Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars George Michael's "Thriller"., July 19 2004
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
If I remember correctly, I believe this was the best selling album of 1987. Why, well six of these were big hits, and one quite controversial at the time. This album also is fairly diverse, having upbeat dance tracks, and smooth ballads as well, and all very good. The songs "Faith", "I Want Your Sex", and "Monkey" all got your feet moving, while others like "One More Try" and "Father Figure" were slow and sexy. "George Michael" has had good albums since this one, but there's no doubt this is possibly his best, and is one of the 80's best too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Classic!!!, May 28 2004
By 
V. Marshall (North Fork, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
This CD is a classic that endures all the fickleness of time. George Michael has mastered an imaginative mix of upbeat and cool tunes with beautiful musical arrangements.
"Faith" is a great upbeat jingle that never fails to get you moving. "Father Figure" is as close to perfect as an artist can get. "I Want Your Sex" is a fun club beat. "One More Try" a slow sad song with great music behind it. "Hard Day" my personal favorite track on the CD because of the heavy bass. "Hand To Mouth" is jazzy and easy to listen to, nice drum influences. "Look At Your Hands" this one could have been left off. "Monkey" another dance mix. "Kissing A Fool" so here is where the 40's jazz begins. You will be able to listen to this CD over and over again and across many years. Have faith!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential '80s Album?, May 28 2004
By 
Timothy Pernell (Saratoga, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Eh... it would've been hadn't it been for albums from Michael Jackson, Madonna, Whitney Houston, Tina Turner and Prince, but in 1987, Yorgos Panyiatou, a/k/a George Michael graduated from team member of the hit '80s pop group, Wham, to become one of the most serious musicians of the late-'80s and early-'90s. Even if his career can now be divided in musical talent and controversy surrounding the fame that has consumed his life for 20 years, back in '87, no album was as good as this. Even Michael's "Bad" album, which was released the same year, couldn't really top the magic of this album. From start to end, you feel like you're going inside a book reading a story for 50-some minutes. I can't really go into song into song analysis but I will say that ALL of the songs are great and proves how diverse duke was and still is, going from pop to rockabilly to blues to jazz to soul and finally to funk. If you want to buy one of the most essential albums of not only the '80s but of all time, buy this album! George didn't have to release another album as long as he lived, he did his thing right with this album. No wonder it was as successful as it was. Props to one of the baddest blue-eyed soul singers of all time in George!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic George..., Feb. 21 2004
By 
R. Hedges "cisco_3640" (Fremont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Very nice album-very broad range of music, reminds me a little of OLDER, which is one of his better albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY SONG IS GREAT, Dec 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
This CD, in my opinion, represents George Michael at his best. Every song is worth listening, and the BEST song by far is "Hard Day". There is just something about that song, with its alterior motives or something I don't know but I can listen to it over and over to this day. In fact, I first got this album way back in 1988. He is not only a great artist, but an extremely talented songwriter and musician. These songs may be more than a decade old, but they still sound good-even better that what is being produced today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, you've gotta have Faith, Sept. 22 2003
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Following the dissolution of Wham!, there was no doubt that its lead singer, George Michael was going to be a solo star, what with "A Different Corner". Sure enough, six singles from this album hit the Top Five, with four #1s, garnering him a Best Album Grammy. It also showed a maturation point for Michael, where adult contemporary radio could play his songs instead of teeny-bopper fare from Wham!
"Faith" became George Michael's first #1 hit, and after its inauspicious church organ beginning to add to the theme title, jumps into a racing skiffle rhythm. Deon Estus, Wham!'s bassist, lends strong support here and other songs. I heard Limp Bucket's rendition and rolled my eyes; they ruined a great song.
"Father Figure" is an effective R&B ballad with gospel-tinged chorus sung by George Michael and Shirley Lewis. Another #1 hit for him.
"I Want Your Sex" got involved into quite a bit of controversy due to the title and the supposedly obscene lyrics. Originally on the Beverly Hills Cop 2 soundtrack, many radio stations here would NOT play this song, yet it peaked at #2 on the Hot Singles Chart. It's another case of "People, read the lyrics. Duh!" On one hand, yes, it's a case of the man begging for it, but another part dwells on the arguments he makes: "It's natural, it's chemical, it's logical, habitual" And a message here is aimed at PMRC types as well as the girl: "What's your definition of dirty, baby? What do you call pornography?" Part I of this song was the single with the thumping funky beat, while Part II-Brass In Love adds layers of piano and brass while maintaining the same melody.
"One More Time" is one of two great ballads. With keyboards giving an eerie atmosphere, say a more poppy "Whiter Shade Of Pale" but without the Bachian motif of the original. Michael really puts the most of his emotional self into this song than any here.
Two non-single songs here show Michael tackling social ills. "Hand To Mouth" soberly tells two stories of lives denied the American dream, someone who finally blows hit top and shoots out at people, the other a woman who has no one to turn to and becomes a prostitute. The criticism of Reaganite America is strong here: "I believe in the arms of America/I believe in the land of the free/But no one told me/that the gods believe in nothing/so with empty hands I pray."
The other, "Look At Your Hands", is on one hand a vengeful slap at a lost lover, but has fallen into an abusive marriage, domestic violence being a theme here.
By the time the anti-drug song "Monkey" came out, Faith had been on the charts for a full year, and the single went to #1. It has a pop-funk beat like "I Want Your Sex" and it's okay but I got the impression that Sony was leaning on Michael as a name. "Hey, it's by him, it'll sell well. Who cares which song it is?"
Now the piano cafe-jazz ballad "Kissing A Fool" is a different story. This was the last single released from this album, and . The recent Michael Buble rendition pales in comparison due to the soaring richness of George Michael's voice. Get the original, people. The sage wisdom of human nature is shown here: "People, you can never change the way they feel/Better let them do what they will/For they will, if you let them."
Part 3 of "I Want Your Sex", titled A Last Request, takes on a more devious tone, as the man waits for "that gin and tonic to go to your head" because in the end, "There's only so much a gentlemen can stand."
A landmark 80's pop album and considering George Michael's later troubles overshadowed his talent, a vital second step for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faith (1987), June 19 2003
This review is from: Faith (Audio CD)
Back then, I never really paid any attention to George Michael's music. It wasn't because I didn't like him or because he was gay. I had nothing against him and I still don't. When you're young, you don't tend to pay attention to a certain amount of music. Well, at the beginning of the summer, I heard One More Try and from then on, I became an instant fan of his. In fact, he has become a favorite of mine, right next to Madonna. This guy's got a voice of gold. You can't tell me that George doesn't have a great voice. He's got an amazing voice. This is an incredible debut album. He was a smash when he was with WHAM! With this album, he wanted to prove that he could do better as a solo act. And he proved himself right. He released six singles from this album. All six singles shot straight to #1.
FAITH
The first single from the album. It went to become a #1 hit for him. Although, it isn't one of my favorites, it's still an upbeat song. And yes, you gotta have faith. You gotta have faith, faith, faith.
FATHER FIGURE
The second single from the album. It was a another #1 hit. Great song. His vocals run real smooth on this one.
I WANT YOUR SEX (Parts 1 & 2)
Part 1 was the third single from the album. Some say that part 1 was a #2 hit, but apparently, those dead @$$'s are wrong. It was a #1 hit. Just so you know, this is not all one song. Part 1 ends at 4 minutes and 36 seconds. After that, part 2 starts. Part 2 ends at 9 minutes and 17 seconds. Both parts are awesome.
ONE MORE TRY
The fourth single from the album. Yet again, he scored himself another #1 hit. This is the one that turned me into a huge fan. I really get that feeling from it because it is a ballad that was composed correctly.
HARD DAY
I'm not sure if this was a single. It appears on his greatest hits, but I'm still not sure. But, anyhow, it's a great song.
HAND TO MOUTH
Great. Smooth.
LOOK AT YOUR HANDS
Very Funky.
MONKEY
The fifth single from the album. Another #1 hit. It's not one of my favorites.
KISSING A FOOL
Thie sixth and final single from the album. The last #1 hit from the album. This is one of my favorites and it's also my mother's favorite. This may be a jazz song, but it's too irresistible. The sound is very smooth. He sings it with passion and emotion. I own a little karaokee machine. Every chance I get, I always do this one. I sing pretty well, too.
HARD DAY (SHEP PETTIBONE REMIX)
Just as good as the original album version.
A LAST REQUEST (I WANT YOUR SEX pt. 3)
A great way to end the whole I-WANT-YOUR-SEX era. Very romantic for the ladies, if ya know what I mean.
If you buy this album, I can guarantee you that you'll be buying it again after you wear your first copy out. I definitely wore out the first copy I owned. Buy it and prepared to be amazed and impressed. Remember, you gotta have faith. Yes, you gotta have faith, faith, faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album to 1987, March 2 2011
This review is from: Faith (Coll Ed) (Rm) (Audio CD)
Oh wow vraie un grand album de george michael en 1987 , combien de fois que j'ai écouter ,le 3/4 des chanson écrit et produit par lui mème , la chanson que j'ai bien aimer :Hard Day (Remix de Shep Pettibone) - 6:29 ... se remix sa fais virer de toute les coter , mais ont le retrouve pas sur le nouveau pack deluxe de 2010 et d'autres chanson qui a étais oublier aussi sur l'abum comme : Faith" (dance remix radio edit) ' 4:54 et Now - 3:56 , mais c'est très bon de récouter a nouveau avec un disque suplémentaire et ses remix ,Merci George & merci a amazon.ca de nous donnez une place de choix de musique et des très bon prix !

Oh Wow , great album of george michael to 1987 ,with Hard Day (Remix de Shep Pettibone) - 6:29 ,this song forget on pack deluxe 2010 is not there .... i listen all time this album 'FAITH' , thanks george & amazon.ca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith
Faith by George Michael (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews