Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite Boston album
Boston's second album Don't Look Back was rush-released in August of 1978. The album was the follow-up to the mammoth selling debut which has sold to date 17 million in the US alone and the pressure was on guitarists Tom Scholz(whom also wrote all the songs) and Barry Goudreau, vocalist Brad Delp, bassist Fran Sheehan and drummer Sib Hashian to deliver an album equal of...
Published on June 21 2004 by Terrence J Reardon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the Upright Citizens Brigade convinced me
I bought this cd after my favorite tv show the UCB talked about it during an episode it is a decent cd but I really only like Don't Look Back
Published on Sept. 17 2003 by M. A. Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite Boston album, June 21 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
Boston's second album Don't Look Back was rush-released in August of 1978. The album was the follow-up to the mammoth selling debut which has sold to date 17 million in the US alone and the pressure was on guitarists Tom Scholz(whom also wrote all the songs) and Barry Goudreau, vocalist Brad Delp, bassist Fran Sheehan and drummer Sib Hashian to deliver an album equal of its predecessor. While they were slowly trying to complete the album, Epic/CBS wanted a blockbuster for the last quarter of 1978. Despite Scholz's objections that he was not finished, seeing as the album is only 33 minutes long, CBS literally took the tapes and released Don't Look Back. The album stormed right to #1 on Billboard and sold FOUR million in its first month. Don't Look Back was the first Boston album I ever got which was the day after Christmas in 1986 and I played this baby constantly in elementary school whilst most of my fellow then-fifth graders were digging forgettable dribble like Europe and Bon Jovi, and it still sounds fresh today. Every song is excellent, it's difficult to say which one is my favorite. I would give the edge to A Man I'll Never Be which was a great epic which is such a beautiful song. The title track and Feelin' Satisfied are still rock radio staples and kick-ass songs. The closing Don't Be Afraid was a great way to close this superb album. If you like the first album, get this album too. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boston's best album hand's down, May 31 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
Boston's second album Don't Look Back was rush-released in August of 1978. The album was the follow-up to the mammoth selling debut which has sold to date 17 million in the US alone and the pressure was on guitarists Tom Scholz(whom also wrote all the songs) and Barry Goudreau, vocalist Brad Delp, bassist Fran Sheehan and drummer Sib Hashian to deliver an album equal of its predecessor. While they were slowly trying to complete the album, Epic/CBS wanted a blockbuster for the last quarter of 1978. Despite Scholz's objections that he was not finished, seeing as the album is only 33 minutes long, CBS literally took the tapes and released Don't Look Back. The album stormed right to #1 on Billboard and sold FOUR million in its first month. Don't Look Back was the first Boston album I ever got which was the day after Christmas in 1986 and I played this baby constantly in elementary school whilst most of my fellow then-fifth graders were digging forgettable dribble like Europe and Bon Jovi, and it still sounds fresh today. Every song is excellent, it's difficult to say which one is my favorite. I would give the edge to A Man I'll Never Be which was a great epic which is such a beautiful song. The title track and Feelin' Satisfied are still rock radio staples and kick-ass songs. The closing Don't Be Afraid was a great way to close this superb album. If you like the first album, get this album too. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look Back and Feel Satisfied, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Charlie "Theread" (Wagga Wagga, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
Very similar in sound to their debut album, but the mood is a little more mellow. The production with the multi layered guitars, great vocals and vocal harmonies and excellent drumming are all still there as in the first record, but with a track like the brilliant ballad "A Man I'll Never Be" there is something that did not appear on the almost non stop rocking first album.
This album should be considered essential for those fans of classic '70's rock. The title track is one of the all time great rock tunes, with a lead run that just makes the hair on the back of my neck stand on end. Other stand out tracks are "Feelin'Satisfied" and "Don't Be Afraid".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelieveable, Jan. 3 2004
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
All the songs are GREAT and usually you hear the same boston songs (more than a feeling,dont look back,long time foreply) on the radio but I think that their best song of all that you never here on the radio could be (A Man I'll Never Be) and also a lot of their songs from THIRD STAGE are also great but you never here them either. Boston is just a great group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Follow Up to the Debut Smash, Dec 12 2003
By 
Jeffrey T. Munson (Dixon, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
Close on the heels of their record-breaking debut release, Boston followed up with this highly successful sequel cd. Although not as critically acclaimed as the "Boston" album, "Don't Look Back" is very good in its own right. Once again, Brad Delp's incredible vocals shine through on the title track as well as my favorites "Its Easy" and "Feelin Satisfied". The late 70s and early 80s was the era of the great arena rock bands, and Boston was at the top of the list. This is a first-rate cd with searing guitars and top notch keyboards from Tom Scholz and the boys. Buy this great cd and take a trip back in time to the great arena rock days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Dec 5 2003
By 
Alex D Williams "chupicabra" (Fort Wayne, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
I don't think anyone can write a review of this album without comparing it to the first one so here goes:
This is one of the most incredible albums ever. Awsome guitars, unbelievable drums, of course Delp's voice is the best. Every song has that classic Boston feel. Compared to the first album, this is the perfect follow up. Not out doing theirselves, but simply making an album almost as good, if not the same, as the first album. Buy this (and the first for you idiots out there who haven't yet) or burn in hell for all eternity.... that is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One word "Blilliant"!!!!!, Oct. 23 2003
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
Another masterpiece from the 70's Supergroup Boston!! You just can't get enough of Don't Look Back and Feelin' Satisfied!!! This is also one of the greatest albums in rock'n'roll history!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boston's Best, Period, Sept. 27 2003
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
I have to agree with some of the reviewers here. This IS Boston's best album, imo, and has always been extremely underrated. Yes, I own all 6 of their albums, and I love them all for what they are worth, but this one is worth its weight in gold.
From 'Don't Look Back' to 'Don't Be Afraid', every song on this release is excellently done. I find it ironic that Tom Scholz has been quoted as saying that this is the least favorite of all his releases, but he was also quoted as saying that his favorite Boston song is on this album: 'The Journey'.
This album might as well be called 'Boston II', for several reasons. All of the music carries the same spirit as the first album, and with good cause. This was the last album in which the original members played (Delp, Scholz, Sheehan, Gordreau and Hashib), and it was the last album in which Scholz used the old Marshall/tube amps and power soak technology.
5 out of 5 stars. I recommend this album as required listening for any Boston fan. If you can get it on vinyl, the older, rawer sound or the original release before Scholz remastered it for CD is even better. I have this album on both formats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the Upright Citizens Brigade convinced me, Sept. 17 2003
By 
M. A. Miller (Rome, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after my favorite tv show the UCB talked about it during an episode it is a decent cd but I really only like Don't Look Back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SUPERB SOPHOMORE ALBUM, May 31 2004
By 
terrific guy (somewhere on this planet) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Audio CD)
THIS WAS A TERRIFIC SOPHOMORE ALBUM FROM THIS BAND AFTER THEIR HUGELY SUCCESFUL DEBUT CD AND FEATURED AWESOME SONGS LIKE AMANDA,FEELIN SATISFIED AND THE TITLE TRACK.VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ALONG WITH THEIR DEBUT CD.A MUST HAVE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Look Back
Don't Look Back by Boston (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews