Customer Reviews


459 Reviews
5 star:
 (394)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, real rap/metal
I have to say, listening to Linkin Park, P.O.D, etc, RATM is by far the best rap/metal band out there. Alot of rap/metal bands just talk about sex drugs and stuff cough*, cough*, Limp Bizket, cough*. But Rage is differnt they talk about right and wrong. Zack De la Rocha is one of the most respected people out there for his political opinions on our US Government, his...
Published on July 2 2004

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful vinyl pressing, Vlado Meller ruins an amazing album with compression - find the original vinyl
Vlado Meller, a name synonymous with awful sounding records and CD's. The man who ruined the last four Red Hot Chili Peppers CD's with huge amounts of dynamic range compression, and the vinyl of I'm With You (Steve Hoffman's 4LP Stadium Arcadium vinyl is amazing), the man who ruined the last Jane's Addiction CD and vinyl, has now turned his destructive sonic signature to...
Published 15 months ago by Bricktop


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful vinyl pressing, Vlado Meller ruins an amazing album with compression - find the original vinyl, Jan. 2 2013
By 
Bricktop (Earth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Vlado Meller, a name synonymous with awful sounding records and CD's. The man who ruined the last four Red Hot Chili Peppers CD's with huge amounts of dynamic range compression, and the vinyl of I'm With You (Steve Hoffman's 4LP Stadium Arcadium vinyl is amazing), the man who ruined the last Jane's Addiction CD and vinyl, has now turned his destructive sonic signature to the great debut album from Rage Against the Machine. This new vinyl release sounds awful compared to the original. The CD has been raped of dynamics and sounds nowhere near as good as the 1992 Bob Ludwig-mastered CD (and Bob has done his fair share of ruining dynamics recently too, so I'm not saying he's a saint by any means).

The original vinyl was an all analogue production, it sounds absolutely stunning. The new vinyl, pressed at United in Nashville who are pretty well known for non fill and off centred sides, sounds like a pale shadow of the former. Utterly disappointing.

The original vinyl in Mint condition can run over $75, more if sealed. Fortunately the label Music On Vinyl in Europe repressed the original vinyl from the original metals recently and you can find that for around $40 in sealed condition, catalogue title is MOVLP043. They also repressed this new Vlado Meller XX remastering as MOVLP657, stay away from that one. MOV does very nice whisper quiet, flat pressings and the quality is very consistent.

The ASIN for the MOVLP043 on Amazon USA is B00004WX4E
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, real rap/metal, July 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
I have to say, listening to Linkin Park, P.O.D, etc, RATM is by far the best rap/metal band out there. Alot of rap/metal bands just talk about sex drugs and stuff cough*, cough*, Limp Bizket, cough*. But Rage is differnt they talk about right and wrong. Zack De la Rocha is one of the most respected people out there for his political opinions on our US Government, his lyrics are expreesed in various amounts of anger in hardcore rap. Tom morello, 1 word, AMAZING, his guitar playing is crazy. And would you believe that most of these cool sounds are made by guitar, thats awesome. Timmy C with the bass, very good, the bass blends perfect with the guitar. And Brad wilk, another jaw dropper, his drumming is also amzing, when you listen to all the tracks, the drum pattern is perfect. There Self titled debut is filled with lots of great rap, guitar solos, and plenty of screaming.
1)Bombtrack (4:05) - great opener to the album, also a nice intro too. 8/10
2)Killing in the Name (5:14) - After listening to this track I was amazed, great song to listen to when you're pissed off, my third fav. track. 10/10
3)Take the Power Back (5:37) - a very political song with some great lyrics. 8/10
4)Settle for Nothing (4:48) - not my favorite but still good. Has a cool guitar solo. 7/10
5)Bullet in the Head (5:09)- cool guitar, another great track one of my favorite. 8/10
6)Know Your Enemy (4:55)- cool lyrics, and great guitar riffs. 9/10
7)Wake Up (6:04)- first heard it in the matrix, another great guitar, best lyrics. 10/10
8)Fistful of Steel (5:31)- meh, ok. 6/10
9)Township Rebellion (5:24)- meh, ok. 6/10
10)Freedom (6:05) - An excellent way to finish the album, my favorite track. 12/10
In all, out of all the best RATM albums pick this up first then move up to there other ones, Evil Empire, Battle of L.A, Renegades, and Live at the Grand Olympic Auditorium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would have rated it higher than just 5 stars if I could because..., July 4 2007
By 
Ted D. Falcone (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
- this is one of the greatest and most influential albums of all time! -

The idea of combining two of the most popular styles of music, rock and rap, together seems so simple and almost brainless. Surprisingly, no other band but RAGE has successfully pulled it off. Every member of the band brought an equal amount of talent to the album. Many believe that Zack de la Rocha and Tom Morello were the main elements in the success of the band but, even Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk played huge roles with the energetic build ups of every song from track 1 right up until track 10. Song writers now a days no matter the genre or style have forgotten a golden rule while creating music: every piece of music must lead and build and change. Every song on the album did just that. Change is one of the most evident themes presented by the band both musically and lyrically through Zack's powerful politically-charged poetry. Every part of this album has been so perfectly crafted, from the shocking album artwork of the famous burning monk to the musicality expressed by each musician, including the guest artist Maynard James Keenan from the band Tool who had a short solo in the middle of "Know you enemy". In conclusion, I am proud to say that this is no doubt my favorite album so far in my life time. I also have to admit, with all the publicity and importance of band images in music today, this is the one and only band I loved uniquely for their music before even seeing what they looked like(though the band t shirts are pretty cool to look at!)
Sorry if I got a little carried away but, this debut album from a band which could have easily been just as popular and well-known as Led Zeppelin or Nirvana is definitely a must-have, in fact every living human being should own a copy of this masterpiece. Then maybe politicians would know a little something about politics. LOL

By: Julien Falcone (ratmandtotti@hotmail.com if there are others out there who agree with me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put, Insane., June 23 2004
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
This album is incredible. Tom Morello is pheraps one of the greatest guitarists ever. Ever. No synthesisers. Insane. Reading the reviews about people who liked the album, and people who didn't, the people who didn't often cited "white boy" politics and some reviewrs called them liberal propaganda or something. I don't know I dont really pay attention 'cuase I can tell when it is an actual competent adult or a 9 year old whoes daddie's in the NRA. Yea. Tom Morello is so awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 13 2005
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
I bought this album after listeneing (and purchasing) their live release. After listening to the songs I hadn't heard before (and some of the one's I had) I couldn't take it out of my changer. It insane, exactly what everyone should be looking for in an album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "When ignorance reigns, life is lost...", July 10 2004
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
I first got into Rage Against The Machine in 7th grade, when I was into crap like Limp Bizkit and purchased Evil Empire because people said I would like it if I liked Limp Bizkit. In retrospect, that comparison is a big insult to Rage. That's like comparing "Goodfellas" to "You Got Served".
Anyway, I really liked (and still like) Evil Empire (especially "Vietnow"). However, I didn't get this album until this past January. Before then, I had a few of the songs on mixes, but that's it. I listened to samples in the store and really liked what I heard, so I purchased it. Forget Wimp Bizkit; this is rock-rap done RIGHT!
First of all, the musicians here; Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk (now of Audioslave); are all very talented. Check out the slap bass, the riffs, the drumming. Add Zack De La Rocha's politically-charged rhymes over top of them, and you get what might be the only band in history influenced by both Led Zeppelin and Public Enemy, which may sound like mixing pizza and ice cream but comes out sounding damn good. Most of the songs on here are favorites.
The angry, anti-authority/government diatribes are what made this album a classic twelve years ago. Before 1992, there weren't too many albums with "[...] you, I won't do what you tell me!" as a lyric. And I think "When ignorance reigns, life is lost" is very relatable to the Iraq war going on today.
Overall, if you want a REAL rap-rock record, check this one out first, then get the others.(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, July 7 2004
By 
Grant McKee (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
Their self-titled debut would prove to be Rage Against the Machine's best effort, though they hardly slipped over the ensuing years and albums. This is a classic in the truest sense of the word: it begs you to pull it out of your collection at least 2-3 times a year, and it represents some of the best music from its time and place. RATM reminds you that the best music SAYS SOMETHING, whether it's politically-motivated or just something the artist feels the need to share with their audience. Rage's blend of incendiary metal riffing (courtesy of Tom Morello's groundbreaking guitar work), pounding drums, and scream-in-your-ear agenda-pushing lyrics was powerful, unique, and uncompromising. This is an essential album for anyone that listens to message-heavy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Blend of Rap/Rock to ever exsist, June 29 2004
By 
TopRockCritic (You wanna find me and fight any Brothas out there? i live in Harlem ahahahahahaha) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
Rage Against The Machine are one of my favorite bands of all time because they take the time to actually make music......it sucks that they broke up but their music still remians strong and i would listen to rage anyday over any new trendy gay punk crap.......Truth is Good Rock Music sorta died when Rage Against The Machine broke up in 1999-2000.........today we have A Perfect Circle, Tool, Audioslave, Pearl Jam, Deftones, and a few others but all in all Rock is Dead just liek Marilyn Manson said.........in Mechanical Animals...........anyways be like me a smart persona nd get this....... (...) anyways let me be your guide to great music ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RAGE AGAINST THE REVIEW, June 28 2004
By 
thejmyster (New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
Rage Against the Machine is one of the best bands to ever form and ever release an album. And the self-titled debut proves their talent. With the raging guitars by Tom Morello, the heart pounding drums by Brad Wilk, the throbbing bass ryhtms by Timmy C. and the angry yet sweet shouts of Zack de la Rocha, this quartet will never cease to amaze you. One of the best albums of all time, featuring the songs: "Bullet In The Head", "Freedom", "Killing In The Name", "Bombtrack" and much much more. This album never gets old and will never die. With the political lyrics and the heavy sound this cd is sure to amaze you. I highly reccomend this band and this album, there isn't too many albums that are better than this. Rage Against The Machine forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you wanna get up and do something, June 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Rage Against The Machine (Audio CD)
This record is like a kick in the *ss, then you groove along with it. The music is instantly catchy, yet it's enduring because the lyrics actually have something to say, instead of being just "a song". None of these songs sound like another, each has it's own signature, yet they still fit well together.
If you pay attention to the words, you will want to know more about what they're singing about. After you think about it, I'm almost certain that you'll gain at least a little insight into some issues. If not, at least you've still got some great music, some of the best from the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb43a4198)

This product

Rage Against The Machine
Rage Against The Machine by Rage Against the Machine (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews