. I'll leave the eloquence to Gramophone: "Karajan's...
Published on March 11 2012 by Rogue Classicist

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Huh? I don't get it
Sorry, but I am a cultural philistine. I simply don't understand Mozart. I have listened to this CD once the whole way through and none of it made sense at all, so I gave the disc to my grandfather. He listens to music by dead people like Mahler, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Beethoven, Ravel and Bruckner, grown-up stuff that is too complicated for my atom-sized brain. I watch...
Published on April 15 2004 by Cool_kid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Karajan's best Mozart, March 11 2012
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
That title will seem ridiculous to many. But if one listens with an open mind, there is a lot of good in this performance. Its overall style is out-of-date, but then so are many other great performances. But if you can bear to hear the Requiem performed as it was for half a century, you will hear greatness here. I'll leave the eloquence to Gramophone: "Karajan's performance, with the Vienna Singverein, plus a superb solo team (Tomowa-Sintow, Baltsa, Werner Krcnn, Van Dam) and the BPO, carries all before it, opening sombrely but with atmospheric tension immediately
conveyed, and proceeding onwards to the final bars with a compelling eloquence
that grips the listener from start to finish."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And the Master's work lives on..., July 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
I find that this particular recording of the Requiem is quite apt to Mozart's original intentions, although I found that at times it became heavy, (expecially around the Kyrie Eleison), I am 15 and I simply can't understand the music of today, which is why I only listen to the "good" music. I also write music, and in fact, Mozart's Requiem inspired me to compose my own (a working progress considering I am currently on the Tuba Mirum)...this was an outstanding performance as I said before. Truely, on a more serious note, his Requiem will lift you up unto a heavenly peak. His death occured in the middle of this burst of organized passion. In his last days, it was said that he had become obsessed by the idea that the Requiem would be his own. He died on the morning of December 5, in the arms of his loving wife. We can, to this day, only hope that his last thoughts were ones of peace, ones of accomplishment for the short, but full life he lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart's last great work, April 30 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
Mozart died while writing this, his famous unfinished Requiem. However, it sounds complete. There's a review on here by some punk rocker or hip-hop kid telling you how he doesn't "get" or enjoy Mozart and this kind of music in general. But I'm young too and like modern music and I'll have to disagree with him, it doesn't take a high IQ to understand and appreciate these beautiful sounds, and this beautiful music is for anyone, young and old, who loves beauty. You don't have to be especially bright or upper-class, you just have to have an open mind and the more you try to enjoy it, you really will more and more. How hard can it be to enjoy some of the most beautiful talented harmonies by a genius like Mozart? The Requiem is very accessible, very listenable, with lots of catchy melody and powerful moving atmosphere. It's not boring, it's miraculous. My favorite part is the fast chorus part near the beginning called "Kyrie Eleison."
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Huh? I don't get it, April 15 2004
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
Sorry, but I am a cultural philistine. I simply don't understand Mozart. I have listened to this CD once the whole way through and none of it made sense at all, so I gave the disc to my grandfather. He listens to music by dead people like Mahler, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Beethoven, Ravel and Bruckner, grown-up stuff that is too complicated for my atom-sized brain. I watch TV all day. The last book I read was 'The Da Vinci Code' by Dan Brown. I prefer watching TV to reading because TV is easier to enjoy. My IQ must seriously be quite low. Anyway, I digress.
The point is, I am clueless when it comes to classical music. How does one enjoy it? Just as I gasp with incomprehension at Shakespeare, Picasso and high-culture in general, I am left stupefied, bewildered and ultimately puzzled by this work. I have tried to listen to some of Mozart's other compositions, such as his string quartets and symphonies- my grandfather insists that I will enjoy them- but I have failed like an abject fool to glean any satisfaction. Why? Am I simply too intellectually facile? Do I watch too much MTV? Has the American diet of decadence and dumbing-down irrevocably destroyed every neuron in my brain capable of apprehending masterpieces that old men and women seem to savour?
I wish I could enjoy this CD, but it severely bored me. As each movement, each wave of tedium lapped against the impatient shore of my mind, Linkin' Park and other crews called my name. I am a child of the 21st-century and I apologise sincerely for the ignominious inanities of my hyperactive generation. We have the attention-spans of moths, the mental capacity of an oak tree. Yes, this is self-indulgent free association. I just felt like telling the world how forsaken I feel that an entire reservoir, nay, universe of purported masterpieces will forever evade my understanding and appreciation. And yes, I know, this review has been most unhelpful, but I can't help it: I am simply too dumb. Help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, March 23 2004
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
Karajan is not the best conductor for Mozart. But this performance of the Requiem is just fantastic - here he did a great job! One of the very best recordings of this master piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Search of the Finest Mozart Requiem, March 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
This production is SUPERB. Its bargain price on DG makes it a 'must have' for any serious music lover's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, Sept. 27 2003
By 
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
I would think Mozart's Requiem was his greatest work of all. As Mozart always did, he only brought pure happiness through his music, even before his miserable end of life. While listening to the requiem, you can only feel joy, peace and light of God. I already had two versions of this piece, one by Karl Bohm, another by Claudio Abbado. I am happy with both. I also respect Karajan, so why not give him a try? I got this CD and played it. I don't like it that much as his other work. The music is a little bit slow, especially when it played Confutatis. By contrast, Abbado choosed a fast, strong play of this part, which really bring the confused and hopeless fear of death. The chorus was OK, not exceptional. It is a good CD overall, but if you really want the spiritual touch, try Karl Bohm or Abbado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Flawless Masterpiece., May 29 2003
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is THE album par excelence of all classical albums. NO classical collection should be without it.
I cannot explain to you how beautiful this work is. I first heard it many years ago, as I am a classical musician, and it is just absolutely glorious, a wonder, a gem.
Mozart was obviousely a genius, and this is definetely one of his best works, besides his operas and piano sonatas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars GROTESQUE!, May 19 2003
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
The purpose of me looking for a recording of Mozart's was to study the famous trombone solo in the Tuba Mirum that is one of the most important audition pieces for a symphony job. Naturally, that's the first thing I listened to. Well, I don't know how these trombone players got into the Berlin Phil, but they are awful. First off, Karajan puts two players on the solo, which unnecessary in the first place. And secondly these two players' ears were about as good as a middle school flute players. It was so out of tune! I wanted to vomit it was so bad. The first note: a Bb! The first note you learn how to play on the instrument was so bad, it sounded like it was a quarter tone apart. If you have any ears at all, DON'T BUY THIS CD! It should be a crime how poorly these guys play. Even though I'm not talking about the rest of the song (I had to stop the CD as soon as the 'solo' was over), it's not worth listening to because of these wretched players. The Berlin Philharmonic will never have a CD purchased by me again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pieces I have heard in years, March 7 2003
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem (Audio CD)
This strong emotional piece was quite enjoying to hear. I have never enjoyed a fine classical piece such as this. Vibrant, Radiant & marvelous. I actually felt very emotional listening to this piece and I highly recommend anyone to listen to this piece. I wish there were more classical songs out there like this. Mozart's best piece I have heard to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart: Requiem
Mozart: Requiem by W.A. Mozart (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews