Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rebel with a cause.................?
probably my second fave bruce album, equally with "tunnel of love"
fave tracks "cover me" - "whole world is out there, just tryin' to score, i seen enough, don't wanna see anymore......." - says it all.
i've always been a springsteen fan, aside from a teenage crush on him, which lasted a good few years beyond that!
i love his...
Published on Dec 7 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bruce's most popular -- and worst -- album
Springsteen's most popular album, which made him a cultural icon claimed by everyone, including Ronald Reagan of all people - yikes!!. And, in my humble opinion, "Born in the USA" is Springsteen's worst album as well . Is there a correlation here? Hmmmmm..... More pop-friendly, "mainstream," and "pumped up" for easy consumption by the average American, and a definite...
Published on Oct. 22 2000 by L. Feld


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rebel with a cause.................?, Dec 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
probably my second fave bruce album, equally with "tunnel of love"
fave tracks "cover me" - "whole world is out there, just tryin' to score, i seen enough, don't wanna see anymore......." - says it all.
i've always been a springsteen fan, aside from a teenage crush on him, which lasted a good few years beyond that!
i love his songs for their gritty & honest lyrics, being unafraid to tackle real gutsy subjects, with a fierce gusto and passion.
back to the songs....
the title track, i love less, for it's political statements, which i don't necessarily agree with.....
"dancing in the dark" of course, bruce getting into dance, with funky keyboards, this song somehow has some similarity with stevie nicks foray into this area, with "stand back" (they somehow have a similar sound-?)
"downbownd train" typical bruce, singing about the loser......
"i'm going down" is a real good big boss rock track.
"i'm on fire" again, a real passionate track, romantic & gutsy, classic springsteen.
love 'im!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 % Made In The U.S.A., Feb. 3 2004
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
In music history, there are always those one albums that stand the test of time. Albums that are mentioned and referenced too for years and will be for decades to come. Albums where you can recite every single song on the whole thing. Albums that should of been mandatory listening to everyone and should of been issued to everyone as part of a law. Okay, so maybe that last part is stretching it. "Born In The U.S.A." is definitley one of those special albums. When it hit the streets in 1984, it exploded like a hurricane and pretty much defined the 80's stadium, chest thumping, blue collar rock for the time. The fact that it was Bruce's most commercial and radio friendly release to date didn't really matter much because the writing and singing and performing was still all Bruce and the brilliance of the E Street Band. The album is unfairly criticized for being too "poppish". It just goes to show you how some people just don't understand things. The album is just as clever and strongly written as any of his more serious a;bums. But because it has a certain sound, then it can't be as good. Geez. Some people don't understand music!. The album is one of the most consistent rock albums that has a straight line from the first opening drum beats of "Born In The U.S.A.", to the final eloquent and haunting sounds of "My Hometown". Not surprisingly, this was Bruce's most successful studio album, and one of his most consistent rocking albums. Slower tracks are few on this set, the only ones being the gorgeous "I'm On Fire", which is probably one of the best songs he's done, "Downbound Train", and the already mentioned album closer, "My Hometown". This album spawned 7 top ten hits. The title track hit no #9, "I'm On Fire" peaked at #6, "My Hometown" also hit #6, while four other songs, the classic "Dancing In The Dark" at #2, the glorious "Glory Days" at #5, "I'm Goin' Down" at #9, and the rollicking "Cover Me", at #7. The best material just doesn't consist of these famous hit tunes of the album. Everything else here is of top quality and material. "Working On The Highway" has an insanely catchy tune that makes it sound reminiscent of 50's rock and roll. Something by Eddie Cochran, perhaps?. A tune that celebrates the work of the common man working on the streets and keeping them up. "No Surrender", "Darligton County" and "Bobby Jean" are all strong Bruce efforts that fill out the album nicely. What's funny is how people have thought the title tune to be a ptriotic song about the U.S.A. In fact, the song is about Vietnam Vets and how the government and country have forgotten them. The entire album gave Bruce the worldwide acclaim and success that he deserved. Not that he didn't already have fame and successful records and hit singles, because he did, but this release just took it to the next level that he and the band rightfully deserved. The music on this album is some of the purest down home American rock that has been done. Bruce's writing on here showcases some of the finest of his career, and showcases the finest rock/pop compositions in the genre. This is one of those albums that will live forever, and if you don't have it, then what are you waiting for?!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce and the E Street Band's Best Album - Hands Down., Nov. 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
Although it's inconceivable today, there was a time in 1982 when Bruce Springsteen was in a slump. His style of thoughtful, Anthemic Heartland Rock had seen it's heyday pass. As for Bruce Himself, his Record Sales indicated that he had a devoted core following, but was no longer a commercial force to be Reckoned with. He had the Fawning support of Critics, but they don't buy many records and won't help pay his bills.
Thanks to a new entertainment Medium, MTV, which showed "Music Videos" that would emphasize the Visual aspect of an Artist as well as the Music, Springsteen seemed very out of favor.
Bruce knew the Pressure was on him. The fickle public had written him off as a Guy who had a Spark in the 70's with "Born to Run" but his best days were behind him in 1984.
As he did before, For Production Bruce teamed with Himself, Jon Landau, Chuck Plotkin, and Steve Van Zant but this time around they gave the Recording an added Sheen and Polish, making his sound cleaner and more Accesible to a Mass Audience. His supporting casts arsenal also received an Updating, Synthesizers were added to the mix to Bode with the musical climate. Which was slightly overdue. In my opinion for quite some time Bruce sound could've benefited from A current element and on "Born In The U.S.A" Thats just what it got.
No question, the End Result would sound like Bruce Springsteen, but with a modern twist that would Enhance it's effect.
This was a well-offered offering, borrowing elements from all his previous albums. This was Bruce's comeback that he desperately needed.
Liner Notes - Incredibly Thorough. Details are given on where the recording took place, who mixed, and The Full E Street Band Roster. Bob Ludwig mastered the recording. He also did great work on Ratt's "Ratt N Roll 8191" Compilation. A Photo of Bruce leaning against a Tree underlies the lyrics to every last one of these 12 Cuts.
I bought the Compact Disc on June 25, 2002 A few weeks after returning from a Vacation to Maine. I also remember cuz My favorite Rapper, Noreaga released an album on the same exact day. My Mother is such a Springsteen diehard she probably has the Cassette lying around the house somewhere, but this album is so great that it justifies me shelling out more bucks.
On The Compact Disc edition it's worth pointing out that the track listing on the back cover overlaps a Photo of Bruce, appearing in his white Shirt.
I can't remember a song being highly politicized as the title track. Obviously Ronald Reagan borrowed it as his Re-Election theme. At first listen I thought likewise until I Dissected the main verses. Others have proclaimed it as Pro-Democrat, but truth be told be told when Bruce wrote this he had no thoughts of Political Parties, rather the theme is chronicling the United States Governments apathy towards Vietnam Veterans, I back that sentiment.
The Guitar Solo to "Cover Me" is one of Bruce's best. He Handles the solo the way he did on "BadLands". The backing music of "Darlington County" emit an upbeat and sunny feel, Organs, Piano and Saxophone all merge. The lyrics are less pleasant, the central character gets locked up.
"Workin On The Highway" embodies a theme of what it's title says. I like this song because it's very bass heavy, to the point where the guitar lick and keyboards play second fiddle but are key elements regardless. If I play this on my soundsytem the speakers "boom" much to my delight.
"DownBound Train" just might be the most overlooked and underrated song in Springsteen's entire catalog. The Mainframe's Moody and Atmospheric without sinking into a sad tone. Acoustic/Electric guitars dominate, and during the 3rd verse Bruce's voice can get a little garbled but that must've been deliberate and is in no way a detraction. At the final minute dreamy keyboards whisk things away.
"I'm On Fire" Is a Wonderfully penned ballad with metaphors, I enjoy how the Synthesizers show up again. "No Surrender" delivers a big, anthemic chorus. Max Weinberg plays the drums with a fury. I can, at times, relate to the first verse "We learned more from a 3 minute record babe than we ever learnt from school".
"Bobby Jean" continues the thoughtful, sentimental trail. Roy Bittan's pianowork ascends from low to high-pitched notes, and Clarence Clemmons Saxophone solo grabs my attention.
My Aunt thinks "I'm Goin Down" sounds dopey but I completely disagree, the verses, which deal with relationship problems of all topics are sung in an abnormal fashion, but with many a Springsteen tunes the resulting music (in this particular case it's uplifting) does not reflect the lyrical theme. If you're at a party and need a good playlist, this song along with some 1985-Era Ratt fits the bill. Trust Me ;)
The band seem to be having a ball on "Glory Days", the happiest I've ever heard them in fact. A lighter feel is present to "Dancing In The Dark" and the tempo smoothly paces along.
"My Hometown" defines the term "Ideal Closer". A Deeply autobiographical story from Bruce, describing scenery and events of his boyhood neighberhood, like textile mills, big old buicks, and fighting between white and black people. And A wood block, acoustic guitar, and organ can all be heard, but none of the instruments overpower the others; a perfect integration, the departing organ resembles an angelic Choir chanting.
In '84 Bruce could either evolve or become extinct. Thankfully he chose the former option and scored 7 top 10 singles and a mammoth world tour. Some Diehard Springsteen fans hate this album and I could never figure out why. The 12 Million copies it sold may be a reason, but if it sold only a million those fans would love it.
In my opinion this is the Crowning achievement of some American Legends. And the Snare Drum sounds terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most fully realized album to date..., Oct. 28 2003
By 
dvdtrkr (San Diego CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
To fully appreciate this album, you have to have "Nebraska", "Tracks", and "Live 1975-1985" as well as on its own. Both versions of the song "Born in the USA" are incredible in their own way.

Every song on "Born in the USA" were outtakes from "Nebraska" and vice versa. Even the b-sides were hits, and the outtakes have been played frequently on his tours. It's an unbelievable wealth of material from that period. I would love to see a box set documenting the journey from "Nebraska's" roots to the 4 hour marathon shows on the "Born in the USA" Tour, maybe also as a "Classic Albums" DVD.
Where Nebraska is dark and bleak to almost claustrophobic levels, this one wants to bust out all over. Born in the USA (the song) misled most listeners, and had it wound up on "Nebraska", the lyrics would have fit in perfectly. But here, it's not a celebration of patriotism, it's pure rage against a system that let him down. But the rest of the album talks about bonds between friends, sex, love, nostalgia, and watching changes in your neighborhood. It's truly about "American Life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Bruce album, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
This album, filled with brilliant songs, mostly up-tempo, is an excellent tribute to ordinary working people. The album yielded many hit singles in Britain, America and elsewhere.

It begins with the title track, a song about Vietnam that shows Bruce's disapproval of the war while paying tribute to the soldiers. Working on the highway is, of course, a tribute to those who build and maintain the roads. My hometown, the slowest song here, closes the album on a somewhat downbeat note, describing a town that has seen better days.
Dancing in the dark, Cover me, I'm going down and Glory days are all up-tempo slices of rock'n'roll updated for the eighties that became hit singles in Britain and America. No surrender (a hit in America but not Britain), Darlington county and Bobby Jean are similarly upbeat.
I'm on fire (yet another massive hit in Britain and America) is only mid-tempo, as is Downbound train. The pace of the songs may be different but the quality is still high.
This is a classic rock album, great for having a good time, but if you listen to the words you'll find that Bruce has a lot to say. Many of the songs are more serious than the mostly joyful music would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album was Born in the USA, Aug. 30 2003
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
After releasing THE RIVER in 1980,Bruce scores another big hit with BORN IN THE USA four years later. This album spawned a lot of hits but not all of them went to 1995's GREATEST HITS. Seven of the twelve tracks(the title track,I'M ON FIRE,COVER ME,I'M GOIN' DOWN,DANCING IN THE DARK,GLORY DAYS and MY HOMETOWN),made it to the Top 20. Bruce had not yet married his first wife actress Julianne Phillips when this album was recorded. Around this time,he met Patti Scialfa,the E Street Band's background vocalist who'd later become his second wife. Beautiful auburn-haired Patti appears in the video for GLORY DAYS. Bruce and the E Street Band perform the song in a nightclub. In the video for DANCING IN THE DARK,Bruce and his band perform the song in concert and invites audience member,not-yet famous actress Courteney Cox with short black hair on the stage and dance. This album was still on the charts when 1985 neared the end. Then,MY HOMETOWN became a hit. This album was a bigger seller than THE RIVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Bruce, July 18 2003
By 
"billydylan" (Bountiful, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
My rating - 4.8/5 (For 3 great songs - I'm on Fire, No Surrender and Dancing in the Dark)
Though this is a great album it is sad that "Born in the U.S.A" became the song to associate to Bruce in a 'Trivial Pursuit' way. This album moves closer to raw rock and roll with the excision of brass instruments, the saxaphone and the Bruce's high pitched piano playing. Most of the songs only have echoing guitars and a snare drum. Instead Bruce adds synthesizers consistent with the 80's wave. Thankfully this addition will pave the way for another Bruce style with it's debut in the album "Tunnel of Love" and becoming famous with "Streets of Philadelphia." Don't let the synthesisters influence you, though, overall these really are good songs.
Highlights:
"I'm on Fire" - An inventive and memorable song with a clever melody talking, likely, about intimacy.
"No Surrender" - You can't sit down listening to this song. You will get up and dance.
"Dancing in the Dark"- By far has the most synthesizer action, but somehow it couldn't work any other way. Also makes a good sing-a-long song.
Negatives -
"Born in the USA" - This song drags for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Albums don't get much bigger than this...., May 22 2003
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
"Born in the U.S.A." is an amazingly popular album, one of the biggest ever recorded: it has 6 huge radio hits, plus another song ("I'm Goin' Down") which was also ocassionally heard on the radio, and is one of the album's best tunes. Everything about this album is big; "Born in the U.S.A.," "Cover Me," and "Darlington County" are arena-ready anthems that lead everything off with a big bang. In fact, the first four songs are rollicking and loud, Springsteen and his band in top songwriting form, playing their hearts out with gusto. The beautiful, mid-tempo, more laid-back "Downbound Train" finally lets the album breathe a little, and showcases Springsteen at his most poignant. Other poignant songs include the mesmerizing and well-known "I'm On Fire," and the album's closer, "My Hometown."
In its entirety, this album is a snapshot synopsis of working-class America in the late 20th century. It's well known by now Springsteen's disfavor with Ronald Reagan using "Born in the U.S.A." as the signature song for his 1984 re-election campaign, but that's just half the story. In my opinion, other songs on this record sybolize American patriotism in much more quaint but larger ways.
What else can be said about this larger-than-life album? It's 12 very tuneful songs that are at times personally introspective, while at other times they showcase Springsteen's grand sense of fighting for the common man through his lyrics and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mistunderstood mega-seller, May 17 2003
By 
P. Nicholas Keppler "rorscach12" (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
On the surface, it seems like Bruce Springsteen made a 360 degree turn from his sixth album, the hushed, sparse and dreary Nebraska to his seventh, the chiming, slick and energetic Born in the USA. Take a minute and read through the lyrics, though, and you will see that USA resumes Nebraska´¿s underlining themes of hard times and lost hope. In ´¿No Surrender´¿ Springsteen describes youthful dreams withering with age; in ´¿Downbound Train,´¿ he narrates the story a man who finds ´¿the good life´¿ pulled out from under him and in ´¿My Hometown,´¿ he depicts the erosion of a middle-American paradise. Even ´¿Dancing in the Dark,´¿ commonly associated with the Boss pulling a young, starry-eyed Courtney Cox onstage, boils with discontent (´¿I check my look in the mirror/I wanna change my clothes, my hair, my face/Man, I ain't getting nowhere/I'm just living in a dump like this´¿). Then there is the title track, mistaken by campaigning conservatives and the public at large as a zealous ode to the red, white and blue, but actually a Vietnam Vet´¿s bitter diatribe about the country that forgot him. The glossy production and arena-ready choruses may have hidden it from casual listeners (and with sales of over 15 million, this disc attracted a lot of casual listeners), but this is one gritty album. Ultimately, it doesn´¿t matter if the lyrics and the arrangements work towards opposite ends. The one thing they have in common always shines through and that´¿s passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most succesful rock 'n' roll records of all time, April 18 2003
This review is from: Born In The U.S.A. (Audio CD)
This album has sold over ten million copies, and threw off no fewer than seven (!) top ten hits - more than half of its twelve tracks.
That many record buyers can't be wrong, eh?
Well, they're not. For the most part, anyway, although I suppose the hype surrounding the "Born In The USA" album was to some degree the result of a lot of people (Ronald Reagan's witless campaign staff among them) believing that the title song was a statement of patriotism when it was in fact a bitter indictment of the "system", and they simply had to get "that album with that song on it".
"Born In The USA" is indeed a glorious, catchy rocker, though, and the remaining six hit songs ("Cover Me", "No Surrender", "I'm On Fire", "I'm Going Down", "Dancing In The Dark" and the only #1, "My Hometown") are all fine songs as well. But the album does contain its share of mediocrities, and song for song it doesn't quite measure up to Springsteen's finest moment, the double-disc "The River" from 1980, which to me stands proudly as his single greatest work.
That's not to say that you should avoid "Born In The USA". It has some of Springsteen's most accessible and fun songs, first and foremost the straigh-ahead rocker "Dancing In The Dark", the rollicking "Cover Me" and the anthemic "Glory Days"..
If you're only going to buy a handful of Bruce Springsteen's twelve studio and three live albums (four if you count "Chimes Of Freedom"), make this one of them, along with "The River", "Born To Run", "Darkness On The Edge Of Town" and "18 Tracks".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born In The U.S.A.
Born In The U.S.A. by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews