Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Why He's the King of Pop
"HIStory Past, Present, And Future: Book 1" is a two-disc album. The first CD is a compilation of fifteen Michael Jackson's greatest hits from 1979-1992. The second CD is his fifteen newly recorded tracks. Every track featured on this set explains why he's "the king of pop". These songs show the audience the his life paths within the times...
Published on Nov. 21 2003 by David Anderson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Censored Version, German export
I have wanted this double set for ages! It is hard to find in the stores here in Canada, and when you do, it is way over priced. Having found it here, for a reasonable price, I was very excited! Got it within 5 days, and it was like Christmas!

Unfortunately, the recorded volume of this version is low compared to other MJ CDs I own... With my speakers turned...
Published on May 6 2010 by S. Alves


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Why He's the King of Pop, Nov. 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
"HIStory Past, Present, And Future: Book 1" is a two-disc album. The first CD is a compilation of fifteen Michael Jackson's greatest hits from 1979-1992. The second CD is his fifteen newly recorded tracks. Every track featured on this set explains why he's "the king of pop". These songs show the audience the his life paths within the times.
Every past hit is as catchy and as wonderful as the one next to it. They're taken from his previous four highly successful albums: "Off the Wall", "Thriller", "Bad", and "Dangerous". Behind his unique dance moves is some of the most unique music in the universe. His voice is wonderful. The outshining tracks featured are "Billie Jean", "Beat It", "Wanna Be Startin' Something", "The Girl Is Mine", and "Thriller", which were recorded on the greatest selling album in worldwide history(26 million US, 50 million worldwide). These tracks marked new territory for pop music's future. Its high quality proves that such success was well-deserved. His musical evolution through the years is fun to follow. Whether it's disco, R&B, pop, or rock, he's mastered it.
His new tracks follow his hard times through the controversies he was faced with in 1993. Is anger and sadness are well-expressed. Every track was written well. His platinum hit singles "Scream"(duet with Janet Jackson) and "You Are Not Alone" state the album's theme. His most controversal track of his career is featured on this album: "They Don't Care About Us". Its hardhitting lyrics are performed very well. The cover singles live up to the originals: "Come Together", "Little Susie", and "Smile". Most tracks combine pop and rock. The musical theme remains one of the most unique in musical history, as his past singles.
"HIStory Past, Present, and Future: Book 1" is an essential album for any Michael Jackson fan. Every track explains why he was the #1 selling artist of the 1980's. The 52-page booklet is also worth reading, explaining the history of these tracks and of his career. Many listeners will be pleased with this album. Long live the king of pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIKE'S DEEPEST ALBUM :), June 4 2004
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
Lets review the songs on disc 2: HIStory continues...
1)SCREAM: duet with Janet. its a wonderful song to dance to, but u already know that.
2)THEY DONT CARE ABOUT US: mike responding to the racist police brutality...great electric guitars on this one, with hot lyrics.
3)STRANGER IN MOSCOW: michael has said that this was one of his fav songs on the album. its a great song, michael really goes for it here and u feel his loneliness in the lonely singing-screaming at the end.
4)THIS TIME AROUND: hot beat and u feel mike's agression. he sings really well and listen closely cuz u'll hear him swear!!! LOL. features a rap by notorious B.I.G. before his death.
5)EARTH SONG: deep humanitarian effort by michael. the end is the best part with his frustrated chant backed by a hot choir. u can feel his pain. seriously.
6)D.S: an anthem for his fans. i dont have anything to say because i dont "wanna be startin' somethin'" (LOL) but the fans know who "dom sheldon" is. dont mess with mike on this track. :)
7)MONEY: features mike rapping..well sort of. its great. awesome lyrics. hes so smart LOL>
8)COME TOGETHER: mikes version of the beatles' song. its way better that the original cuz u can dance to it. u can tell that mike feels this song cuz he rocks it out.
9)YOU ARE NOT ALONE: u gotta love this sweet song. it has the greatest note, i think, that michaels ever hit and held at the end.
10)CHILDHOOD: i dont think i'm the only one besides michael that cries when i hear this song. it doesnt matter how many times. if u arent an mj and if u are, listen 2 this. it'll clarify everything 4 u.
11)TABLOID JUNKIE: hot hot song. very good beat. i just wish the reporters listen to it...
12) 2 BAD: also great for dancing. rap by shaquille o'neill...hm..i must have missed the fact that he raps? it was pretty good though!
13)HIStory: the title track. its moving. buy "Blood on the Dancefloor" to hear the remix, which is SO HOT.
14)LITTLE SUSIE: another tear-jerker. look, i dunno how mike does it, but he does. u'll get goosebumps.
15)SMILE: inspiring song. take its advice. features a cute whistling session by michael at the end.
Overall, u'll love the album. I think that michael was the most honest on this cd than any other. maybe it was because he had a lot he needed to address, but either way, its AMAZING. get HIStory TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORGET THRILLER!!!!!, June 22 2004
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
HIStory is one of the best albums of Michael Jackson.
I don't talk about the first CD but the second.
The songs Scream, They don't care about us, Earth song, Stranger in moscow , Money, Tabloid Junkie are AMAZING. The album is very interesting; Michael shares his secrets,his pains, his fears, opens his heart . The songs are far from the too smooth songs of Thriller and off the wall - these two albums are soooo overrated! - If you understand Michael Jackson's genius, you cannot bash HIStory...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Censored Version, German export, May 6 2010
By 
S. Alves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have wanted this double set for ages! It is hard to find in the stores here in Canada, and when you do, it is way over priced. Having found it here, for a reasonable price, I was very excited! Got it within 5 days, and it was like Christmas!

Unfortunately, the recorded volume of this version is low compared to other MJ CDs I own... With my speakers turned up full blast, this CD still doesn't sound very loud on the first half of the second disc...

Also, this censored German version of the CD has chosen to "clean up" the lyrics on "They Don't Care About Us" by drowning out the offensive words with unbearably annoying and loud screeching and banging metal sounds, which scare the cr*p out of me each time! I don't think I can live with this...

I am in the process of trying to exchange it for a less-offensive version, as I know a few other options exist (changed words; silently bleeped words; original uncensored version).

The songs themselves are, of course, EXCELLENT, as all MJ fans know! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EVER!!!, Jan. 29 2010
By 
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
HIStory is so much better than any of Michael's other albums! Of course there are some pretty good songs on Thriller and Bad, but they just do not compare. With Dangerous and HIStory, Michael was at his best in the nineties!
Here's a little review on each song (just disc 2, we all know the ones on the first disc well enough)
SCREAM- Michael and Janet are both great in this song and video. This song is just so powerful and angry, the lyrics are shocking!- 10/10 stars
THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT US- Awesome, danceable song with a great video and a great meaning to it!- 9/10
STRANGER IN MOSCOW- Nice ballad, great beat- 8/10
THIS TIME AROUND- Incredible! A lot of emotion and anger in it, which I love to see in Michael's (and Janet's) songs- 9/10
EARTH SONG- One of the best songs on the whole album. It's very heartbreaking and powerful, but you will not get the full effect of this brilliant song unless you see the music video!- 10/10
D.S- Definitely not the best, but it is a fun song- 8/10
MONEY- This song has good lyrics and a cool lip hop beat. 8/10
COME TOGETHER- Much, much better than the Beatles version! This song is very good! 9/10
YOU ARE NOT ALONE- A very wonderful ballad. The music is very nice; an altogether fantastic song. 9/10
CHILDHOOD- One of the most emotional songs here. Definitely the most autobiographical and personal. It is touching and beautiful. 10/10
TABLOID JUNKIE- Everybody needs to listen to this song and realize that the lyrics speak the truth! And it's fun to dance to. 10/10
2BAD- Another quite hip hop type song. It's a very energizing song. 9/10
HISTORY- An strange yet amazing song! I love it! 10/10
LITTLE SUSIE- This song is indescribable! It's creepy, haunting, emotional, creative, genius, stunning, nightmarish, tragic. . . and so much more. 10/10
SMILE- The best ballad here. It's a great, heartwarming way to end one of the best albums every made. 10/10

So you should definitely buy this! Especially if you are a MJ fan, because you will not be disappointed! It's all so brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIStory will never die..., March 13 2004
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
If you are new to Michael Jackson's work...forget NUMBER ONES. This is the cd to go for. It has 2 discs full of great songs.
Disc 1: HIStory begins
This cd has lots of great early material such as "Rock With You" and "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" which are from 1979's Off The Wall. You can't forget "Beat It" and "Billie Jean" from his best-selling album Thriller. There's also some good songs off his next album Bad such as the title-track and "Man In The Mirror". Then we also have songs off 1991's Dangerous such as "Black Or White" and "Remember The Time".
Disc 2: HIStory continues
This cd has lots of great new songs (at the time) such as "They Don't Care About Us", "Earth Song", and the mega-hit "You Are Not Alone". He also does a duet with his sister Janet on "Scream". My favorite song on this cd is "Tabloid Junkie".
This is a must-have cd from the king of pop. I say you forget about his recent troubles and just enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let The Name Speak For Itself, March 12 2004
By 
Robert Alvarado "eclecticstyle" (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
The title, HIStory, fits this album. On the first disc, it shows his past hits that have put him in the music stratosphere. It is a great collection of the most recognizable hits of the music era! On the 2nd disc, it shows all of his emotions. You have songs that express great anger to songs that express a sadden man to a man who Just wants to express love throughout the world. I think with this disc, he had a lot to say. I think he spoke well about the turmoil he suffered in the past. And I truly Believe this collection of songs speak well on his current situation! When you Listen to this 2nd disc, I want you to listen very closely to the songs. Listen to the messages in these songs. Someday, we may all be in a place where we may feel the same way he felt and feels now. Mike always said he doesn't sing a song if he doesn't mean it. That should tell you something! Like I said, the man had some stuff inside that he had to let out. I know we all got stuff to get out of our system sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIStory, Nov. 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
HIStory became the biggest selling double album ever and became
his fastest selling album.it sold 7 million the first week and started breaking records with the album and singles.his first solo album to contain two not one 15 greatest hit set and the
new songs that became one of his best albums}it showed how much anger michael had inside but is one of his greatest albums.songs on the first disc and great new tracks on the second disc songs like{you are not alone][they don't care about us]stranger in moscow/tabloid junkie/2bad
{scream}{money}and many more{within the next year the album sold more than 13 million making the sales up to
27 million world wide}a million less then the year before with
14 million albums/It's a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, But A Little Schmaltzy, June 14 2004
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
I don't want to talk about the first CD in this set. We all know the hits. It's the second CD that's the real gem. My favorites are Scream, They Don't Care About Us, Stranger In Moscow, Earth Song, You Are Not Alone, and Tabloid Junkie. Come Together is also good, but I hate the Beatles, so I can't get into this one much. Stranger In Moscow is Michael's second-best ballad ever, next to Will You Be There, his best song ever. This is some of his most bizarre music yet, and most of it is paranoid, schizophrenic, and angry. I can see that most of the songs were written in a very hard time of his life, what with the FIRST child molestation accusations. You listen to the amazing music on the first CD, then the paranoid music on the second, and you put them together with the accusations. It's strange to see what has happened to this man so quickly. The downside of the CD is that songs like Childhood and Smile are too sugary and saccharine for me. Another thing that irks me is that he'll release these songs, thinking that they will be successful. We want to hear the amazing Billie Jean, or The Way You Make Me Feel, not some weepy ballad about his childhood or a song that tells you to smile. It's not fun. Even with these missteps, HIStory will not be history with me for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Swift and Sudden Fall from Grace, Oct. 13 2003
By 
Christopher Schmitz (Rocky River, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson-History (Cd) (Audio CD)
Quincy Jones was the perfect producer for Michael Jackson. He took all that was sloppy and unformed about Michael and put it into a neat glossy package, reigned in his excesses to make pop materpieces like "Thriller," "Bad," and "Off the Wall." This is why Disc 1 shines. With Q at the helm, Michael's soprano sounds breathy and nimble, and his songwriting sits nicely next to well-crafted fare by Rod Temperton, Paul McCartney, or Siedah Garrett.
Now, Michael is alone and embattled. On Disc 2, Michael's soprano sounds thin and uncertain at times. Q's buoyant horn sections and pop gloss are a thing of the past. The songs have a new jack emptiness and sometimes sound like slamming doors. There is a compensation, though: Michael Jackson is allowed to be human here.
Every song on Disc 2 refers directly or indirectly to the...scandal that erupted in MJ's life in 1993. It's what really made Michael want to scream, and it's behind the paranoia of "They Don't Really Care about Us." "Money" and "This Time Around" and "2 Bad" are direct attacks on Michael's 13-year-old accuser and the boy's avaricious father. "A Stranger in Moscow," ostensibly about looking over one's shoulder for the KGB, undoubtably refers to the way the authorities who investigated Michael made him feel. His voice sounds creamy and lush as he sings of the "swift and sudden fall from grace" which is surely his own.
"Then a beggar boy called my name/ Happy days still drown the pain." The male [abuser] and the needy boy are indeed often a happy match, and Michael is saying he still has moments of joy despite being trampled by one of society's most potent taboos. This is the only Michael Jackson album where he offers us any glimpse into his emotional life. What we see is largely sloppy and angry but it is, at long last, honest.
The man with bandages on his fingers and a surgeon's mask over his face bidding on the Elephant Man's bones and penning songs for disfigured AIDS patients has expressed his victimhood in his music for the first time. Even the haunting "Earth Song," ostensibly about the scars of pollution, seems to be coming from a hurt place within Michael. Even as its lush Oooing and Ahhing chorus takes us back to childhood, its gospel crescendo whisks us heavenward on a flaming chariot. "Earth Song" is a gorgeous masterpiece.
The abused child makes a chilling appearance in "Little Susie," a plaintive Broadway-style song whose refrain is paraphrased Edgar Allen Poe. Michael tries sappy sentimentality in "Childhood" and "Smile," two of the album's weaker offerings, but luckily they're counterbalanced by tunes like MJ's sharp satire "Tabloid Junkie."
Most of the album, though, is the anti-Thriller, raw with anger and sorrow. Like it or not, Michael has opened up his haunted heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Jackson-History (Cd)
Michael Jackson-History (Cd) by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews