Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars If your a Floyd fan, no need to read beyond this point, go and purchase this album
Roger Waters solo music, just like David Gilmour's music goes right into my Pink Floyd collection. Relating to Pink Floyd, solos and tributes, as a Floyd fan we have no choice but to obtain all related music. This research becomes a fun hobby and I am finding new songs that I have never heard. To give you another direction, currently I have discovered a past Band called...
Published 6 months ago by John Kelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Amused
" Man is a hunter. To legislate against his instinct is folly." -R. Waters
The instinct of man in his need to perform as a predatory animal can be viewed well beyond that of hunting for the sake of food. The desire to have more, to take more, and to kill for more can also be viewed from this same precipice. So if legislating against Man's instinct is folly, then...
Published on Nov. 30 2002 by Eugenius Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but a little too much talking compared to singing., July 4 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums by Roger Waters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your a Floyd fan, no need to read beyond this point, go and purchase this album, Jan. 16 2014
By 
John Kelly (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
Roger Waters solo music, just like David Gilmour's music goes right into my Pink Floyd collection. Relating to Pink Floyd, solos and tributes, as a Floyd fan we have no choice but to obtain all related music. This research becomes a fun hobby and I am finding new songs that I have never heard. To give you another direction, currently I have discovered a past Band called "The Tee Set" and this was found because of Syd Barrett belonging to this Band. I mention this only to offer some help as I can't tell you much more about this album "Amused To Death". I do enjoy this album and it's a must have. Absolutely 5 stars here. Thank you for taking a moment to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waters' finest hour as a solo artist, June 21 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
Former Pink Floyd bassist/vocalist/mastermind Roger Waters released his third post-Pink Floyd solo effort Amused to Death in September of 1992. Amused to Death was over five years in the making due to his battle with his ex-bandmates on the rights to the Pink Floyd name. When Amused hit record stores, it was modestly received peaking at #21 on the US album chart and had a huge rock radio hit with What God Wants Part 1. Roger's third solo album's sound was a return to the sound of his estranged former band, Pink Floyd unlike his two 80s works Pros and Cons or Radio K.A.O.S.. There are plenty of moments here (the aforementioned What God Wants(pt.1), the opening Ballad of Bill Hubbard, Three Wishes) that recall the sound of later Floyd works like Animals, The Wall and The Final Cut. Like those works, this is a concept album--the concept (as ever with Waters) being the crappy nature of modern life as depicted on television with the Gulf War and the Tijanamen Square incidents as examples and also the rise of a corporate world. His satire is blunt as usual and the targets of his scorn are obvious. Eagle drummer/vocalist Don Henley duets on Watching TV(which was about the Tijanamen Square incident and the collaboration of Henley and Waters triggered a friendship between the two which is still strong today). Legendary rock guitar legend Jeff Beck(like Clapton on Pros and Cons was a Yardbird) contributed taut, lyrical solos to a number of tracks(Bill Hubbard, What God Wants(pts. 1 and 3), Watching TV, Three Wishes, It's a Miracle and the closing optimistic title cut). The late conductor Michael Kamen contributed some stirring orchestrations on this album as well. Waters' voice was mainly reduced to a weary whisper, positively dripping with contempt due to the strain his vocal cords suffered from all the screaming on The Wall, The Final Cut and Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking. This album is a classic and a welcome return for Roger Waters. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a while, then takes over, Oct. 29 2004
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
I hated this album when I first listened to it.
I bought it with Waters' other two albums, The Pros And Cons Of Hitch Hiking and Radio K.A.O.S. and thoroughly enjoyed each of them separately just before I went to bed across two nights. I listened to them in order, which got me ATD last. Well, I didn't really like any song on the album with the exception of The Bravery Of Being Out Of Range. I thought it was boring, and confusing, and really droll.
Guess what? Amused To Death is now my favourite album.
I have every single recording Pink Floyd ever put out, and this tops them all, including the five-star stretch between The Dark Side Of The Moon and The Final Cut. It grew on me slowly as I listened to it over and over, 'giving it a chance' as all the reviewers on this site who liked it tell you to do. And it was SO worth it. Ever have a song that resonates with you musically and lyrically so much that when you sing along to it you can't help but grin and you get that feeling that you can't even sing anymore? Most of this album ends up doing that to you. It's not just that Waters' lyrics are among the best ever written, although they are; the music is actually excellent too. The album's weak point is right where it should be, in the middle, with three 'meh' songs that aren't too bad either. The other ELEVEN tracks are PERFECT. I mean, they're SPOTLESS.
1. The Ballad of Bill Hubbard - very moody, Floydish atmospheric music is the background to a World War veteran's tragic story. Sets the mood perfectly.
2. What God Wants Part One - Catchy to a fault, and so easy to sing along with, this is Roger's newest anthem and is every bit as good as Another Brick In The Wall. Ironic lyrics about how 'God' is used as an excuse by...well, everyone.
3,4. Perfect Sense Parts One and Two - The lyrics of the first part take a bit of decoding, but you'll get it eventually. And the second part will ring in your head for months. A sarcastic and ironic man explaining what he finally understands - the media's message and its connection to televised war.
5. The Bravery Of Being Out Of Range - ROCKS. Pounding drums and roaring guitars and Roger's angry voice make this the one truly full-fledged rock tune on the album. Nothing has ever been more fun to sing along with than "Does the recoil remind you...remind you of SEX old man what the hell you gonna kill next?"
6,7. Late Home Tonight Parts One and Two - Okay, this is the slow part. Lyrically heavy, musically light, a little on the boring side. The segue between them is great. The songs are likeable but don't compare to the rest.
8. Too Much Rope - Not bad either, but easily the worst track on the album. This is the right spot for the bad songs, though - after the perfect intro and before the roaring crescendo at the end. Bob Ezrin gets picked on.
9. What Gods Wants Part Two - A reprise of the first track, with every bit of the angry irony. Excellent track. The chanting televangelist at the beginning is eerie.
10. What God Wants Part Three - Could be the best song on the album. The ending gives the sense of everything coming to a frantic head and spinning out of control. Brilliant.
11. Watching TV - A good song, a nice acoustic bit with Eagle Don Henley co-singing the words. The verse about China is irritating but the song itself is good. The ENDING is great, as it sums up the point and startles you.
12. Three Wishes - The chorus is what makes this song. The verses are good but the chorus makes me sing along every time.
13. It's A Miracle - A miracle of a downer. This is the most sarcastic song around, calling the accomplishments of mankind a 'miracle' when they just exported Western culture everywhere else. End verse is hilarious.
14. Amused To Death - Well worth the wait. This song is perfect - it starts off with a whimsical lament that suddenly turns into a roaring foretelling of the end of the human race, 'grouped 'round the TV sets'. The sheer RHYTHM of the segue between the song's two parts is catchy as hell. "And the childen on Mount Rose strut their stuff/Is absolute zero, cold enough." And Roger's final screamed lyric says it all.
This album is an example of what happens when one man with a vision is allowed to explore it without anyone else's wishes getting in the way. Far superior to the Floydian offering two years later, The Division Bell, Amused To Death is Waters at his best, and the whole damn thing deserves a place in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
I LOVE THIS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, June 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
Contrary to what many say, Roger Waters' solo albums are excellent. Check out this dense, intelligent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger's best solo album without question, June 12 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
Former Pink Floyd mastermind Roger Waters released his third post-Pink Floyd solo effort Amused to Death in September of 1992. Amused to Death was over five years in the making due to his battle with his ex-bandmates on the rights to the Pink Floyd name. When Amused hit record stores, it was modest received peaking at #21 and had a huge rock radio hit with What God Wants Part 1. Roger's third solo album's sound was a return to the sound of his estranged former band, Pink Floyd unlike his 80s works like Pros and Cons or Radio K.A.O.S. There are plenty of moments here (the aforementioned What God Wants(pt.1), the opening Ballad of Bill Hubbard, Three Wishes) that recall the sound of later Floyd works like Animals, The Wall and The Final Cut. Like those works, this is a concept album--the concept (as ever with Waters) being the crappy nature of modern life as depicted on television with the Gulf War and the Tijanamen Square incidents as examples and also the rise of a corporate world. His satire is blunt as usual and the targets of his scorn are obvious. Eagle drummer/vocalist Don Henley duets on Watching TV(which was about the Tijanamen Square incident and the collaboration of Henley and Waters triggered a friendship between the two which is still strong today). Legendary rock guitar legend Jeff Beck(like Clapton on Pros and Cons was a Yardbird) contributed taut, lyrical solos to a number of tracks(Bill Hubbard, What God Wants(pts. 1 and 3), Watching TV, Three Wishes, It's a Miracle and the closing optimistic title cut. The late Michael Kamen contributed some stirring orchestrations on this album as well. Waters' voice was mainly reduced to a weary whisper, positively dripping with contempt due to the strain his vocal cords suffered from all the screaming on The Wall, The Final Cut and Pros and Cons. This album is a classic and a welcome return for Roger Waters. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waters' tired soul, June 9 2004
By 
Reza (Iranian ( in Malaysia 4 study)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
when a man is tired , you can touch the feeling in a way:::listen to his voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REVOLUTIONARY WATERS, May 21 2004
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
This great recording reflects an essential fact about Roger Waters that I have found no allusions to in either the pro or con reviews here. Without some appreciation of this fact, I believe there can be no real understanding of AMUSED TO DEATH, so I would like to focus on it instead of the music itself which I love ( Waters' ability in extended composition continues to grow and Jeff Beck is fabulous).
Let me begin by noting that one of the central criticisms aimed by Waters on ATD at the various interconnected power structures of the world is the refusal to acknowledge and apply the facts-lessons that history abundantly offers us and to proceed instead to construct civilization as though history were irrelevant and thereby become more and more destructively blind to reality. Well, I would like to apply this observation here and look at a defining fact of Water's own personal history that I believe many Pink Floyd fans, particularly the ones who condemn Waters for separating himself from the other band members, either deliberately ignore for selfish reasons or are simply ignorant of: Roger Waters is one of the original, genuinely revolutionary music-artists to emerge in the 60's. For him, Rock music was not merely a different kind of music with no particular implications beyond the area of music itself, it was in fact inseparable from the desire for and intention to pursue a social-system revolution. All the anger, pain, sadness and bitter, inflexible defiance that Waters exudes on ATD was there, at least in seed form, from the beginning. There is not a single power structure or human behavior aimed at on ATD that Waters was not aiming at from his revolutionary artistic youth. His primary desire was not to be a Rock Star, but to contribute to the revolution which, I repeat, was not merely artistic, but aimed at the whole of society including the educational, political, military and economic systems. A REVOLUTION, CHILDREN! And of course now it is so easy for so many (including Pink Floyd fans) to laugh at the 60's and it's silly flower fantasies, and it's quite true that there were many self-centered phonies on the scene such as are lampooned in Frank Zappa's great WE'RE ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY, but the facts go deeper and darker than just that, as Zappa, another original revolutionary, well knew. They reach down into very murky places where capitalist economics mingles with fascistic control and Rock Stars have their bluff called. Roger Waters watched and saw that the more popular and wealthy Pink Floyd became, the more ineffectual it became as a revolutionary force. The capitalist economic system with all its ramifications into education, religion, politics, military, etc., was something that Waters wanted dismantled and yet the more people listened to him the more he found himself in the control of that system. He had wanted to be a revolutionary and he had become a mere Rock Star. Instead of being able to help people find and live out a different definition of human life, he merely provided fans with a sort of music-drug to help them cope with life in the hated system. Waters saw most 'revolutionary' Rock Stars grow rich, tame, emasculated and accept the identity of a successful entertainer. This problem is at the core of Waters' fight with the other members of Pink Floyd, however well or poorly it may have been dealt with. This continues to be the central struggle for Waters who has watched the original revolutionary movement crushed down over decades into near non-existence. So, I ask you who say Waters should have kept the original band together: To what end? So you can have the sort of music-dope you want that will help you ignore the very issues that the music is supposed to be about? Or is there some other reason? When you listen to AMUSED TO DEATH ask yourself what the purpose of Rock music is. Waters thinks its purpose is revolution.
What do you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a welcome addition for any Floyd fan, March 11 2004
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
I have to be honest, sometimes Roger Waters' lyrics just are annoying at times and can be used as tool to mock him. As he croaks " Old timer who you gonna kill next?" Some will believe he will if he would just shut up! It can be a hard time taking his views seriously
But that's the whole deal with Waters - you either love him or you hate him. There's nothing inbetween really. I must say I hated this album on first listen. Mocking his voice, some of his lyrics and so on. But given time my opinion has changed. It's nowhere near the greats that he produced with Pink Floyd but you should never expect him to do that.
What we get here from Waters is the essential mix of all that he hates about the modern world and TV is the main ingredient. This would be a boring exercise in tedium had it not had the one thing needed to boost this - humour! And there is a fair bit of it here but only if you consider Roger's particular sense of humour funny. It's particularly caustic and probably wouldn't seem very funny to some politically correct conscious people but what do you expect?
Highlighting songs is useless because they're to all gel as one really and not otherwise. Although towards the end the songs tend to drag on a little ( hence the 4 stars ) but overall this is a good album and possibly the only Roger Waters album you need if you aren't particularly bothered by the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A tough one to review, Feb. 18 2004
By 
Neil Fitzgerald "sdhkbsdalhthoclhnjkhowh" (asdhajklwehrjkhijhlks;ahng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amused To Death (Audio CD)
The disintegration of the collective Pink Floyd brain saw the Roger Waters 'frontal lobe' become permanently detached from the David Gilmour 'temporal lobe'. Subsequently, and predictably, one of them made weak music with inventive lyrics and thematic continuity, whereas the other made slick, technically accomplished music that didn't really mean very much.
Pros:
After the bitterly disappointing Pros&Cons and Radio KAOS, I'm pleased to say that this is *by far* the best of the three Waters solo albums. As the Amazon reviewer suggests, some of it sounds tantalizingly 'Floydian'. More importantly, it's well written and well produced to the point that it Actually Sounds Quite Good (miraculously enough). The three parts of What God Wants are perhaps the most impressive tracks here. Part 1 sort of 'clunks along' amiably, and serves to set the stage for when the same musical phrases return with greater tension and emotion in parts 2 and 3.
This is a huge piece of work - nearly as long as The Wall - and totally idiosyncratic. Roger has something to say, and it's clear that he's put his heart and soul into getting it across (in contrast to the distinct sense of 'half-assedness' that one gets with MLoR and The Division Bell).
Cons:
Why oh why did Roger decide to do most of his singing in an ugly, 'croaking', put-on American accent? Why oh why couldn't someone have talked him out of it? I actually kind of liked Roger's nasal, badly-in-tune vocals from his Floyd days, whereas this just sounds false and annoying.
It has to be said that, for all his various strong points, Roger can't and doesn't write complicated, technically sophisticated music. This didn't matter so much in the Floyd, where Gilmour and Wright were on hand to contribute their ideas and musicianship, but here, with no-one to help him, this central deficiency becomes all too evident. The music here is often compelling, but don't expect it to contain 'killer songs' like Comfortably Numb and Wish You Were Here (or even Learning to Fly).
Conclusion:
I guess I've just about summed up my mixture of feelings about Amused to Death. If you belong to the minority who found something to enjoy in Roger's earlier solo albums, then you'll absolutely love this. If you're just a random Floyd fan, then you'll probably still get something out of it - especially if what you like about Pink Floyd is partly the conceptual content and meaning of the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amused To Death
Amused To Death by Roger Waters (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews