Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gift
I got this for my dad's birthday. He loved it (I have listened to it a few times too...it is a classic after all)

The extra cd has some interesting takes but the first disc is the one you will keep coming back to.

-Geoff
Published 4 months ago by geoff

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ordering my Third set
I have been waiting with great anticipation for the release of this set. Sony has done a very fine job of the book, the photographs, the CD and the poster. The LP is pressed in clear blue plastic and the mastering is very good. But the pressing is atrociously bad and noisy. Rather shoddy for the price if you compare it with the Blue Note 45 RPM issues by Music Matters...
Published on Oct. 7 2008 by Shaukat A. Husain


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gift, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this for my dad's birthday. He loved it (I have listened to it a few times too...it is a classic after all)

The extra cd has some interesting takes but the first disc is the one you will keep coming back to.

-Geoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
The best album from Miles ever made. As perfect and mood setting as any music I have ever heard. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Nov. 20 2011
By 
P. S. Paran (Edmonton AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is worth getting just to hear the Coltrane that was cut out of the original.No wonder he is considered Saint John Coltrane. Desert island .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ordering my Third set, Oct. 7 2008
By 
Shaukat A. Husain "jazzwallah" (Victoria B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been waiting with great anticipation for the release of this set. Sony has done a very fine job of the book, the photographs, the CD and the poster. The LP is pressed in clear blue plastic and the mastering is very good. But the pressing is atrociously bad and noisy. Rather shoddy for the price if you compare it with the Blue Note 45 RPM issues by Music Matters. The surface has bubbles that produce distortions and clicks. A lot of collectors will be after the LP rather than the CD and Sony should have done a better job. What a shame!
Amazon.ca has been great in replacing my first set which I mailed back, with another in a matter of days, but the second set has arrive with a gouge in the slipcase and the same problem with the LP. I was told that another replacement could not be sent and I would get full refund. I would have to order another one which I have done in the hope that this one will be OK. I hope someone in Sony marketing reads this and tries to improve the product. The LP is what collectors will want, and one that should be of a very good quality. Who cares about the CD? Well not me and most serious jazz collectors who will buy this set.
To be fair, I will review the third set when I receive it for this is the jazz LP that I want to take to the other side when I die!
jazzwallah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very unexpected surprise!, March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes, it is sounds excellent! Box set is made very qualitatively. It contains: big coloured "book", poster + blue vinyl, 2CD & DVD. It is ultimate collection - ideal gift for collectors and lovers music of Miles Davis! Must have for all funs of jazz music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for a jazz collection, Feb. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
I love to unwind with this CD and often listen to it twice in a row just to enjoy the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plain and simple, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
I loves me The Miles Davis, love jazz and his music is something that no one can hold a candle to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, Sept. 4 2013
This is a sublime album and Miles Davis really shines on vinyl.
The warmth of his trumpet really comes through on even a decent turntable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it now, Aug. 29 2013
By 
Luc M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has been out since 2009. Based on still the most selling jazz album of all time by far. This box set , with its book, and CD set and blue album of the same record, is worth every penny...get to see Bill Evans hand written notes . This is my second copy, worth its weight in gold. Highest recommendation.

LM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, May 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Received this in record time (excuse the pun). GREAT quality heavy vinyl, well packaged for a safe delivery. I got it, put it on the table, and didin't leave until it was done. Had time permitted I might have stayed for another round. I am more than happy with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc34ab99c)

This product

Kind Of Blue
Kind Of Blue by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews