Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Factory
This album is spot on and will go down in history as a masterpiece. You cannot find a track on this album that isn't worth listening to. This is one of those truly iconic albums that you can sit down and listen to start to finish without ever having to skip a track. The fact that this album went 17 times platinum in the US and diamond in my home land of Canada speaks...
Published 17 months ago by Andrew

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars agree with everyone else on here
I just purchased my sacd player and picked up Boston and Billy Joel's the Stranger at the same time. After listening to the Stranger, my mouth dropped. Billy's voice coming from the center speaker and all the other instruments and melodies coming from every different direction. Then I put in Boston and couldn't tell a difference from the cd version I already own. I...
Published on Jan. 1 2004 by Angelo Sellers


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars agree with everyone else on here, Jan. 1 2004
By 
Angelo Sellers (pensacola, Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
I just purchased my sacd player and picked up Boston and Billy Joel's the Stranger at the same time. After listening to the Stranger, my mouth dropped. Billy's voice coming from the center speaker and all the other instruments and melodies coming from every different direction. Then I put in Boston and couldn't tell a difference from the cd version I already own. I think it's one of the best albums, but if you already own it on cd, don't bother upgrading - there's nothing special about the SACD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the music, but only plays out of 2 speakers, June 23 2003
By 
Paul K. Stauffer "pstauffer" (North Potomac, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
I love this album by Boston. I bought it in SACD format, but it's nothing like the other SACD's I bought. It only plays out of 2 speakers and my sub. It sounds "okay", but I was pretty disappointed. Nothing comes out of the center channel and the rear speakers. What's with that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Factory, April 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston (Vinyl) (LP Record)
This album is spot on and will go down in history as a masterpiece. You cannot find a track on this album that isn't worth listening to. This is one of those truly iconic albums that you can sit down and listen to start to finish without ever having to skip a track. The fact that this album went 17 times platinum in the US and diamond in my home land of Canada speaks volumes about what type of album this is. What is more interesting is that Tom Scholz had only been playing guitar for something like a year and a half at the time he wrote this album. Absolutely mindblowing if you ask me... Anyways, this album will fit nicely with anyone who is a fan of classic rock. Highly recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential classic rock, July 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
Where would classic rock be had Boston's self-titled debut album not been released? This is one of the greatest cds I own. 3 years ago, I had never heard of them...and now I own all of their albums and even saw them in concert last summer - which was an experience I will never forget! If you're new to classic rock, I think Boston's debut album would be a terrific place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of 1976's highlights aside my birth, June 21 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
A few months after my arrival a fellow group from my native Boston, Mass. coincidentally called Boston released their self-titled debut album in September of 1976. Boston was a great band that was the mastermind of guitarist Tom Scholz and frontman Brad Delp. In addition, there was guitarist Barry Goudreau, bassist Fran Sheehan and drummer Sib Hashian. The album was maily recorded in Scholz's basement but you would not have known. The album is still a staple of album rock and classic rock radio today and is the largest selling debut album in history(not even poseurs like Alanis Morrisette or the 90s equal to The Starland Vocal Band called Hootie and the Blowfish could topple) with 17 million sold in the US alone and peaked at #3. I first heard and received this album on my 11th birthday on cassette in January of 1987 and still is one of my favorites today. The album's opener More Than a Feeling was a great song and was a monster hit. Other standouts are the rocking Peace of Mind and the first half closing Foreplay/Long Time. Tom did most of the guitar work on the album while Barry did not join until the sessions were just about finished nor did Fran. Rock and Roll Band was written about how the band got their deal with Epic. Smokin, Hitch a Ride, Something About You and Let Me Take You Home Tonight round out this masterpiece. Despite the fact it was recorded in 1976, it sounds like it was recorded yesterday and this band got the success it deserved because of the music and not how well they dressed! Highly recommended as well as Don't Look Back, Third Stage, Walk On and Greatest Hits but avoid Corporate America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, May 2 2004
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
Boston's 1976 debut album countering both the Progressive Invasion from the UK and disco frenzy back home became the fitting album to commemorate bicentennial mood and filled the need for Americans to get the music of their own that can be really proud of.
Reflecting the 70s when progressive sound was trendsetting, the band uses the state of the art techno gadgets and created new genre of rock'n roll. And they used clean high-toned vocal harmonies to get the better of such synth backings. PEACE OF MIND is the typical of such gem creating the healing of our mind. FOREPLAY/LONG TIME is an excellent coupling of progressive instrumental and feel-good pop music. ROCK'N ROLL BAND and SMOKIN' are the rejuvenated mainstream American pop. HITCH A RIDE, SOMETHING ABOUT YOU also have the impressive high-tone chorus. LET ME TAKE YOU HOME TONIGHT well wraps up this album having both soft healing pop and aggressiveness of prog-heavy rock at the latter part.

Essential for classic rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE ROCK AND ROLL, March 11 2004
By 
carl womack (north carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
Do you enjoy music that is basically upbeat and mind blowing? Look no further. Boston was, and is, one of the definitive bands of the 70's, and hold a rare world record. They hold the record for "The biggest selling debut album". Over 15 million copies of this superb album have been sold, and no wonder! This is pure rock and roll. There are no depressing, slow paced, cry your eyes songs here. The hits "More Than A Feeling", "Peace Of Mind", and Longtime, plus, the other songs are good to listen too, especially if you're feeling the blues, they can pick you up. You know those rock and roll bands who perform music and you can hardly understand a word they are saying? Well, these guys aren't like them. This is the kind of music that borders on Heavy Metal, but is more like Hard Rock. There's not a bunch of cursing as compared to other artists, and you will find yourself wanting to raise the windows in your place and let the whole neighborhood hear what you are listening too. It's that good. There is absolutely no mistaking what these boys are playing.There's tons of guitar play, some keyboard, and of course rockin bass and drums. Anyone who knows anything about music will NOT mistake it for country, or rap, or blues. This is KICK REAR ROCK AND ROLL. No matter your age, no matter your sex, no matter your religion, no matter what country you're from, no matter if you're rich or poor, no matter what, If you like music that will stur your soul, you WILL love this CD. I own it, and I thoroughly LOVE it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent SACD transfer of one of the best debut albums, Jan. 19 2004
By 
B. J O'Connor "noonions" (Holmdel,NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
"Boston",released in 1976,became a major rock n'roll milestone,eventually selling 15 million copies,and making arena-rock a radio and concert staple in the late 1970's and early 1980's.Though despised by critics as "corporate rock",the album,along with Bruce Springsteen's "Born To Run" and Bob Seger's "Night Moves",actually revived anthemic mainstream rock n' roll at a time when it nearly died out(especially with disco,punk and Kiss on the rise).Thus it captured the public's hearts and minds with uplifting hard-rockin anthems as "More than A Feeling","Long Time","Peace Of Mind" and every other song on this record.It still remains one of the best debut albums ever made even today.The stereo SACD mix isn't bad;in fact,it beats the standard CD by a mile,having detail and clarity(paticularly in the quieter moments)the muddier-sounding counterpart lacks,but it isn't up to the level of such SACD multichannel jewels like "Dark Side Of The Moon","Tommy","Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" or "The Stranger".Alas,the band didn't have much of a budget to work with at the time,so you won't find a better sounding version of the album than on this SACD.But go in with lowered expectaions,though;those looking for jaw-dropping results will be disappointed.(Note:This will NOT play on a standard CD player!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard rock, Dec 10 2003
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
In the 1970's, their where many hard rock/heavy metal albums that defined the genre during that decade. This was one of the best. This album's quality is the only real reason Boston is remembered so well today, as they have had a spotty career.
The band put together clean, fresh melodies and created some of the best sounding hard rock in history. Most bands had one or two hits per album, and then a few album track gems. Boston's entire debut was exciting and fresh. It was the best hard rock album of 1976, and there was some stiff competition. Aeromsmith released "Rocks" that year, often seen as their best album. Kiss put out "Destroyer", which has also been hailed as their greatest piece of work. Boston however, beat them all out this year. Every song on this record was a radio hit, and is still on classic rock radio today.
If you love hard rock and heavy metal from the 1970's, you will worship this album. It is not overrated in the least. This is a fine album, and Boston, while they would have a decent following album, would never reach this status again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hitch a ride, Nov. 13 2003
By 
Kyle W. Elsbernd (Janesville, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
It's fitting that this album was on the epic label! It truly is epic in every sense of the word. To me the magic is in the contrasts: clean, pure vocals and massively overdriven guitars. Soaring, almost violin-like lead lines and power cords. Beautiful melodies with polished, evocative lyrics--lyrics that don't call too much attention to themselves, but allow the voice to act as basically an additional guitar! An "angry" distortion sound, but tamed: the rockman sounds like a wall of marshalls pumped through a transistor radio. Harmonically rich, like blue steel with little sparkles breaking on the surface.
And Brad Delp's voice! The man can sing. Nobody wails like that anymore. It feels like he wraps the lyrics in layers of silk. There is a certain "fabric" to his vocals--that's the only way I can describe it. He seems like a working man who happens to open his mouth, and out comes an angel's voice. I played "Long Time" for a dear friend from Africa once, just to see what he thought about American music. A very sensitive, poetic soul in his own right. He heard Brad Delp's "Ahhhhhhhhhh-aiiii!" in the break, shook his head, and knowingly said, "The cry of freedom." That's what it is. It's so American. Anyone in the world would recognize it. It's like Whitman's barbaric yawp! It says, "Listen to us! We're alive and we f'in' rock!" One of your reviewers says that Boston reminds him of the bicentennial year, and makes him feel patriotic. How fitting that it came out when it did - 1976. How fitting that the revolution began in Boston; the music neatly summarizes and caps a revolution, in a sense. It is a product of the times, times that probably can't be recaptured. The music reminds of a happier, carefree era, when American music was still the envy of the world.
The album for me has two bookends. The first is the opening riff of More Than A Feeling. It repeatedly rises and tumbles back down, finally resolving itself as Brad Delp's voice soars up and takes flight as a singing guitar. "I turned on my music to start my day/and lost myself in a familiar song/I closed my eyes and I slippped away." And "So many people have come and gone/Their faces fade as the years go by."
The other "bookend" for me is in the staggering solo in "Hitch a Ride." Right after "Carry me away for the last time." Words fail me in describing it. And just at its highpoint, its fever pitch and frenzy, listen real close, and you will hear a scream. The magnetic guitar pickup actually caught someone screaming "yeah!" in a kind of ectasy. It's there--listen real close. A happy mistake, but telling. Carry me away for the last time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boston
Boston by Boston (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews