Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defender of the Faith=True Metal
Defenders of the Faith in my opinion was Judas Priest's best album. I know everybody prefers British Steel, Painkiller, Screaming for Vengance and Turbo, but Defenders of the Faith is Judas Priest's most solid recording. The best songs on the album are: Freewheel Burning because Rob does a truly amazing vocals, Jawbreaker because the guitar solo is a true classic metal...
Published on Feb. 20 2005 by 13yearoldpriestfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock Hard, Rock Solid
I give this album 3 stars because it isn't one of Judas Priest's best efforts. The inclusion of the two small tracks, "Heavy Duty" and "Defenders of the Faith," makes this release somewhat weaker then their previous releases. DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH also lacks any really popular tracks from the band, although that might be a good thing. It doesn't contain any radio staples...
Published on June 23 2003 by MR77100


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defender of the Faith=True Metal, Feb. 20 2005
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Defenders of the Faith in my opinion was Judas Priest's best album. I know everybody prefers British Steel, Painkiller, Screaming for Vengance and Turbo, but Defenders of the Faith is Judas Priest's most solid recording. The best songs on the album are: Freewheel Burning because Rob does a truly amazing vocals, Jawbreaker because the guitar solo is a true classic metal solo, The Sentinel because everything about it is good. This album is by far ahead of the rest and is classic metal at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best albums!, Sept. 21 2006
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Defenders of the Faith in my opinion is way better than British Steel, which is good, but the most of the songs were poppy and radio-oriented. This one is heavier and darker. Freewheel Burning is one of the fastest Priest songs with killer vocals from Halford, The Sentinel, Eat Me Alive and heavy Duty/Defenders of the Faith are classic metal anthems. There are no weak songs on the album (like the terrible United on British Steel). DOTF is among my top three priest albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tempt not the blade all fear the Sentinel", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's 1984 release Defenders of the Faith is my third favorite 1980s Priest album behind Screaming for Vengeance and barely behind British Steel. Many of the tracks off Defender are better than British Steel but it is not quite as solid as the 1980 classic.
Defenders offers some of the best all-time Priest tracks: "The Sentinel," "Love Bites," and "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll." They have a unique guitar sound that is difficult to explain in words. The sound gives me images of a futuristic gladiator arena where metal gods do battle overlooked by the feared Sentinel. What would that sound like? Listen to this album. My favorite track, however, is the power ballad "Night Comes Down." It is beautiful with, as one would expect, amazing Rob Halford vocals.
The rest of the album is fairly solid. The single "Freewheel Burning" is fast and furious. Although it is not one of my favorite tracks, hearing Halford sing at breakneck speed is incredible! "Jawbreaker" is a Sentinel-style song with that unique guitar sound. "Rock Hard Ride Free" is a catchy rocker. "Eat Me Alive" got the PMRC leaders' pantyhose in a knot with the highly suggestive lyrics (probably giving some guys the creeps now that Halford has officially "come out") and the line "I'm gonna force you at gunpoint." It is not one of their better tracks. "Heavy Duty/Defenders of the Faith" starts out like "Eat Me Alive II" with some risqué lyrics but ends up being a salute to metal. The title track is just a 1:30 chanting of "We are defenders of the faith." I'm not a big fan of songs that celebrate the band, its fans, and what they do (Ram it Down has a lot of self congratulatory songs like "Heavy Metal" and "I'm a Rocker"). Though it ends on a low note, most of Defenders of the Faith is excellent and one of Priest's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tempt not the blade all fear the Sentinel", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Judas Priest's 1984 release Defenders of the Faith is my third favorite 1980s Priest album behind Screaming for Vengeance and barely behind British Steel. Many of the tracks off Defender are better than British Steel but it is not quite as solid as the 1980 classic.
Defenders offers some of the best all-time Priest tracks: "The Sentinel," "Love Bites," and "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll." They have a unique guitar sound that is difficult to explain in words. The sound gives me images of a futuristic gladiator arena where metal gods do battle overlooked by the feared Sentinel. What would that sound like? Listen to this album. My favorite track, however, is the power ballad "Night Comes Down." It is beautiful with, as one would expect, amazing Rob Halford vocals.
The rest of the album is fairly solid. The single "Freewheel Burning" is fast and furious. Although it is not one of my favorite tracks, hearing Halford sing at breakneck speed is incredible! "Jawbreaker" is a Sentinel-style song with that unique guitar sound. "Rock Hard Ride Free" is a catchy rocker. "Eat Me Alive" got the PMRC leaders' pantyhose in a knot with the highly suggestive lyrics (probably giving some guys the creeps now that Halford has officially "come out") and the line "I'm gonna force you at gunpoint." It is not one of their better tracks. "Heavy Duty/Defenders of the Faith" starts out like "Eat Me Alive II" with some risqué lyrics but ends up being a salute to metal. The title track is just a 1:30 chanting of "We are defenders of the faith." I'm not a big fan of songs that celebrate the band, its fans, and what they do (Ram it Down has a lot of self congratulatory songs like "Heavy Metal" and "I'm a Rocker"). It's disappointing that this song was chosen as the live bonus track. The bonus studio track does not seem to wow anyone either. Though it ends on a low note, most of Defenders of the Faith is excellent and one of Priest's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last classic record, May 10 2004
By 
S B "sdb70" (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Following on the heels of the successful 'Screaming for Vengeance' (1982), with the same artist doing the cover, 'Defenders of the Faith' (1984) did not disappoint. Long before speed became the watchword for hardcore metalheads, Priest refused to follow up their previous hit single ("You've Got Another Thing Comin'") and released the speedy "Freewheel Burning" and the menacing "Love Bits" as videos and the guitar drenched "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll" as the first single. The result was very little radio airplay, but a mammothly successful tour.
The tour is documented on several live cuts released on the Priest remasters, but only one is inlcuded here - "Heavy Duty/Defenders of the Faith." (FYI: You can obtain live versions (from the same show) of "Jawbreaker" on 'Sin After Sin' remaster, "Rock Hard Ride Free" from the 'Priest Live' remaster, "Night Comes Down" on the 'Ram It Down' remaster, and "Grinder" from the 'British Steel' remaster). The studio track, "Turn Your Light On", is nothing more than a disposable power-ballad and a reminder of the downturn that Priest would take with the successor record, 'Turbo' (1986) (i.e., it is an outtake from the 1985 studio sessions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-own if you're a metal fan, Feb. 17 2004
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Defenders Of The Faith (1984.) Judas Priest's ninth album.
By the time 1984 rolled around, the eighties heavy metal scene was in full swing. By this time, Judas Priest had more than proved that they were one of the greatest metal bands of all time - but they weren't about to stop rocking. Even with all the other metal bands that began to appear on the scene, Rob Halford and the boys were going to keep on rocking until the decade was through. In 1984, the band released its ninth studio album, Defenders Of The Faith. Is this an amazing classic metal album that more than exceeds the hype fans create around it, or is it a subpar entry in the Priest catalogue? Read on for my review.
The band starts things off with one of their fastest and most furious hard rockers, Freewheel Burning. In various reviews for this album, you may have seen this track getting a lot of praise. And why not? This is one of the finest tracks the band ever shelled out. Having it start the album off was a very smart move, because it grabs the listener's attention and holds on to it. And, of course, we have The Sentinel. This is another track that many reviewers praise, and they are right to do so. Many Priest fan favorites were also born on this album. Rock Hard Ride Free is actually a rewrite of an older song the band did, but never issued (although the original version of the song has since been reissued on the Hell Bent For Leather remaster as a bonus track.) The band had actually been playing Jawbreaker live for years before this album, but it wasn't until the release of this album that they actually recorded a studio version. I wonder why they waited so long? This is one of their finest rockers! And then there's the infamous vampire song, Love Bites (this is NOT the Def Leppard song.) This one's got a memorable beat, and a chorus that sticks in your mind long afer you're done listening to the album. Another fan favorite this album spawned was Some Heads Are Gonna Roll. It's one of the band's finest songs, even if it never achieved the vast popularity that some of their material did. The album closes with a medley of two songs, Heavy Duty and the title track. This was a good way to close out a classic album.
The new remastered version of the album features two bonus tracks - a rare studio session entitled Turn On Your Light, and a rare live version of the medley of Heavy Duty and the album's title track. These tracks don't hold a candle to the material that actually made it on to the album, but they are still a nice bonus nonetheless, and they make buying the remaster more worthwhile than buying the original compact disc pressing. However, if you already bought the original CD pressing, it's not worth buying the album again for a sake of these tracks.
With this album, Judas Priest proved that they weren't going to stop rocking. It's really no surprise that many of the band's fans call this their favorite album. If you're a fan of the band, or maybe you're just a fan of classic eighties metal, this is an album I strongly recommend purchasing. Just make sure you get the remastered version so that you get the bonus tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rock Hard, Rock Solid, June 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
I give this album 3 stars because it isn't one of Judas Priest's best efforts. The inclusion of the two small tracks, "Heavy Duty" and "Defenders of the Faith," makes this release somewhat weaker then their previous releases. DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH also lacks any really popular tracks from the band, although that might be a good thing. It doesn't contain any radio staples such as "Living After Midnight" from BRITISH STEEL or "You've Got Another Thing Coming" from SCREAMING FOR VENGENCE. Regardless, this album is still a solid effort.
DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH has songs that still rock. "Freewheel Burning" kicks off the album in a similar fashion as "Rapid Fire" from BRITISH STEEL. "Jawbreaker" has great guitar work from Downing that pulls the song into a frenzy. "Rock Hard, Ride Free" is my favorite track with it's mid-paced beat and excellent guitar solo at the bridge. It was actually written for HELL BENT FOR LEATHER (KILLING MACHINE) under a different title, but was re-written and used for this album. "The Sentinal" starts out slow then kicks into a catchy rocker that provides a good follow-up to "Rock Hard, Ride Free." Ironically, this was the first Judas Priest album I bought, and I was rather impressed. DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH may not be as strong as other records by Judas Priest, but it still stands as a hard and solid example of what 80's metal is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their better albums, Sept. 27 2003
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
Defenders Of The Faith is a solid release from Judas Priest and remains their last strong album. While there isn't anything as catchy as "Living After Midnight" or "You've Got Another Thing Comin'", there's nothing bad here either. The best tracks here are "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll", the thrash-like "Freewheel Burning", the ballad "Night Comes Down", and the excellent epic "The Sentinel." Other songs like "Love Bites", "Jawbreaker", and "Eat Me Alive" are also strong tracks. The metal anthems "Rock Hard, Ride Free" and "Heavy Duty/Defenders Of The Faith" are okay, but they have better anthems on their earlier albums like British Steel. One of their stronger albums, certainly better than the albums they'd release after this, especially the ones after Rob Halford left the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We're alll...DEFENDERS OF THE FAITH!!!, Dec 4 2003
By 
Laz (Wellington, NZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
With the exception of Love Bites and Eat Me Alive (both of which are tedious and as such qualify as filler tracks)...this album rocks. HARD.
The first track I heard off this was The Sentinel and it blew me away. Awesome riffs, cool singing...couldn't ask for more! The rest of the album is much the same, all songs except for the two I mentioned at the beginning are consistently good.
Two best tracks are probably The Sentinel, and Rock Hard Ride Free...which has AWESOME solos. Though like I said, the rest are all great too.
Heavy Duty/Defenders Of The Faith is a great way to end this album as well.
3 thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL FEAR THE SENTINEL !!, Feb. 20 2004
By 
Ståle Myhre-Wollnich (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defenders of the Faith (Audio CD)
One of the best Priest albums ever!! All of the tracks on this album are great! Starting off with "freewheel burning", it set`s the standard for the whole album. From there on it`s kind of a metal parade, that makes you wanna ROCK HARD...and RIDE FREE!! When "The Sentinel" arrives you just have to keep on Rocking, you can`t relax at all! This song you can play til you drop!..it get`s me everytime! The raw "eat me alive" and "when the night comes down" are also tracks that you will play over and over again. So THUMBS up and 5 stars for Halford,Tipton & K.K. Downing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews