Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars tough & tender - beautifully honest...........
on equal par with "born in the usa" one of my fave springsteen albums.
this album shows a more pronounced romantic side, perhaps to appeal to his feminine fans???
or perhaps because he'd fallen in love?
anyway, "i ain't got you" a totally wicked song, with a great simplistic accoustic sound & poetic lyrics.
"tougher than...
Published on Dec 7 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All Dressed Up And Blue
I consider myself a Bruce Springsteen fan, but I've never been one to put him on a pedestal and worship him like some sort of deity. Having said that, although "Tunnel Of Love" is one of my least favorite Springsteen albums, it contains what may be my favorite Springsteen moment ever laid down on wax (or whatever it is CD's are made of): the twangy Duane...
Published on May 22 2001 by Clark Paull


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars tough & tender - beautifully honest..........., Dec 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
on equal par with "born in the usa" one of my fave springsteen albums.
this album shows a more pronounced romantic side, perhaps to appeal to his feminine fans???
or perhaps because he'd fallen in love?
anyway, "i ain't got you" a totally wicked song, with a great simplistic accoustic sound & poetic lyrics.
"tougher than the rest" (if you're tough enough for love...?) this is one of bruce's best ever songs, totally love it, typically romantic in his gritty edged way, but showing his sensitive soul,
"brilliant disguise" as with other tracks herein, it is a man being totally honest, admitting his failings, his fears & his demons - love him for this!
"tunnel of love" continues the theme, taking a chance on the bumpy (and often scary!) ride that is love........
"when you're alone, such a deeply sensitive song, very beautiful.
this whole album really just sounds like a man totally bearing his soul, being honest & humble. a lot of people could learn from this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Best of Bruce's Career, June 28 2004
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
Obviously the majority of the reviews posted here agree with me that this is one of Bruce's finest albums. However, it seems to be one of the more neglected collections in his catalog, even from Bruce himself who rarely plays any of these songs in concert. To me, it's his most cohesive and coherent collections- a concept album without the pretentions that often go along with such. Bruce captures all the aspects of love and relationships, and that's not always a pretty thing. There's the unrealistic idealization of "Ain't Got You", the giddy joy and optimism of "All That Heaven Will Allow", the swagger and cockieness of "Tougher Than the Rest" (a great country song from a non-country artist), the ambiguity of the title song, and the despair and self-doubt of "Brilliant Disguise" and "One Step Up" (Bruce's most beautiful song, rivaled only by "Racing in the Street"), and finally the acceptance and moving on of "When You're Alone". I hope that my marriage never "falls apart when out go the lights", but it's great comfort to know that there's someone who recognizes that love is a strange, tenuous concept and that romance and relationships can bring out both the best and worst times in our lives. That we have Bruce Springsteen putting these ideas into song is truly a gift to any music-lover...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce in reflective mood, June 7 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
I became a fan of Bruce's music because of his brilliance as a latter-day rock'n'roll singer, exemplified best on his classic album, Born in the USA. I was therefore somewhat doubtful when I learned that this album was very different with none of the hard rocking songs I'd come to expect from him (although some songs get close, notably Spare parts). Nevertheless, there is a lot to like about this album, which reflects the difficulties he was having in his personal life - he was heading for divorce - during the period he was creating this album. As usual, Bruce wrote all the songs by himself.
One of the more upbeat songs here (compared to the rest of the album) is All that heaven will allow, which was later covered by the Mavericks. This song exactly suited their style and I prefer their version although I also enjoy hearing Bruce sing it. Another song that I became familiar with via a cover is Tougher than the rest, a song of defiance in the face of adversity, which has been covered by Emmylou Harris.
The set open with Ain't got you, which Bruce starts singing unaccompanied, although the musicians join in eventually. Spare parts, a tragic tale about a woman who gets pregnant only for her man to desert her, has a driving rock beat to disguise the sadness. Bruce pays tribute to his father in Walk like a man. Most of the other songs are love stories, generally sad.
In its way, this is a great album, but Born in the USA remains my favorite of Bruce's, with The River second. If you are new to Bruce's music, this is not the best starting point - however, it is a fascinating album that shows a different side to him. No self-respecting fan of Bruce's music should overlook this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of the old, some new that will become great,, July 18 2003
By 
"billydylan" (Bountiful, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
My Rating - 5.4/5 (For great songs - One Step Up and Valentines Day)
"Tunnel of Love," in some ways, is a transition for Bruce. Some songs echo former songs, but with a slight twist. "Spare Parts" reminds me of songs on "Born in the U.S.A," but without the synthesizer, while "Cautious man" belongs more on "Nebraska." The album as a whole carries on the synthesizers from "Born in the U.S.A." but to a more heartbroken beat, as most of the album deals with the difficulties involved in love and relationships. Bruce will go on to develop this music style in "Streets of Philadelphia," "Secret Garden," and "Nothing Man." Be warned, you will develop a love/hate relationship with these songs. Bruce uses the synthesizers brilliantly in most of the songs, but in some cases the fake music ruins the song.
Highlights -
"Spare Parts" - A great song reminiscent of former Springsteen music, with a new look.
"One step up" - A great song about a relationship on the rocks with someone you really love. The song is good for foot tapping, shaking your head, closing your eyes, staring out over a lake, or walking and thinking.
"Valentines Day" - Overall great song.
"Walk like a man" - A song that will probably strike a chord in every man.
"Two Faces" - See below.
Negatives -
"Tunnel of Love" - Really a good song but the heavy synthesizers in the beginning ruin it.
"Two Faces" - Also a good son featuring a brilliant solo guitar beggining ruined by solo synthesizer ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You've got to learn to live with what you can't rise above, July 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
This is an album you never get tired of! I certainly never have. Some of my favorite Bruce songs are on this record, such as Tougher Than the Rest, Tunnel of Love, One Step Up, and Valentine's Day. Try to push all your misconceptions of the "Boss" aside -- that "Born in the USA" bandana-wearing rocker -- and discover the sheer beauty of these songs and what he is trying to convey. I love how Bruce can combine deep, sometimes cynical, introspective lyrics with upbeat melodies like on the title track(another example, Dancing in the Dark), or just blow the listener away with the sparse but intense and sorrowful arrangement on "Cautious Man". There's also the more Bruce-sounding rocker, Spare Parts, the only almost unsentimental track on the album. These songs are just too much. They remind you that everyone has had emotional scars and troubled love, and self-doubts about themselves. Bruce's voice may not have the edge, the raw power, of Born to Run or Darkness on the Edge of Town, but Tunnel of Love gives us the opportunity to hear a soft, bruised-sounding voice full of longing and hope, and to hear this amazing musician at his songwriting best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good album, Oct. 18 2002
By 
Bill R. Moore (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
As he did when he released the stark, minimalist Nebraska on the heels of his commercial breakthrough, The River, Bruce Springsteen followed the phenomenonally successful Born In The U.S.A. with the laid-back, lyrically-anguished Tunnel of Love. Although it is not as bare and stark as Nebraska was - featuring contributions from members of the E Street Band, though not in true band arrangements - it is, nevertheless, a distinct and ultimately rewarding, if unexpected, surprise. It surprised me, who recently discovered it - no doubt it surprised those who bought up Born In The U.S.A. by the truckload. Springsteen is unquestionably one of rock's finest lyricists, though I would not call him a poet - not even in the sense that other singer/songwriters (Dylan, Cohen, Waits) are - he is, as many have pointed out, more akin to a novelist: since he writes most of his songs in the form of narratives, one can use a phrase that has been applied to Nick Cave's songs to describe his as well: musical novellas. His lyrics on this album deal specifically and totally with romantic disillusionment, and they are as penetrating as one would expect. From the opening teaser, Ain't Got you (which seems to be Bruce's attempt at an Elvis song); to sorrowful but rewarding tracks such as Spare Parts, Cautious Man, and Walk Like A Man; to Brilliant Disguise, an absolute masterpiece of a track and one of his best songs ever - this is, if not Bruce Springsteen's best album, certainly a mighty fine one. Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce is reeling on this one, and actually lets you in....., Sept. 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
The album is a story and builds within itself...from the 2nd song "Tougher than the rest" with it's marlon brando stance; to "Walk like a man" an intimate look at how Bruce admires his father whom he fought with; then comes "Tunnel of Love" which is quite haunting but moves really well, it's the climax of the story where Bruce is saying 'one of us is going down on this dangerous ride'; next comes "Brilliant Disguise" where Bruce is on to her, but holding on for the kill; and personally, my highlight of the album is "One step up" which is so honest and so painful that it's hard to forget or stop listening to (Eddie Vedder did a good cover of this song); the last two songs are slow movers but really give closure to the album, the listener, and probably Bruce himself, going, "Baby, when you're alone, you ain't nothin' but alone..." and on "Lonely Valentine", you really feel like you're riding along the highway on a cool, late night, letting the wind and lanes pass quietly by while thinking of the one person you had to let go...thanks, Bruce, for at least one time, letting us into your life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is underrated by the mainstream., July 15 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
Although not reflected by the "lovefest" evident in these reviews, this album gets cast aside in discussions of Springsteen's "best" because it is supposedly "cold" or "emotionless". Nebraska gets a "bye" from some critics, some no doubt are the same folks who don't care for this record because Nebraska, clearly, is not autobiographical while this record clearly IS about Springsteen and the emotions he was going through at the time it was released.
"Spare Parts" and "Tunnel of Love" are a couple of my all time favorite songs. The lyrics cannot be ignored. Sure, there is a ton of cynicism in them but they accurately portray the emotions that most of us go through at various junctures of our lives. The difference is that few of us can hope to put the emotions into words, much less to music. I don't think it is that many cannot relate to the songs it is that they'd rather not, the uncomfortableness hits a little close to home.
The beauty of a Springsteen is that he can put into words and music the complex emotions of everyday life, emotions that don't fit into the "feel good" box that most artists live in. I'd put Bruce's stuff in this album up against Joni Mitchell, Rickie Lee Jones, John Prine and others who don't fit into the "one size fits all" box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Different From Previous Efforts, Feb. 24 2002
By 
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
Before Bruce Springsteen's 1987 triumph "Tunnel Of Love," virtually all of his previous material had flawlessly depicted true American life, its struggles (1984's "Born in the USA"), its slums and madness (1982's underappreciated "Nebraska"), and genius studies of its characters (especially 1978's "Darkness on the Edge of Town", along with pretty much of all the Boss's material).
But after the phenomenal success of "USA," Springsteen decided to give the portraits of American life and people a breif rest. To quote the Boss himself, "After '85, I'd had enough. I turned inward to write about men, women, and love, things that had previously been on the periphery of my work."
The result was "Tunnel of Love," ironically titled and themed, at least when compared to its lyrics--and to those of anything Springsteen had previously done. Though the album's prime theme is love and relationships, etcetera, "Tunnel of Love" does quite an impressive job as not sounding cliched and standard, as in "I love you baby, ooh, ooh..."
Pleasantly different from his previous gems; The irony and flawless truth of "Tunnel of Love" blend in perfectly with its concept. Every cut on the album is a highlight, whether in the entire song itself ('Brilliant Disguise,' 'All That Heaven Will Allow,' 'Spare Parts'), or one spectacular moment of the track 'Walk Like a Man, 'Valentine's Day').
Personally, I am no fan of "mushy" songs...but "Tunnel of Love" is a definite exception, because of its truth and poetic simplicity. If "Tunnel of Love" can impress a fan of non-lovey dovey music such as myself, it can surely captivate fans drawn to Bruce's more sensitive aspects of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, Sept. 18 2001
By 
Joe Lee (Brandon, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
This album is packed with great songs. "One Step Up" is one of my very favorite Springsteen tunes--musically spare but powerful, with brilliant brooding lyrics about a marriage going sour and a man on the cusp of infidelity. The title track is nearly as great, and the hit "Brilliant Disguise" strikes the same reasonant chord. All three of these songs were substantial hits, and they truly left the rest of Top 40 radio in the dust in 1987.
The hits are surrounded by choice album cuts, of course--"Spare Parts" rocks with fury recalling the "Darkness On The Edge of Town" album, and "I Got You" is acoustic firepower. "Tougher Than The Rest," with its countryish sound, is another winner--nobody is better than the Boss than carving out character sketches of has-beens, hangers-on and hopefuls.
While this is better than the rating would imply, I just can't quite give it five stars. Ultimately, I think it's because the musical backing of the E Street Band is missing. Again, these are brilliant songs, played to perfection with every ounce of the usual Springsteen emotional commitment. But the overall impact--while quite a wallop in its own right--doesn't quite reach previous releases. Highly recommended, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tunnel Of Love
Tunnel Of Love by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews