Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia: THE ORIGiNAL VERSION!
In 1939, Walt Disney colaborated with Leopold Stokowski to create a new marvel of sight and sound. The resulting film Fantasia is for many the zenith of Disney's film output in the early forties. It was also unique in that it was the first film to feature multichannel stereo sound ("Fantasound" for the lack of a better word). The films soundtrack has been...
Published on May 31 2004 by Joel Henderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic soundtrack, rotten sound.
I would have no hesitations whatsoever in giving this wonderful soundtrack a 5-Star rating, but the sound quality (Rather, bad sound quality) is holding me back.
Now, I'm not a CD snob who complains about minor pops and cracks that may appear in the music I listen to, but I can't honestly think that this soundtrack was remastered in any way. The strings are whiny,...
Published on Nov. 11 2003 by J. Long


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia: THE ORIGiNAL VERSION!, May 31 2004
By 
Joel Henderson (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
In 1939, Walt Disney colaborated with Leopold Stokowski to create a new marvel of sight and sound. The resulting film Fantasia is for many the zenith of Disney's film output in the early forties. It was also unique in that it was the first film to feature multichannel stereo sound ("Fantasound" for the lack of a better word). The films soundtrack has been released on tape and lp several times before, however this appears to be the only release of Fantasia on cd.
Technically the cd is verry good, representing Stokowski's music to the fullest. The main problem, and reason behing many of the complaints on this site, is that the recording wasn't that good to begin with. As a fan and longtime viewer of Fantasia, I've noticed that the film never seemed to be fully mixed properly, and was tinny on occasion. Those problems come through warts and all on this cd. That said, this is about as good as it gets for the original recording of Fantasia*.
*There is the 1981 "digital" version out there if you look hard enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful as well as Mellow, July 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
As a kid who grew up with rock and roll as the *only* music out there, a recording like the Fantasia soundtrack would seem old and dated. Certainly not the sort of music a young, supposedly hip kid should be grooving to. But that was then. I'm 25 now, and my musical tastes have expanded so much, if you were to look at my cd collection, you would think I was storing them for my mother, father, sister, and baby brother. No, they're all mine, and now, Fantasia is one of them.
Simply put, Fantasia could best be described as Classical Music's Greatest Hits. All the music you remember from cartoons and movies, and other media are here. And they are performed perfectly! The Toccata and Fuge is powerful and lush. It's an excellent piece to absorb when you turn out the lights. Sorcerer's Apprentice is as timely as ever, and The Rite of Spring is just breathtaking. It doesn't really matter what kind of music you were weened on. Fantasia is a masterpiece of classical classics. Get it. Listen to it. Feel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic film aurally preserved in early stereo, Sept. 7 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
For most children, FANTASIA is their introduction to classical music. One should have the video and this CD soundtrack in one's family collection. Aside from whether or not you like the pieces, these interpretations by Stokowski and in all but one case, the Philadelphia Orchestra, are still amazing sonically and dramatically. The finest piece is the RITE OF SPRING with intensly dramatic rhythyms and note separation along the stereo spectrum that is an engineering marvel. Likewise the pacing and depth of celli and soaring violins in the TOCCATA AND FUGUE are amazing. The driving pace and swirling music of the NIGHT ON BALD MOUNTAIN are chaotic evil personified - note the descending strings at the end of the revels made louder as they descend by the engineering - an effect that would be just the opposite in the concert hall. The RUSSIAN DANCE from the NUTCRACKER SUITE has never been more dramatically or more swiftly conducted. The bowing on the strings is amazing. Note: there is one less track than recorded above - CD one allows track two to be the NUTCRACKER SUITE, when this should be the SUGAR PLUM FAIRY DANCE. The sound varies as original sources were decomposing. The mixes will confuse traditional stereo listeners. The music moves in groups across the screen depending on the character or event it is representing. Instruments do not stay put. The original FANTASOUND tracks are no longer available as a source and what you have here is an engineering attempt to recreate that experience. Best to listen to this in a dark room with your head directly between the speakers. Then it can be AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic soundtrack, rotten sound., Nov. 11 2003
By 
J. Long (Dayton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
I would have no hesitations whatsoever in giving this wonderful soundtrack a 5-Star rating, but the sound quality (Rather, bad sound quality) is holding me back.
Now, I'm not a CD snob who complains about minor pops and cracks that may appear in the music I listen to, but I can't honestly think that this soundtrack was remastered in any way. The strings are whiny, the horns are, as someone else mentioned, tinny, and the overall sound is nearly unbearable. I've listened to it on three different stereos and the result is always the same.
I understand we're talking about recordings from over sixty years ago, but surely Disney, with all their millions, could afford to give this soundtrack the proper remastering it deserves and bring the full, vibrant sound of the music to the forefront once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection of music, Nov. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
I had been looking for this CD for almost a year. I'm delighted to see that Disney is remastering and rereleasing its classic soundtracks, including this one, on relatively inexpensive CDs.
This is an excellect collection of Classical music. It may not please the most serious Classical music aficionado, but it serves as a great introduction to major Classical composers (Bach, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky) as well as a few lesser known pieces (The Socerer's Apprentice) and a joy for the more casual Classical fan, such as myself.
The sound has been cleaned up, though the horns sound a little tinny. That is probably my only complaint about this record, but it is understandable given the age of this recording.
Note that you get both CDs, which are just over 50 minutes each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, May 26 2001
By 
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
Pop the disc in, sit back, and sail away with the music. Never before have such beautiful pieces of music come together in a collection as intoxicating as this one. Your imagination will surprise you with the images this soundtrack conjures up.
Most people have only seen The Nutcracker on the stage. The excerpted tracks on this disc allow for so much more movement in the soul. All of the pieces are so exquisetly played, therefore allowing every ounce of countless emotions to fill the listener's heart and mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully exciting and delirious music, Oct. 29 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
The Fantasia Soundtrack combines the best classical music in one beautiful package. All songs are well know and loved. It is also a wonderful way to get children to appreciate classical music by integrating the film with the music. This is a must have for all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Remastered?, Jan. 8 2004
By 
James M. White (Yuba City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
I went to see Fantasia in 1940 and the music was wonderful; the product that I received was a poor reproduction of the original. You should warn your buyers as to the quality of the reproduction; this one is bad. Nostalgia is the only thing that could make it salable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has introduced my Granddaughters to this performance which they ..., July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
This has introduced my Granddaughters to this performance which they will see live, performed by the Calgary Philharmonic as part of their 2014-2015 Sunday for Kids series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product great - Shipping long, June 11 2011
This review is from: Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition (Audio CD)
We ordered FANTASIA: Soundtrack Edition back on May 19th. The product was right, the price was right. When item did not arrive in 3 weeks, we started to be concerned and requested shipping information to track or to be advised on carrier and delivery date - none was provided. Item arrived by Canada Post on June 10th. Shipping delay and communication showed that it was sent from Germany under Corporate Name of NAGIRY Gmbh (like Inc. or Ltd). Product is great, new, factory packaging - very pleased. SHIPPING and communication - POOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews