Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argerich....need I say more?
This CD is an all-around excellent buy. Where shall I start?
This recording of the Prokofiev 3rd is one of my all-time favorites ( and I have heard a lot). Argerich knows where to stretch, where to speed up, just how to pull you along in the most deliciously tantalizing way. She keeps the piece on edge, you can practically see the adrenaline rushing through the...
Published on March 4 2003 by PianoMuse

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tripped
The Prokoviev 3rd is played in Argerich' usual performance style:
she practically trips over the notes in order to get to the next one. Nuance, emotional interpretation are nearly non-existent (except for those who equate musical interpretation and emoting
as the production of speed on the keyboard). Prokoviev obviously
expected speed where it is called for...
Published on Sept. 26 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argerich....need I say more?, March 4 2003
By 
PianoMuse (PA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
This CD is an all-around excellent buy. Where shall I start?
This recording of the Prokofiev 3rd is one of my all-time favorites ( and I have heard a lot). Argerich knows where to stretch, where to speed up, just how to pull you along in the most deliciously tantalizing way. She keeps the piece on edge, you can practically see the adrenaline rushing through the orchestra and conductor. How does she strike each note with such purpose, yet sound like she is constantly reinventing, waiting to see what new idea she can spring onto the orchestra?

The Ravel concerto is very good. As a pianist who is learning this piece myself, I think she does an excellent job, though I would have liked to hear some more accenting on those Gershwin-esque riffs. She does capture the hustle-bustle sound of the city, however. The second movement of this piece is where she really shines, letting us glide along with her, looking at a peaceful city skyline. The third movement is pure Argerich.

The Gaspard...wonderful! She throws off some of the most difficult music passages in piano literature like they were mere trinkets. But her ease does not imply shallowness...she allows her deep sonority to explore every edge of Ravel's glorious, frightening, sad, and sometimes wrenching music.
All in all, this is a must have for any pianist, Prokofiev or Ravel fan, or Argerich fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 11 2013
By 
Martin Pitchon "I love classical music" (La Prairie, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
The piano is the very best ever. The orchestra follows obediently. I recommend this CD to everyone who likes Prokofiev and Rachmaninov. Sincerely yours. Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh... Come On, Now...!, May 28 2004
By 
D. J. Zabriskie "zabdart" (Park Ridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
I cannot believe that David White and the so-called "music fan" are listening to the same CD the rest of us are! This recording
is what made a Martha Argerich fan out of me. Her playing throughout this collection is just spell-binding and thoroughly amazing.
Argerich has recorded the Prokofiev 3rd twice already, and a third recording is reported to be ready for release. Each of them are as different from the others as can be. The later one, with Charles Dutoit and the Montreal Symphony, is both more austere and more poetic than this one, but here we have the young Argerich, full of the fire, brio and self-confident daring
and risk-taking which made her reputation. Few other pianists would attempt to take the outer movements of the Prokofiev at the
tempoes Argerich does here (FAST!). To say that she pulls it off
with abandon is an understatement! The slow interior movement is
as thoughtful and beautiful as anything you will find in Prokofiev, with notes falling from suspension like drops of water off icicles in the first thaw after a long winter. The way Martha turns on a dime, from peaceful contemplation to firey
agitation is something to behold. She is so good, it's almost silly!
As for the Ravel pieces, both solo and with orchestra, Argerich's
affinity for Ravel's music and her ability to communicate its
profound, yet subtle, emotional content is unsurpassed. Nobody
plays Ravel's piano music better than Martha Argerich. They can only play it differently.
If you are already an Argerich fan, why isn't this CD in your collection? If you have yet to discover her artistry, this CD
makes an excellent place to start. Welcome to a larger universe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tripped, Sept. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
The Prokoviev 3rd is played in Argerich' usual performance style:
she practically trips over the notes in order to get to the next one. Nuance, emotional interpretation are nearly non-existent (except for those who equate musical interpretation and emoting
as the production of speed on the keyboard). Prokoviev obviously
expected speed where it is called for in this piece, but I hardly
think that he would have enjoyed his music being trampled upon. Even the expert downhill racer appreciates the style of his craft
and wouldnt consider himself a better skier if took the mountain
on a ski jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good performances, April 24 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "grok_" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD for the Ravel concerto. I own other performances of Prokofiev, but another interpretation is always welcome. It doesn't really matter, because the performances of both pieces are very good. Ms. Argerich plays deftly and the demands of these pieces, particularly the Prokofiev, do not impede her well-chosen pace. She really knows the Prokofiev and it shows. Additionally, she and Abbado are in sync, and the sound of the piano and orchestra are well balanced. Under Abbado's direction, the Ravel concerto is sprite and lively.
The sonics of these mostly-1967 recordings are excellent. These recordings have depth and extension. The clarity and detail really favor the Ravel concerto.
There are others (Ashkenazy/Previn, Graffman/Szell, Berroff/Masur) who perform the Prokofiev well, but this coupling of Argerich/Abbado is also good. And, for me, it is the only one to include a nice Ravel bonus. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Referance performance of Argerich, June 3 2002
By 
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
Actually this 3rd piano concerto of Prokofiev is the best of the rest 4 piano concertos. Argerich was 26 years old when this magnificent performance is recorded. This exceptional work is performed by many pianists even reperformed by Argerich later but none of them is comperable this Argerich's referance performance. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, but NOT that good, Dec 18 2001
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
Without reservation this is a fine recording; Michelangeli's is an act of God. A crude analogy would be as follows: the girl next door is pretty; the girl of one's dreams is the stuff of life. I urge you to not buy this recording! Buy the michelangeli recording on emi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Long on virtuosity, short on everything else, Dec 18 2001
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
I seem to be dissing Martha a lot lately. I don't mean to be, but I really think so many people get carried away by how *fast* she can play, as if that's so important. She so often sacrafices expression and color for blinding speed, and yet this gets everyone excited and makes me wonder if most classical listeners are no different than teenagers who are impressed by the loudest, fastest rock bands.
As for the Prokofiev here, just read my Amazon.com review of Argerich's Rachmaninoff 3rd recording on Philips and substitute "Prokofiev" for "Rachmaninoff." The only difference is that the sound here is better. The poster below who says she does not pay enough attention to the work's structural relationships has it right. But to that I'll add that she doesn't seem interested in getting much in the way of color or nuance out of the piano, and I guess it's hard when you play as fast and hard as she does. Still, there are some thrilling moments where just banging in this piece can raise the hairs on the back of your neck, but my favorite performance of the work is still that by the composer (with the London Symphony, recorded in 1932 and available on Pearl). The Ravel performance is one of those mysteries I encounter occasionally that frustrate me. She plays the whole thing "correctly" in every way, yet the sum total is nothing. There's none of the capricious, colorful, "exotic" fun that's so essential to this work. The Adagio assai does not have that sadly beautiful character that, in a truly masterful performance, can make one's eyes tear and one's heart soar. The finale is not the explosion of Oriental fireworks and exuberance, despite being fast and furious. The whole thing is too weighty and serious, like Martha and Claudio and the BSO are playing Beethoven or Brahms rather than Ravel. Compare Michelangeli's legendary recording on EMI, or Bernstein, or the recent Zimerman/Boulez, and you'll hear revelations.
I was about ready to sell this CD to a used shop when Gaspard started. Now if only the rest of the disc were like this! Finely-shaded, music that seems to be asking questions, music that has a personality and isn't just notes played with surgical precision. I may keep this disc after all. If you love Gaspards get this recording, but otherwise there are better readings of the other works available out there. Your call.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but you can do better., Aug. 31 2001
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
Like the two reviewers below, I find that all this recording really has is shock value from Argerich wild piano playing. When it comes to Prokofiev, I've found that Szellian, razor sharp precision always works the best. Having said that, I suggest you checkout the Graffman/Szell recording with the Cleveland Orchestra. Both recordings are mid-priced, so heck, you could buy both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great concerto recordings of all time..., Aug. 26 2001
By 
T. McAuley (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Ravel: Piano Concerto in G, Gaspard de la Nuit (Audio CD)
This recording of one of Prokofiev's great masterpieces, his Third Piano Concerto, is superlative. Argerich's tremendous, redoubtable virtuosity is in total service to this seductive, beautiful score. There's no doubt that this is a Prokofiev Third to own and treasure for years to come. You will probably end up listening to this more than you ever imagined. What gorgeous music, and how beautifully realized! A truly inspired performance!
The Ravel is also hauntingly and beautifully played. Ravel is a composer who speaks loudly to Martha. The Gaspard de la Nuit is also a tremendous accomplishment. Michelangeli's recording of the Concerto is marginally more enjoyable to me, but I would want this one just as much. Her touch is totally surreal. She was very involved in this recording, both spiritually and physically.
All in all, this is definitely one of my favorite classical CD's of all time. I can't think of many I've listened to more over the past several years. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews