Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Waters' first post-Floyd effort is a classic
Roger Waters released his second solo album The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking in April of 1984. The album was recorded between February and December of 1983 at Roger's home studio and featured assistance from the legendary Eric Clapton on guitar, the late Michael Kamen on piano and orchestrations, Roxy Music drummer Andy Newmark and jazz great David Sanborn on saxophones...
Published on June 20 2004 by Terrence J Reardon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please, Make the Misery End.........Somebody.............
Out of great respect for Roger Waters, I gave this album a try. Needless to say, much as I love Floyd and Waters, this was the worst album my expectant ears ever had the misfortune to hear. A pre-schooler could concoct more rhythm and melody than what Waters gave us on this solo outing, and I'm positively mystified by all these rave reviews for this album. Talk...
Published on Feb. 6 2000 by Sal Nudo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please, Make the Misery End.........Somebody............., Feb. 6 2000
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
Out of great respect for Roger Waters, I gave this album a try. Needless to say, much as I love Floyd and Waters, this was the worst album my expectant ears ever had the misfortune to hear. A pre-schooler could concoct more rhythm and melody than what Waters gave us on this solo outing, and I'm positively mystified by all these rave reviews for this album. Talk about resting on your laurels and trying to do the whole thing yourself! "The Wall" wouldn't have been half as good without David Gilmour and Bob Ezrin, and this stinking, vile excuse for an album is the fool-on proof. Sterile to the point of agonizing boredom, with lyrics and a voice so cryptic you want to slap the guy out of his self-possessed sense of being, not once semblance of an original riff, despite Eric Clapton's "invaluable" help, this album goes nowhere at a pace of 1 mile per hour. I don't care how deep, smart, or how good of a lyricist Roger Waters is, if the music ain't somewhat sonically good, what's the point? His entire genius is wasted on empty albums like this. You'd think that after years of great associations and albums.......Oh, forget it. If this is what it takes to be musically cerebral, count me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, Pretentious Un-Music, April 20 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
In his Pink Floyd days, Roger Waters's tendencies toward self-pity and self-absorption in his music were at least somewhat muted by David Gilmour's (and various producers') more accessible approach. Left to his own devices, Waters creates a mess of half-finished "songs" with perhaps the worst lead vocals in the history of rock music. Nothing more clearly shows the emptiness of Waters' long-held contention that he "was" Pink Floyd than this absurd, nearly unlistenable effort. If anything, the album sounds like a virtual parody of his former band (complete with self-plagiarism, as Waters lifts the main melody from "In the Flesh" for use here). "The Pros and Cons of Hitch-hiking" is for the terminally pretentious only. As a review at the time of release stated, the album is nothing more or less than hideous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waters' first post-Floyd effort is a classic, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
Roger Waters released his second solo album The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking in April of 1984. The album was recorded between February and December of 1983 at Roger's home studio and featured assistance from the legendary Eric Clapton on guitar, the late Michael Kamen on piano and orchestrations, Roxy Music drummer Andy Newmark and jazz great David Sanborn on saxophones. Roger Waters takes the concept album to new heights on this masterpiece. Each of the 12 tracks marks the a scene of a surreal dream (nightmare?). Along the journey, Waters(whom wrote, sang, played bass and rhythm guitar and produced with Michael Kamen) deals with murderous Arabs in Germany(Arabs With Knives and West German Skies), a sexual encounter(Sexual Revolution), mundane family life(The Remains of Our Love and Go Fishing). He also encounters bikers, truckers, housewives, Shane and Yoko Ono(all mentioned in the title cut) and strangers(the album's best cut, Every Stranger's Eyes). The album is balanced with great doses of Slowhand's playing, the late Kamen's orchestrations and Waters' lyrics. To date, this is the only Waters solo album to go Gold in the US and peaked at #31 here in the US. However, notwithstanding sales figures, this album is a great solo disc. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing Roger Waters has ever done--And he's a genius, June 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
This album will never leave my collection as long as I live.
I have owned The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking for 10 years now, and consider it the best album to come from the brilliant mind of Roger Waters--surpassing even The Wall and Dark Side of the Moon. The imagery of the lyrics transports you directly into the head of a man dreaming of love, loss, family, sex, and horror. The dream logic which melds one song into the next is smooth and flawless. If you are evaluating this album on a song-by-song basis, you have missed the point. To appreciate the whole picture you have to make time to sit down and listen to it beginning to end--as is the case with most of Waters' works. The lyrics are jarring, haunting, Blakean.
The music is similarly inspired. Even if you don't normally go for Eric Clapton's music, this album features him doing what he does best: slowhand improvisation. This album would be nothing, musically, without him. His guitar work complements and interweaves with the lyrics in the kind of musical partnership that you just don't hear much coming out of a recording studio. The man can speak through a guitar like no one else I know of. He is melodic yet unrestrained, prominent yet subdued. Listening to this album, you find yourself thinking, "wow, this is a great song," and only later, "wow, there's almost nothing happening but the guitar."
I heartily recommend this album to anyone who reveres Roger Waters and anyone who lives for a well-formed concept album from someone who actually has a concept. This CD has a plot and characters you feel you know.
This is an excellent CD for long car trips at night, nights spent sitting on the couch listening to the stereo and sipping scotch, or nights spent tangled in carnal bliss atop sweaty sheets.
Roger Waters' The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking is a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mystic Fish?, May 26 2004
By 
Russell Diederich (Littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
No one can tell a story in music like Roger Waters. To him the lyrics are everything, and the music is there to support those lyrics. This can be heard throughout the "The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking" as Waters' voice take precedence over everything else. This album was originally brought before Pink Floyd with another project to vote upon which to do. They picked "The Wall" instead, which was probably a smart choice. Although not quite Floyd quality, the album is actually surprising good, although it was outranked by David Gilmour's "About Face", which probably added to the strain on their relationship.
I won't even pretend to understand the story Waters' is trying to tell on this album, but I assume it follows some Hunter S. Thompson vision of wacked-out reality through dreams. What I do understand is that Waters' pulled out the stops to make this album successful by hiring Eric Clapton to handle the guitar work, and David Sanborn for sax. It is without doubt that Clapton carried this album further into mainstream acceptance than merit alone. Likewise, when Waters' allows Clapton free rein, the songs are good. "Running Shoes" rocks heavily, and "For the First Time Today, Part 2" (the first one) Clapton plays with a bluesy feel, which carries into "Sexual Revolution". The title track is the highlight of the album.
Although this album pales compared to Waters' "Radio K.A.O.S." it is still better than his other studio albums. Clapton has some great licks throughout the album, and Waters' has some great lyrics in here as well. Waters' ability to compose music around his story is amazing, and none can match his talent. I may not understand the story, and the music alone may not be overly noteworthy, but when combined it is a formula that works. A must have for Floyd fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger's first great post-Floyd solo effort, May 14 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
Roger Waters released his second solo album The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking in April of 1984. The album was recorded between February and December of 1983 at Roger's home studio and featured assistance from the legendary Eric Clapton on guitar, the late Michael Kamen on piano and orchestrations, Roxy Music drummer Andy Newmark and jazz great David Sanborn on saxophones. Roger Waters takes the concept album to new heights on this masterpiece. Each of the 12 tracks marks the a scene of a surreal dream (nightmare?). Along the journey, Waters(whom wrote, sang, played bass and rhythm guitar and produced with Michael Kamen) deals with murderous Arabs in Germany(Arabs With Knives and West German Skies), a sexual encounter(Sexual Revolution), mundane family life(The Remains of Our Love and Go Fishing). He also encounters bikers, truckers, housewives, Shane and Yoko Ono(all mentioned in the title cut) and strangers(the album's best cut, Every Stranger's Eyes). The album is balanced with great doses of Slowhand's playing, the late Kamen's orchestrations and Waters' lyrics. To date, this is the only Waters solo album to go Gold in the US and peaked at #31 here in the US. However, notwithstanding sales figures, this album is a great solo disc. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
I was kind of dissapointed after listening this album. Not bad, but, not able to compete with previous PF albums like The Wall and Final Cut.
I listen the music first, then I pay attention to the lyrics. In this case, the music did not appeal too much to me. It is excesively repetitive. Clapton's guitar was, of course, a good "replacement" for Gilmour, playing masterfully throughout the album. Unfortunatelly, he did not fit very well in the album sound (or the other way around). The rest of the band was only OK, nothing outstanding.
And the lyrics, the story? I don't really care too much, I can read it without listening the album.
The only tracks than can save this album are Every Strangers Eyes and The Moment of Clarity. That's all. Then, after some years, Waters really made it with his masterpiece Amused to death and In the Flesh.
Supossedly, this was a second project that Waters had along with the Wall. I'm glad the band decided for the latter, because The Pros and Cons was not going to become the megaclassic as The Wall is now.
In my opinion, I don't think the are good reasons to buy this album, unless you are collectionist of Pink Floyd and Roger Waters albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Ideas That Never Climax, March 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
If Roger Waters' first solo album after leaving Pink Floyd sounds a lot like the latter outfit's somber, "The Final Cut" (which is exactly what it was for Waters), don't be surprised; though the idea came to the former Floyd songwriter's head in 1978, this '84 set was recorded right after (if not during) the process of "The Final Cut," using many of the same studios and the same Holophonic sound technique.
In what was almost a Pink Floyd album itself (the band considered recording this work but chose "The Wall" as their project instead), "The Pros and Cons of Hitch-Hiking" is a concept album (there's a big surprise) that only Roger Waters could hatch. Its brave originality is something not to be overlooked however; "Pros and Cons" follows one man's nightmare from the time at 4:30am when 'Apparently They Were Travelling Abroad' to his 'Moment of Clarity' at 5:11am. The main character goes through many ups and downs in his dream, such as the threats of 'Arabs With Knives and West German Skies,' the concept proving Waters' idea is original, but often becomes tongue-in-cheek as the boring sexual theme with a female hitch-hiker drags on until "4:50am (Go Fishing)," and at times Waters is addressing things that seem to have nothing to do with the concept. There are also many awkward moments and voids filled with tiring lyrical stretches and weak instrumentation, such as 'Every Stranger's Eyes' and the closing 'Moment of Clarity.' Although, Eric Clapton's presence is unminstakable (if not slightly wasted) throughout the entire experience. The album's highlights are found in the more alarming moments, especially during the title track.
All in all, this album is a brick in the wall of Roger Waters, bearing many promising moments, but when things calm down, the album drags, especially when Waters resorts to a particular melody that is used several times throughout the album (like in the opening track and 'Dunroamin Duncarin Dunlivin'). Of course, Waters also manages to sneak in some social statements, although fortunately they're not as obvious as those on later works, all laden with many ear-grabbing (if not often unnecessary) sound effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Jan. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
Roger Waters drops Gimour, Wright, and Mason and picks up right where he left off after the Final Cut...almost. Pink Floyd's 70s releases had a very dark and serious overtones to them. Waters quickly changes that which his purple and red album cover complete with a naked female hitchhiker on the front. This album has a fairly different feel to it than the Final Cut, however, that is the album is most resembles. Waters takes us on a journey through his sleeping and waking moments in a dissorienting, confusing, yet highly enjoyable manner. The lyrics, as to be expected, are top notch. Waters vocals (which I personally find to be incredible) are just that, incredible. Eric Clapton sits in and provides some quality guitar work as well. Waters continues to use his 'trademark' ambient sounds on this album (tvs, radios, people talking, cars, trucks). It really all fits together nicely. The trick to this album is getting caught up in Waters' emotional storm. You can really feel what he means if you allow yourself to. I'll admit, I have to be in a certain mood to listen to this album. There are parts that if you listen to them by themself are very 'flat'. This album is best listened to in its entirety. In fact thats really the only way to enjoy it. Its not something you want to listen to if you're trying to get pumped up or motivated to do something. If you can't tell, I really admire Roger Waters and think that he is one of the 3 greatest 'rock' songwriters of all time. This album is just another great example of his genious. It's not Dark Side, its not Animals, its not The Wall, but it should be appreciated for what it is. I'm always looking for interesting, stimulating, new, different things to listen to and this certainly fits the bill. "Come on she said, 'Why don't you give it a try?'"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the "Pros", Oct. 8 2002
By 
Odd Magne Granli (Southern Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking (Audio CD)
This cd is beyong belief. From the brooding intro "Apparently they were traveling abroad" to the rocker "Pros and Cons of Hitchiking", this takes the listener out for a trip he wont forget. This is Roger Waters finest solo-album, you will find so much of Pink Floyd here, much more than any of his others. The sound is strong, the melodies are directly haunting, and some parts glues it self to your brain for life, like the rolling of thunder in "Sexual Revolution". Eric Clapton guest stars here too, making the guitarsolo feel competent and professional. Roger Waters have a wonderful voice on this record, he knows how to tell a story just by changing the pitch of his voice. The songs, melodies, it is just beyond everything I have ever heard. This album has become a permanent listening experience for me every week, and it really deserves it.
Too little credit were given this cd, and it is a shame, for this is the best Post Pink Floyd Roger has written and done. In fact nothing else comes close, and this is the finest example of musical storytelling ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking
Pros And Cons Of Hitchhiking by Roger Waters (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews