Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2004
I cannot believe that David White and the so-called "music fan" are listening to the same CD the rest of us are! This recording
is what made a Martha Argerich fan out of me. Her playing throughout this collection is just spell-binding and thoroughly amazing.
Argerich has recorded the Prokofiev 3rd twice already, and a third recording is reported to be ready for release. Each of them are as different from the others as can be. The later one, with Charles Dutoit and the Montreal Symphony, is both more austere and more poetic than this one, but here we have the young Argerich, full of the fire, brio and self-confident daring
and risk-taking which made her reputation. Few other pianists would attempt to take the outer movements of the Prokofiev at the
tempoes Argerich does here (FAST!). To say that she pulls it off
with abandon is an understatement! The slow interior movement is
as thoughtful and beautiful as anything you will find in Prokofiev, with notes falling from suspension like drops of water off icicles in the first thaw after a long winter. The way Martha turns on a dime, from peaceful contemplation to firey
agitation is something to behold. She is so good, it's almost silly!
As for the Ravel pieces, both solo and with orchestra, Argerich's
affinity for Ravel's music and her ability to communicate its
profound, yet subtle, emotional content is unsurpassed. Nobody
plays Ravel's piano music better than Martha Argerich. They can only play it differently.
If you are already an Argerich fan, why isn't this CD in your collection? If you have yet to discover her artistry, this CD
makes an excellent place to start. Welcome to a larger universe!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2003
This CD is an all-around excellent buy. Where shall I start?
This recording of the Prokofiev 3rd is one of my all-time favorites ( and I have heard a lot). Argerich knows where to stretch, where to speed up, just how to pull you along in the most deliciously tantalizing way. She keeps the piece on edge, you can practically see the adrenaline rushing through the orchestra and conductor. How does she strike each note with such purpose, yet sound like she is constantly reinventing, waiting to see what new idea she can spring onto the orchestra?

The Ravel concerto is very good. As a pianist who is learning this piece myself, I think she does an excellent job, though I would have liked to hear some more accenting on those Gershwin-esque riffs. She does capture the hustle-bustle sound of the city, however. The second movement of this piece is where she really shines, letting us glide along with her, looking at a peaceful city skyline. The third movement is pure Argerich.

The Gaspard...wonderful! She throws off some of the most difficult music passages in piano literature like they were mere trinkets. But her ease does not imply shallowness...she allows her deep sonority to explore every edge of Ravel's glorious, frightening, sad, and sometimes wrenching music.
All in all, this is a must have for any pianist, Prokofiev or Ravel fan, or Argerich fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 24, 2003
I purchased this CD for the Ravel concerto. I own other performances of Prokofiev, but another interpretation is always welcome. It doesn't really matter, because the performances of both pieces are very good. Ms. Argerich plays deftly and the demands of these pieces, particularly the Prokofiev, do not impede her well-chosen pace. She really knows the Prokofiev and it shows. Additionally, she and Abbado are in sync, and the sound of the piano and orchestra are well balanced. Under Abbado's direction, the Ravel concerto is sprite and lively.
The sonics of these mostly-1967 recordings are excellent. These recordings have depth and extension. The clarity and detail really favor the Ravel concerto.
There are others (Ashkenazy/Previn, Graffman/Szell, Berroff/Masur) who perform the Prokofiev well, but this coupling of Argerich/Abbado is also good. And, for me, it is the only one to include a nice Ravel bonus. Definitely recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2003
The Prokoviev 3rd is played in Argerich' usual performance style:
she practically trips over the notes in order to get to the next one. Nuance, emotional interpretation are nearly non-existent (except for those who equate musical interpretation and emoting
as the production of speed on the keyboard). Prokoviev obviously
expected speed where it is called for in this piece, but I hardly
think that he would have enjoyed his music being trampled upon. Even the expert downhill racer appreciates the style of his craft
and wouldnt consider himself a better skier if took the mountain
on a ski jump.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2001
This recording of one of Prokofiev's great masterpieces, his Third Piano Concerto, is superlative. Argerich's tremendous, redoubtable virtuosity is in total service to this seductive, beautiful score. There's no doubt that this is a Prokofiev Third to own and treasure for years to come. You will probably end up listening to this more than you ever imagined. What gorgeous music, and how beautifully realized! A truly inspired performance!
The Ravel is also hauntingly and beautifully played. Ravel is a composer who speaks loudly to Martha. The Gaspard de la Nuit is also a tremendous accomplishment. Michelangeli's recording of the Concerto is marginally more enjoyable to me, but I would want this one just as much. Her touch is totally surreal. She was very involved in this recording, both spiritually and physically.
All in all, this is definitely one of my favorite classical CD's of all time. I can't think of many I've listened to more over the past several years. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2001
In my opinion, this is THE Prokofiev 3rd Concerto to have. It is simply wildly breathtaking. Argerich does not use her formidable technique to show off what she has, but rather to benefit the music as a whole. The rhythmic drive is so intense that the orchestra - this is the Berlin Phil we are talking about here - have difficulty in keeping up with her. But nonetheless, they do a super job in accompanying her. She makes the piano sing, playing notes as if she was singing. The sheer energy of this pianist is amazing. In her debut recording for EMI, she was said to have taken several cups of black coffee before entering the studio to record. Perhaps she did the same thing for this recording? Anyway, the way she interacts with the orchestra is most uncanny. Great performers have the ability to listen to others, but Argerich has the ability to almost accompany the orchestra (!) when necessary. The piece sounds as a whole, not as individual movements, in my opinion, which is great: that way it fully keeps the listener's attention. She lets rip in the last movement and the result is unbelievably improvisatory, but she maintains tension and control in the movement, and indeed the whole concerto. I think tension is one of the main keys to playing this concerto well. Otherwise it sounds technical, not musical. The Prokofiev ends spectacularly. Then comes the Ravel concerto in G. It is very jazzy, and Argerich's version has rarely been surpassed. I think that has a lot to do with her improvisatory approach to music. Someone commented that she is a true improvisor, in the tradition of Liszt, but unlike her predecessor, she never tampers with the notes itself. Here, that improvisatory approach really works, and it never for a moment sounded dull or repetetive. Abbado seems in full agreement with Argerich and it is another successful recording. After the wonderful concerti, the Gaspard de la nuit. It is a notoriously difficult piece, but Argerich makes it sound dead easy, as usual. She is said to have learned the piece in less than five days when her one-time teacher, the famous Michelangeli, told her to master the piece in five days. She says that it was easy because she didn't know it was supposed to be difficult! Well, that certainly comes across, and she gives a very pictorial account of the work that borders on the frightening. The remastering is first-class. It has clarity and fullness compared with previous remastering, although in the Prokofiev the sound was a little opaque, due to the orchestral detail, which makes the orchestra sound a little compressed. But it is a small matter, as this is a disc that has few equals or competitors, and I doubt it will ever have serious competition with future versions. Stunning.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2000
It seems that Argerich is one of those talents that compiles zealously devoted fans who fawn over everything she does, and in fact that kind of devotion is well-earned from a musician of her stature. Indeed the playing here is of a jaw-dropping intensity and brilliance. The Ravel bounces along at a brisk pace, with a nice sense of urban hustle and bustle that's almost Gershwin-esque, and the slow movement in particular is splendidly articulated. The Gaspard de la Nuit is an ethereal dream, and Argerich somehow conjures some uncannily wispy tones from the piano that belie the percussion of the mechanism, all without muddying up the legato (even the author of the liner notes is perplexed by the technique).
I have to admit, I'm not a fan of this performance of the Prokofiev. For me, the piece is highly structured and should be played with a strict sense of rhythmic architecture, but Argerich in her frenzy tends to let the rhythm get away from her at times, and the result is a concerto that, to my ear, doesn't work as an organic whole--especially since the orchestra can't always keep up with her. Still I'm giving this CD five stars, because the other performances are absolutely top-notch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 1999
This is a must have Ravel piano concerto for everybody! Argerich takes on both concertos with fire, completely dominated the pieces that humbled many others. Abbado's skill in motivating the orchestra is quite phenomenal. The pieces are always energized, exciting, and full of life that is not without sophistication and delicacy. Argerich's Gaspard de la Nuit is simply the best I've ever heard. If you like Argerich, if you like 20th century music, PLEASE listen to this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 1999
Argerich astonishes me with her musicality, clarity, and technical facility. The rapid runs in the Prokofieff are fun to listen to and her Ravel is both playful and beautiful (especially the second movement). She plays the Gaspard de la Nuit better than I've ever heard it, bringing out the nuances in pieces that consist of continuous notes. The recording itself is wonderful, and is essentially indistinguishable from a digitally mastered one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2000
This recording is unpleasantly cacophonic at times. The best performance of this piece I've ever heard was by a player named Steven Mason Prutsman. I was so mesmerized by his playing that I would listen and relisten to the song over and over again. I don't know if he has any recordings. I recorded the music on tape off of a video recording of the 1990 Tschaikovsky competition in Moscow, Russia.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse