Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Paid a King's Ransom to do What Comes Naturally, October 24, 2007
In my review of MAGIC, Springsteen's new 2007 album, I confessed that I never listened to TUNNEL OF LOVE. Not because thought it wasn't worth my time, but simply because I had never gotten around to it. Given how much I like BORN IN THE USA, and a lot of Springsteen's catalogue, I figured this would be a pretty logical album to begin exploring, especially after I was...
Published 19 months ago by Mike London

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All Dressed Up And Blue
I consider myself a Bruce Springsteen fan, but I've never been one to put him on a pedestal and worship him like some sort of deity. Having said that, although "Tunnel Of Love" is one of my least favorite Springsteen albums, it contains what may be my favorite Springsteen moment ever laid down on wax (or whatever it is CD's are made of): the twangy Duane...
Published on May 22 2001 by Clark Paull


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Paid a King's Ransom to do What Comes Naturally, October 24, 2007, Sept. 1 2012
By 
Mike London "MAC" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
In my review of MAGIC, Springsteen's new 2007 album, I confessed that I never listened to TUNNEL OF LOVE. Not because thought it wasn't worth my time, but simply because I had never gotten around to it. Given how much I like BORN IN THE USA, and a lot of Springsteen's catalogue, I figured this would be a pretty logical album to begin exploring, especially after I was taken to task by a one of the commenters on my MAGIC review.

Since I wrote that review, I've taken the time to listen to TUNNEL OF LOVE. Truthfully, I've been listening to it a lot. I'm still coming to terms with the album, but I do find the record rather invigorating, and rather fun to listen too, fun like a BLOOD ON THE TRACKS kind of way.

When Springsteen had a big commercial success with the double LP THE RIVER in 1980, he followed that album up with NEBRASKA, a stark, acoustic affair of demo recordings. Depressing stuff. Nothing anthemic at all, not what arena rockers are looking for. Good record though.

Then when he did BORN IN THE USA in 1984, which has a bright, poppy sound, though still rather dark lyrically, Springsteen was catapulted to the upper echelon or rock and roll immortality. While you could argue he did that almost a decade previous with BORN TO RUN critically, without a doubt BORN IN THE USA is what really broke him into the national music scene and made him one of the biggest rock stars of the early 1980s, USA being on level with THRILLER by Michael Jackson and 1984 by Van Halen. Of course when you have a big album like USA, there's always the question of the follow up.

Fortunately, he did not make another NEBRASKA, which would then be almost formulaic (big commercial success, THE RIVER, acoustic and dark, NEBRASKA, big commercial success, BORN IN THE USA, stark acoustic affair, repeat ad nausem. You get the idea). So how do you follow up a commercial juggernaut like BORN IN THE USA?

By turning in almost a "concept album" about love, marriage, the ups and downs of commitment and how the sexes relate to one another. While I hesitate to use the term "concept album", which has as many negative connotations as it does positive, there is a certain amount of truth in the term. While Springsteen has always been focused lyrically on blue-collar America and all the harsh realities that often entails, with TUNNEL he's in a much different mind-set than he was, say, in DARKNESS ON THE EDGE OF TOWN or BORN TO RUN. Here, he's writing about love, but it's just as often not all it's cracked up to be.

Lyrically, Bruce is focused on romantic relationships, and quite a few of them are not in a happy state. His marriage with model Julianne Phillips was in the midst of failure, and it was during this domestic situation he wrote the songs on TUNNEL OF LOVE. A lot of the songs are deeply conflicted, full of pain, and you can tell Springsteen is just struggling to keep the ship on an even keel in regards to his home life. He also writes a song "Walks like a man", yet another song about his relationship with his father.

The opening song, "Ain't Got You", an upbeat, fast tempo song, has Springsteen lamenting that for all his success he still doesn't have a true love. One of my favorite Springsteen lyrics (and the title of this review) come from this song: "Getting paid a king's ransom to do what comes naturally." Like most famous entertainers who have become legends in their prospective fields, this couldn't be more true. Look at Dylan, McCartney, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Eddie Vedder, Pete Townshend, Jimmy Page, any number of high profile rock and roll stars.

While TUNNEL has a lot to do with his homelife, don't go into the album expecting something similar to Bob Dylan's masterpiece BLOOD ON THE TRACKS, because the albums have surprising little in common. For one, BLOOD, written and recorded a full 13 years earlier, has a much starker sound. Dylan wrote BLOOD while his marriage was literally falling apart, and you can feel Dylan's anger and pain dripping off each note played. The music is intimate and personal (save for "Idiot Wind", where Dylan's more pissed off than hurt, at both his soon-to-be ex-wife Sara and himself, and a particular favorite of mine "Lily, Rosemary, and the Jack of Hearts", a short story set in the old west), and set the template for a lot of singer-songwriters. If you're looking for something similar to BLOOD, listen to Dylan's own TIME OUT OF MIND, which is BLOOD's principal narrators aged twenty three years, or Beck's 2002 album SEA CHANGE, a great breakup album.

TUNNEL, on the other hand, sounds like a natural sequel to BORN IN THE USA, musically at least. The music sounds very much like a mainstream rock album would in the 1980s. You could argue TUNNEL even sounds rather dated, though I do not mean that in the negative context that term often implies. The music is bright and poppy, even though it is still one of Springsteen's most introspective records lyrically. Sure, there are a couple of moments where the music sounds low-key and intimate, but overall, despite all its lyrical explorations, Springsteen has always been first and foremost a rock musician, and he dresses his lyrics in strongly arranged settings.

Not surprisingly, the album met with strong sales, and had some high selling singles. Again, not so surprising, the album did not meet the success of USA, which still remains Springsteen's commercial, if not necessarily his critical, xenith. Still, you can't help but think a lot of TUNNEL's success was from career momentum as much as anything else.

So where does TUNNEL stand in regards to the rest of his discography? Pretty high up. Those who like USA will really like this, as well as MAGIC. For my money, these albums form a rather loose trilogy, bound together musically, though not necessarily lyrically. These three albums sound more of a piece, music in a similar vein, than any of Springsteen's other albums, much like NEBRASKA, GHOST OF TOM JOAD, and DEVILS & DUST feels like its own trilogy. Springsteen even ends TUNNEL in the same way as he does USA - a mid-tempo, rather depressing song that sounds pretty similar to "My Home Town", the last song on USA.

Overall, TUNNEL OF LOVE is the connector between USA and MAGIC. Springsteen has some great songs here, pretty introspective stuff. Like USA the music itself is feel-good, anthemic rock and roll, even though the lyrics have an unusual amount of pain in them, given the music that accompanies them.

Tunnel of Love chart positions:
Album Sales: US #1; UK #1

Single Sales:
"Brilliant Disguise": #1
"Tunnel of Love": #1
"One Step Up": #2
"All That Heaven Will Allow": #5
"Tougher Than the Rest": #13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tough & tender - beautifully honest..........., Dec 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
on equal par with "born in the usa" one of my fave springsteen albums.
this album shows a more pronounced romantic side, perhaps to appeal to his feminine fans???
or perhaps because he'd fallen in love?
anyway, "i ain't got you" a totally wicked song, with a great simplistic accoustic sound & poetic lyrics.
"tougher than the rest" (if you're tough enough for love...?) this is one of bruce's best ever songs, totally love it, typically romantic in his gritty edged way, but showing his sensitive soul,
"brilliant disguise" as with other tracks herein, it is a man being totally honest, admitting his failings, his fears & his demons - love him for this!
"tunnel of love" continues the theme, taking a chance on the bumpy (and often scary!) ride that is love........
"when you're alone, such a deeply sensitive song, very beautiful.
this whole album really just sounds like a man totally bearing his soul, being honest & humble. a lot of people could learn from this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Best of Bruce's Career, June 28 2004
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
Obviously the majority of the reviews posted here agree with me that this is one of Bruce's finest albums. However, it seems to be one of the more neglected collections in his catalog, even from Bruce himself who rarely plays any of these songs in concert. To me, it's his most cohesive and coherent collections- a concept album without the pretentions that often go along with such. Bruce captures all the aspects of love and relationships, and that's not always a pretty thing. There's the unrealistic idealization of "Ain't Got You", the giddy joy and optimism of "All That Heaven Will Allow", the swagger and cockieness of "Tougher Than the Rest" (a great country song from a non-country artist), the ambiguity of the title song, and the despair and self-doubt of "Brilliant Disguise" and "One Step Up" (Bruce's most beautiful song, rivaled only by "Racing in the Street"), and finally the acceptance and moving on of "When You're Alone". I hope that my marriage never "falls apart when out go the lights", but it's great comfort to know that there's someone who recognizes that love is a strange, tenuous concept and that romance and relationships can bring out both the best and worst times in our lives. That we have Bruce Springsteen putting these ideas into song is truly a gift to any music-lover...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce in reflective mood, June 7 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
I became a fan of Bruce's music because of his brilliance as a latter-day rock'n'roll singer, exemplified best on his classic album, Born in the USA. I was therefore somewhat doubtful when I learned that this album was very different with none of the hard rocking songs I'd come to expect from him (although some songs get close, notably Spare parts). Nevertheless, there is a lot to like about this album, which reflects the difficulties he was having in his personal life - he was heading for divorce - during the period he was creating this album. As usual, Bruce wrote all the songs by himself.
One of the more upbeat songs here (compared to the rest of the album) is All that heaven will allow, which was later covered by the Mavericks. This song exactly suited their style and I prefer their version although I also enjoy hearing Bruce sing it. Another song that I became familiar with via a cover is Tougher than the rest, a song of defiance in the face of adversity, which has been covered by Emmylou Harris.
The set open with Ain't got you, which Bruce starts singing unaccompanied, although the musicians join in eventually. Spare parts, a tragic tale about a woman who gets pregnant only for her man to desert her, has a driving rock beat to disguise the sadness. Bruce pays tribute to his father in Walk like a man. Most of the other songs are love stories, generally sad.
In its way, this is a great album, but Born in the USA remains my favorite of Bruce's, with The River second. If you are new to Bruce's music, this is not the best starting point - however, it is a fascinating album that shows a different side to him. No self-respecting fan of Bruce's music should overlook this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Springsteen's Best, Dec 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
A beautiful record that will stay with you for years to come. So much more than just Brilliant Disguise. One of the rare cds where each song is as strong as the next. So many great songs, stories, music in one record. I highly reccomend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A soft side of Bruce, Aug. 30 2003
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
This 1987 release of TUNNEL OF LOVE is more adult contemporary than hard rock unlike his predecessors. Only BRILLIANT DISGUISE was recycled for the GREATEST HITS compilation nearly eight years later. The E Street Band is seldom heard on this album. His not-yet second wife Patti Scialfa provides background vocals on many songs. Most of this album was recorded in the studio of Bruce's New Jersey home. At the time of recording,he was married to actress Julianne Phillips. Other hits from this album include the title track and ONE STEP UP. After this album,Bruce would take a five-year studio break to marry Scialfa and start and raise a family with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of the old, some new that will become great,, July 18 2003
By 
"billydylan" (Bountiful, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
My Rating - 5.4/5 (For great songs - One Step Up and Valentines Day)
"Tunnel of Love," in some ways, is a transition for Bruce. Some songs echo former songs, but with a slight twist. "Spare Parts" reminds me of songs on "Born in the U.S.A," but without the synthesizer, while "Cautious man" belongs more on "Nebraska." The album as a whole carries on the synthesizers from "Born in the U.S.A." but to a more heartbroken beat, as most of the album deals with the difficulties involved in love and relationships. Bruce will go on to develop this music style in "Streets of Philadelphia," "Secret Garden," and "Nothing Man." Be warned, you will develop a love/hate relationship with these songs. Bruce uses the synthesizers brilliantly in most of the songs, but in some cases the fake music ruins the song.
Highlights -
"Spare Parts" - A great song reminiscent of former Springsteen music, with a new look.
"One step up" - A great song about a relationship on the rocks with someone you really love. The song is good for foot tapping, shaking your head, closing your eyes, staring out over a lake, or walking and thinking.
"Valentines Day" - Overall great song.
"Walk like a man" - A song that will probably strike a chord in every man.
"Two Faces" - See below.
Negatives -
"Tunnel of Love" - Really a good song but the heavy synthesizers in the beginning ruin it.
"Two Faces" - Also a good son featuring a brilliant solo guitar beggining ruined by solo synthesizer ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You've got to learn to live with what you can't rise above, July 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
This is an album you never get tired of! I certainly never have. Some of my favorite Bruce songs are on this record, such as Tougher Than the Rest, Tunnel of Love, One Step Up, and Valentine's Day. Try to push all your misconceptions of the "Boss" aside -- that "Born in the USA" bandana-wearing rocker -- and discover the sheer beauty of these songs and what he is trying to convey. I love how Bruce can combine deep, sometimes cynical, introspective lyrics with upbeat melodies like on the title track(another example, Dancing in the Dark), or just blow the listener away with the sparse but intense and sorrowful arrangement on "Cautious Man". There's also the more Bruce-sounding rocker, Spare Parts, the only almost unsentimental track on the album. These songs are just too much. They remind you that everyone has had emotional scars and troubled love, and self-doubts about themselves. Bruce's voice may not have the edge, the raw power, of Born to Run or Darkness on the Edge of Town, but Tunnel of Love gives us the opportunity to hear a soft, bruised-sounding voice full of longing and hope, and to hear this amazing musician at his songwriting best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Springsteen album for grownups, Dec 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
One of the most revealing things I remember reading once about Bruce Springsteen is that he's been in therapy for years. I always connect this with this album, which is brilliant. There's a lot of conflict in this record, a lot of tension, a lot of human suffering. It's the rarest possible kind of rock album -- music made by a rock star who actually matured. It's absolutely beautiful -- "Tunnel of Love" is actually heartbreaking and "One Step Up" is a lovely waltz. But throughout it all, there's an awareness of mortality, of failure, of pain, of the fact that even though you're "Bruce Springsteen", whoever that is, you are confused, lost and hurting. This is a really, really good record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tougher Than The Rest, Dec 19 2002
By 
Sean King (Hartford, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tunnel Of Love (Audio CD)
While I am not a major Bruce Sprinsteen fan, I have to say that his "Tunnel Of Love" album struck some chords in my own heart, and in my own life. Springsteen is not afraid to let us into his personal life, and share with us those emotions that are both painful and lonely, yet true to life. Kudos to you Bruce for your bravery. People seem to enjoy various tracks on this album, and its not hard to understand why. If you own a copy of this album, then you have no regrets. If you don't own a copy then you have no excuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5daead4)

This product

Tunnel Of Love
Tunnel Of Love by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews