Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See!
I am a fan of Disney movies, and this is on my list of favorites. Nothing can beat this original!
Hayley Mills plays two different roles in the movie...as a set of twins separated at birth. It's similar to a Prince and the Pauper type story, but neither child is necessarily poor or living a bad life. One sister lives in California with her dad and the other lives...
Published on June 9 2004 by TJ's Mommy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful movie...what a piece of junk DVD
As with most of Disney's DVD releases, they seem to have some quality control issues. I purchased this movie (which IS a wonderful movie) as part of the Vault Disney 4-movie collection.
I had to return my first set, because the case was broken on "Old Yeller". No big deal. But then...the secondary disc on "The Parent Trap" skipped and stalled, and...
Published on June 20 2004 by Yarby


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See!, June 9 2004
By 
TJ's Mommy (El Dorado Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
I am a fan of Disney movies, and this is on my list of favorites. Nothing can beat this original!
Hayley Mills plays two different roles in the movie...as a set of twins separated at birth. It's similar to a Prince and the Pauper type story, but neither child is necessarily poor or living a bad life. One sister lives in California with her dad and the other lives in Boston with her mom. They find out that they are related only because they HATE each other at camp and get banished to share a room for the rest of camp. Then they make it their mission to get the parents back together and find out why they were separated in the first place! It's comical and touching. Probably very far fetched, which makes it all the more fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's watch this movie, yeah, yeah, yeah!, March 17 2004
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
I love this movie so much that it's surprised me that I've taken so long to review it. But this movie is GREAT!
It's about two girls, Susan Evers and Sharon Mckendrick, who meet at summer camp, and are shocked and surprised to find out that not counting their hairstyles, they look exactly alike! The initial curiosity leads to feuding and the girl's wind up in an isolation tent alone...for the rest of the summer.
Rain, wind, and an open window eventually break the ice, and Susan and Sharon begin to get to know each other. But when Sharon shows Susan a picture of her mother, Susan instantly recognizes it as her mother, and the girls discover that they are SISTERS!!!!!!!
To make a long story short, Susan and Sharon switch places in a wild attempt to get their parents back together. But their plans are nearly crashed when their dad announces his intent to marry a vain, uppity lady named Vicky. Can Susan and Sharon rally together and get their parents back together before something awful happens? Watch this exciting movie starring the adorable Hayley Mills as Susan and Sharon, to find out!
Hayley Mills has got to be one of my favorite actresses, and this has got to be the best film ever. She is just so good!
The DVD is just filled with extras, and if you want to see another DVD with the same amount of extras, see 'Pollyanna', another one of Hayley Mills movies, which is also awesome.
A couple years ago Disney made a remake of the Parent Trap, and although the special effects are probably much better, you can't reproduce the same charm that Hayley Mills gave us when this movie first came out. The original is always the best!
Bottom line: See this movie, and I promise you, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DISNEY CLASSIC, Nov. 26 2002
By 
John D. Seneca (PLAQUEMINE, LOUISIANA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
THIS FILM IS A DISNEY CLASSIC, AND IT HAS FINALLY RECIEVED THE TREATMENT THAT IT SO RIGHTFULLY DESERVES. THIS IS A 2-DVD SET WITH MANY EXTRAS FOR ALL OF US TO ENJOY.
UNEQUALED BY THE REMAKE OF THE SAME TITLE, THIS MOVIE REALLY SHINES.
IT IS SUITABLE FOR ALL AGES OF THE FAMILY AND WILL BE TREASURED FOR MANY YEARS TO COME!
THANKS DISNEY FOR RELEASING THIS FILM AND FOR RECOGNIZING IT AS A "CLASSIC."
HAYLEY MILLS IS VERY CHARMING IN THIS FILM AND BOTH BRIAN KEITH AND MAUREEN O'HARA DID A FANTASTIC JOB AS WELL AS THE PARENTS!!!
THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE THAT SHOULD BE SEEN AND ENJOYED BY ALL!!!
MOVIES LIKE THIS ARE FEW AND FAR BETWEEN NOW-A-DAYS, SO TREASURE IT FOR JUST WHAT IT IS- AN ENJOYABLE FAMILY FILM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and Fun, May 5 2002
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Parent Trap [Import] (VHS Tape)
All ages can enjoy this family film about identical twins (played by Hayley Mills) who try to reunite their parents. Hayley Mills shines in the dual role and the trick photography is great. O'Hara and Keith are both appealing as the divorced parents. The outdoor scenery is beautiful. The three stars make this Disney movie a classic you'll want to see again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic!, April 12 2002
By 
Sandra Griffiths "barbrafan007" (Bishop's Stortford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
The Origonal Parent trap is by far the best! Haley Mills outshines the second version of The Parent Trap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special features are wonderful, June 29 2004
By 
L.M.W. (Alabama, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
Of course this is a wonderful Disney family film. I'm in my twenties, and I can remember watching this movie since I was a toddler. Since I'm sure you know how great the movie is and can read other reviews for that, I'll concentrate on the special features of this DVD, some of which aren't even mentioned above.
• "Caught in the Act: The Making of the Parent Trap" is a good documentary (about 30 minutes), including interviews with Hayley Mills, Maureen O'Hara, director David Swift, Joanna Barnes, and more. It provides a lot of background details on how the idea for the film came about, selecting the cast, fine-tuning the screenplay, etc.
• "Disney Legend: Hayley Mills" is a 25-minute feature all about Hayley, and it's quite good. It includes photos and home movies from her childhood as well as interviews with Hayley, Maureen O'Hara, Dean Jones, Kevin Corcoran, David Swift, Nancy Olson, and others she worked with at Disney. Hayley talks about her family, her experiences at Disney, and her departure from that Disney image in the late '60s.
• "Seeing Double" is a short feature on the split-screen technology that allowed viewers to see two images of Hayley Mills side by side at once. This technology was quite innovative and experimental at the time, but it worked beautifully.
• The Sherman Brothers featurette is a short but interesting bit of facts and trivia on two men who wrote songs for many memorable Disney films, including "Mary Poppins" and "The Parent Trap."
• "Lost Treasures: Who's the Twin?" is an interesting feature about Susan Henning, the girl who played the double for Hayley Mills in the film (in scenes with the camera over her shoulder or to her back). Now that I know to look for her, I can plainly see in several profile shots that the other twin is NOT Hayley. Watch the fight scene at the dance closely too. Henning is a warm presence and gives some little-known facts about the film and about Walt Disney.
• "Let's Get Together" is a music video of the two Hayleys singing the song from the movie.
• The Donald Duck animated cartoon, "Donald's Double Trouble," is a Disney short filmed a few years before this movie, but it's a cute bonus.
• Other special features include theatrical trailers, TV spots, radio spots, a lengthy Parent Trap photo gallery, and a 1961 Disney studio album.

• The film's audio commentary by Hayley Mills and director David Swift is also a great feature. Hayley reveals many interesting tidbits about her experiences on the film, her relationships with her costars and Walt Disney, and how she views the film today. Swift offers his own recollections on Hayley's performance and other background information on the film. For example, the scene where Brian Keith finds the bra hanging on his shower was almost censored!
The widescreen transfer is wonderful. I'd never seen this film in its original aspect ratio, so this was a treat. The abundance of special features make this DVD edition truly wonderful. (I had no problems with it playing in my DVD player, either.) This is simply a fun family film that you can watch over and over. I know, because I have for the past 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful movie...what a piece of junk DVD, June 20 2004
By 
Yarby "yarby" (Medina, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
As with most of Disney's DVD releases, they seem to have some quality control issues. I purchased this movie (which IS a wonderful movie) as part of the Vault Disney 4-movie collection.
I had to return my first set, because the case was broken on "Old Yeller". No big deal. But then...the secondary disc on "The Parent Trap" skipped and stalled, and "Swiss Family Robinson" wouldn't even load.
Having had terrible experience with Disney DVD's previously ("The Great Locomotive Chase"), I opted for a refund instead of dealing with the frustrations of another set that was defective.
Frankly, Disney's products seem to have so many problems, I doubt I will ever buy another one. Many of their movies are in the wrong ratio, some are terrible transfers ("Old Yeller" in particular, and also the Chinatown scene in "The Love Bug" comes to mind), and now I've had this set and "The Great Locomotive Chase" which have had "playability" issues.
For a company with such a great library of old movies, it is really sad that they put out such an inferior product. As I would love to include them in my DVD library. But one shouldn't have to concern themself with worrying whether a DVD is going to play or not when they purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Help, I'm seeing Double........, July 5 2004
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
I love this movie. Both versions arwe great. The first one, with Haley Mills, has the song,"lets get together yeah yeah yeah, why don't you and I combine.." and the second one with Lindsay Lohan, has the song "There She Goes" And there are some other diffrences. Like in the new one, there is the lizard fiasco. I'm pretty sure that wasn't in the old one. But they are both good. if I wer you I wouldn't chose. I'd get both.:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hayley to the Rescue, July 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
This was the highest grossing box office success in America in 1961 and if there isn't a statue of Hayley Mills in Disneyland there oughta be. Her successive hits for Walter and Roy Disney bailed them out of a tight spot financially. Ms. Mills effortless adolescent charm is backed by two first rate performers in Brian Keith and Maureen O'Hara and neither was ever better. The plot about separated twins is older than Shakespeare and doesn't bear too close examination, but the theme of a re-kindled love and re-united family is one very few of us can resist. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who needs a remake?, March 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Parent Trap (DVD)
This is what every dvd out there should be like. If you are a fan
of extra features this is for you!!
Disc1:you get a movie
and a cartoon called donald's double trouble
and a audio commentary by haley mills and david swift
Disc2:"caught in the act" the making of the parent trap
the sherman brothers
let's get together
lost treasures-who's the twin?
production archives
1961 disney studio album!
i hope you enjoy the parent trap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaff56c48)

This product

Parent Trap [Import]
Parent Trap [Import] by David Swift (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews